Nostalgic food/snack ched

Re: Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby shogun » August 14th, 2022, 2:14 pm

^And they used to buy both. lol

Still trying to remember what the wheat nuts was about.

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2022, 2:37 pm

I saw they selling a Grape Nuts ice cream, higher price than the regular vanilla. I Googled it to see what was grape nuts, it's just fried cereal and sugar. Same with wheat nuts. So it was just regular vanilla ice cream mixed with cereal. What a crock of false advertising.

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 3:48 pm

I want to know the name of this ...i can't remember the name. Its like in the 80s or 90s. Its like fishermans friend but its in a circular tin. Its green like hard jelly. And each lozenge is sprinkled with clear/white sugar granules.

Postby timelapse » August 14th, 2022, 4:01 pm

aaron17 wrote:I want to know the name of this ...i can't remember the name. Its like in the 80s or 90s. Its like fishermans friend but its in a circular tin. Its green like hard jelly. And each lozenge is sprinkled with clear/white sugar granules.
Zubes or Valda pastilles
Last edited by timelapse on August 14th, 2022, 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 4:01 pm

I was gonna say kc butternut but i cant get the first package artwork.
1660507244226.jpg
1660507244226.jpg (21.72 KiB) Viewed 1322 times
Last edited by aaron17 on August 14th, 2022, 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 4:05 pm

timelapse wrote:
aaron17 wrote:I want to know the name of this ...i can't remember the name. Its like in the 80s or 90s. Its like fishermans friend but its in a circular tin. Its green like hard jelly. And each lozenge is sprinkled with clear/white sugar granules.
Zubes or Valda pastilles
Seems like it.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 14th, 2022, 4:14 pm

shogun wrote:
cjq5f7ygn1f81.jpg

ac9e19801809ae2db40ff0c9e2a5d6b8.jpg
Waw
That tiny chiclet hit home boy

I remember that exact packaging

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 14th, 2022, 4:37 pm

aaron17 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Zubes or Valda pastilles
Seems like it.

They still sell them here in Brazil. Next time I come back I'll bring some down. Along with some Benson and Hedges Menthol for some other folks.
IMG_20220814_173451.jpg

Postby Rovin » August 14th, 2022, 6:29 pm

gastly369 wrote:Had a Jamaican peanut bar/brittle not sure if around still
Was called crunch or munch or some kinda ting

i stop eating all dem thing since my teen yrs when i got cavities from sweet stuff sticking to my teeth , so i trying to remember - it had 1 i think it was called SCRUNCH ... cant remember if it was jamaican or local

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2022, 7:30 pm

valda is a real
classic

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 8:01 pm

Skittles yo
1660521671492.jpg

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 8:03 pm

Cracker jack
1660521783107.jpg

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 8:04 pm

Twizzlers
1660521881818.jpg

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 8:07 pm

I remember in gulf city ..around 2000.
Buying candy by the pound. Banana candy and candycorn were the hightlights.

Postby Les Bain » August 14th, 2022, 8:13 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Zubes or Valda pastilles
Seems like it.

They still sell them here in Brazil. Next time I come back I'll bring some down. Along with some Benson and Hedges Menthol for some other folks.

Now that is nostalgia! Last time I came across a tin of that, it was being used as a sewing kit :cry:

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 8:16 pm

Lifesavers
1660522531303.jpg
1660522531303.jpg (39.77 KiB) Viewed 1270 times

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 8:20 pm

Tic tac...orange or cinnamon flavor or original

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 8:21 pm

Ramsaran peanut punch was a hit for me in my late teens.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 14th, 2022, 8:22 pm

Fellas when last you see people selling this on the highway or anywhere?

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 8:22 pm

All the time

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 8:30 pm

Pawpaw candy..i want
1660523396714.jpg

Postby gastly369 » August 14th, 2022, 8:32 pm

Rovin wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Had a Jamaican peanut bar/brittle not sure if around still
Was called crunch or munch or some kinda ting

i stop eating all dem thing since my teen yrs when i got cavities from sweet stuff sticking to my teeth , so i trying to remember - it had 1 i think it was called SCRUNCH ... cant remember if it was jamaican or local
Ahhh yes that's the name

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2022, 8:33 pm

Salt mango...buy a few by the pala in wax paper dey
1660523544674.jpg
1660523544674.jpg (12.12 KiB) Viewed 1261 times

Postby paid_influencer » August 14th, 2022, 8:42 pm

aaron17 wrote:Lifesavers1660522531303.jpg

you know how long i looking for lifesavers.

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2022, 8:56 pm

uwi traffic lights

DMan7 wrote:Fellas when last you see people selling this on the highway or anywhere?

Postby K74T » August 14th, 2022, 9:03 pm

Boardwalk in Chaguaramas as well, on a weekend

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 14th, 2022, 9:15 pm

Waaaaaays I have t seen this since primary school. Forgot about it clean

Postby shogun » August 14th, 2022, 11:13 pm

083730f1f8dbd5130340712dadc8cfc9.jpg
10f4ce15c47d7138bfd7afd69411b41e.jpg
10f4ce15c47d7138bfd7afd69411b41e.jpg (37.61 KiB) Viewed 1226 times

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 15th, 2022, 7:56 am

DMan7 wrote:Fellas when last you see people selling this on the highway or anywhere?

I used to always buy, until you realize them men probably does blow in the bag before and after they put the cotton candy.

Postby gastly369 » August 15th, 2022, 8:50 am

shogun wrote:
083730f1f8dbd5130340712dadc8cfc9.jpg
Dem new coin chocolate doh even melt again and horrible taste ... Long ago you buy a warm one you hadda chew up the foil to get that soft chocolate out from it