New corolla rally car

Re: New corolla rally car

Postby Monk BANzai » April 2nd, 2022, 11:48 pm

agent007 wrote:Squeezing that amount of air into such a tiny 1.6 3-cylinder engine to spit out the kind of HP we saw in 2.0/2.5 4-cylinder engines (EVO and STi) will result in eventual failure. Don’t expect legendary longevity from this mill like we’ve seen in the Toyota 4E-FTE, Nissan SR20DET or Mitsubishi 4G63T. I’ll pass but Toyota gets points for trying.

hmm..maybe 5-10 yrs ago.... but its clear that the WEC/DTM (even F1 tho Toyota isnt part of it visually) technology is filtering down to the production cars (fine example is the AMG CL45/S). Same can be said for the reducing in CC sizes to produce decent power - 1.4twin charged from VAG.. the 2.0T which powers a range of Audi platforms (even the big Q7), and you would know of the 3 cylinder the BMW uses...not the most fun of powerplants but pretty reliable in the market space they reside.

Gazoo has proven themselves....and while i myself am not a big Toyota fan, they've got it right. They are producing "sport" solutions for almost every sector of the automotive market. That Corolla is fabulous to look at. Buy and drive. Tho, ive seen design houses already doing wide body kits for a wide-bodied Corolla.

That said. Give them time to develop the platform. Benz didnt get it totally right with the first edition of the 400+ Hp four banger, but now its near unparalleled for performance with the only platform touching them is a 5 banger from Audi.

Give it time. 10 yrs ago the thought of a battery lining the bottom of your performance car was laughable. Now customers are paying north of $1 Million TTD for them.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 3rd, 2022, 12:42 am

Noted with thanks on the responses gentlemen.

Postby A172 » April 3rd, 2022, 7:45 am

if this costs about $40,000 usd cnf when it comes out it would cost only $378k ttd once you bring it yourself

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 3rd, 2022, 1:44 pm

A172 wrote:if this costs about $40,000 usd cnf when it comes out it would cost only $378k ttd once you bring it yourself

Not bad!
Considering a Ford Focus RS was selling here for upwards of $700K

Postby pugboy » April 3rd, 2022, 2:27 pm

impsbert gonna be vex no engine cc tax

Postby A172 » April 3rd, 2022, 3:22 pm

A172 wrote:if this costs about $40,000 usd cnf when it comes out it would cost only $378k ttd once you bring it yourself

Not bad!
Considering a Ford Focus RS was selling here for upwards of $700K

focus is 2300cc, that is luxury tax bracket so the taxes would be literally double
ctr and sti are 2000cc and 2500cc(local) so those would be in the 600/700k range dealer price

even roro those cars nothing under $500k cost price if you bring it in yourself

so a new awd 300hp MT 4door carrier under 400k? sign me right tf up

Postby A172 » April 3rd, 2022, 3:23 pm

but that is assuming the cnf is $40,000 usd eh

given the hype don't be surprised u hadda jump out a $60k usd just to get it on a ship

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 3rd, 2022, 7:38 pm

A172 wrote:but that is assuming the cnf is $40,000 usd eh

given the hype don't be surprised u hadda jump out a $60k usd just to get it on a ship

For now it might be

Postby A172 » April 3rd, 2022, 9:34 pm

still not bad considering a roro 2019/2020 ctr or sti is around $50 - $55k usd rn as production stopped and those are now collectors items

would still be cheaper with the 1.6L engine

New corolla rally car

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 3rd, 2022, 9:56 pm

And even cheaper if it was 1599cc. But it’s 1618cc.

C74ABC87-2EF0-4EE0-8CBC-3D8EB4CCBB00.jpeg

Postby A172 » April 3rd, 2022, 10:45 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:And even cheaper if it was 1599cc. But it’s 1618cc.

C74ABC87-2EF0-4EE0-8CBC-3D8EB4CCBB00.jpeg
lmao didnt even bother to check the actual cc rating, was assuming it was 1.6 which are usually 1599cc or lower

1618 would push it into 1800cc duties&tax which similar to 2000cc

at $40k usd cnf & 1618cc cater $460k for personal import

Postby Monk BANzai » April 4th, 2022, 5:25 am

agent007 wrote:Noted with thanks on the responses gentlemen.

To be fair.... i just watched this... *moves meh opinion needle back to the center..

david12

Postby david12 » June 5th, 2023, 4:17 pm

https://www.roadandtrack.com/news/a4403 ... to-740-hp/

One year later...

Head gasket and studs