Re: Best Credit union??

Postby timelapse » June 6th, 2022, 4:33 pm

hover11 wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:
INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:Have been a Venture members since 1986 and never complained about service or dividend payments

Venture credit union customer service has gotten worse over the years. Trying to call and get through to speak to someone is a real pain. Their dividend payout has decreased over the years as well but that is expected with the state of the economy. The benefits is no legal fees for car loans, interest rebate on loans and their interest rate on loans tend to be slightly lower than the banks
Bad customer service in the private sector, simply unheard of lol.
Then you take your business elsewhere genius.
Can you take your public service business elsewhere?

Postby hover11 » June 6th, 2022, 4:38 pm

timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:
INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:Have been a Venture members since 1986 and never complained about service or dividend payments

Venture credit union customer service has gotten worse over the years. Trying to call and get through to speak to someone is a real pain. Their dividend payout has decreased over the years as well but that is expected with the state of the economy. The benefits is no legal fees for car loans, interest rebate on loans and their interest rate on loans tend to be slightly lower than the banks
I thought the idea we were going with is public service stinks and private sector service is always excellent, didn't know the status quo changed my bad

Postby timelapse » June 6th, 2022, 5:25 pm

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:

I thought the idea we were going with is public service stinks and private sector service is always excellent, didn't know the status quo changed my bad
Private sector your service/product or both has to be good for customers to return, because there are alternatives.What's the alternative to sheit service in the public sector? Move to another country?Think first before trying to look smart nah man.

Postby De Dragon » June 6th, 2022, 6:28 pm

Venture. Dem paying Minister wife contract money into Minister's personal account now. :|

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2022, 11:53 am

i went to venture this morning to withdraw some $$$

you know they have a limit, you can only withdraw $3000 in cash per day

if you want a cheque, they would only do cheques for purchases like if you buying a car

and if you want to transfer money from them to another bank, it takes 2-3 working days and you have to show them a bank statement from the other bank

madness yes

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 18th, 2022, 12:16 pm

What's the use of a credit union account if they more restrictive than a bank?

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2022, 12:18 pm

they actually pay interest on your $$

death365

Postby death365 » August 18th, 2022, 12:26 pm

credit unions are saving via shares, not liquid cash. you can use the values of ur shares as collateral for a loan - usually up to 3x the amount of shares.

It is not a current (liquid) account .

sorry I didn't answer the question, any specialized credit union will get better returns eg teachers, pscu, police Tecu etc

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 18th, 2022, 6:18 pm

If you want the services of a bank, use a bank and pay the fees. This is just like people who want the central bank to take their old hundreds. What the ass you was doing with all them hundreds in your house??

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2022, 7:26 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:If you want the services of a bank, use a bank and pay the fees. This is just like people who want the central bank to take their old hundreds. What the ass you was doing with all them hundreds in your house??
The same reason , the "pastor" had all the money home

Postby timelapse » August 18th, 2022, 9:47 pm

death365 wrote:credit unions are saving via shares, not liquid cash. you can use the values of ur shares as collateral for a loan - usually up to 3x the amount of shares.

It is not a current (liquid) account .

sorry I didn't answer the question, any specialized credit union will get better returns eg teachers, pscu, police Tecu etc
You can save liquid cash in credit unions.Some have regular accounts that you can access like a regular bank account via ATM cards and over the counter.The interest rates on it might be crap,but thats the same everywhere.
Also, the 3 times shares thing does not apply to mortgages, vehicle purchase and some other type of loans .Shop around and find what works for your purposes

kadet100

Postby kadet100 » August 18th, 2022, 11:09 pm

Hands down I have to endorse Venture Credit Union with special mention to the South Branch. I recently applied for a mortgage there and the staff literally worked over time on the day I HAD to get the pre-approval to sign the sale agreement or lose out to a last minute cash buyer. Yes they have limitations with regards to the ease of day to day transaction but when a branch manager can call a nobody like me at 5:17 pm to say "It was a bit of a rush and I hope not to late but you are approved. I can verbally confirm that you are approved." I am now a lifelong customer and more than happy to leave this recommendation!

Postby Dave » August 19th, 2022, 6:09 am

That was commendable but also consider that it takes two hands to clap right.
Getting mortgages to finance is good business for lending agencies.

Postby timelapse » August 19th, 2022, 8:06 am

Dave wrote:That was commendable but also consider that it takes two hands to clap right.
Unlike a bank, some of the profits made from your all loans comes back to you.
Here's the take home.

Credit Union: YOU are a shareholder, and thus an owner of the credit union and entitled to a lot more benefits.
Bank: Owned by someone else, and you entitled to whatever they throw at you.

Postby Dave » August 19th, 2022, 8:35 am

Very correct.
Theory and reality?

Postby timelapse » August 19th, 2022, 10:10 am

Dave wrote:Very correct.
Theory and reality?
Credit Union I deal with is reality.You should attend an AGM for a credit Union if you are a member.

Postby Dave » August 19th, 2022, 11:14 am

Long standing member of one and used all services, served as well and audited a few so have experience with many.
timelapse wrote:
Dave wrote:Very correct.
Theory and reality?
Credit Union I deal with is reality.You should attend an AGM for a credit Union if you are a member.

Postby RedVEVO » August 19th, 2022, 11:40 am

timelapse wrote:
Dave wrote:That was commendable but also consider that it takes two hands to clap right.
Here's the take home.

Credit Union: YOU are a shareholder, and thus an owner of the credit union and entitled to a lot more benefits.

100% correct !

Credit Unions also may have group health plans and investments that the average T&T man will welcome.

Credit Unions (CU) are NOT for the 1% since CUs are in reality a poor man's "bank."

Postby timelapse » August 19th, 2022, 12:53 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Here's the take home.

100% correct !

Credit Unions also may have group health plans and investments that the average T&T man will welcome.

Credit Unions (CU) are NOT for the 1% since CUs are in reality a poor man's "bank."
1% 'banks' are stock portfolios.

"Cash is the poor man's money"
-Marilyn Manson

Also a good place to pad up a resume if you land a board position.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » August 19th, 2022, 2:56 pm

kadet100 wrote:Hands down I have to endorse Venture Credit Union with special mention to the South Branch. I recently applied for a mortgage there and the staff literally worked over time on the day I HAD to get the pre-approval to sign the sale agreement or lose out to a last minute cash buyer. Yes they have limitations with regards to the ease of day to day transaction but when a branch manager can call a nobody like me at 5:17 pm to say "It was a bit of a rush and I hope not to late but you are approved. I can verbally confirm that you are approved." I am now a lifelong customer and more than happy to leave this recommendation!

When it comes to getting business like that, they can work fast at times. But when it is time to sort out a problem their responses are slow to nil. My last problem I got run all sorts of different answers in south branch and nobody fixing the problem until a friend gave me a contact at couva branch and that person sorted out my issue in half hr.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 20th, 2022, 12:26 pm

Credit Unions dont really pay much in interest.

Postby hover11 » August 20th, 2022, 12:28 pm

Credit unions don't charge you for holding your money unlike banks

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 20th, 2022, 5:16 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Credit Unions dont really pay much in interest.
Tbey pay dividends, what I get on shares compared to what I used to get in the bank is significantly different

matix

Best Credit union??

Postby matix » August 20th, 2022, 5:21 pm

They pay dividends, best was 8%-10% some years ago.

Postby bluefete » August 20th, 2022, 8:06 pm

matix wrote:

They pay dividends, best was 8%-10% some years ago.

The dividend rate varies according to the surplus / profit made but averages around 4%

Postby bluefete » August 20th, 2022, 8:07 pm

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 21st, 2022, 9:23 am

bluefete wrote:

The dividend rate varies according to the surplus / profit made but averages around 4%

Wot so I can earn about 4% on my shares/savings?

death365

Postby death365 » August 22nd, 2022, 12:46 pm

yes ... an no monthly fee either

viedcht wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Wot so I can earn about 4% on my shares/savings?

wingnut

Postby wingnut » August 22nd, 2022, 1:29 pm

which CU giving 4%?

last dividends i got was closer to 2%

death365

Postby death365 » August 22nd, 2022, 1:33 pm

pscu ... 3 years running now

Yuh wit d wrong CU...