AlphaMan

Re: Sciatica Pain *Dont post if you dont know*

Postby AlphaMan » February 2nd, 2023, 8:17 pm

pugboy wrote:don’t go a popular hospital like pos
go grande

I going through SFGH right now...real slow and time going.
Also how is sleeping without a pillow? sounds uncomfortable

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2023, 8:21 pm

I can, depends on person I guess and your bed too

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » February 2nd, 2023, 8:31 pm

pugboy wrote:I can, depends on person I guess and your bed too

This pain have me mentally exhausted.
Leg always tight...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 2nd, 2023, 8:33 pm

Wait nah, the woman have you do erotic poses? :shock:

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2023, 8:33 pm

can imagine, I lived with a bad knee for almost 10 years before deciding to fix it, was a real nuisance
gave up football and all high impact activity after I fixed it

and just last week the good knee start to give some issues

AlphaMan wrote:

Leg always tight...

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2023, 8:45 pm

AlphaMan wrote:

Leg always tight...
Accept it as part of life and learn to ignore it.

Cataflam/flamar/tramacet are you friends.

Doh take my advice tho. I just give up on trying to solve it

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2023, 8:53 pm

one of the most nuisance irritation is to have a piece of torn cartilage moving around inside your knee
it is literally like a small stone in your shoe, not causing pain but more physical discomfort which painkillers or any drug can help
and just like a stone, in shoe sometimes it will move to a corner and not cause any contact irritation
other times it is smack on

Phone Surgeon wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

Leg always tight...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 2nd, 2023, 9:43 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

Leg always tight...

That's one way....as a last resort.

But something to keep in mind - depending on the biomechanical cause and severity of the issue causing the pain, there can be adverse long term side effects if left unattended.

Cauda Equina syndrome is an example (incontinence, loss of use of genitals, sexual dysfunction)...a possible knock-on effect of severe lower lumbar disc injuries/protrusions/sequestration.

Dysfunction is not a risk I'm willing to take........but hey, to each their own.

So in short, until it's established what causing the pain, it's difficult to recommend anything for OP short of maybe a better mattress and better posture.

NOTE: I'm not saying that OP is at risk of Cauda Equina. We don't know WHAT his cause is. I'm merely using this as a hypothetical case, of potential knock-on effects/injuries in a worst case.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » February 3rd, 2023, 12:27 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

Leg always tight...

Is it safe to be taking painkillers like that daily?
Whats the long term effects of that.
Im concerned.. :roll:

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2023, 12:37 pm

kidney damage possibly long term

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » February 3rd, 2023, 1:00 pm

pugboy wrote:kidney damage possibly long term

You should try to avoid that..
You dont want to end up like a vegetable on a bed having others take care of you

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2023, 2:00 pm

yeah i try to avoid them pills

AlphaMan wrote:
pugboy wrote:kidney damage possibly long term

You should try to avoid that..
You dont want to end up like a vegetable on a bed having others take care of you

Postby Chimera » February 3rd, 2023, 2:17 pm

I does bear the pain as much as possible and only take it when it real bad.

Does use thing like absorbine, hemp creams, massage machines, ice, divon as much as possible. But if I do plenty physical work the pain does get real bad

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » February 3rd, 2023, 2:46 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I does bear the pain as much as possible and only take it when it real bad.

Does use thing like absorbine, hemp creams, massage machines, ice, divon as much as possible. But if I do plenty physical work the pain does get real bad

Are you concerned about stomach damage?
Where do you buy these?
absorbine, hemp creams,ice, divon

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » February 3rd, 2023, 3:11 pm

Started to read this thread for the first time today

Had pain since I was a teen. Specialist recommended swimming and those exact floor exercises other mentioned, and those seem work until I got injured. My greatest fear is a slip disc, so I watch my weight, exercise, drink lots of water when I can, sleep to decompress those discs, and stretch. Amazing what little but frequent stretching can do.

I also fear pills, so I sorta learnt to live with some pain.
When it gets very bad, I use an olfen patch, voltaren or an analgesic ice rub.

I hope you recover OP.
I believe recovery is always possible.

If you're cleared to go the non-invasive route (ie, no surgery required, hopefully), then find a good chiropractor that is also a medical doctor (MD; some of them aren't). I never believed in them, until my first session. Removed every knot in my neck and back.

Also, these channels are (for me), lifesavers.
Hope they help you also.

https://www.youtube.com/@DrRowe
https://www.youtube.com/@BobandBrad

Postby Chimera » February 3rd, 2023, 4:33 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:I does bear the pain as much as possible and only take it when it real bad.

Where do you buy these?

my stomach screwed since 14 or so

im 34 now,
20 years ago i get diagnosed with fibromyalgia and was put on lyrica. i stop taking it after a few weeks because you know the bad side effects they warn you about? yeah i get all of them. so i just decide to accept the pain as part of life

but before that i was on regular olfen/cataflam/tramadol/tramacet/flamar/ibuprofen. all the nice strong stuff

Postby 88sins » February 3rd, 2023, 7:12 pm

AlphaMan wrote:

Where do you buy these?

Stomach damage like perforations is definitely bad, but take what I tell you, kidney failure MUCH worse

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2023, 7:18 pm

one word “dialysis”

Postby 88sins » February 4th, 2023, 7:45 pm

pugboy wrote:one word “dialysis”

dun kno
Da sheet is PRESHA!!!

Postby pugboy » February 4th, 2023, 8:08 pm

a popular 102fm host died from that, he had chronic knee pains and lived with it but popped nsaids for years daily and end up on dialysis and related body breakdown after

many persons live with niggling pains like that and assume safe to pop pills everyday unaware
if they went and got imaging done on the knee they might realise a routine surgery could have alleviated

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » February 9th, 2023, 8:47 am

Does anyone know a good chiroprator i can visit?
Im from South btw..
Also is there a good medical/health insurance i can get? I regret not getting this sooner. Now i have to wait on the public health system to diagnose me which is taking so long and im in pain daily.
Havent gotten a good nights sleep in weeks..
The pain never end guys take good care of yourselves.

Postby pugboy » February 9th, 2023, 8:58 am

i find since i started sleeping without pillow my
morning sciatica has mostly gone away
i not planning to use pillow for a while

not sure if he has a south office but dr terrence babwah i found was a pretty good doc
he is a sports doc

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2023, 9:52 am

Terrence babwah was the national football team doctor when they were going for worldcup I believe....I use to go by him....he had put me onto a physiotherapist in center of excellence...that was before I get diagnosed with fibromyalgia so the therapy didn't help much

Postby pugboy » February 9th, 2023, 10:11 am

yeah, that’s the guy

how did they test for fibro?

don’t hear much about that locally but you see plenty ads in usa tv for the drugs

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2023, 10:41 am

pugboy wrote:yeah, that’s the guy

how did they test for fibro?

don’t hear much about that locally but you see plenty ads in usa tv for the drugs

that was over 20 years ago

fibromyalgia....i dont think theres a "test" for it

but when ALL other tests show up normal,

blood tests, MRI, Xrays, physiotherapy etc does little to help.....
a indian doctor in mt hope even tell my parents I was faking because nothing medically wrong with me, how it have no reason for me to be pain

a next one say i mentally unstable and wanted me to take anti depression meds

Dr Poon King in Doctors inn (over 20 years ago) told us about fibromyalgia and read up on it and that it fits all my symptoms but they now discovering/realizing what it is

That time Lyrica was $20 a tablet and the side effects were real dred.....
i take it a few weeks and stop because the side effects were worse than the pain.

Postby pugboy » February 9th, 2023, 11:05 am

yeah lyrica spend a lot of money on cable tv

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » February 9th, 2023, 12:12 pm

I suffered with bad Sciatica pain on my right leg from my butt cheek down my leg.. Not sure if it was due to sitting on my wallet for years etc. but the pain would be too severe to drive etc.
A buddy of mine is the head surgeon at https://centerforspineandortho.com/ in Denver, and recommended getting an Inversion machine to use on the bad days. It worked, but for the most consistent relief I ended up buying a lower lumbar cushion for my truck with a seat cushion specifically targeted for sciatica pain (it has a tailbone cutout). Both items also recommended by my buddy Doc Janssen.
Without a doubt these $20 cushions saved me! No more pain in years! I can now drive 10-12 hours straight without pain in my legs or lower back.
My dad also suffers from sciatica and the cushions worked for him. It's now in every vehicle we own, as it properly aligns the spine so the nerve isn't being pinched. My father also saw a local doctor who specializes in Upper Cervical treatment. Basically the doctor cracking your neck, upper back, shoulders etc. like you would in Trinidad by some old Mamoo. This helped my old man a lot with his lower back issues. Proper neck pillow etc. is key to relieving lower back pain.

Link to a similar back and lower lumbar cushion I use.
https://www.amazon.com/CushZone-Adjusta ... C76&sr=8-8

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » February 9th, 2023, 2:31 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:I suffered with bad Sciatica pain on my right leg from my butt cheek down my leg.. Not sure if it was due to sitting on my wallet for years etc. but the pain would be too severe to drive etc.
A buddy of mine is the head surgeon at https://centerforspineandortho.com/ in Denver, and recommended getting an Inversion machine to use on the bad days. It worked, but for the most consistent relief I ended up buying a lower lumbar cushion for my truck with a seat cushion specifically targeted for sciatica pain (it has a tailbone cutout). Both items also recommended by my buddy Doc Janssen.
Without a doubt these $20 cushions saved me! No more pain in years! I can now drive 10-12 hours straight without pain in my legs or lower back.
My dad also suffers from sciatica and the cushions worked for him. It's now in every vehicle we own, as it properly aligns the spine so the nerve isn't being pinched. My father also saw a local doctor who specializes in Upper Cervical treatment. Basically the doctor cracking your neck, upper back, shoulders etc. like you would in Trinidad by some old Mamoo. This helped my old man a lot with his lower back issues. Proper neck pillow etc. is key to relieving lower back pain.

Link to a similar back and lower lumbar cushion I use.
https://www.amazon.com/CushZone-Adjusta ... C76&sr=8-8

Did your pain disappear like that without the need for surgery?

Postby timelapse » February 9th, 2023, 2:46 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Does anyone know a good chiroprator i can visit?
Im from South btw..
Also is there a good medical/health insurance i can get? I regret not getting this sooner. Now i have to wait on the public health system to diagnose me which is taking so long and im in pain daily.
Havent gotten a good nights sleep in weeks..
The pain never end guys take good care of yourselves.
Theres a guy in St Julian in the main road.

Postby pugboy » February 9th, 2023, 6:00 pm

join a big credit union if you want health insurance