Stuart Young on CNN's Quest

Postby bluefete » May 10th, 2022, 9:01 pm

Lie after Lie after Lie

I thought things so bad that Imbert had to remove the subsidy?

Young could not even say what the government going and do with the extra income.

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=531481925086420

Mmoney607

Re: Stuart Young on CNN's Quest

Postby Mmoney607 » May 10th, 2022, 11:43 pm

LOL. he ain't tell them about when he went and "renegotiate" a gas price. But at least he keep his convent accent. Real men was going there and talk yankee

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 10th, 2022, 11:55 pm

How when where he increasing gas production?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 11th, 2022, 3:44 am

how come he aint talk about he step daughter. apparently the case dismiss like scoon case.

Postby hover11 » May 11th, 2022, 4:07 am

daring dragoon wrote:how come he aint talk about he step daughter. apparently the case dismiss like scoon case.
1.6 million dollar bail and no flight risk must be nice

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2022, 6:28 am

so if germany say they need gas as they gonna stop taking from russia how we gonna supply that ?

Postby timelapse » May 11th, 2022, 6:57 am

Find out how much tax those companies in oil and gas pay and you will wonder wtf they doing with the money.Clue: is not Kamla tiefing it

dogg

Postby dogg » May 11th, 2022, 7:36 am

From 4:00- Young says:

The govt revenue is used to look after the people - who quite frankly has a good life.
!!!

them fellers living in a dream world yes.

And still, the UNC does look worse than PNM! No-hopers under Kamla.

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2022, 7:09 pm

lol people need to start sending CNN some amateur video reports of life in Trinidad or get VICE to do another segment down here

Postby Rovin » May 11th, 2022, 7:23 pm

man say good life yes ... wtf

d only ppl who have a good life here is d politicians, it financiers & d 1% ... d rest of us trying not to be a victim of crime & fighting up to survive with high cost of living

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 11th, 2022, 7:24 pm

He trying to paint a picture for the americans.....

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » May 11th, 2022, 7:39 pm

I think he was caught off guard with the “what you gonna do with the revenue” question which he really should have anticipated. A better answer in addition to the Covid response and education would be to “continue efforts to support our citizens who are in the most need” rather than that part that we generally live well. Came across insensitive to those who are genuinely struggling in these times.

Overall it was a positive interview, and he did a decent job.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » May 11th, 2022, 9:56 pm

He can't say on record what the government is going to do with the extra revenue. Then people will look for that to happen. They'll find ways of making it "disappear" in areas with no accountability. The Porsche dealership must be rubbing it's hands in glee all now.

The only extra revenue we'll actually "see" is what ends up going to the THA because you done know Farley Augustine going and bawl for Tobago share of that revenue loud loud loud. The rest of it......................

Postby hover11 » May 11th, 2022, 9:59 pm

DTAC wrote:He can't say on record what the government is going to do with the extra revenue. Then people will look for that to happen. They'll find ways of making it "disappear" in areas with no accountability. The Porsche dealership must be rubbing it's hands in glee all now.

The only extra revenue we'll actually "see" is what ends up going to the THA because you done know Farley Augustine going and bawl for Tobago share of that revenue loud loud loud. The rest of it......................
Where the millions of dollars that this country recieved from covid assistance....where did that money go. Did anyone benefit from that besides politicians and their friends and families?

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2022, 7:34 am

hover11 wrote:
DTAC wrote:He can't say on record what the government is going to do with the extra revenue. Then people will look for that to happen. They'll find ways of making it "disappear" in areas with no accountability. The Porsche dealership must be rubbing it's hands in glee all now.

Where the millions of dollars that this country recieved from covid assistance....where did that money go. Did anyone benefit from that besides politicians and their friends and families?
That money went to 1%

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » May 12th, 2022, 8:33 am

Lil while ago but small pin knows his people!
Richard Quest, CNN Reporter, Arrested On Drug Charges

CNN personality Richard Quest was busted in Central Park early yesterday with some drugs in his pocket, a rope around his neck that was tied to his genitals, and a sex toy in his boot, law-enforcement sources said.[...]

Quest was initially busted for loitering, the source said. Aside from the oddly configured rope, the search also turned up a sex toy inside of his boot, and a small bag of methamphetamine in his left jacket pocket.

It wasn't immediately clear what the rope was for. Mr. Quest was arrested early Friday morning after being escorted out of Central Park for violating the park curfew, a law enforcement official said Friday. The park is closed from 1 a.m. to 6 a.m.

The police noticed Mr. Quest at 64th Street and West Drive at about 3:40 a.m., the official said. As he was being escorted out, he volunteered, "I have meth in my pocket," according to an official briefed on the case. The police searched him and recovered a small amount of methamphetamine in a Ziploc bag.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 12th, 2022, 8:57 am

Toobin, Quest, Cuomo......Seems CNN is filled with deviants!!

Postby eliteauto » May 12th, 2022, 10:04 am

14 years ago but yeah a "lil while ago"

Postby The_Honourable » May 12th, 2022, 10:10 am

Curtis Williams on the ball

We must speak the truth...even if it’s inconvenient

It is a well-known fact that if you repeat something often enough, even if it is not the truth, or it is not the reality, it becomes your own reality and you begin to believe it yourself.

I, like many other people, looked at the interview that Energy Minister Stuart Young did with CNN’s Richard Quest programme, and to my shock and horror, the minister sought to give the impression that T&T was in a position to increase natural gas production to assist European countries that are in an economic war with Russia and who are, to a large measure, at the mercy of the Putin regime as it relates to oil and natural gas.

“We’re looking on at this international crisis taking place and, as you said, we see ourselves as punching way above our belt. We have been a significant gas producer, LNG producer for the last few decades.

“At our height of production, we were pumping out about 770 million MMBtu of LNG a year on an annual basis. We are four trains, and so we see the ability, we have additional capacity right now,” Young said.

“We are eager to step in to assist in what is going on globally, in whatever way we can. It’s not only on the LNG front, we were also a significant ammonia producer in Trinidad as well.

“Ammonia and methanol—and we have capacity there as well. So, as a gas producer who turns gas into both LNG as well as what we call pet-chems and ammonia, methanol, urea, UAN (fertiliser), we are ready to do what we can to assist with what we see as this crisis taking place.”

The minister said the onus was on other oil and gas countries like T&T to ramp up production and provide an alternative to Russia during this crisis.

Now, what are the facts?

T&T has four LNG Trains, but only three are in operation. It is well ventilated in this space that Train 1 is dead and the reason it is not operating and has been down for more than a year is because there is simply no natural gas for it.

You see, the Minister of Energy and everything else has spent so much time and energy trying to create an alternative reality of the Train 1 débâcle that he appears to now believe that it is operating and therefore goes on international television and tells the world something anyone can easily check on the internet and see it is nothing but a fabrication.

It is this same kind of make-belief, this smokescreen, that led to the disastrous decision to invest a quarter billion dollars of taxpayers’ money into saving Train 1, when the owners of 90 per cent of the plant were not interested in it and on the NGC betting against the reopening of plants on the Point Lisas Industrial Estate.

This now haunts us and has the Chairman of the National Gas Company suggesting it was never an investment but rather an issue of maintenance.

I am sure the minister must know, or at least his two Acting Permanent Secretaries could tell him, that natural gas production last year averaged 2.579 billion standard cubic feet per day (bscf/d); compare this to 2019 when it was 3.5 bscf/d. Production is slightly up, closer to 3 bscf/d, but the fact is we can hardly meet our contractual arrangements for LNG and petrochemicals, and yet the minister tries to convince the world there is extra gas in T&T.

The minister must know that T&T has no share in Trains 2 and 3 and has no cargoes to sell from those trains, in Train 4 it has 11 per cent and Train 1 is dead. Even if it wanted to divert cargoes to Europe, it has a mere 5.5 per cent of total LNG production in the country.

It is nothing but trying to play smart with foolishness.

The minister must know that natural gas requires constant investment in the upstream to simply maintain production and in a mature province like T&T, it is a major challenge to, as the late Franklin Khan was fond of saying, walk up the downward escalator.

T&T has a natural gas challenge and unless we have access to Venezuelan gas or can bring on-stream deep-water and/or cross-border gas, we will not be in a position to increase production.

This notion that you can say what you believe and repeat it sufficiently and people will buy into it, was perfected by former US President Donald Trump.

It is a slippery slope, but many politicians see it as a way of being economic with the truth and getting away with it, even in the face of facts.

According to the Brookings Institution, Trump’s lies undermined public confidence in the former President and American government, increasing public cynicism.

“But these falsehoods, as bad as they are, are not as insidious as the repetition of false statements with important political and policy implications. Whether consciously intended or not, Trump’s policy and political lies can have a significant impact on public opinion, particularly with those who are favourably disposed toward him. Systematic research in psychology and political science has demonstrated that once “misinformation” is initially encoded in a person’s mind, it is very difficult to change perceptions through credible corrections. In fact, attempted corrections often reinforce the initial misinformation,” the institute wrote.

It went on to say that all of Trump’s lies that contradict commonly accepted facts challenge the fundamental principles of the enlightenment, which are premised on the belief that there are objective facts discoverable through investigation, empirical evidence, rationality and the scientific method.

It noted that from these premises, it follows that political discourse involves making logical arguments and adducing evidence in support of those arguments, rather than asserting one’s own self-serving version of reality. It reminded of the late US Senator Patrick Moynihan’s admonition that, “Everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not to his own facts.”

“Trump’s refusal to attempt to refute charges that he was telling falsehoods, admit their inaccuracy, or attempt to wiggle out of them by equivocating demonstrates either his lack of touch with reality or his conviction that he does not have to explain himself to others. Insistence on his false statements is an assertion of power,” the institute ended.

Mr Young is no Donald Trump and while I am sure he wants T&T to punch above its weight and not its belt, he must also know that in doing so, there must be truth and facts. We must speak the truth.

I wish Mr Young was right and I did not have to write this column today, but the country deserves the facts.

Last weekend, I visited my mother’s house and, as happens often, the grandchildren met up to spend time with their “gramma.” Aria, who is four years old, told her mummy that uncle Curtis is a bit clumsy. She told her this in secret.

Her mother said if you want to tell Uncle Curtis something go ahead and tell him. She then told me she thought I was a bit clumsy.

It was a lesson about being brave enough to say what you feel and observe. It is the children like Aria who have to inherit a country, we owe it to them, to be honest with ourselves.

Aria and the children of her generation deserve no less.

Source: https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/we- ... 15ec596248

Postby Dizzy28 » May 12th, 2022, 10:17 am

Article spot on.

Postby timelapse » May 12th, 2022, 10:24 am

So to clarify, is not that PNM not tiefing de money, is that Kamla woulda tief more? Interesting...

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » May 12th, 2022, 10:29 am

two more minutes and he woulda mention carnival..doubles..and Niki minaj

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2022, 10:58 am

timelapse wrote:So to clarify, is not that PNM not tiefing de money, is that Kamla woulda tief more? Interesting...
Perceived lesser of the two evils that's what they run with

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2022, 11:06 am

The avg red government voter don't understand Nat gas pricing and the lies being told

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2022, 11:12 am

SuperiorMan wrote:He trying to paint a picture for the americans.....

to what end? they only need us for lng, and to keep venezuela from linking hard with iran et al

zoom rader wrote:The avg red government voter don't understand Nat gas pricing and the lies being told

ey, look pnm say we boomin on cnn!!!! leff foot ritttte foot.

matters not what they understand, the man went cnn to campaign for local elections. and say, doh mind fuel price high, and we getting cost push inflation, tings going good. vote for we!

Postby Rovin » May 12th, 2022, 11:19 am

is how on fb d pee nmites jumping up to defend stewy

they cant read, write or spell properly or understand any issues but once they hear anybody from their party is being called out they quick to rush in to defend .... ask them if citizens standard of living in T&T has gotten better : they wont answer but deflect

of course they blaming\throwing word on kamla\unc - they simply cannot make a sensible point without doing that .... :roll:

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2022, 11:32 am

sMASH wrote:

to what end? they only need us for lng, and to keep venezuela from linking hard with iran et al

zoom rader wrote:The avg red government voter don't understand Nat gas pricing and the lies being told

matters not what they understand, the man went cnn to campaign for local elections. and say, doh mind fuel price high, and we getting cost push inflation, tings going good. vote for we!
It's level lies been told on our oil and gas reserves.

Idiots like Redman and habit7 all tried to prove me wrong and failed. Most of government and independent oil reviews are all doctored. Its pure lies.

The red government purposely kept the figures down to create a false recession. They used this opportunity to tote money out and screw the forex. There is a reason for keeping trini in red and its not to benefit the citizen.

Trinidad has 0.75billions of barrels of oil but they refuse to optimise it. Tons of Wells are capped. A few leases are sold to operators in the catch arse areas to pump oil. That's just for windows dressing.

Lies , lies and more lies

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2022, 11:38 am

Rovin wrote:is how on fb d pee nmites jumping up to defend stewy

they cant read, write or spell properly or understand any issues but once they hear anybody from their party is being called out they quick to rush in to defend .... ask them if citizens standard of living in T&T has gotten better : they wont answer but deflect

of course they blaming\throwing word on kamla\unc - they simply cannot make a sensible point without doing that .... :roll:
In the PNM thread I asked this Idiot " I code stuff"....what PNM did for him in the past 8 years in power he made a joke in sad reality they did absolutely nothing for him and he has yet to answer such. Red government ppl easy to please you just need a blank man in power and they happy. They don't care if things falling apart they just want to see that figure head there and they contented.

Gonna look the government achievement thread to remind myself what they did....oh nothing

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2022, 12:46 pm

sMASH wrote:

It's level lies been told on our oil and gas reserves.

Idiots like Redman and habit7 all tried to prove me wrong and failed. Most of government and independent oil reviews are all doctored. Its pure lies.

The red government purposely kept the figures down to create a false recession. They used this opportunity to tote money out and screw the forex. There is a reason for keeping trini in red and its not to benefit the citizen.

Trinidad has 0.75billions of barrels of oil but they refuse to optimise it. Tons of Wells are capped. A few leases are sold to operators in the catch arse areas to pump oil. That's just for windows dressing.

Lies , lies and more lies

would capping it off, to sell off the rights to private independent extractors, like what they going to do with np gas stations, would that be a possibility ?
if av worked so well once, why not do it a thousand times over?

Postby bluefete » May 12th, 2022, 1:11 pm

Stuart Young
6h ·
It comes as no surprise that once again the Chief Editor of the Business Guardian would use his article in that newpaper to continue what is obviously some petty, but ill informed, personal vendetta in an attempt to mislead readers.

Today’s personalized article by the individual states that I mislead viewers in an interview on CNN International earlier this week. The author spends a lot of his time attacking efforts being made by the Government, and in particular, myself, as we engage in negotiations and also initiatives that we cannot as yet provide the details on due to the sensitive and confidential nature of same.

I am compelled to refute the author’s shallow and ignorant attempts to create a narrative that I lied or mislead viewers during the said CNN International interview. Ironically, the Business Guardian quotes what I said and it is immediately seen that everything that I said is true and accurate. I said that Trinidad and Tobago has capacity to process additional natural gas into both LNG and Ammonia and therefore we can assist global dilemmas in these areas. We have available capacity.

This particular author and the UNC opposition are fortunately no part of the many negotiations and conversations that have been taking place on behalf of Trinidad and Tobago all aimed at securing the natural gas future of Trinidad and Tobago. However, their destructive self serving narratives must not be allowed to occupy productive space as we continue to fight to promote and build Trinidad and Tobago.

The short sightedness and personal nature of this author’s misinformed article today is based on wrong assumptions by the author and I refute his suggestion that anything I carefully said on CNN was incorrect. Trinidad and Tobago does have immediate available capacity in LNG, Ammonia and Methanol production which is exactly what I said.

I assure the people of Trinidad and Tobago without fear of truthful contradiction that the government, and I, as Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister are working assiduously to secure the continued productivity of our energy sector which hopefully will include increased production.

Along this journey there will be those who will try to distract and even derail these efforts by printing false information and even defamatory narratives this will not distract me from my work and task.

Stuart R. Young, M.P.
Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister
May 12, 2022