Residential Generators

assassin

Re: Residential Generators

Postby assassin » July 3rd, 2022, 12:19 pm

I have the Ford from pricesmart. They didn't have the bigger AI power at the time else I may have bought that since it should be able to run a 12000btu ac intermittently

The Ford is ok. I only ran it once 4hrs so far with 2 fans and 2 led lights. Gas consumption seems decent. Real noisy. I have it in a semi enclosed shed at the back of the house so in the road u only hear it slightly. Later on I will try that generator noise box u guys were discussing

Came almost fully assembled just to mount handles and wheels. Bottle of oil included. Electric start and recoil
agent007 wrote:Portable generator price list:

(Running watts/starting watts format)

Ingco 800W - $1,150. @ The Home & Auto Center
Pulsar 900W/1200W - $1,499.95 @ Pricesmart
Ingco 3000W - $2,750. @ The Home & Auto Center
Powerboss 2500W/3500W - $3,500. @ Bhagwansingh
A-iPower 4250W/5000W - $3,599.95 @ Pricesmart
Generac 3300W/3750W - $4,465.13 @ FT Farfan
Duracell PowerSource gasless 1440W - $4,649.95 @ Pricesmart
Briggs & Stratton 5000W - $$5,800. @ Pillai’s
Ford Dual Fuel FG5250PBE 3800W/4750W (LPG); 4250/5250W (gas) - $5,999.95 @ Pricesmart
Simpson 5500W - $6,650. @ Pillai’s
Generac GP6500 6500W - $6,895. @ Super Technologies Ltd.
Generac 5500W/6875W - $7,176.38 @ FT Farfan
Generac 2000W Inverter - $7,200. @ Pillai’s
A-iPower 9000W/12000W - $7,599.95 @ Pricesmart
Generac 6500W/8125W - $8,353.13 @ FT Farfan

Feel free to update accordingly.

Postby gastly369 » July 3rd, 2022, 4:00 pm

The Ford is overkill for 2 fans and some light tbh lol

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 3rd, 2022, 4:35 pm

That $7600. 9000W generator from Pricesmart is not a bad deal coming to think of it. You could run a 12k btu ac unit, your fridge, microwave, stove, a bunch of LED lights, fans and still have left over wattage to use your washing machine, laptop, router, TV and charge all mobile phones.

When the chores are finished....cause obviously you won't be washing, watching TV microwaving or bathing all the time right? When you settle down to sleep, you can add 2 12k btu ac units to the load for a typical 3 bedroom home. That's 4500W alone utilizing AC. The balance can be routed to your water pump just in case water pressure is low or water gone too and you would still have 3000W to play with.

I expect run time to be 4-5 hrs tops on a full tank of gas in this scenario. I feel I will sell my little baby genny and work on saving a little bit month by month until I get that one.

Probably need to invest in a family pack of ear muffs too cause that noise and vibration would be unsettling.

Postby gastly369 » July 3rd, 2022, 4:50 pm

How home designed don't hear the generator at all inside but I tried to have in it the storage shed locked away when running as for neighbours sanity as well

Postby supercharged turbo » August 18th, 2022, 12:37 pm

6 months to the date and another similar incident and allyuh ain't update this thread?

I bought some more rechargable led lights for the time being but the generator looking like a good investment all now

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2022, 12:49 pm

i got a 5k gen

Postby supercharged turbo » August 18th, 2022, 1:11 pm

Inverter generator?What brand?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 18th, 2022, 1:14 pm

I still sticking :(

eitech

Postby eitech » August 18th, 2022, 3:04 pm

Padna inherited a 50hz generator. What to tell him?

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2022, 3:06 pm

a secondhand coleman non inverter which i think person got from pricesmart years ago

inverters are double or more price and go up exponentially

supercharged turbo wrote:Inverter generator?What brand?

Postby maj. tom » August 18th, 2022, 3:18 pm

tell him add a next 10Hz with 6 hamster wheels in auxiliary. dem stray cat can run it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 19th, 2022, 5:05 am

I so afraid of pricesmart stuff eh....this AI brand they pushing, is it worth the Dinero?

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2022, 7:17 am

not necessarily, the majority of small gasoline engines can be fixed or carbs etc made to fit if they cant once it is not a problem with worn engine or broken piston etc

the coleman I bought uses a tecumseh engine that was in production for over 10 years and used on a variety of equipment but no longer made.

however there are many clones of the carb it uses. it had a faulty carb which the guy advertised,
i got one on amazon for $14, swapped it in 5mins and good to go, oil change etc.

best bet is to check the models they sell and check online for ppl who may have fixed them and see what engine they carry, also talk to any small engine shop locally, they would have fixed many of them.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I so afraid of pricesmart stuff eh....this AI brand they pushing, is it worth the Dinero?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 19th, 2022, 8:32 am

E bounce^

Postby gastly369 » August 19th, 2022, 9:07 am

Have these around the house on a off grid circuit, outlets inside house etc

Simple setup so power go just start up gen

Was fedup with extension cord all over the place
IMG_20220818_185246.jpg
Screenshot_20220819_090405_com.whatsapp.jpg

Postby RedVEVO » August 19th, 2022, 11:46 am

Instead of "investing" $$$ on a generator just go visit your family when electricity is gone .

They will be happy to see you and maybe you stay over and have fun Netflix and 6 Corona
and you whip up the grill and have dinner or lunch .

And the kids can have some fun also !

Save your money and tell TTEC life goes on !

Do not rush and waste $$$ .

UNC will be back soon .

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » August 19th, 2022, 3:48 pm

i got the Aipower 5000 from Pmart as well after asking here an checkin around. Got the last one of the shelf so mine didn't hv wheels and handle and didn't come with the accesories but d discount was nice.
Still feel i shoulda go with the 12000W but so far so good as its currently doing the job i bought it for, i.e. welding up roof and working power tools at a job site, noisy af. D main thing with welding is to use a smaller plan or if is a tombstone start at quarter and go a lil less than half which is more than sufficient.

Postby gastly369 » August 19th, 2022, 4:46 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Instead of "investing" $$$ on a generator just go visit your family when electricity is gone .

They will be happy to see you and maybe you stay over and have fun Netflix and 6 Corona

UNC will be back soon .
Money is not wasted for the comfort of my family at times sir vevo.....

Awaits your lavish sunday menu...

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 19th, 2022, 5:10 pm

UNC will be back soon .

So in a nationwide blackout or disaster scenario - who going by who?

Postby timelapse » August 19th, 2022, 7:57 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

UNC will be back soon .

There's no shortage of electricity in Vevoland and the food! That's a whole other story!
Grandpa Moses owns a nuclear power plant that his vene gf helped him to build!!

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2022, 8:23 pm

yup
lots and lots of current

Postby RedVEVO » August 19th, 2022, 8:46 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

UNC will be back soon .

There was only 1 nationwide blackout in like 200 years :lol:

You do not have family or friends ? - just stay home in the dark bush and feel up your genitalia .. oops generator :D

Postby sMASH » August 20th, 2022, 10:00 am

RedVEVO wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

UNC will be back soon .

You do not have family or friends ? - just stay home in the dark bush and feel up your genitalia .. oops generator :D

well, since we not getting new gas finds, and monies to maintain infrastructure keep getting whittled down, the likelyhood of wide scale black outs might be more.. like in Lebanon.

Postby Chimera » August 20th, 2022, 10:05 am

Lol.vevo going by friends to freeload and beg in the case of a disaster yes

Postby RedVEVO » August 20th, 2022, 10:09 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol.vevo going by friends to freeload and beg in the case of a disaster yes

Actually they come by RedVEVO to free load with every disaster :lol:

And in my area of the woods there is no african snail infestation like in your bedroom.

Postby RedVEVO » August 20th, 2022, 10:24 am

sMASH wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

UNC will be back soon .

well, since we not getting new gas finds, and monies to maintain infrastructure keep getting whittled down, the likelyhood of wide scale black outs might be more.. like in Lebanon.

Again do not buy no investment generator ! It's useless . Save your $$$$

Now this is the future - read, study and be schooled - since you seem to be 1/2 not stupid :lol:

Guyana, Trinidad and Venezuela WILL BE the regional Leaders.
They will combine ALL resources and be a success.

The main problem is the specific inhabitants that resist change.
TTPS will take of these peeps - In T&T etc.

The whole transformation will be financed by China's philosophy .

So the people of Guyana, Venezuela and China who T&T peeps ( not all ) hate so immensely and ridicule and harass will make T&T's future HUGE !

So relax and go to Food Hall with your family .

Summary: Rowley is a genius .

Postby sMASH » August 20th, 2022, 12:31 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
sMASH wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

UNC will be back soon .

Again do not buy no investment generator ! It's useless . Save your $$$$

Now this is the future - read, study and be schooled - since you seem to be 1/2 not stupid :lol:

Guyana, Trinidad and Venezuela WILL BE the regional Leaders.
They will combine ALL resources and be a success.

The main problem is the specific inhabitants that resist change.
TTPS will take of these peeps - In T&T etc.

The whole transformation will be financed by China's philosophy .

So the people of Guyana, Venezuela and China who T&T peeps ( not all ) hate so immensely and ridicule and harass will make T&T's future HUGE !

So relax and go to Food Hall with your family .

Summary: Rowley is a genius .

hmmm
konochiwa

Postby nervewrecker » August 20th, 2022, 1:49 pm

pugboy wrote:not necessarily, the majority of small gasoline engines can be fixed or carbs etc made to fit if they cant once it is not a problem with worn engine or broken piston etc

the coleman I bought uses a tecumseh engine that was in production for over 10 years and used on a variety of equipment but no longer made.

however there are many clones of the carb it uses. it had a faulty carb which the guy advertised,
i got one on amazon for $14, swapped it in 5mins and good to go, oil change etc.

best bet is to check the models they sell and check online for ppl who may have fixed them and see what engine they carry, also talk to any small engine shop locally, they would have fixed many of them.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I so afraid of pricesmart stuff eh....this AI brand they pushing, is it worth the Dinero?
Tecumseh made compressors, most are still in service.

The logo is a kinda apache head with feathers.

I think they not around anymore, the small engines that is. Either buyout or close down.

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2022, 2:04 pm

yeah out a while now but lots of after market support

Postby adnj » August 20th, 2022, 3:12 pm

pugboy wrote:not necessarily, the majority of small gasoline engines can be fixed or carbs etc made to fit if they cant once it is not a problem with worn engine or broken piston etc

Tecumseh made compressors, most are still in service.

The logo is a kinda apache head with feathers.

I think they not around anymore, the small engines that is. Either buyout or close down.
Tecumseh was a native American chief. That's the logo.

Tecumseh still manufactures compressors. The engine business was sold.