How dangerous is it to ride a motorcycle in Trinidad?

pioneer5220

How dangerous is it to ride a motorcycle in Trinidad?

Postby pioneer5220 » December 29th, 2021, 3:03 pm

In every other country they say its extremely dangerous because drivers never observe a motorcycle and they just pull infront of bikes or side rail a bike man etc out of the blue

Do you think it's the same in Trinidad?

bamfo_dennis

Re: How dangerous is it to ride a motorcycle in Trinidad?

Postby bamfo_dennis » December 29th, 2021, 3:44 pm

buy one dawg. a rel fass one. with green and red and yellow and plenty chrome. make sure it can rev hard and loud loud. loud eh like when yuh rev girl panty go just fall down just so wid the vibrations. and wear slippers and a short pants when yuh riding. and go down in a wasa pothole. they increase trench and pothole more than 70% in the last 3 months in the entire country like it was ah election promise.

happy new years

pioneer5220

Postby pioneer5220 » December 29th, 2021, 3:50 pm

Them fellas in Trinidad with slipper and short pants does get into motorcycle accidents tho?

I don't think I ever even seen a bike man with road rash but then who knows.

The usual complaint is the situation is REALLY bad in USA when it comes to bikers getting killed due to bad road conditions cause bikes are susceptible to small gravel, white lines being too smooth, white red neck soccer moms blasting music and not seeing the biker infront them, white girls doing make up and hair while driving.

I don't think I ever seen Indian girls doing makeup and hair while driving in Trinidad.

Some of the potholes have me concerned, do potholes affect bike men? you know any bike man that got badly injured in a pot hole? are our potholes that bad?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 29th, 2021, 3:53 pm

Try it and lewwe know how it goes. If we ain't hear from yuh then we know the answer to this question.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » December 29th, 2021, 3:53 pm

are you a Trinidadian? that's a real question i'm asking here.
i've had 5 road bikes over the last 10 years or so, even raced my busa in 2019 at Wallerfield and the only reason i have absolutely no interest again in riding on Trini roads is due to the ignorant and arrogant drivers on the roads now.
Newer drivers have no idea how to use their mirrors and switch lanes and many of the older ones have a problem with riders lane splitting. i've had several altercations with drivers which resulted in various outcomes... too old for that right now.
I despise discouraging someone from riding on Trini roads, especially new riders, but if you value your life consider moto crossing instead.

Postby zoom rader » December 29th, 2021, 4:20 pm

OP it depends on how safe you are and how good you can predict the outcome in under 3 seconds. 3 second rule.

I have been riding both Bicycles and motorcycles for donkeys. My simple rules are.

1.Never take a chance.
2.Never underestimate any road user, dogs too.
3.Always think an accident is waiting to happen on you.
4. Never stunt, no wheelees
5. Wear ur gear.
6. Always think a puddle is a hugh pot hole.

Have I fallen ? Yes, from wet roads and gravel. These are from non interactions with cars.

Interactions with cars? Yes, in my earlies and I have learnt from it and applied defensive riding skills.

Do I still ride? Yes , every single day except in rain

Best to watch YouTube accidents and learn.

I don't encourage people to ride , it's something that you need to want. Half of motor bike riders should no be on road same as car users.

Trinidad motor bike test is a real joke and it's why we have dumb riders that get into accidents without applying safety. Try passing a UK test for any thing over 125cc, it's takes about 4 road test and your age for a full permit
Last edited by zoom rader on December 29th, 2021, 4:20 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby matr1x » December 29th, 2021, 4:23 pm

Very.

Postby gastly369 » December 29th, 2021, 4:45 pm

Lost plenty biker friends...
It was a idea a time but ill stick to 4 wheels

Postby Redman » December 29th, 2021, 4:45 pm

And forget about Beacon.

Postby 88sins » December 29th, 2021, 4:54 pm

op, understand this.
crotch rockets ain't for everyone, but if you want to ride, and stay alive and uninjured, here's s few basic things you have to do and know.

1/ Don't ride like an arse or an arsehole, and practice safe riding. You hadda remember, you are the smallest thing on the road compared to other road users, and if you get into a collision with even a subcompact car, you will lose in that interaction. You have to keep an eye out for everything coming from front, back and both sides, as well as conditions of the road ahead and maneuver to suit.
2/ Many drivers resent riders, and will show that resentment openly.
3/ know your skill, and their limits, as well as your bikes limits, weaknesses and strengths.
4/ Investment in proper gear can save your life, don't cheap out, and to hell with who find dem ting doh look cool. Cool is you being alive, and not crippled in the event of an accident.

Best of luck on d road op
Yuh go need it.

hindian

Postby hindian » December 29th, 2021, 5:47 pm

Damn and I was considering switching to a bike to get to and from work for economy and traffic reasons. My commute is daily from central to Grande and back but I have reservations about riding on that Valencia stretch. I'll be following for more input and advice from the more experienced riders here.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 29th, 2021, 6:42 pm

[list=][/list]When I was a child, I saw a motorcycle accident by Macoya where the rider was decapitated. I saw the headless body on the road.

Since then I've had a fear of riding motorcycles on the roadways. I have no issues with dirt bikes or riding on rural roads. That's something I want to do more of, but biking is dangerous, so much to consider and you have to be focused and thinking at all times.

But if you brave checkout any gore sight and you'll see motorbike accidents are probably second to cartel killings.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on December 29th, 2021, 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » December 29th, 2021, 6:45 pm

Very/
End of thread

But seriously I would love to have a bike for shorter trips….. a few things changed my mind.
-There’s nothing like a minor accident on a bike and I really can’t deal with dying over someone else’s carelessness ( hard luck boidanbai I didn’t see yuh)
- the weather … trinidad is either blazing hot sun or rain and I’m not keen to ride at night

Please note I’m not a rider and only took maybe 2 rides in my life to try it out.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » December 29th, 2021, 6:45 pm

Driving on 4 wheels dangerous enough , two wheels is a death sentence in my opinion

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 29th, 2021, 7:13 pm

Apart from all the safety stuff mentioned above, one thing I used to hear my uncle saying back in his biker days was to never ride alone.

In Trini you not even safe on 4 wheels with the kinda morons out there. No matter your skill level, you cannot anticipate the level of idiocy some people are capable of.

A man say he wanna ride the Valencia stretch... Godspeed bro. I believe at the end of the stretch is known as "Dead Man's Corner." I got a horrific call one night to hear that someone I knew got crushed under a truck there and died instantly.

Postby Rovin » December 29th, 2021, 7:14 pm

who wuda guess uncle zoom used to ride motorbike

sounds like a cool idea but with T&T roads in d condition it is now i wouldnt do it ...

Postby zoom rader » December 29th, 2021, 8:25 pm

Rovin wrote:who wuda guess uncle zoom used to ride motorbike

sounds like a cool idea but with T&T roads in d condition it is now i wouldnt do it ...
I still ride

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2021, 10:37 am

I taught defensive driving long enough to know I do not want to be on a bike with most of the drivers on our roads
Only so much risk you can mitigate as a rider

Postby MaxPower » December 30th, 2021, 10:42 am

“Bikers” in Trini i find highly annoying.

Most are reckless and when they find themselves in trouble i find it pleasurable.

Honest opinion.

Be responsible.

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2021, 10:50 am

tell me you're a dotishcunt without telling me you're a dotishcunt

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 30th, 2021, 11:38 am

Safer than going to the parallel health care system when you contract COVID-19.

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2021, 11:50 am

MaxPower wrote:“Bikers” in Trini i find highly annoying.

Most are reckless and when they find themselves in trouble i find it pleasurable.

Honest opinion.

Be responsible.
Reckless bikers and drivers are due to primitive testing methods we have and not enough law enforcement.

Try passing a bikers in Europe especially the UK. It's Long and tedious

Postby timelapse » December 30th, 2021, 3:42 pm

MaxPower wrote:“Bikers” in Trini i find highly annoying.

Honest opinion.

Be responsible.
X2.Except for the trouble part.I saw a police officer take a hard tumble on the highway last week.Bike was skating in his direction.He wasn't even riding fast.

But generally, most of the bikemen on the road I see are irresponsible kants that feel they can weave through cars at whatever speed they want.North coast road is the worst.

I have also seen disciplined bikemen abroad.Completely different caliber

Postby supercharged turbo » December 30th, 2021, 9:58 pm

Seriously considering my first bike next year so I monitoring this thread.For me,its just the casual ride on a weekend not a daily driven thing.

Postby nervewrecker » December 31st, 2021, 12:25 am

Not all bikes are "fast" and / or noisy.

I have quite a few biker friends with different purpose machines. Some quiet as a mouse others loud and spit fire. Some fast and took them pole lengths before annihilating a few small trees others good for a Sunday leisure ride with friends and then there are some that made for terrain not belonging to asphalt.

My 2 cents

People in Trinidad don't use mirrors and see bikes. Many a time on the road I see a bike coming through and drift to the side a bit to give the rider some space while cars behind me still hogging the whole lane making it sketchy to pass them.

Then there are others that change lanes with hopes of divine intervention for a successful lane change which would be catastrophic for a biker unless he has reflexes beyond that of a cat.

People drive with objects stuck in their tyres, trucks with loose gravel, they don't observe water or dog mess and will splash it on a biker easy. There are errant animals that run into the road with stronger faith than the second set of drivers mentioned.

And then there are potholes and overnight change in terrain. Friend of mine had a death in the family yesterday so I headed to the medical facility where the body was to try and offer some guidance in their time of grief and inability to think straight. met half the road missing in the dark and I was pelting going in a car.

Postby stev » December 31st, 2021, 1:46 am

oh how i wish i could say with confidence: "yeh bro, buy a bike"

the current drivers on the nations roads are questionable....if u buy one...be mindful of where u ride....i seriously discourage riding on the highway

when i see the bike gangs cruising on the southbound i does get anxiety.....knowing the foolish driving of younglings with a PEA or PEB car / SUV that daddy bought for dem.....or the "jivers" that feel they can maneuver a F****ing pickup truck like a Nascar driver.

Postby zoom rader » December 31st, 2021, 7:35 am

stev wrote:oh how i wish i could say with confidence: "yeh bro, buy a bike"

the current drivers on the nations roads are questionable....if u buy one...be mindful of where u ride....i seriously discourage riding on the highway

when i see the bike gangs cruising on the southbound i does get anxiety.....knowing the foolish driving of younglings with a PEA or PEB car / SUV that daddy bought for dem.....or the "jivers" that feel they can maneuver a F****ing pickup truck like a Nascar driver.

This is where a UK styled on the road test need to be implemented.

It takes about 3 years to get a a permit for riding over a 125cc bike with one yard test and then a road test to secure a big bike permit.

Postby zoom rader » December 31st, 2021, 7:39 am

nervewrecker wrote:Not all bikes are "fast" and / or noisy.

I have quite a few biker friends with different purpose machines. Some quiet as a mouse others loud and spit fire. Some fast and took them pole lengths before annihilating a few small trees others good for a Sunday leisure ride with friends and then there are some that made for terrain not belonging to asphalt.

My 2 cents

People in Trinidad don't use mirrors and see bikes. Many a time on the road I see a bike coming through and drift to the side a bit to give the rider some space while cars behind me still hogging the whole lane making it sketchy to pass them.

Then there are others that change lanes with hopes of divine intervention for a successful lane change which would be catastrophic for a biker unless he has reflexes beyond that of a cat.

People drive with objects stuck in their tyres, trucks with loose gravel, they don't observe water or dog mess and will splash it on a biker easy. There are errant animals that run into the road with stronger faith than the second set of drivers mentioned.

And then there are potholes and overnight change in terrain. Friend of mine had a death in the family yesterday so I headed to the medical facility where the body was to try and offer some guidance in their time of grief and inability to think straight. met half the road missing in the dark and I was pelting going in a car.

Most above can be eliminated if the biker applies a 3 second rule going up to 5 sec ,

As a biker you always have to think ahead

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 2nd, 2022, 3:19 am

Passing along the Valencia Stretch today, there were dozens, up to hundreds of riders on their way out of Grande; dozens of riders overtaking in the oncoming lane right up to oncoming traffic, wearing tshirts and short pants.

Say what you all want about drivers, but those men were asking to become hood ornaments.

Postby zoom rader » January 2nd, 2022, 9:26 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Passing along the Valencia Stretch today, there were dozens, up to hundreds of riders on their way out of Grande; dozens of riders overtaking in the oncoming lane right up to oncoming traffic, wearing tshirts and short pants.

Say what you all want about drivers, but those men were asking to become hood ornaments.
Dis where law enforcement fails.

Plus some of these bikers are policemen