Re: Film on Prophet Muhammad's Daughter Pulled From UK Cinemas

Postby FrankChag » June 28th, 2022, 5:04 am

RedVEVO wrote:
bluefete wrote:
FrankChag wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
FrankChag wrote:The movie is shia bs
Nothing to do with Islaam and Fatimah (may Allaah be pleased with her).

So did you see the movie ?

I try not to waste time watching movies that have no benefit. The wikipedia article was sufficient. The director and writer is a shia 'cleric'. .
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Lady_of_Heaven

Nah, man FrankChag. So you read an article on Wikipedia of all things and decided the movie is trash because it was made by people from the Shia belief.

That is cray, cray. Isn't Islam one belief?

Chances are he is Sunni :D

Yes, Sunni. Hanbali/Salafi specifically. However, nb, the jurisprudence differences between the Sunni "schools of thought" (hanafi/maliki/hanbali), like where to put your hands in the prayer, are orders of magnitude smaller than the major sect/creed differences among the shias. Orthodox sunnis essential have one fundamental creed (called aqeedah in arabic) and differences in minor things (fiqh or jurisprudence matters). Shi'ii sects have huge (aqeedah) gaps between them, and are very far away from mainstream Islaam. The CFR diagram unfortunately makes them seem equal.

Also, yes, if the movie was written by a shia cleric, it's most likely shia propaganda (vs. historical facts), and should be avoided.

Postby timelapse » June 28th, 2022, 7:13 am

FrankChag wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
bluefete wrote:
FrankChag wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
FrankChag wrote:The movie is shia bs
Nothing to do with Islaam and Fatimah (may Allaah be pleased with her).

So did you see the movie ?

I try not to waste time watching movies that have no benefit. The wikipedia article was sufficient. The director and writer is a shia 'cleric'. .
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Lady_of_Heaven

Nah, man FrankChag. So you read an article on Wikipedia of all things and decided the movie is trash because it was made by people from the Shia belief.

That is cray, cray. Isn't Islam one belief?

Chances are he is Sunni :D

Yes, Sunni. Hanbali/Salafi specifically. However, nb, the jurisprudence differences between the Sunni "schools of thought" (hanafi/maliki/hanbali), like where to put your hands in the prayer, are orders of magnitude smaller than the major sect/creed differences among the shias. Orthodox sunnis essential have one fundamental creed (called aqeedah in arabic) and differences in minor things (fiqh or jurisprudence matters). Shi'ii sects have huge (aqeedah) gaps between them, and are very far away from mainstream Islaam. The CFR diagram unfortunately makes them seem equal.

Also, yes, if the movie was written by a shia cleric, it's most likely shia propaganda (vs. historical facts), and should be avoided.
If was a Sunni film maker, they would say the same about you.Cant you all just get along?

Postby 88sins » June 28th, 2022, 8:10 am

MG Man wrote:in this day and age tho, whyyyyy go make a movie that you know gonna offend and rile ppl up?

2 main reasons really

1-Publicity. Always remember that in this modern time, there's no such thing bad publicity, and that people talking about you paves a way for you to make money.
2-Because even though it will offend some, even many, it will be greatly accepted by others, for their own various reasons.

VII

Postby VII » June 28th, 2022, 10:39 am

Man made religion continues to be our biggest hindrance to real progress as a species .as long as we keep following these backward and archaic teachings we would continue to see blood, vengeance and conquest as options .

Humans like many other species are innately caring nurturing and peaceful, with the knowledge that we possess including the powers of basic rationale and reasoning there's no excuse for irrational and barbaric actions in the 21st century.

Religion takes usually rational people and turn them into blood thirsty monsters in the name of one man made religion or another. As free human beings in the 21st century we shouldn't have to worry about offending anyone for their beliefs, it's just a belief and it's mostly man made garbage in reality.

Peoples belief in witchcraft should not affect the lives of real people on the ground, It's about time these religious fundamentalist grow some balls and hold their corners and keep their man made beliefs to themselves .

Christianity Islam et al and their gods, just like Zeus, Thor and Wotan etc are just one religion away from aethism.

Open your eyes touch the ground, respect and cherish nature before its too late, this is all we have .

As a species we've crawled and clawed our way to where we are today, died of our teeth and in childbirth in our prime with no help. No being capable of creating all this shares any likeness with or wants any relationship with any mammal primate, what an insult .

If one understands the insignificance of the earth in the universe they would humbe themselves and know their God story is just man made bull$hit and was probably useful in times gone by, but should be viewed as nothing more than literature and artform today.

Had we followed teachings of Plato, Confuscious etc as opposed to the vengeance jealousy and bloodshed we've been taught since Sunday school, we would've been more advanced as a species today.
Last edited by VII on June 28th, 2022, 11:31 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 28th, 2022, 10:50 am

VII wrote:Man made religion continues to be our biggest hindrance to real progress as a species .as long as we keep following these backward and archaic teachings we would continue to see blood, vengeance and conquest as options .

Humans like many other species are innately caring nurturing and peaceful, with the knowledge that we possess including the powers of basic rationale and reasoning there's no excuse for irrational and barbaric actions in the 21st century.

Religion take usually rational people and turn them into blood thirsty monsters in the name of one man made religion or another. As free human beings in the 21st century we shouldn't have to worry about offending anyone for their beliefs, it's just a belief and it's mostly man made garbage in reality.

Peoples belief in witchcraft should not affect the lives of real people on the ground, It's about time these religious fundamentalist grow some balls and hold their corners and keep their man made beliefs to themselves .

Christianity Islam and their gods et al just like Zeus, Thor and Wotan etc are just one religion away from aethism.

I would disagree with you. Humans are innately warlike. Peace is not our natural state, war is. The history of civilization is eras of war with shorter periods of peace. As the current Russia/Ukraine conflict shows even people of the same general ethnicity (Slavs) following the same religion will war. There will always be war and conflict.

VII

Postby VII » June 28th, 2022, 10:57 am

Whatever your assessment religion has run its course and there have been far more sophisticated teachings that we could adopt rather than the father and son family business arrangement ,with vengeance jealousy ,blood blood blood and tribalism as it's main guiding principle.

One of the biggest parts of humans war like disposition has been in the name of religion/tribalism, but we should be smarter now not so ?

But nope we can't be, because of the same archaic barbaric religious beliefs that continue to weigh us down.

Release the shackles Brothers and Sisters !!

Postby 88sins » June 28th, 2022, 11:25 am

The saying that "religion is the opiate of the masses", is a very true and fitting statement.

VII

Postby VII » June 28th, 2022, 11:34 am

Yes brother, big quote there ...clearly you've been on the right track..

88sins wrote:The saying that "religion is the opiate of the masses", is a very true and fitting statement.

VII

Postby VII » June 28th, 2022, 11:38 am

The false promise of 'afterlife' is by far the biggest reason selfish humans won't give up religion.

They just can't fathom the thought of when yuh dead yuh done !

VII

Postby VII » June 28th, 2022, 11:41 am

The most violent and some of the most backward countries are the most religious, including T&T.

Listen nah yuh see vicarious redemption boy that's another story, there are fools going around killing people and asking for forgiveness yuh know! And saying if they ask they will be ..
Last edited by VII on June 28th, 2022, 2:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » June 28th, 2022, 12:59 pm

VII wrote:The false promise of 'afterlife' is by far the biggest reason selfish humans won't give up religion.

They just can't fathom the thought of when yuh dead yuh done !

Well bai, I don't agree with you entirely there, or disagree entirely either.
The fact of the matter is, nobody knows what happens to our sentience at the end of our physical existence, or even if the soul is in fact a real thing or not, that can be measured or contained.
But if we are to accept the first law of thermodynamics, that energy cannot be created or destroyed, and that it can only transferred or transformed, and we also accept that our consciousness/soul exists at least in part because of the electrical impulses occurring within the human brain, I think that it's relatively safe to assume that we all might continue in some form or other, at least to some extent, after our mortal carcasses expire. Nobody knows or can prove for certain either way.
Maybe when we die, that's that. Maybe our energy is scattered to circle around the globe and if enough of it recombines we get reincarnated. Maybe it stays together and goes up into the cosmos, or to heaven, or gets absorbed into the earth via the atmosphere, or to hell.

All I know is that religion is a man made ideology, that often contradicts itself, and it's most devoted followers will tell you that those contradictions actually prove each other and that their religion never wrong or mistaken, that their religion according to their God is absolute, always right, and always perfect.
Sadly, they are usually unable to come to terms with the fact that nothing made by man is ever going to be any of those things, including their religion.