Calypso Rose ft. Carlos Santana

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 20th, 2022, 8:26 pm

In her latest single, Watina, featuring the famed guitarist Carlos Santana and Belizean band, The Garfiuna Collective, Calypso Rose pays tribute to the Garifuna people and shows her love for Belize.

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/05/20/calyps ... -released/

nick639v2

Re: Calypso Rose ft. Carlos Santana

Postby nick639v2 » May 20th, 2022, 11:06 pm

Good stuff!! The kind of music the world will appreciate before our own

death365

Postby death365 » May 21st, 2022, 6:48 am

How much of a flame war should I stir up .... hmmm

Let's leave well enough alone for now but awalys remember it should always be home people before outsiders.

Postby bluefete » May 21st, 2022, 7:35 am

death365 wrote:How much of a flame war should I stir up .... hmmm

Let's leave well enough alone for now but always remember it should always be home people before outsiders.

Wait. Do you understand how Reggae / Dancehall (rubbish imo) became a global phenomenon? It is because the people of Jamaica fully supported it. They are not part-time lovers of their culture like T&T.

Do not bash Calypso Rose because she has done much more for the culture of T&T in Europe than anyone else. Most times all by herself.

You should be happy that Carlos Santana is willing to team up with her on this tune.

I am sure you do not know that in the late 1960's Sparrow sang a song about the beauty of St. Croix, long before globalisation was a thing.

AT 80+ years, Rose's contribution is legendary.

Postby MaxPower » May 21st, 2022, 8:15 am

K

death365

Postby death365 » May 21st, 2022, 10:25 am

Never sang with sundar popo, or any other Indian chutney. Or lyndian singers or National Philharmonic Orchestra of Trinidad and Tobago

Or local jazz legend ... can't remember she name

Ah woukda even take winsie-ann cuffy in a mixed gospel

I'm sure each person here can add at least 4 other possible artist too

Postby Les Bain » May 21st, 2022, 10:44 am

death365 wrote:Never sang with sundar popo, or any other Indian chutney. Or lyndian singers or National Philharmonic Orchestra of Trinidad and Tobago

Just like you I don't know if she asked any of those people to collaborate and got turned down but but I'll shoulder your pointless objection, internet brother. FLAME ON!!!1!

Postby j.o.e » May 21st, 2022, 11:15 am

death365 wrote:Never sang with sundar popo, or any other Indian chutney. Or lyndian singers or National Philharmonic Orchestra of Trinidad and Tobago

Trying to get your point

Postby Rovin » May 21st, 2022, 11:24 am

i am a fan of carlos santana especially d music he created during d 70s - he is a boss

i took a listen to this last night with an open mind , i not bashing\hating but this song but it jes doesnt do anything for me personally ... if others like it then thats all well\good

Postby MaxPower » May 21st, 2022, 11:48 am

Rovin wrote:i am a fan of carlos santana especially d music he created during d 70s - he is a boss

i took a listen to this last night with an open mind , i not bashing\hating but this song but it jes doesnt do anything for me personally ... if others like it then thats all well\good

Rovin, i agree 3000%.

I am entitled to my opinion as well and where as i would not say it is garbage, it don’t think it deserves to team with Carlos Santana.

Carlos Santana is an icon and honestly the Trini accent/culture spoiled it for me.

VII

Postby VII » May 22nd, 2022, 2:22 pm

Wham it too African for allyuh Indian ah wah ? Steups.. the damn song ain't bad ,don't get all the criticism.. everything cyar be chutney and rock you know.. and the lady is very old and a local icon, have some respect and basic decency for God's sake..geez it's like being mean to a great grandmother ffs..have a heart cynical mofos.

Watina in allyuh Mc..
Last edited by VII on May 22nd, 2022, 2:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 22nd, 2022, 2:24 pm

I need the zess version!

Postby sMASH » May 22nd, 2022, 4:16 pm

meh...