Monkeypox

Re: Monkeypox cases reported in Europe, US, Canada & J'ca

Postby aaron17 » August 5th, 2022, 11:00 am

Interesting in getting 4 or 5 doses from a vial.

https://youtu.be/v2J7rXuOiuw

Postby K74T » August 6th, 2022, 4:26 am

FB_IMG_1659774334425.jpg

Stay safe reddo.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 6th, 2022, 9:04 am

hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
hover11 wrote:BREAKING: Biden administration to declare monkeypox a public health emergency in the U.S.

https://abcnews.go.com/Health/biden-adm ... al_fb_abcn

MoH saying the opposite

terry say we ent getting even 100 cases
Isn't this what he said about covid....I stop listening to the pharmacist a long time ago

there was a video clip of teary saying on morning edition that covid will not affect us in trinidad.

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2022, 9:07 am

Usa behaving like trini....
Things going on and we detecting it way before..and then quite in the end they will do something. A burning tyre for it again?

Postby hover11 » August 6th, 2022, 9:09 am

aaron17 wrote:Usa behaving like trini....
Things going on and we detecting it way before..and then quite in the end they will do something. A burning tyre for it again?
Always reactive never proactive

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2022, 10:30 am

What i worry about is my hands crack up when i use hand sanitizer .

Postby st7 » August 6th, 2022, 11:22 am

you worry about a lot of minor, inconsequential things.

by chance are you a hypochondriac?

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2022, 4:09 pm

st7 wrote:you worry about a lot of minor, inconsequential things.

I figure the covid made most of us that. Also they say that monkeypox can enter broken skin.

Postby st7 » August 6th, 2022, 4:12 pm

aaron17 wrote:

I figure the covid made most of us that. Also they say that monkeypox can enter broken skin.
hmmm i haven't witnessed the people i know turning into hypochondriacs because of COVID. maybe they were more vigilant because they didn't wanna get it but that's about it.
Last edited by st7 on August 6th, 2022, 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 6th, 2022, 4:13 pm

aaron17 wrote:

Monkey pox is definitely not spreading as fast as covid. This means if there's a detected case, then it's likely we can contain it.

I would be interested to see how this plays out in September when schools reopen and all these kids who gone away during the holidays come back.

Tldr:

Relax for now, monkey pox is more likely to end up like Ebola, Sars, and MERs i.e. not a pandemic

Postby Gladiator » August 6th, 2022, 10:38 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

Monkey pox is definitely not spreading as fast as covid. This means if there's a detected case, then it's likely we can contain it.

I would be interested to see how this plays out in September when schools reopen and all these kids who gone away during the holidays come back.

Tldr:

Relax for now, monkey pox is more likely to end up like Ebola, Sars, and MERs i.e. not a pandemic

The data says otherwise though... the US now has 7500+ cases confirmed compared to thirty something when I was there 2 weeks ago.

https://www.cdc.gov/poxvirus/monkeypox/ ... d-map.html

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2022, 3:11 am

I would say 70+ countries with confirmed cases and likely many others probably with undetected cases sounds pretty much like a pandemic to me.

If ppl don't want to change their behavior for at least a few weeks then it will keep increasing till this thing becomes the 2nd virus in 2 years we have to live with.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 7th, 2022, 4:25 am

Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

Tldr:

The data says otherwise though... the US now has 7500+ cases confirmed compared to thirty something when I was there 2 weeks ago.

https://www.cdc.gov/poxvirus/monkeypox/ ... d-map.html

Comparing it to covid, the growth is exponentially slower.

Screenshot_20220807-092314_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20220807-092254_Chrome.jpg

Yes it's still concerning, and I hope I'm wrong, but monkey pox will not be like covid

Postby aaron17 » August 7th, 2022, 8:17 am

All hell breaks loose when it becomes endemic and it infects animals and livestock.

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2022, 3:54 pm

We need ppl to get vaxxed as this vax actually prevents spread unlike covid vaccines with the latest BA5 strains.

But lack of access is a problem once again for small countries like us. The Caribbean needs a vaccine manufacturing plant of its own. Because mpox will not be the last major virus to crop up. Already Polio making a come back and could end up yet another health emergency.

Postby aaron17 » August 7th, 2022, 3:56 pm

I assume CARPHA only gains access to vaccines to the caribbean?

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2022, 3:58 pm

aaron17 wrote:I assume CARPHA only gains access to vaccines to the caribbean?

On behalf of. Yes. But we need to be independent and have a plant like Serum Institute of India or African Medical Supplies. So when a vaccine is developed we get our own plant pushing out doses.

Postby maj. tom » August 7th, 2022, 4:20 pm

So you're going to take the vaccine?

Postby hover11 » August 7th, 2022, 4:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:

On behalf of. Yes. But we need to be independent and have a plant like Serum Institute of India or African Medical Supplies. So when a vaccine is developed we get our own plant pushing out doses.
Who is going to fund this though it sounds nice but highly impractical, most Caribbean countries struggling with defecit budgets

Postby paid_influencer » August 7th, 2022, 5:33 pm

redmanjp wrote:

we could do this if we had economies of scale and scope

Manning knew that.

for real tho, Cuba might be the answer. We just need to be brave enough.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 8th, 2022, 4:49 pm

what is the level of infection in TT of hand foot and mouth disease in TT. i know a couple kids under 5 years that infected currently and got at a birthday party in tunapuna area.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 9th, 2022, 2:46 pm

Postby paid_influencer » August 9th, 2022, 5:36 pm

297125614_5699993063379363_6953858229810227124_n.png

Postby hover11 » August 10th, 2022, 5:28 pm

Monkeypox lesions inevitably will scab over — and while that is a step in the right direction in terms of the infection, the sores underneath can scar.

https://lm.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3 ... ZfUSO5KloA

Postby paid_influencer » August 10th, 2022, 6:42 pm

yea not gonna click any monkeypox links on facebook. i've seen enough to nope out of those links forever

monkeypox scarring over the eyes causes blindness tho. self correcting problem

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2022, 10:57 pm

maj. tom wrote:So you're going to take the vaccine?

only close contacts are being vaxxed here- overseas they are vaxxing MSM. i fall into neither group.

Postby hover11 » August 11th, 2022, 12:56 pm

We as humans deserve whatever we get
FB_IMG_1660236909767.jpg

Postby maj. tom » August 17th, 2022, 7:12 pm

Dog infected with monkeypox prompts isolation warning

A dog has been infected with monkeypox after catching the virus from its owner, the World Health Organisation (WHO) has said.

It's the first case of its kind, and health leaders say isolating from pets when infected is important.

The WHO also warned of the need to get rid of rubbish carefully to reduce the risk of infecting other animals.

There is no evidence that dogs can transmit the disease to other dogs or humans, an expert said.
https://www.bbc.com/news/health-62577472

Postby aaron17 » August 17th, 2022, 7:20 pm

Gonna kill animals jus like covid.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 17th, 2022, 7:23 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

Tldr:

Um... neither of any of those had and significant numbers outside of their respective localities.

Monkeypox turning up all over the world, far away from the original sources. Not a pandemic yet..... Relax for now leads to panic later.