Best Street Food Places in Trinidad & Tobago?

daring dragoon

Re: Best Street Food Places in Trinidad & Tobago?

Postby daring dragoon » May 19th, 2022, 8:22 pm

i stop supporting any business that allow he to promote their business

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2022, 8:53 pm

he got in a little parking accident a couple years ago with mom of somebody I know
child literally throw a tantrum screaming about his new car

only when I saw him in person I realised he has shortman syndrome

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2022, 9:01 pm

Trini food places need to work on their consistency badly.

I mean stink customer service is expected, that is how Trinis are and will always be.

But oh gosh man, have some pride. At least make it taste good all the time….everytime.

Anyways friends, we need more salad bars and healthy food spots around.

dogg

Re: Best Street Food Places You Been At?

Postby dogg » May 19th, 2022, 9:06 pm

Yeah, I saw some of those exchanges.
I try not to buy or eat food from anyone with surly or confrontational personas.
Might be mind over matter but to me, it reflects on the food.

I was going to buy his cookbook but after seeing the foolishness he posts publicly, I say I don't want that kinda negativity near my cooking.

Wheel and go Peru.

Anyway, Where between Barataria and Tacarigua has good consistent BBQ? I've been looking for ages.

Phone Surgeon wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
pugboy wrote:check the yankee guy on youtube
who did a whole week tour the other day
“davidsbeenthere”

Not much to see so far. He's put up two episodes - First one was a Wing Hua in Aranguez and the 2nd he start by you Pug..... .......Some spots on the Avenue and then QPS.

Jason Peru a bit annoying though IMO.
J ignorant when cameras not rolling... Fake social personality
Lol peru does firetruck up people dred on fb. He like he eh business. I does be in shock at his public responses to persons comments

Postby RedVEVO » May 19th, 2022, 9:22 pm

Boys - only Boys - out tonight - Just got the perfect Peking Roast Duck with special sauce !

Then Sea Food Fried Rice !! And 3 portions of fried spicy squid. And stir fried beef !

HEAVEN !!!

Me Asia Chinese Restaurant on Ariapita Ave have the BEST roasted duck in the nation !!

The family is from Venezuela and that business is THE BEST for great Chinese food !

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2022, 11:25 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Boys - only Boys - out tonight - Just got the perfect Peking Roast Duck with special sauce !

Then Sea Food Fried Rice !! And 3 portions of fried spicy squid. And stir fried beef !

HEAVEN !!!

Me Asia Chinese Restaurant on Ariapita Ave have the BEST roasted duck in the nation !!

The family is from Venezuela and that business is THE BEST for great Chinese food !

Will try!

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 20th, 2022, 12:39 am

nick639v2 wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:2022 with shortages and price increasing 100 and 200% you all still have money to buy food outside? no wonder imbutt can continue to fork with you all.

after a days work I’ve seen a dinner special (3pc) or the gyro meat special box with fries and butter bread feed a family and lighten the mood of an entire home beyond anything you could possibly imagine. Ingredients for cooking a meal for a family of 4 surpasses 50$ easily. And that’s just the shorter end of the stick. Dhal and rice alone or Vienna sausage and rice for the week is a reality out here with grocery prices…., let ppl buy their food padna, one day to look forward to with the outside food and bring a lil ease up is literally keeping people alive and smiling to grind the next day.

yea nick real talk here

Postby RedVEVO » May 20th, 2022, 2:22 am

Mercenary wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:2022 with shortages and price increasing 100 and 200% you all still have money to buy food outside? no wonder imbutt can continue to fork with you all.

after a days work I’ve seen a dinner special (3pc) or the gyro meat special box with fries and butter bread feed a family and lighten the mood of an entire home beyond anything you could possibly imagine. Ingredients for cooking a meal for a family of 4 surpasses 50$ easily. And that’s just the shorter end of the stick. Dhal and rice alone or Vienna sausage and rice for the week is a reality out here with grocery prices…., let ppl buy their food padna, one day to look forward to with the outside food and bring a lil ease up is literally keeping people alive and smiling to grind the next day.

yea nick real talk here

x3001

Sometimes online you can get a special @ KFC 15 pieces chicken for $99

Now that can bring joy and lighten up a Friday night to your family especially the kids.

But you see some dragons rather buy rum :roll:

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2022, 5:11 am

Bubblin Star is what your taxpayers money supported.

He was a recipient of the now infamous slush fund scholarships Min of Culture gave out back in the day.

Postby timelapse » May 20th, 2022, 7:34 am

RedVEVO wrote:
Mercenary wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:

yea nick real talk here

x3001

Sometimes online you can get a special @ KFC 15 pieces chicken for $99

Now that can bring joy and lighten up a Friday night to your family especially the kids.

But you see some dragons rather buy rum :roll:
Dan, get rid of the Colonel.Air fryer chicken is healthier and tastes better.For the price, you would probably get twice to three times the amount of chicken.KFC is bad for you, and especially girl chirren.PCOS and dem things.

Postby Chimera » May 20th, 2022, 8:00 am

Nah boy

Kfc specials like it cheaper than cooking for yourself . Especially if you out a $$ value on your time.

Anyway....it have a place call chinee chopper near curepe junction on the eastern main road.

Not too far from island finance

They have pretty good BBQ on that side.

Also Karim open a new BBQ place just off the highway by aranguez overpass. They okay as well.

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2022, 8:18 am

where in aranguez ?

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Also Karim open a new BBQ place just off the highway by aranguez overpass. They okay as well.

Postby timelapse » May 20th, 2022, 9:02 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Nah boy

Kfc specials like it cheaper than cooking for yourself . Especially if you out a $$ value on your time.

Anyway....it have a place call chinee chopper near curepe junction on the eastern main road.

Not too far from island finance

They have pretty good BBQ on that side.

I know chinee chopper very well.He so-so.
KFC is not good for you

Postby Chimera » May 20th, 2022, 10:10 am

pugboy wrote:where in aranguez ?

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Screenshot_20220520-101032_Maps.jpg

Postby Chimera » May 20th, 2022, 10:12 am

I could only ever rate bbq as okay.

Doesn't get bess bbq unless you make it yourself and you don't skimp on the seasoning and sauce.

All those places that bbquing for profit would be doing so

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2022, 10:19 am

Chinee Chopper is ok.
They out here real long though. Long before BBQ was ubiquitous as it is now
All the sons were in Hillview around my time. Used to taste better when they did the BBQing themselves.

Postby Chimera » May 20th, 2022, 10:24 am

Yea chinee chopper does taste good sometimes
Okay sometimes
Waste of money sometimes.

Max grill does have consistently good BBQ in cunupia branch

Not sure about the others

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 20th, 2022, 10:38 am

K74T wrote:Catfish? Nothnx.

catfish is pretty good once properly cleaned.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2022, 10:52 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Tilapia and Swai (Catfish) are pretty nothing fish. They are like meat version of tofu..............bland and really needs a vessel to carry them whether its a spicy one or battered fried.

Postby Chimera » May 20th, 2022, 11:02 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Tilapia and Swai (Catfish) are pretty nothing fish. They are like meat version of tofu..............bland and really needs a vessel to carry them whether its a spicy one or battered fried.
Isn't gilbaka a catfish? That does taste real good.

Also there's a blue catfish with a very long fin from guyana...they sell it in the market down here as well. That does taste great as well.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 20th, 2022, 11:05 am

Frozen, maybe.
Fresh caught and prepped same time is pretty good. I won't classify fresh catfish with tofu, but the flesh is dense and very well suited to curry (cubes), or even basic fried with a seasoned flour as cutters.

It can't touch red snapper or salmon, but it has a place in the cookbook.

Postby Chimera » May 20th, 2022, 11:08 am

Find a guyanese and let them curry some of this for you. You will agree to call everything fish curry and chicken curry and say wha d skunt budday
EgCyFAIWkAEL2cf.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2022, 11:24 am

^ Saw this beast in Tunapuna market a few years ago.
Similar to that yellowish one you have up there?

IMG_20170319_092002.jpg

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2022, 11:34 am

freshwater farmed in south east asia and pumped with antibiotics

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Postby Chimera » May 20th, 2022, 12:06 pm

pugboy wrote:freshwater farmed in south east asia and pumped with antibiotics

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Yuh right.

Local tiliapia from a pond does taste real good compare to those imported fillets you see selling frozen all over.

Postby Chimera » May 20th, 2022, 12:07 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^ Saw this beast in Tunapuna market a few years ago.
Similar to that yellowish one you have up there?

IMG_20170319_092002.jpg
Yea that looking like gilbaka self. The yellow colour is when they living in the area where have gold mining operation and they does eat the chemical run off from the gold cleaning operation. Does have a nice rich taste and colour.

(I just make that up, idk why they yellow)

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2022, 12:12 pm

i see vendors selling that here already
but never realize it was diff to the regular ones

in the guyana interior there are very big freshwater catfish

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2022, 12:29 pm

BTW there was (probably still is) a swai shortage. I don't buy it but my BIl supplies some RHAs. They order quite a lot of Swai to the point he gets enough free ones that we always have a bag in the freezer. He was unable to get since March.

Postby meccalli » May 20th, 2022, 1:21 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Tilapia and Swai (Catfish) are pretty nothing fish. They are like meat version of tofu..............bland and really needs a vessel to carry them whether its a spicy one or battered fried.

Swai is what everybody does run down from most fast food outlets, the fact that it takes on the characteristics of what it's seasoned with, makes it desirable for many people who are averse to fish but recognize it's value as a protein source. But either way, the way things are going as far as heavy metal, pah, pcb and microplastic pollution in wild caught fish. Species like tilapia and swai that feed low on the food chain and can be cultured intensively are much healthier options. One of the few species along with other things like carp that get large enough for fillet's and yet feeds on periphyton and phytoplankton. The idea of eating piscivorous fish like snappers, sharks are akin to eating lion or some other large predator rather than a deer. Kingfish and shark are well known to contain some of the highest levels of methylmercury as a result of bioaccumulation, being at the top of the food chain. You would expect the same with the other contaminants as well.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2022, 1:39 pm

^ My takeaway from all that is now I wonder what lion would lion taste like ?