Hybrid Tax Exemptions in 2022 Trinidad & Tobago

Kritical01

Hybrid Tax Exemptions in 2022 Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Kritical01 » May 21st, 2022, 9:28 pm

Effective May 22, the Minister of Finance did announce that tax exemptions will take effect on hybrids under 1600cc but with some other requirements.

Can anyone confirm which hybrid vehicles would qualify for this exemption?
Aqua, Fielder, Vezel etc?

Thanks

Re: Hybrid Tax Exemptions in 2022 Trinidad & Tobago

Postby redmanjp » May 23rd, 2022, 7:49 pm

want to know this myself

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 23rd, 2022, 8:13 pm

"The exemption will cover cars with an engine size not exceeding 1600 ccs, an electric motor generating 45 kw, a total power output of 78 kw and are no more than three years old."

https://guardian.co.tt/business/imbert- ... 678a0a06cc

Postby redmanjp » May 23rd, 2022, 8:22 pm

Finance Minister Colm Imbert has hit back at critics of his recent announcement that small hybrid cars will be exempted from all taxes in T&T from mid-May 2022.

mid may gone. where is the legal notice?

Kritical01

Postby Kritical01 » May 23rd, 2022, 9:17 pm

Thanks all for the feedback.
Hoping there is a list of hybrids which would qualify for the 48kw/78kw readily available for the public information.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 23rd, 2022, 9:42 pm

I really cannot understand why they put the cap at a 1600cc engine, it’s either you’re in support of going green and reducing carbon foot print or you’re telling the world to go to hell with saving the planet.
Why can’t they just remove all duties fro. Hybrids and full electric in general?
Why does our outdated retarded system have to be so nonsensical ?

Postby Country_Bookie » May 23rd, 2022, 9:51 pm

We're so concerned about becoming a dumping ground for ICE vehicles, we did the following:

1. Removed the tax concessions on hybrid cars a few years back
2. Only reinstating them now, but with strict limits on which hybrids qualify.

Government policy just seems to be unsure if they want to give people incentives to go hybrid/ electric, but at the same time wanting to maximize how much they can tax these same people.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 23rd, 2022, 10:49 pm

The bad part is that these people pretend to not know why we buy so many "cheap" foreign used vehicles.

-Public transport is unreliable, and scarce anywhere outside urban areas.
-Crime makes people not want to wait around until a bus comes, or use a bike to chain up anywhere.
-The extremely hot climate pushes people away from walking long distances, also applicable for bike riding.
-New dealership vehicles are expensive and are multiple times most peoples annual incomes.
and many more

If they want to fix the cheap ICE problem, you have to tackle the crime problem and the public transport problem first.

Postby teems1 » May 24th, 2022, 12:01 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:"The exemption will cover cars with an engine size not exceeding 1600 ccs, an electric motor generating 45 kw, a total power output of 78 kw and are no more than three years old."

The Aqua electric motor is 59 kW with a total power output of 85kW.

If the Aqua doesn't meet the max limits, I have no idea what will.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » May 24th, 2022, 3:19 am

Ben_spanna wrote:I really cannot understand why they put the cap at a 1600cc engine, it’s either you’re in support of going green and reducing carbon foot print or you’re telling the world to go to hell with saving the planet.
Why can’t they just remove all duties fro. Hybrids and full electric in general?
Why does our outdated retarded system have to be so nonsensical ?

Government and T&TEC trying to work out a way to be able to tell when you charging a vehicle as opposed to home use so they can then be able to charge you an additional "Vehicle Charging Tax".

If they can work that out then they'll happily let a billion hybrids into Trinidad. Right now they can't find a way to make extra money off your head so make the benefit to a few people as possible.

teems1 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:"The exemption will cover cars with an engine size not exceeding 1600 ccs, an electric motor generating 45 kw, a total power output of 78 kw and are no more than three years old."

Some Third World spec inferior version that would never be accepted in the first world. Same reason why there are usually two versions of the same smartphone. One for the First World with premium components and one with cheaper components for the Third World but sells for the same price.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 24th, 2022, 11:29 am

teems1 wrote:

Thats the new Aqua, d powertrain in d Axio/Fielder and d older Aquas we always know an love popularly seen tiefing cable from a pole near you actually has less power. The old Aqua/Axio etc electric motor is rated at 45kW with a total power output of 74kW.
Guess this is the vehicle they modelled the legislation after :/

No matter, d govt will give themself some waiver to bring in the biggest most luxiorious electric vehicle for deyself and then give themself a free charging as a going green perk of the job and finally stick it to we to foot the bill by raising rates.

xtech

Postby xtech » May 24th, 2022, 12:07 pm

You guys could just buy a Tesla motor in either a rear wheel or front wheel drive configuration plus the battery pack and motor controller and convert whatever car you fancy to all electric. And don’t have to worry about spending the Same amount of cash on mini hybrids. This is going to be the new RB JZ in the bamboo. Sweet thing is You won’t need a transmission anymore just connect you axles or driveshaft to the reduction gearbox on the back of the motor and away you go.

500HP 800 torque

194045DE-D018-4DBA-B940-377130121540.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2022, 12:38 pm

daxt0r wrote:
teems1 wrote:

Thats the new Aqua, d powertrain in d Axio/Fielder and d older Aquas we always know an love popularly seen tiefing cable from a pole near you actually has less power. The old Aqua/Axio etc electric motor is rated at 45kW with a total power output of 74kW.
Guess this is the vehicle they modelled the legislation after :/

how old? cuz if is more than 2 years it doh qualify for tax exemption :roll:

wing

Postby wing » May 24th, 2022, 6:25 pm

Right on time lol
284065215_10159810794340610_2930328437794861213_n.jpg

Postby bluefete » May 24th, 2022, 7:37 pm

Postby Chimera » May 24th, 2022, 7:45 pm

*orders aqua*
(Or note)

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2022, 7:46 pm

will the big prius qualify?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 24th, 2022, 7:56 pm

zero sign of the prius on toyota trinidad site, but the 2022 prius is supposedly 121hp=90KW

but the engine is a 1.8L so no

Postby Chimera » May 24th, 2022, 8:00 pm

the Note parts would be much cheaper than the aqua ent?

could do with a small hybrid to do some running

this should also qualify for the vezel as well i think

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 24th, 2022, 8:50 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:the Note parts would be much cheaper than the aqua ent?

Vezel total output is 112kw so salt. At least d newer more powerful Aqua qualifies, as well as the Note.
Dey wasn't makin joke when dey say no luxury vehicles :/

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2022, 9:10 pm

so wait. he increase d kilowatt limit? and remove the total power kw limit?

Postby Chimera » May 24th, 2022, 9:12 pm

daxt0r wrote:

Vezel total output is 112kw so salt. At least d newer more powerful Aqua qualifies, as well as the Note.
Dey wasn't makin joke when dey say no luxury vehicles :/

well look fcukery
i sure plenty ppl gonna get tie up with that and order vezels

Postby A172 » May 24th, 2022, 11:06 pm

the release clearly says electric motor output not exceeding 105kw, not total kw output

vezel electric motor output is 22kw

Postby A172 » May 24th, 2022, 11:14 pm

i would be cautious about the E Power note

it came to Customs' attention earlier this year that it is not a hybrid by the definition given in the MVRTA amendment act
1618938321.jpg

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 25th, 2022, 1:20 am

A172 wrote:the release clearly says electric motor output not exceeding 105kw, not total kw output

it is a combined 105KW output, if it was to be a 105KW electric motor, the oxford comma would have been used in the sentence to say "...an engine size not exceeding 1,599 cc, and an electric motor output not exceeding 105KW."

Radix

Postby Radix » May 25th, 2022, 2:00 am

r u really that slow son or do u jus need to be smart son? "oxford comma" my a55. let me help u to use your "oxford comma" to mean a combined output son:

an engine size not exceeding 1,599 cc, an electric motor, and output not exceeding 105KW.

now quit being a smart ass son.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 25th, 2022, 5:54 am

A172 wrote:the release clearly says electric motor output not exceeding 105kw, not total kw output

correct, i got confused with the wording, i thought it was referring to the total combined output like the earlier release, my mistake sorry.

Postby Kenjo » May 25th, 2022, 6:46 am

Is there a listing from the foreign used dealers association yet ? They going to say they weren’t consulted and it’s all a ‘ surprise’ to them

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 25th, 2022, 8:06 am

A Discovery Sport P300e PHEV is a 1499cc 3cyl engine and a 80kw electric motor. That would be well within the range allowed right?

Postby A172 » May 25th, 2022, 8:12 am

ProtonPowder wrote:

it is a combined 105KW output, if it was to be a 105KW electric motor, the oxford comma would have been used in the sentence to say "...an engine size not exceeding 1,599 cc, and an electric motor output not exceeding 105KW."
i know u tryna come off as smart but u just looking dotish rn

what i said is the fact