Help - getting rid of drain flies

equal2zero

Help - getting rid of drain flies

Postby equal2zero » January 17th, 2022, 8:03 am

Been having issues with drain flies in my bathroom. Talking about these fckers here:

download.jpeg
download.jpeg (5.43 KiB) Viewed 973 times

Research suggests this product works:

373db12c-35cb-4150-9590-df78990071a9_1.d699f9c4189d50ae1b247f2d14d1ec56.jpeg
373db12c-35cb-4150-9590-df78990071a9_1.d699f9c4189d50ae1b247f2d14d1ec56.jpeg (21.69 KiB) Viewed 973 times

Anyone know where I can get this locally?

Are there any other methods I can use to get rid of these? Tried Drano, bleach, baking soda & vinegar but they keep coming back.

Re: Help - getting rid of drain flies

Postby timelapse » January 17th, 2022, 8:11 am

Diazanon mixed with detergent (breeze)and water.
Suds it up and pour down the drain.Let it soak for a while.Put a fan in the room and try not to stay around it.It smells kinda high.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » January 17th, 2022, 8:30 am

dem is moth and they lay egg on slime. yuh have to get ride of the slime. i surprised dem ting eh work above. If it's the bathroom, cork the drainpipe, pour a whole gallon of clorox in the tub or floor leave it for a 5 mins. Yuh want this concentrated bleach to work so don't mix it. Mind the bleach smells in enclosed space eh cuz it can cut up yur lungs. Then uncork the drain hole and let it drain and leave it for 12 hours to dry. Don't open the pipe to wash nothing yuh want the pure bleach to coat the pipe. Then it have to dry because slime is really bacteria living in water. So the water have to dry for dem to dead.

the slime go come back eventually though. The ting bout using the bio-enzyme, it not going and stay in the pipe for dem to eat and do dey work. That is really for septic tanks. yuh mite have to snake the drainpipe to remove the slime. check the exit pipe too you might see where the ting start.

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » January 17th, 2022, 1:29 pm

Just as stated above you have to get rid of the gunk in the pipes. You will have to physically remove it or go the chemical route. The enzymes break down the bio layer. The bio layer is the culprit. I had it with those flies a few months back. They will return eventually but you'll have time to prepare.

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » January 17th, 2022, 8:50 pm

Will try those, thanks for the recommendations

Postby Rovin » January 18th, 2022, 12:17 pm

1st result in google has a ton of info about it ... https://www.thisoldhouse.com/pest-contr ... rain-flies

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 18th, 2022, 5:54 pm

Had that issue. I noticed it with certain soaps that very Sudsy shampoos etc.

2. My issue was compounded with poor drainage so the water wasnt flowing and settling. They swim up from outside eat the bacteria and soap scum and then hatch and turn to the drain flies. Sometimes you see the larvae wiggling in the bathroom floor. You need a bathroom cork to plug it when you not bathing.

They will come up to eat scum in the bathroom. Make sure you bleach or clean out your bathroom very well.