Vehicle security options

nightcrawler

Vehicle security options

Postby nightcrawler » May 9th, 2022, 4:22 pm

With the increase in vehicle theft , what's the best service to use? The guy at Toyota told me to go with air support tactical. Another told me about hiddentechtt on tik tok. His stuff looks great. Never had anything besides an alarm and club lock. What do you suggest

Re: Vehicle security options

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 9th, 2022, 4:40 pm

If you going with a GPS service, get one that also does recovery.
Air support should be good, but also GPS Rescue and there will be more.

Car Search will likely be the top of the heap in terms of coverage and recovery. Bullet holes optional.

Postby alfa » May 9th, 2022, 6:42 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:If you going with a GPS service, get one that also does recovery.
Air support should be good, but also GPS Rescue and there will be more.

Car Search will likely be the top of the heap in terms of coverage and recovery. Bullet holes optional.

Air support tactical is another good one with their own recovery team. They claim 100 percent recovery rate thus far

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » May 9th, 2022, 6:57 pm

Put in some obeah man thing and make it visible, still go car search just in case the bandits foolhardy.

matix

Postby matix » May 9th, 2022, 7:20 pm

Car Search, they don’t play around.

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2022, 7:21 pm

what are the subscription prices ?

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2022, 7:23 pm

a big gps sticker on the dash is quite helpful
i know a few ppl who have been in homeninvasions and they asked the victims if their cars had gps before looking to take them

any bandit worth their salt won’t take gps cars and phones which can be tracked

Ripe Chenette wrote:Put in some obeah man thing and make it visible, still go car search just in case the bandits foolhardy.

Postby maj. tom » May 9th, 2022, 9:00 pm

Two types of car thieves:
Professional thief who is operating with a gang to scrap or resell the vehicle in another country. If a pro car thief wants your car, there's no real deterrent. He has all the tools and skills already. Club lock, kill switch, remote fob will just slow him down but he will take it if he wants the car.

Gangbanger who want to use the car for a robbery or hit, likely will take your car with a gun. The GPS sticker might help here... if they could read or if they even cared. Probably will be found as a burnt out shell the next day somewhere when they realize it has GPS.

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2022, 9:15 pm

yeah the carjacked ones at gunpoint are usually for use as robbery getaway later on
they will change the plates immediately and park it somewhere to see if gps retrieval is done
typically a nondescript modern car
not flashy

what we need is a booby trap where as they remove the plates it triggers something to kill them whfn next they start the engine

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 10th, 2022, 3:08 am

No one is mentioning proper insurance. 1st thing is if you value your car, then make sure it's covered under comprehensive risks.

Note:
"Full comprehensive" is a redundant term.
"Full third party" is just plain stupid.

You can add your gear lever lock, steering lock, pedal lock, viper 2-way pager alarm and GPS thereafter.

What ever happened to datadots? I remember back in 2003, there was a black r34 gtr in movietowne pos advertising it iirc.

Postby pugboy » May 10th, 2022, 5:50 am

yeah but insurance only giving you back on depreciated value
so once your car is over a few years old, it will be nowhere close to the figure to get a replacement car.......

Postby hover11 » May 10th, 2022, 6:01 am

Tbh we forget a car is the only depreciating asset so ofc insurance will only give back in the value of the vehicle at the age of the vehicle. If they didn't that wouldn't be good business.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 10th, 2022, 6:17 am

Some of my loll options for my daily driver:
$40 gas lock off switch
$40 kill switch
Pull out main fuse when car is parked..

Other vehicles: GPS and track on my own

Postby Dave » May 10th, 2022, 6:30 am

Third party fire and theft is an option for the older vehicles but when third is the only option then GPS may be the way to go.

My favorite theft deterrent was removing the rotor from the distributor.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 10th, 2022, 7:28 am

You had a quick release distributor and rotor.

Those things are usually an involved process... Usually.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 10th, 2022, 7:38 am

Dave wrote:Third party fire and theft is an option for the older vehicles but when third is the only option then GPS may be the way to go.

My favorite theft deterrent was removing the rotor from the distributor.
Mine was the automatic switch on a manual conversion
Used to use a screwdriver to turn the tranny selector to "D", so the car wont start.
Pull bonnet, put into "N", start and buss out

ROFL

Lost that feature when i put the correct harness and ECU in afterwards

Postby Ben_spanna » May 10th, 2022, 7:40 am

agent007 wrote:No one is mentioning proper insurance. 1st thing is if you value your car, then make sure it's covered under comprehensive risks.

Note:

You can add your gear lever lock, steering lock, pedal lock, viper 2-way pager alarm and GPS thereafter.

What ever happened to datadots? I remember back in 2003, there was a black r34 gtr in movietowne pos advertising it iirc.

Insurance??? you mean the worlds oldest scam? STeeeuuupppsssss!

Postby pugboy » May 10th, 2022, 7:59 am

a minor deterrent to the gangster car bandits is to drive a manual
young quamie dont know how to drive that
the pro thieves will tho

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 10th, 2022, 8:48 am

pugboy wrote:a minor deterrent to the gangster car bandits is to drive a manual
young quamie dont know how to drive that
the pro thieves will tho
Mballo ent know bout gears nowadays

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 10th, 2022, 8:51 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Some of my loll options for my daily driver:
$40 gas lock off switch
$40 kill switch

Any electrical can be bypassed. Gas choke . pull some fuse?

dogg

Postby dogg » May 10th, 2022, 10:14 am

pugboy wrote:what are the subscription prices ?

Carsearch is 1,176 annually.
There's a discount if you're a Pricesmart member.

Postby pugboy » May 10th, 2022, 11:53 am

I had an old school gas lock in a 323 a while back, you stepped on it just under the mat to physically lock off the fuel line.
it saved the car in one instance of theft in st clair

viedcht wrote:
$40 gas lock off switch
$40 kill switch

Any electrical can be bypassed. Gas choke . pull some fuse?

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 10th, 2022, 12:07 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:
agent007 wrote:No one is mentioning proper insurance. 1st thing is if you value your car, then make sure it's covered under comprehensive risks.

Note:

Insurance??? you mean the worlds oldest scam? STeeeuuupppsssss!
Thieves getting smarter and better equipped by the minute. You can protect your car with a bunch of different devices and it still could be stolen. It's better to get back something, rather than nothing.

The truest scam is buying a device to help secure your car and it doesn't work. Insurance is a legal contract. What contract you or anyone signing with club lock, multi lock and viper? What contract you signing with a GPS tracking company? Do they have a clause which indicates that if your car cannot be found, they will replace it for you?

So whilst insurance is a scam to you, that contract can bring you back closer to replacing your ride. The returns with an insurance claim would still be better than 90% of them forex/ponzi/pyramid schemes in our market and people dotish enough to fall for a trap of 0 returns. At least insurance gives you back something.

I personally don't care if my car is stolen. I'll gladly take my insurance money and figure out something thereafter.

The best security system you can invest in is a poisonous snake in the driver's seat.

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » May 13th, 2022, 12:49 pm

What devices alyuh have on the newer cars?

Postby redmanjp » May 13th, 2022, 1:03 pm

the gps is d best as that protects u EVEN IF the car is stolen or is highjacked at gunpoint. and some insurance companies give u a discount for having it as well.

Postby j.o.e » May 13th, 2022, 1:07 pm

I don’t like paying bills so I dropped a Apple Air Tag in each vehicle. None of them are the typical commonly stolen vehicles so they are in case of a gunpoint hijack or kidnapping. Trusted family member has sight of it in case I’m taken also.

Postby maj. tom » May 13th, 2022, 1:27 pm

Cheapest Viper Alarm that doesn't do anything but beep the horn. Electrical guy said it has a kill switch built in with it if it's not disarmed, I don't know really. The blinking blue light is just a deterrent to the dumbass Nissan/Aqua clown types. GPS sim card unit, but not a service. I don't even know where he had put it. Top up $10 every 3 months, location sent to my phone through SMS. Won't really help if it's stolen because I know police will just ignore the report and say "it eh have no vehicle available." To be honest, I had installed those two because the insurance lowered my fully comp rates when I presented the stamped bills for the installation.

Key Fob kept in a Faraday cage when the car is parked so nobody can use a relay and copy the signal and remote start the car. The Push Button Start by itself is a kill switch if it doesn't receive the encrypted fob signal, but it can be bypassed by a pro thief with the OBD programming tool.

Should stop the average protentional looker, but obviously not a professional thief.

Postby redmanjp » May 13th, 2022, 3:30 pm

^ why not a gps service that includes recovery?

Postby timelapse » May 13th, 2022, 10:08 pm

Coconut broom in the back dash tied up in a purple cloth.This feeling like deja vous

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 14th, 2023, 9:43 am

$40 gas lock off switch
$40 kill switch

What gps do you use? Thinking of buying a tracker off Amazon and putting a Digicel sim in it