New corolla rally car

Postby shiva_0001 » April 1st, 2022, 9:00 am

2023 Toyota GR Corolla Debuts Looking Rally-Ready With 300 HP And AWD
The Circuit Edition arrives later with a forged carbon-fiber roof
2023 Toyota GR Corolla Debut Front Angle Low
Mar 31, 2022 at 9:30pm ET
By: Chris Bruce
After a long wait and lots of teasing, the 2023 Toyota GR Corolla is finally here. It gives the brand a hot hatch to sell in the United States for the first time in ages.

Under the hood, there's the G16E-GTS 1.6-liter turbocharged three-cylinder engine making 300 horsepower (224 kilowatts) at 6,500 rpm and 273 pound-feet (370 Newton-meters) from 3,000 to 5,500 rpm. The power runs through a six-speed manual gearbox with rev-matching functionality. The GR-Four all-wheel-drive system has selectable 60-40, 50-50, and 30-70 front-rear torque split settings, depending on the driver's preference.

Gallery: 2023 Toyota GR Corolla
2023 Toyota GR Corolla Circuit Edition Exterior
34 Photos
Toyota's announcement doesn't offer any performance estimates, so we don't know how quickly the GR Corolla gets to 60 miles per hour (96 kilometers per hour) or what its top speed is.

As a rough point of comparison, the European-market Toyota GR Yaris reaches 62 mph (100 kph) in less than 5.5 seconds and has an electronically limited top speed of 143 mph (230 km/h). While it shares the 1.6-liter turbocharged three-cylinder with the Corolla, that version of the mill makes 257 hp (192 kW) and 266 lb-ft (360 Nm). Also, the GR Yaris weighs 2,822 pounds (1,280 kilograms), versus 3,249 pounds (1,474 kilograms) for the new GR Corolla.

What Makes It Special?
The GR Corolla uses a modified version of the GA-C platform that has additional weld points for the frame to strengthen joints and extensive use of structural adhesive. The hood and front door panels are aluminum to save weight. The body gains canards on the corners to channel air down the flanks and widened fenders. The underfloor is flat to reduce drag.

The hot hatch's suspension consists of MacPherson-type struts for the front and a double-wishbone design at the back. The meaner Corolla rides on 18-inch, 15-spoke wheels with a gloss-black finish that have Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tires in size 235/40R18.

For braking, the hot hatch has 14 x 1.1-inch ventilated and slotted rotors with four-piston calipers in front. At the back, there are 11.7 x 0.7-inch ventilated discs with two-piston calipers.

The GR Corolla's interior features a 12.3-inch digital infotainment display. The screen includes views of the selected all-wheel-drive mode, turbo pressure, gear position indicator, and tachometer. The driver operates a short-throw shifter that Toyota says has a position "where the driver's arm is naturally lowered from steering." There's also an 8.0-inch infotainment screen on the center of the dashboard.

Core Or Circuit Edition?
The GR Corolla will launch in the US with two trim levels: the base Core model that arrives later in 2022 or the first-model-year exclusive Circuit Edition that's coming in 2023.

The GR Corolla Core is available in white, black, and Supersonic Red. Inside, there are fabric-covered sport seats and a black and silver color scheme. As an option, there's a Cold Weather package that adds heated front seats and a heated steering wheel. The Technology package includes navigation, an upgraded stereo, and wireless smartphone charging.

The Circuit Edition offers a performance upgrade, including having a forged carbon-fiber roof. This trim is available in white, Supersonic Red, and Heavy Metal. The brake calipers are red and have the GR logo.

The Circuit comes with Torsen limited-slip differentials for the front and rear axle. These parts are an optional upgrade as part of the Core model's Performance Package.

For an aesthetic upgrade, the Circuit has a hood bulge with functional vents. The nose wears a gloss black grille. It also has a matte-black rear spoiler, rather than a gloss finish for the Core model.

Inside, it has a Brin Naub faux suede and synthetic leather upholstery throughout the cabin in a black and red color scheme. Navigation and an eight-speaker stereo are part of the package. The Circuit also has automatic climate control, heated front seats, and a heated steering wheel.

Pricing isn't yet available for either grade of the GR Corolla. Buyers get a complimentary one-year membership in the National Auto Sport Association.

https://www.motor1.com/news/577108/2023 ... lla-debut/

Re: New corolla rally car

Postby aaron17 » April 1st, 2022, 9:12 am

That design always remind me of the blue mazda hatch we have here.

Postby Les Bain » April 1st, 2022, 9:15 am

Not as mean and menacing as the ke30 but I would take 2.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 1st, 2022, 9:29 am

300hp from a 3 cylinder 1.6T engine

abbow

Postby abbow » April 1st, 2022, 9:55 am

Saw some Touge runs with Tsuchiya and co with the GR and it held its own again bigger more powerful competitors....

Just gonna be overpriced if the firm brings it...

xtech

Postby xtech » April 1st, 2022, 10:49 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:300hp from a 3 cylinder 1.6T engine

Meh…..The 1.3T developed by Yamaha for the starlet could make 500.

agent007

New corolla rally car

Postby agent007 » April 1st, 2022, 11:54 am

Squeezing that amount of air into such a tiny 1.6 3-cylinder engine to spit out the kind of HP we saw in 2.0/2.5 4-cylinder engines (EVO and STi) will result in eventual failure. Don’t expect legendary longevity from this mill like we’ve seen in the Toyota 4E-FTE, Nissan SR20DET or Mitsubishi 4G63T. I’ll pass but Toyota gets points for trying.

Postby Rovin » April 1st, 2022, 12:28 pm

it looks decent though ...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 1st, 2022, 12:29 pm

agent007 wrote:Squeezing that amount of air into such a tiny 1.6 3-cylinder engine to spit out the kind of HP we saw in 2.0/2.5 4-cylinder engines (EVO and STi) will result in eventual failure. Don’t expect legendary longevity from this mill like we’ve seen in the Toyota 4E-FTE, Nissan SR20DET or Mitsubishi 4G63T. I’ll pass but Toyota gets points for trying.

Similar things were said of the S2000 and its F20C.
So much power from a NA motor at such high compression made many sceptical of the engine at first.

Postby timelapse » April 1st, 2022, 12:31 pm

That missing vtec

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 1st, 2022, 12:32 pm

^ Still one of THE best n/a engines around. And they still boosting it and making yummy power

Postby 16 cycles » April 1st, 2022, 1:58 pm

agent007 wrote:Squeezing that amount of air into such a tiny 1.6 3-cylinder engine to spit out the kind of HP we saw in 2.0/2.5 4-cylinder engines (EVO and STi) will result in eventual failure. Don’t expect legendary longevity from this mill like we’ve seen in the Toyota 4E-FTE, Nissan SR20DET or Mitsubishi 4G63T. I’ll pass but Toyota gets points for trying.

aquamist

Postby RedVEVO » April 1st, 2022, 3:30 pm

16 cycles wrote:

aquamist

The EVO Aqua is a legend .

Time-lapse have Lex 21" rims on his EVO Aqua.

Postby pugboy » April 1st, 2022, 3:35 pm

3cyl is more balanced like a 6?

Postby RedVEVO » April 1st, 2022, 3:44 pm

pugboy wrote:3cyl is more balanced like a 6?

At the SAME displacement and load level, a 3 cylinder engine should be a little MORE reliable than a 4 cylinder engine ..

Postby timelapse » April 1st, 2022, 3:45 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
16 cycles wrote:

aquamist

The EVO Aqua is a legend .

Time-lapse have Lex 21" rims on his EVO Aqua.
Aye I have a GTR Honda Fit.I doh deal up in Toyota

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 1st, 2022, 3:52 pm

I wonder what the torque curve looks like

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 1st, 2022, 4:53 pm

You might have a rethink if you have seen what motive have done to their own on YouTube.

Those internals are quite stout

david12

Postby david12 » April 1st, 2022, 4:57 pm

^It's Toyota! Forged steel crank, con rods and I think cast aluminium pistons. It's probably not "overbuilt" but I'm sure it can withstand its own power and tuning up to a certain point.

pugboy wrote:3cyl is more balanced like a 6?
Nope not naturally balanced like a 6, there is a still a point in rotation that there is some uneven force.

Postby A172 » April 1st, 2022, 6:04 pm

my k20c dyno'd 300whp/296wtq on our pump gas in completely stock form as it came from honda and these engines are already proven bulletproof with many doing over 160,000kms with regular abuse to date

no SR, 4G etc in stock form has ever made that power locally, they prob make 260/270 or less in factory stock form, only exception may possibly be FQ's which rare

point is if that is how Toyota made it, it would be reliable regardless of power output. Modern tech has come a long way so no need to stress motors to make hp unlike ole junk

New corolla rally car

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 2nd, 2022, 12:16 am

Hmmm
IMG_7837.JPG

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 2nd, 2022, 9:28 am

Here we have the Nissan HR12DE, Mitsubishi 3A92 and the BMW B38 blocks for comparison.
IMG_5467.JPG
IMG_5468.JPG
IMG_5469.JPG

david12

Postby david12 » April 2nd, 2022, 9:55 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Hmmm
IMG_7837.JPG
Huh, pretty stout compared to the first 2 open deck blocks. Not really a fair comparison to compare it to economy oriented engines like the HR12 etc.

Looking like it could take 40 pong a boost LOL.
Last edited by david12 on April 2nd, 2022, 9:55 am, edited 4 times in total.

Postby timelapse » April 2nd, 2022, 10:00 am

I wonder how that would stand up to NOS.

Postby 16 cycles » April 2nd, 2022, 10:14 am

That last one is closed deck :shock:

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 2nd, 2022, 12:03 pm

Good observation and this is where my confusion starts unless I have the theory all mixed up.

With the close deck b38, the hp and torque is in the 134hp and 220Nm thereabouts but for the open deck Toyota, it screams 300hp and 370Nm. In time, those sleeves will crack or warp with that pressure.

Also Honda's NA K-series and B-series whilst high compression will outlast any of those forced fed screamers. Miss shift a Honda VTEC engine and it will see another day. Miss shift that gazoo turbo and say goodbye to your engine.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 2nd, 2022, 6:06 pm

fast forward to 6min 44secs if you don't want to watch the entire video

Postby 16 cycles » April 2nd, 2022, 6:18 pm

Edit* fixed

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » April 2nd, 2022, 11:00 pm

xtech wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:300hp from a 3 cylinder 1.6T engine

Meh…..The 1.3T developed by Yamaha for the starlet could make 500.

yes but that starlet engine would be modified to make that power not so?

apples to apples.

this corolla GR is making 300 hpower from OP post from the showroom floor with a warranty. no mods.

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » April 2nd, 2022, 11:05 pm

have you see the engineering design that went into this or any new car to make these statements? or engine designer by training? you does tune and build engine? how do you know that this would not be as reliable?

your ideas sound quite antiquated in need of update.

that was prob tru in the 90s but nowadays engines are making more than 125 to 150hpower per litre as standard with warranty.

no japan car business in modern times known for good quality and a reliability record will release a car that has an engine that wold not last.

I doh think toyota an Honda risk dat with bad relia.
an not for a halo press car like this.