Re: CHRISTMAS 2022

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2022, 9:23 am

timelapse wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
pugboy wrote:most of them ponche makers subscribe by the usual more is always better
usually too sweet
too much alco

Dais why I does make meh own, with Puncheon!

that puncheon does leave a after burn on me. i want one a lil sweeter and not too much burn.

that's why I made my own.

I started with angostura's recipe as a base and made some tweaks.
Every year I try to make some small changes, but this is a great starting point.

https://www.tastumgoodum.com/2019/12/po ... creme.html

You don't need strong white rum. A nice sipping red rum with some complex character can work too, and you don't need to go full strength if you just want the flavour.
Apple cider vinegar in small amounts is a good alco substitute imo

won't it curdle the dairy? You might end up with ponche de dahee

Postby timelapse » November 17th, 2022, 9:33 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
pugboy wrote:most of them ponche makers subscribe by the usual more is always better
usually too sweet
too much alco

Dais why I does make meh own, with Puncheon!

that puncheon does leave a after burn on me. i want one a lil sweeter and not too much burn.

that's why I made my own.

I started with angostura's recipe as a base and made some tweaks.
Every year I try to make some small changes, but this is a great starting point.

https://www.tastumgoodum.com/2019/12/po ... creme.html

You don't need strong white rum. A nice sipping red rum with some complex character can work too, and you don't need to go full strength if you just want the flavour.
Apple cider vinegar in small amounts is a good alco substitute imo

won't it curdle the dairy? You might end up with ponche de dahee
Alco does the same thing.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2022, 9:35 am

I figure I mixing mine kinda weak then. I never curdled any batches yet.

Postby pugboy » November 17th, 2022, 10:12 am

the orange bitters have a nice fragrance
also if you can get the bright orange mandarins try that peel

Postby timelapse » November 17th, 2022, 10:17 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I figure I mixing mine kinda weak then. I never curdled any batches yet.
Trick is to mix in the alco when it is cold.Heat + acidity curdles milk quickly

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » November 17th, 2022, 10:19 am

is christmas when duane put up the lights on tuner

Postby eliteauto » November 17th, 2022, 1:41 pm

First time I'm hearing about curdled ponche creme, I've been making and selling that for years, even had a customer find 2 bottles in her hutch last week that are either 1 or 2 years old and they're still good

Postby timelapse » November 17th, 2022, 1:49 pm

eliteauto wrote:First time I'm hearing about curdled ponche creme, I've been making and selling that for years, even had a customer find 2 bottles in her hutch last week that are either 1 or 2 years old and they're still good
Some people that cook theirs, apparently mix the alcohol before they apply heat.I've bought some of those already.Once it gets closer to room temperature, you start to see it separating.

Postby timelapse » November 17th, 2022, 1:53 pm

Postby aaron17 » November 17th, 2022, 3:48 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:is christmas when duane put up the lights on tuner

this!

Postby maj. tom » November 17th, 2022, 4:00 pm

First week in December. As always. And every year always the same question.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 19th, 2022, 11:38 am

Some prices for de drinkerz
sookhoos_glivet.jpg

Postby redmanjp » November 19th, 2022, 8:15 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:is christmas when duane put up the lights on tuner

I feel it program to go up the same date every year

Postby pugboy » November 19th, 2022, 9:28 pm

how do i go about getting into the single malt scene , doh wanna feel left out

Postby eliteauto » November 19th, 2022, 9:44 pm

I'll quicker touch this oui, I prefer aged rums to scotch
Screenshot 2022-11-19 at 9.42.54 PM.png

Postby MaxPower » November 19th, 2022, 10:19 pm

Dark rum is headache for me yes.

I go beat meh WO.

Postby timelapse » November 20th, 2022, 7:27 am

eliteauto wrote:I'll quicker touch this oui, I prefer aged rums to scotch
Ever tried the Ron Zacapa Elite?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 20th, 2022, 8:20 am

MaxPower wrote:Dark rum is headache for me yes.

I go beat meh WO.
Hello Max,
Have fun beating your WOOD.
Regards.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 20th, 2022, 8:21 am

pugboy wrote:how do i go about getting into the single malt scene , doh wanna feel left out
Macallan 12 going for around 600.00 or so most places. Sometimes less. And it avoid the sheety colouring scene.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2022, 8:46 am

so wr talking big money to say i drinking single malt?
sounds like an exclusive emperors clothes club

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2022, 8:46 am

joke is you can simulate any zacapa by just adding sugar to a rum of your choice

timelapse wrote:

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 20th, 2022, 9:02 am

Well is kinda like that. I suggest the macallan because it eh have the psycho taste like them other island malts. If you taste Laphroaig or ardberg or caol ila (I taste this one, supposed to be around same flavour as the other two) and then you sip on the macallan, you go wanna know why the rest of them choose to make that weird tasting ting. But I find all them single malt overrated.

I try the JW gold back when it was Gold 18yr. That was smoothe.

I going brandy(fun fact: even cognac has colouring and sweetening additives) Armagnac (better than cognac IMO) and bourbon this year onwards.

Postby MaxPower » November 20th, 2022, 3:09 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Dark rum is headache for me yes.

I go beat meh WO.
Hello Max,
Have fun beating your WOOD.
Regards.

Hey fokha,

Thanks, and if it’s not fun beating your wood then something wrong right?

Postby eliteauto » November 20th, 2022, 3:20 pm

timelapse wrote:

No, I haven't although I've had a 15-year-old one in my cabinet for the past 10 years

Postby eliteauto » November 20th, 2022, 3:24 pm

pugboy wrote:joke is you can simulate any zacapa by just adding sugar to a rum of your choice

timelapse wrote:

Well that sucks :lol: :lol: :lol: now checking it's a 1L bottle of Solera Reserva 15 I have from them, it's been sitting in the back unopened, might find some reason in the new year to consume it. Back then it was $34USD/$214.20TTD in duty free, could imagine the price now

Postby eliteauto » November 20th, 2022, 3:25 pm

viedcht wrote:Well is kinda like that. I suggest the macallan because it eh have the psycho taste like them other island malts. If you taste Laphroaig or ardberg or caol ila (I taste this one, supposed to be around same flavour as the other two) and then you sip on the macallan, you go wanna know why the rest of them choose to make that weird tasting ting. But I find all them single malt overrated.

I going brandy(fun fact: even cognac has colouring and sweetening additives) Armagnac (better than cognac IMO) and bourbon this year onwards.

Bonx :drinking: :drinking: have one more drink in a bottle of that

Postby bluefete » November 20th, 2022, 4:10 pm

That Glenlivet scotch has a dash of gold in it orrrr?

Postby timelapse » November 20th, 2022, 5:44 pm

I pick some sorrel today,cleaned and put in the freezer.When I pick some more, will boil.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 20th, 2022, 9:41 pm

eliteauto wrote:
viedcht wrote:Well is kinda like that. I suggest the macallan because it eh have the psycho taste like them other island malts. If you taste Laphroaig or ardberg or caol ila (I taste this one, supposed to be around same flavour as the other two) and then you sip on the macallan, you go wanna know why the rest of them choose to make that weird tasting ting. But I find all them single malt overrated.

Bonx :drinking: :drinking: have one more drink in a bottle of that
Dem puncheon warriors knock it back... Man say he eh even feel nothing then again dem have galvanize throat

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 20th, 2022, 9:51 pm

timelapse wrote:I pick some sorrel today,cleaned and put in the freezer.When I pick some more, will boil.
It have a rell dark sorrel and the normal reddish one ent? I forget what the dark one name