17%
Other
29%

Total votes: 24

psykomorf

Re: Which is the baddest JDM car?

Postby psykomorf » December 26th, 2021, 9:45 am

If talking JDM and Soarer grand tourers, then would also suggest considering the Eunos/Mazda JC Cosmo.
Only sold in Japan I think, and ahead of it's time in some respects for the early 90's (1st production car with GPS), not to mention version available from factory with 20B 3 rotor. There were a few in T&T, not sure how many still roadworthy.

https://www.supercars.net/blog/1990%E2%86%921995-eunos-cosmo/

https://japanesenostalgiccar.com/25-year-club-the-mazda-eunos-cosmo-is-officially-a-japanese-nostalgic-car/

Not necessarily better, a different horse for a different course
https://drivetribe.com/p/three-reasons-why-the-eunos-cosmo-PG_cwrodTWScbjUPHqFAIA?iid=JJ6rJVsvS26HjcP_neJHWQ

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 26th, 2021, 2:53 pm

There's a Cosmo I used to see in Maraval parked up most times.

Postby MG Man » December 26th, 2021, 8:33 pm

Subjective list is subjective
JDM that got me into JDM: Hachi Roku
Most iconic classic JDM: 240Z
Most iconic modern JDM: Miata
Most iconic exotic modern JDM: NSX
Most iconic JDM series: GTR
Most crapaud looking junk that gets fanboys horny because of its engine: Mk4 Supra
Most loved JDM car by guys who have a few screws loose: RX7
Best JDM drivers cars (multiple): Miata / S2K / 3rd Gen RX7
Most shitbox JDM loved by the Rajistan Nation: 120Y

antlind

Postby antlind » December 26th, 2021, 11:59 pm

MG Man wrote:Subjective list is subjective
Most crapaud looking junk that gets fanboys horny because of its engine: Mk4 Supra

I’d challenge the 240Z with the Toyota AE86. But everything else on the list seems reasonable.

david12

Postby david12 » December 27th, 2021, 6:38 am

I'd like to add to list of drivers cars. Two of the many greats are the EK9 and DC2 Type R. That bare bones and steer where you want it to go feeling makes you think that you're in a Touring Car. When I drove both it inspired so much confidence when it comes to handling

Very Impressive for a fwd car.
Last edited by david12 on December 27th, 2021, 6:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » December 28th, 2021, 12:57 pm

antlind wrote:

I’d challenge the 240Z with the Toyota AE86. But everything else on the list seems reasonable.

as far as icons go, the 240 is universal..the 86 is still a cult classoc

Postby timelapse » December 28th, 2021, 1:43 pm

antlind wrote:

as far as icons go, the 240 is universal..the 86 is still a cult classoc
antlind seems to be younger somewhat initial D age bracket.Thats why I think.
These lists are going to be highly subjective.
Ask my old man, and you might hear the Datsun 1200 in his list

david12

Postby david12 » December 28th, 2021, 2:34 pm

Ask my old man and he'll say 280zx lol. The 86 as the iconic jdm car is the younger age group. The mk4 Supra as the iconic jdm car is the 13 year old group or the "car guy" with a 13 year old car brain.

Postby MG Man » December 28th, 2021, 3:14 pm

david12 wrote:Ask my old man and he'll say 280zx lol. The 86 as the iconic jdm car is the younger age group. The mk4 Supra as the iconic jdm car is the 13 year old group or the "car guy" with a 13 year old car brain.

never understood the appeal of the 280....compared with the 240, it got fat, heavy and bloated
A boulevard cruiser vs the drivers' car that was the 240

david12

Postby david12 » December 28th, 2021, 3:21 pm

From the business side of things the Z cars had to evolve. They couldn't remain as stripped down as the original. The move was to make it more of a GT sports car. So we got the Silvias and the 180 and 200SX to kinda bring back the feeling of the original Z and as the time went on Z32 was probably the most notable luxury sports car of the 90s

The 280ZX turbo was quick for its time though
Last edited by david12 on December 28th, 2021, 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » December 28th, 2021, 3:25 pm

240>280 anytime

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 28th, 2021, 3:38 pm

Hilux talk dun

Postby timelapse » December 28th, 2021, 3:46 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Hilux talk dun
Preferred vehicle of terrorists in the middle east.That should say something

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 29th, 2021, 6:24 am

timelapse wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Hilux talk dun
Preferred vehicle of Rajs in the southern part of the island.That should say something

Ah fix it

david12

Postby david12 » December 29th, 2021, 7:42 am

Why allyuh so

Postby MG Man » December 29th, 2021, 9:54 am

david12 wrote:From the business side of things the Z cars had to evolve. They couldn't remain as stripped down as the original. The move was to make it more of a GT sports car. So we got the Silvias and the 180 and 200SX to kinda bring back the feeling of the original Z and as the time went on Z32 was probably the most notable luxury sports car of the 90s

The 280ZX turbo was quick for its time though

still not iconic
The Z line is awesome but the 240 was the genesis of the breed and remains the purest iteration
After the 240, the 300 is the next pinnacle of Z design. While it is rather big and wide, it's a proper drivers car with awesome performance, then and now

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » December 30th, 2021, 7:38 pm

More panties drop for and inside N16 & C11 than anything on the road.

Postby De Dragon » December 30th, 2021, 8:34 pm

coltspeed wrote:More panties drop for and inside N16 & C11 than anything on the road.

I would have thought you were going to say Mitsubishi Colt :lol:

Catastrophist

Postby Catastrophist » January 4th, 2022, 8:47 pm

subaru impreza wrx as iconic jdm rally car
it won five world titles three manufacturer awards and two driver titles
most rally mags or posters featured an impreza

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2022, 11:50 pm

https://www.hotcars.com/subaru-sti-vs-m ... he-battle/
"In the end, Subaru won the battle, but in our minds, we think the Evo won the war."

Postby timelapse » January 5th, 2022, 7:16 am

coltspeed wrote:More panties drop for and inside N16 & C11 than anything on the road.
Do a seat stain test

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 5th, 2022, 7:42 am

Correction, Mitsubishi won a battle or 2 but it's really Subaru that won the war and now Hyundai has joined in. We definitely in the end-times...
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:https://www.hotcars.com/subaru-sti-vs-mitsubishi-evolution-heres-who-won-the-battle/
"In the end, Subaru won the battle, but in our minds, we think the Evo won the war."

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 5th, 2022, 8:22 am

agent007 wrote:Correction, Mitsubishi won a battle or 2 but it's really Subaru that won the war and now Hyundai has joined in. We definitely in the end-times...
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:https://www.hotcars.com/subaru-sti-vs-mitsubishi-evolution-heres-who-won-the-battle/

Read the article I linked. They not referring to WRC only.

Catastrophist

Postby Catastrophist » January 8th, 2022, 9:59 pm

always forget about the evos lol
don't fancy subies but their records at wrc and huge popularity bump during that time made history
sexy evo vii you have as your pfp 8-)
personally i prefer evo 5 over others
it's the only model i've driven :lol:

Postby gastly369 » January 8th, 2022, 10:27 pm

Catastrophist wrote:

don't fancy subies but their records at wrc and huge popularity bump during that time made history
it's the only model i've driven
He vii ent yeh yeh

Hopefully 2022 God willing get ah lil jive

Catastrophist

Postby Catastrophist » January 9th, 2022, 8:25 am

gastly369 wrote:
Catastrophist wrote:

it's the only model i've driven
He vii ent yeh yeh

Hopefully 2022 God willing get ah lil jive

that's his baby
one of his proudest achievements in life
might feel like horn if a next man driving it :lol:

david12

Postby david12 » January 13th, 2022, 2:07 pm

https://www.hotcars.com/mazda-rx-7/rede ... standards/

This just shows how timeless the design of the FD is. I am not a big rotary fan but I think that the FD is the best looking jdm car of all time.

Postby aaron17 » January 13th, 2022, 4:30 pm

Most underrated one?

david12

Postby david12 » January 13th, 2022, 4:52 pm

There's still a big following for the RX. I feel like many people don't talk about the GTO these days neither the NSX.

You know I guess many people overlooked the FD because of its lower hp and torque numbers compared to other cars from its time. But the driving experience is so pure!
Last edited by david12 on January 13th, 2022, 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » January 13th, 2022, 5:17 pm

'anda Civic!