Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Commision of Enquiry.

Re: Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Commision of Enquiry.

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2022, 7:29 am

whats the latest

Postby De Dragon » October 14th, 2022, 7:48 am

pugboy wrote:whats the latest

You think the lack of reporting, or coverage of this is by accident?

Postby sMASH » October 14th, 2022, 8:24 am

oshatt earlier this week announced that it completed its investigation.. and that was all.

Postby matr1x » October 14th, 2022, 8:46 am

We never forgot. And must never forget

Postby aaron17 » October 14th, 2022, 8:47 am

NEVER!

Postby K74T » October 22nd, 2022, 11:04 am

FB_IMG_1666451042495.jpg

Postby MaxPower » October 22nd, 2022, 12:23 pm

matr1x wrote:We never forgot. And must never forget

T&T will forget sorry to say.

Postby K74T » November 21st, 2022, 11:46 am

FB_IMG_1669045543688.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » November 21st, 2022, 1:17 pm

Ramesh Maharaj: Four Paria divers alive between February 25 and 28

Conversations amongst the five divers who went into a 30-inch pipeline at Berth 6, belonging to Paria Fuel Trading Co Ltd at Pointe-a-Pierre on February 25, were heard for the first time on Monday during an evidentiary hearing by the Commission of Enquiry (CoE) into the incident.

The hearing took place at Tower D of the Port of Spain International Waterfront Centre.

Kazim Ali Jr, Fyzal Kurban, Yusuf Henry, Rishi Nagassar and Christopher Boodram were doing routine maintenance on the pipeline when they were sucked into it.

Only Boodram survived.

Counsel to the CoE Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj, SC, said in addition to Boodram's evidence , the commission also obtained video and audio footage from a work camera that Ali had with him at the time of the incident.

Maharaj said the video was lost at the time of the incident, around 2.45 pm on February 25, but the audio was still active.

While saying only six minutes and 55 seconds of the footage would be played, Maharaj advised people who were physically in the room to leave if they were unable to listen to it. He advised people viewing the footage virtually to switch off their devices for a few minutes, if they might find the footage disturbing.

Some of the audio which was played including the following conversations:

"All of we in this together."

"We have to go. We have to start moving."

"I'm trying to come out."

"I'm right behind you."

"You right behind me?"

"My foot break."

Maharaj said when Boodram was rescued, between 4.30 and 4.45 pm, by divers Ronald Ramoutar and Corey Crawford, he indicated that the other divers were still alive and that Kurban was right behind him in the pipeline.

"The four other divers remained alive in the underwater pipeline, and they were not rescued."

Maharaj said LMCS, the divers' employer, and Paria gave evidence of efforts to rescue the four divers before and after Boodram was rescued.

The bodies of Ali, Henry and Kurban were recovered on February 28. Nagassar's body was recovered on March 2.

Post-mortem examinations on the bodies of the dead divers were done by two forensic pathologists

The first exam was done by Prof Hubert Daisley. Daisley's report, Maharaj continued, said Ali "could have have been alive as late as midnight on February 26."

Kurban may have been alive up to 6 pm on February 26. Henry may have been alive up to the early hours of the morning of February 26. Nagassar may have been alive up to midnight on February 25.

Maharaj said a second post-mortem showed Ali, Kurban and Henry may have been alive up to midnight on February 27 and Nagassar up to midnight on February 28.

Referring to the commission's terms of reference, Maharaj said they included determining whether sufficient efforts were made to rescue the divers; whether criminal proceedings could be implemented against any person or entity; and whether such a recommendation should be made to the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP)

Maharaj also said the commission would determine whether or not adequate safety precautions had been taken to prevent the incident of February 25 from occurring.

With respect to the rescue, Maharaj said LMCS had an initial rescue plan at 3.20 pm on February 25, involving divers with scuba equipment going to rescue the four trapped divers. This was later revised at 6.20 pm to involve pumping surface air into the pipeline to facilitate the rescue.

Maharaj said LMCS submitted in its evidence that Paria prevented it from implementing its rescue plan on the ground that it was unsafe.

Paria, in its evidence, Maharaj continued, said it implemented sea searches for the four divers around 5.45 pm on February 25 after being informed of Boodram's rescue.

CoE chairman Jerome Lynch KC expressed surprise that three hours had passed before Paria became aware that the four divers were trapped in the pipeline.

Maharaj said evidence from the Coast Guard suggested its divers did not have the equipment necessary for commercial sea diving and could not attempt a rescue with only scuba equipment.

He also said a preliminary report on the incident done by the Occupational Health and Safety Authority (OSHA) on April 28, suggested neither LMCS or Paria may have taken possible risks related to sub-sea diving into consideration before the repairs were done on the pipeline.

This included the conditions for a Delta P situation, which is defined as movement from an area of higher pressure to an area of lower pressure.

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/11/21/ramesh ... 25-and-28/

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2022, 3:12 pm

strange that the camera video file would only have audio and no video

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2022, 4:10 pm

Probably damaged so all they could pull from it is audio.

Or they keeping the video to show later on

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2022, 4:14 pm

i feel so
because all these compression formats are single file, if file damaged then unlikely you could recover a portion of audio only or vice versa

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2022, 5:10 pm

I don't know much about audio or video files much but sometimes when repairing persons phones and trying to recover data from damages boards...many times we only get to recover audio and no videos. Like movies and videos....we only get to play back audio on what is a video file.

Postby paid_influencer » November 21st, 2022, 6:40 pm

i think some media file types like ".mp4" or ".mov" are actually packages: something like a folder but represented as a single file. in the package there are sub-files for audio, video, subtitles, etc. your media player puts it all together as a movie when you double click.

so if you open a file in "videos lan codec (vlc)" media player, and goes under windows->media informations, and then click under "codec details", there is listing for "stream 0" "stream 1" and "stream 2", which is actually the video, audio, and subtitle streams

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2022, 6:47 pm

i listen to a bit of it
like them fellas had room and some air down in that 36” pipe for a little while indeed
at least to be able to talk amongst themselves
contrary to the thinking that they all got sucked in and squashed in a one

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2022, 6:55 pm

Thats what the survivor said...that the seafloor not flat and the pipeline would follow the ups and downs of the sea floor so it have plenty air pockets for them to get air as they were going along.

Postby maj. tom » November 21st, 2022, 7:07 pm

They're playing it on the news.
God, imagine the families who have to listen to that now, hearing anguished voices that they recognize.

Postby maj. tom » November 21st, 2022, 7:11 pm

AND THEY WERE freaking ABANDONED!!!! WHAT THE firetruck MAN

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » November 21st, 2022, 8:54 pm

maj. tom wrote:AND THEY WERE freaking ABANDONED!!!! WHAT THE firetruck MAN
Those families need to lawyer up with the best of the best and get what they deserve for the level of incompetence these " bosses " showed.

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2022, 9:05 pm

They need alot of $$$ To hire lawyers like that

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 22nd, 2022, 12:00 am

What we MUST do, and what we DO do is 2 entirely different things (speaking for the collective)

Postby stev » November 22nd, 2022, 1:06 am

This is what I have a hard time understanding. No matter the company or job, human life remains a priority no matter the consequence, in all areas of industry (coal mining excluded).

Is it simply that these divers or "assets" were not worth the loss in damages to rescue?

Is it that the decision makers were off somewhere enjoying the high life?

Is it that internal policy dictates that a decision can't be made unless Mr. High life approves?

Is it that the decision makers are unqualified "pull string?"

That audio should not have been made public, imagine the families listening to that. It's close to gore actually IMO.

This audio will enter a gore archive where people who enjoy it will listen at anytime.

It will be recorded history and fines will be paid. Life goes on in this little sheit of an island we're all so proud about.

......I'll say one thing that's reality....98% of people who are upset now will forget by Carnival time

Postby stev » November 22nd, 2022, 1:25 am

Kasey wrote:

What we MUST do, and what we DO do is 2 entirely different things (speaking for the collective)

I agree bro but sadly 1 man can't DO anything in this country; you need money or the masses who are preoccupied with their own survival or ignorance.

"WE" used to be something powerful in the old days.

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » November 22nd, 2022, 6:58 am

stev wrote:
Kasey wrote:

I agree bro but sadly 1 man can't DO anything in this country; you need money or the masses who are preoccupied with their own survival or ignorance.

"WE" used to be something powerful in the old days.

this is true. i also find the defneders of the oil comapny who say the divers were dead near immediately....them ppl very quiet all of a sudden.

thought they say it was political mischief when phillip an others and the survivor confirmed the guys were still alive?

dey cyah talk now. truth is out. fellas were left to die.

Postby maj. tom » November 22nd, 2022, 7:51 am

All the newspapers carrying the story.
I couldn't finish reading the Express story. Can't post it nah.
And could only just manage to read a headline "Paria's Attorney: Company did no wrong."

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2022, 8:48 am

waayz sah

Postby gastly369 » November 22nd, 2022, 8:53 am

stev wrote:

This is what I have a hard time understanding. No matter the company or job, human life remains a priority no matter the consequence, in all areas of industry (coal mining excluded).

Is it simply that these divers or "assets" were not worth the loss in damages to rescue?

Is it that the decision makers were off somewhere enjoying the high life?

Is it that internal policy dictates that a decision can't be made unless Mr. High life approves?

Is it that the decision makers are unqualified "pull string?"

That audio should not have been made public, imagine the families listening to that. It's close to gore actually IMO.

This audio will enter a gore archive where people who enjoy it will listen at anytime.

It will be recorded history and fines will be paid. Life goes on in this little sheit of an island we're all so proud about.

......I'll say one thing that's reality....98% of people who are upset now will forget by Carnival time
Heritage / paria doesn't consider a human life as "priority"... More consider as "disposable/replaceable"

I can tell you that...

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2022, 8:56 am

money or contacts ...to move up in life and get things done

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 22nd, 2022, 8:58 am

I can't bring myself to listen to it.
I can't imagine what them fellas endured.
I can't imagine what their families are currently going through.

I hope that justice (if you can call it that) is served and the families get some peace.

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2022, 9:17 am

damn it was on tv!