how much do you drive a year?

daring dragoon

how much do you drive a year?

Postby daring dragoon » March 18th, 2022, 5:52 am

how can a 25 year old vehicle have 173000km on it. in 5 years i drive about 125000km after i changed an engine in late 2017.
Untitledxx.png

Re: how much do you drive a year?

Postby MaxPower » March 18th, 2022, 6:00 am

dd,

It’s very possible but i don’t give you wrong for suspecting erroneous mileage due to the dishonest and smartman behavior from Trinis.

Some people really don’t rack up a set of miles.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 18th, 2022, 6:06 am

More than one vehicle in the household. Short distance to go to work. Parked up for a while.

About 10000kms for me a year

hindian

Postby hindian » March 18th, 2022, 6:18 am

If i go by my odometer reading I do about 1800km a month so about 21000kms a year average. Could be more too but not less

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2022, 6:22 am

Nothing to farfetched about that. I do about 15,000 kilos for the year. My old man has a Sunday driver since 2018 and it now hitting 7000kilos.

Postby alfa » March 18th, 2022, 7:10 am

I do about 12 or 13000 a year. Know a guy with a Vigo he drives once or twice a year. Doing about ten years and just crossed 5000k. Did one oil change in total

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 18th, 2022, 7:16 am

wow. i really drive too much. i do 5000km oil change every 2-3 months. is a vehicle that drives so infrequent a good buy? wouldnt the rubbers and other parts dry rot or no longer able to stand up to the road stress.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » March 18th, 2022, 7:19 am

About 450km per week according to the odo.....hmmm

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2022, 7:35 am

650km/week

Postby X_Factor » March 18th, 2022, 7:50 am

Round trip to work 5 days/week
Probably 60 k's a month

Postby MG Man » March 18th, 2022, 8:05 am

I have a TAZ Mazda B1600 that's doing about 142k kms
Bought it in 2006 doing 120k km and the rest was added from then to now

Postby Dizzy28 » March 18th, 2022, 9:17 am

Both me and my brother bought vehicles in 2015 (both PDJs) maybe 2 months apart. Mine is on 77,000kms and my brother's is on 32,000kms.

There are ppl who do very little driving and that is relative to someone else.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 18th, 2022, 9:20 am

for the past two years WFH, my total mileage was under 10k kms.

Not all low mileage examples are bobol. Some people have 2-3 cars that they alone drive, some might be parked for repairs.

Check it mechanically, you'll know if it's a good buy for you.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 18th, 2022, 9:25 am

If somebody roll back mileage, they will put 173k? Really?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 18th, 2022, 9:38 am

was about 16k km/year before pandemic, now about 25k km/year

I do a lot more weekend road trips now

Postby 88sins » March 18th, 2022, 10:05 am

OP, it is actually possible, because some ppl don't drive much.
My daily driver only does about 9-10 km/d round trip monday to friday, and the runaround vehicle gets the weekend further runs.

Postby timelapse » March 18th, 2022, 10:15 am

MG Man wrote:I have a TAZ Mazda B1600 that's doing about 142k kms
Selling?

hindian

Postby hindian » March 18th, 2022, 10:25 am

hindian wrote:If i go by my odometer reading I do about 1800km a month so about 21000kms a year average. Could be more too but not less
If we talking about our personal vehicles well yea that's my average milage but I'm a driver by profession so if you talking about me individually that's a different story. My permit has probably over a million Kms on it

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 18th, 2022, 10:34 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:If somebody roll back mileage, they will put 173k? Really?

i didnt accuse anyone of rolling back mileage. i just compare to myself and wondered if i alone rack up about 25000km a year. an increase in gas will affect me but if most using the car for 10km a day then an increase in gas shouldnt really impact too much as it might be a $50 increase in the tank. i full gas every 3 days so I gonna feel it.

Postby 88sins » March 18th, 2022, 11:09 am

daring dragoon wrote:

i didnt accuse anyone of rolling back mileage. i just compare to myself and wondered if i alone rack up about 25000km a year. an increase in gas will affect me but if most using the car for 10km a day then an increase in gas shouldnt really impact too much as it might be a $50 increase in the tank. i full gas every 3 days so I gonna feel it.

It's true that distance has a role to play in fuel consumption, but the things that play an even more important role are vehicle condition, driving technique and how much of your time on the road you spend idling in traffic.

Once you optimize those 3, you would see improved fuel consumption, making an increase in fuel costs a bit more bearable.

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » March 18th, 2022, 11:28 am

MG Man wrote:I have a TAZ Mazda B1600 that's doing about 142k kms

to dragoons point about ileage, mg man said it best here.

some ppl have cars that aren't driven regularly. not all pll drive one car. my old man has an older car for everyday and another he uses once or twice a month. that car does less than 5000 km a year.

Postby De Dragon » March 18th, 2022, 12:28 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

You here too long not to recognize self loathing, attention whoring Caxxos and his whiny beyotch posts eh!

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » March 18th, 2022, 12:32 pm

Some people really do sparingly drive their vehicle.

Back in 2014, my brother bought a TAY-series Toyota Hilux from a doctor, a vehicle which had a mileage of around 110,000 km on it.

Personally, I clock in about 27000km per year on average.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 18th, 2022, 1:37 pm

my normal pre pandemic mileage was approx 12-15k kms per year

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » March 18th, 2022, 1:51 pm

Have a 2012 hyundai elantra, it's doing 56,200km

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2022, 2:24 pm

My project van doh even cross 1000kilos for the year. Oil change etc once for the year.

If only there was a machine to tell if a vehicle had a rolled back mileage.

Postby MaxPower » March 18th, 2022, 2:53 pm

My employee Tiida doing about 500k+…

Venes pumping all over with it.

Postby De Dragon » March 18th, 2022, 2:59 pm

MaxPower wrote:My employee Tiida doing about 500k+…

Venes pumping all over with it.

Yeah right, yuh "employee" Tiida :roll:

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » March 18th, 2022, 5:16 pm

Current ride is 3.33 yrs old. Current mileage is 9,363kms total. About 2,812kms/yr. Last car was 10yrs and sold it with 32,xxxkms.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2022, 5:23 pm

While most in here would be honest about how their odo reading. It have real men getting catch with rolled back mileage.