Scrap iron dealers

Re: Scrap iron dealers

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2022, 10:44 pm

Eco scrap have metal as far as the eye could see. They have a compactor as well i think

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » August 18th, 2022, 10:57 pm

I thought Eco Scrap have a hammer mill didn’t know it’s a shredder.

The compactor thing is used to load containers in ~30-60 minutes. The truck would reverse an open container towards the open end and it’ll just shove all the scrap in the container with a hydraulic cylinder.

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » August 18th, 2022, 11:00 pm

matix wrote:The guys who go out with the vans ‘buying scrap iron’, they don’t get paid in any foreign currency. They all go and sell it to the dealers (they get the US$) who pack containers, smaller local yards tend to full containers and sell it to the bigger yards. Some pack containers by hand and I know of one other who shreds metal into little billets and load the container. Very efficient system. I’ve done a lot of scrap iron work, still do once it’s over 100 tonnes.
ImageImageImageImage

Any chance I could take a look at any of those CAT units? Looking for some parts.
If you know of anyone with those old cranes as well.

Postby RedVEVO » August 19th, 2022, 12:40 am

Scrap Industry is an excellent investment $$$ taken away for no reason .
Lots of USD $$$ and other involved for the average working T&T scrap man .

The money can stay in a foreign account to buy whatever he and his family so desires.
Gov't does not like their grass root supporters to be financially independent.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 19th, 2022, 5:58 am

vote a government with no vision and that is what you get. they want us all living like we in calabash alley, sharing one toilet with papa george.

i remember panday open up the casino industry that employs hundreds of single mothers who are black and i sure them vote pnm who fork up the industry and put them out of a wuk.

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2022, 7:28 am

it could also be the 1% opening their eyes and advising the govt on future control......

RedVEVO wrote:^^

The money can stay in a foreign account to buy whatever he and his family so desires.

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2022, 7:30 am

i dont think it was any particular "opening" by any particular govt

casinos been operating for a very long time under a law loophole which said private members clubs could do gaming, hence why they wanted you to sign a book on entry to fulfil this requirement
even manning acknowldged this as a scourge and was one of the first to talk regulation and proper taxing which is yet to be properly enforced, the 1% been creaming money ever since.

daring dragoon wrote:vote a government with no vision and that is what you get. they want us all living like we in calabash alley, sharing one toilet with papa george.

i remember panday open up the casino industry that employs hundreds of single mothers who are black and i sure them vote pnm who fork up the industry and put them out of a wuk.

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2022, 7:52 am

The government already made their decision on the scrap iron ban blocking from now till the 6 months done won't make them change there mind if they left the cable, manhole covers and the other materials that they stole alone they won't be in this situation now but they were greedy. They have nobody to blame but themselves.

Postby RedVEVO » August 19th, 2022, 10:00 am

hover11 wrote:The government already made their decision on the scrap iron ban blocking from now till the 6 months done won't make them change there mind if they left the cable, manhole covers and the other materials that they stole alone they won't be in this situation now but they were greedy. They have nobody to blame but themselves.

All the talk about stealing cable and manhole cover etc., is just part of the crime situation in T&T and a
distraction yet again by failed peeps in authority .

And it's about the efficiency and/or failure of TTPS and by extension Gov't to curb crime .
Nobody in authority will be affected and blame is of no use.

Scrap metal industry will continue - it will just go underground and the peeps will make more
$$ but under the radar .

The industry is too lucrative to give up - like the drug business etc. :D

VII

Postby VII » August 19th, 2022, 11:51 am

Met a scrap.man yesterday, usually I would give him scrap and he would dump lil rubbish for me free of charge or for partial consideration depending on how much scarp from sites or from my work yard etc.

Gave the man 3 big old heavy window ac units and some old office partitions with metal frames and some other miscellaneous pieces of steel. Usually he would be brisk and enthusiastic in general , he was still brisk with regards to loading the rubbish etc,hard working fella but not too much smiles this time around,he didn't care for the scrap, he said they paying $300 a ton now take it or leave it , so there was no room for negotiation and my scrap was basiclaly worthless.

So I had to fork up a $400 together with the scrap to give him beacuse his cry was real and it was 3 of them on the truck, in the past a transaction like yesterday he would've probably told me is OK he good with the scrap and he would dump the garbage or probably just take a 100 for diesel or sumn..

I felt it for him and know I woulda save a $300- $400 myself if things was good with him..the struggle is real..he said they coulda just stop the copper for now and I agree ..
Last edited by VII on August 19th, 2022, 1:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » August 19th, 2022, 12:12 pm

I guess it end up being a Peter pay for Paul situation. If only the scrap yards had refused to buy tstt wire and other obvious stolen material on their own . Or themselves turn in perpetrators to the police. It wudda never reach this stage

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2022, 12:23 pm

A multi million dollar industry where many of it's operators allegedly benefit directly from the sale of stolen property. It's a simple case of supply and demand as we have seen where all the stolen copper has been going. No one is saying that the industry is not a lucrative one but the scrap iron industry in it's current form is aiding and abetting crime and criminal activity either by negligence or otherwise.

Postby Chimera » August 19th, 2022, 12:32 pm

300 a ton is real dog $$

I think it was 1100 or 1500 plus a ton for iron

assassin

Postby assassin » August 19th, 2022, 12:52 pm

Agreed. I thing we are gonna see some big "recyclers" opening up once application process and permits are announced

Entrepreneurs
pugboy wrote:it could also be the 1% opening their eyes and advising the govt on future control......

RedVEVO wrote:^^

VII

Postby VII » August 19th, 2022, 1:00 pm

Was just $1600-$1800+ depending on where you go, 1600 by Caribbean by Tracmac and 1800 by Carlsen Fleld, the yards were trying to outbid each other for men to come to theirs with higher price incentives.. the main yards as mentioned above don't deal in stolen stuff and do not buy tstt stringy copper as a rule, and very particular with what they buy in general, and actually initiate conversations about the source when they make it out, like demolition galvanize dmaaged by excavators etc ,old bent beams from fire etc, kinda wholesome honest and invested..

it's the fly by night ones on the highway etc that encourages that tiefin shyte..

Phone Surgeon wrote:300 a ton is real dog $$

matix

Postby matix » August 19th, 2022, 6:35 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:300 a ton is real dog $$

About 6-8 years ago, can’t recall the exact year, I pull just over 800 tonnes for $400 per ton. Was 16 hour days to make it feasible. The most I ever got was maybe $3200 per ton, those times scrap was king. People losing burglar proof, bridge railing, anything and everything gone.

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2022, 7:42 pm

a lot of the foreign owned ones weren’t interested in steel for a good few years
they were only dealing copper lead and alum

Postby RedVEVO » August 19th, 2022, 9:45 pm

pugboy wrote:a lot of the foreign owned ones weren’t interested in steel for a good few years
they were only dealing copper lead and alum

When you try to stop the lucrative scrap industry - "they" will outsmart and outwit the TTPS and Gov't.

The scrap iron peeps still collecting and cleaning up - no law forbidding that - only the export.

And the licensed exporters will go underground and make more $$$$

Postby K74T » August 24th, 2022, 12:27 pm

FB_IMG_1661358299608.jpg

Postby gastly369 » August 24th, 2022, 12:42 pm

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1661358299608.jpg
Dem associated with the TTBA?

Trinidad and Tobago Bandit Association

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2022, 12:44 pm

they should shut down them pawn shop in east pos, all them bandits trading stolen jewelery there

Postby K74T » August 24th, 2022, 1:52 pm

"YOU WON'T BREAK US"

Scores of scrap iron families turned up for the Trinidad and Tobago Scrap Iron Dealers Association's motorcade against government's six month ban on the exportation of scrap metal, on Wednesday morning.

Despite their police permit only granting approval from 9am-12noon and also restricted access into Port of Spain as intended, they journeyed from Tarouba to Barataria.

Before leaving their muster point, TTSIDA President Alan Ferguson called the closure of the scrap iron industry, "One of the biggest mistakes this government ever made. This mistake is a big one, and you all will pay for this mistake. If you feel you will break us, you lie!"

CCN TV6 Journalist Cindy Raghubar-Teekersingh was there and captured these images.

FB_IMG_1661363347479.jpg
FB_IMG_1661363351739.jpg
FB_IMG_1661363353718.jpg
FB_IMG_1661363355762.jpg
FB_IMG_1661363357750.jpg
FB_IMG_1661363359692.jpg

Postby eliteauto » August 24th, 2022, 2:42 pm

They were stopped by Grand Bazaar

wingnut

Postby wingnut » August 24th, 2022, 2:51 pm

No wonder so many of those kia and hyundai trucks get stolen is all dem scrap iron piper using them

Postby Chimera » August 24th, 2022, 3:11 pm

eliteauto wrote:They were stopped by Grand Bazaar

they planned to go into pos?

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2022, 4:02 pm

yeah, saw a notice earlier about coming into pos

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 24th, 2022, 4:06 pm

Allya going in support or what?

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2022, 5:20 pm

woulda be great if they could have carnival music trucks playing their anthem in the motorcade

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 24th, 2022, 5:27 pm

The obligatory

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » August 24th, 2022, 5:37 pm

DMan7 wrote:The obligatory

This is Trinidad.