Sciatica Pain *Dont post if you dont know*

AlphaMan

Sciatica Pain *Dont post if you dont know*

Postby AlphaMan » October 30th, 2022, 3:30 pm

Good Day tuners.
I have a serious case of sciatica pain running from my right lower back to right lower leg.
Its almost impossible to walk and get off the bed.
The issue has been happening almost months now..
Basically Im confined to my house..
How do I begin to deal with this?
Do I need an Xray?
Ultrasound?
Surgery?
Any one knows any doctors in the south area who specializes in this?

wing

Re: Sciatica Pain *Dont post if you dont know*

Postby wing » October 30th, 2022, 4:48 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Good Day tuners.
I have a serious case of sciatica pain running from my right lower back to right lower leg.
Its almost impossible to walk and get off the bed.
The issue has been happening almost months now..
Basically Im confined to my house..
How do I begin to deal with this?
Do I need an Xray?
Ultrasound?
Surgery?
Any one knows any doctors in the south area who specializes in this?
Do an MRI on your back asap. If a bulging or herniated disc is diagnosed, check Robert Ramsaran at Southern Medical or St Clair medical.

Postby 88sins » October 30th, 2022, 5:01 pm

No x-ray or sonogram for that. Do either CT or mri.

He not in south, but Steve Mahadeo is the best neurosurgeon i know that can help you with this.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 30th, 2022, 5:32 pm

Give me some numbers to contact these doctors.
Also is it expensive for a CT scan or MRI?
Hospital might take years to do that for me

Postby maj. tom » October 30th, 2022, 5:38 pm

For what you are describing, an orthopedic specialist and then a licensed physiotherapist for the long term therapy and healing. Usually one would get a referral letter from your GP to see the specialist first.

But it's Trinidad so just make an appointment at somewhere on the map https://www.google.com/maps/search/orthopedic+specialist/@10.2623432,-61.3989884,11.48z/data=!5m1!1e1

Please don't go and "crack" your back somewhere.

Go and see the specialist first before you get those scans. What you going to ask the radiologist and technician for without this referral info? "Skyan meh back dey it huttin. n do d leg 2 one time."
Last edited by maj. tom on October 30th, 2022, 5:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 30th, 2022, 5:41 pm

maj. tom wrote:For what you are describing, an orthopedic specialist and then a licensed physiotherapist for the long term therapy and healing. Usually one would get a referral letter from your GP to see the specialist first.

But it's Trinidad so just make an appointment at somewhere on the map https://www.google.com/maps/search/orthopedic+specialist/@10.2623432,-61.3989884,11.48z/data=!5m1!1e1

Please don't go and "crack" your back somewhere.

Is this an expensive process?

Postby maj. tom » October 30th, 2022, 5:46 pm

It varies depending on where needs to be scanned from about $2k to 6k, maybe more. Medical insurance helps. And again you need to see the doctor first to get the referral and requested test.

Call around and see. I've seen this place advertising on TV so it wouldn't hurt more to just call. https://alexandraimaging.com/request-estimate-ctscan/

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2022, 5:59 pm

get mri or ctscan

these issues usually are caused by something impinging on the nerves passing thru the vertebrae
either vertebrae(disc) shifted or the cartilage bulging and causing the impingement

solutions are varied depending on case
could be as simple as physio therapy to correct back alignment posture
to as complicated as surgery to remove disc and put a spacer or something of that sort.

the wiser thing to do is try conservative options first(physio) before cutting.
btw this kind of ailment is fairly common and the avg physio would have seen ppl with this.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 30th, 2022, 6:13 pm

Anyone who had this problem before want to share some details on the cost associated with this?
From doctor visit to CT Scan or MRI?
Need to plan for this.
Them doctors might milk me out.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 30th, 2022, 6:18 pm

I dealt with this problem for years in my last job to the point where I ended up in a wheelchair for a few days. It was diagnosed as a herniated disc, and along with the pain, it affected the nerve endings in my feet.

Problem was solved with just a few weeks of core focused exercises (which I still do to this day) suggested by my doctor.

Visit a specialist ASAP. Depending on how serious your problem is, it could be solved with simple solution as physical therapy or you might need surgery.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 30th, 2022, 6:27 pm

Cooper wrote:I dealt with this problem for years in my last job to the point where I ended up in a wheelchair for a few days. It was diagnosed as a herniated disc, and along with the pain, it affected the nerve endings in my feet.

Problem was solved with just a few weeks of core focused exercises (which I still do to this day) suggested by my doctor.

Visit a specialist ASAP. Depending on how serious your problem is, it could be solved with simple solution as physical therapy or you might need surgery.

Inbox me some numbers of the persons who you went by..
This started off at my workplace in a chair...Your story sounds just like mine..

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 30th, 2022, 6:34 pm

I wish I could help more but this was 17 years ago and I dealt with a family doctor who's retired now.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 30th, 2022, 6:51 pm

Cooper wrote:I wish I could help more but this was 17 years ago and I dealt with a family doctor who's retired now.

Were you fit at the time or over weight at that time?
What exercises were prescribed to you also?
Last edited by AlphaMan on October 30th, 2022, 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby alfa » October 30th, 2022, 6:53 pm

Had it once but not nearly as bad. The doctor said that I needed rest and that it has to get better on its own, not much help from him. I visited my trusted pharmacist who gave me dolo neurobino tablets. It's just paracetemol and vitamins bt it helped me a lot and may be able to give you some temporary relief until you can see a doctor. I still use it whenever the back pain acts up form time to time

Postby Chimera » October 30th, 2022, 7:19 pm

Not giving medical advice here..but advice that helps me

I bought a tens unit on amazon. It helps alot for pain management. Read up on it

Screenshot_20221030-191924_Amazon%20Shopping.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 30th, 2022, 7:29 pm

Whatever you do...don't go by the shock specialists

Postby nervewrecker » October 30th, 2022, 7:48 pm

This is far more prevalent than I knew.

Swimming is natural therapy for this in some instances. I'd get it checked out first and get an opinion from a professional.

Feels like a blunt stabbing pain inside your upper thigh btw?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 30th, 2022, 7:52 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
Cooper wrote:I wish I could help more but this was 17 years ago and I dealt with a family doctor who's retired now.

A little bit of both. Wasn't taking very good care of myself. My job at the time required a lot of heavy lifting and in the space of 3 years my waist went from 32 to 40.

The exercises are a combination of crunches, stretches, planks, leg raises etc .

Basically the focus was to strengthen my core.

There was one in particular that worked well for me were I had to lie on my back on the floor, with my arms at my side and knees bent at 90 degrees and my feet flat on the floor.
I had to exhale and tension my abs as if to pull my navel in to make my back flat to the floor and hold for 10 to 20 seconds.
(Please forgive me, I can't remember the actual name of the exercise)
A few sets of this each day for a couple weeks and I was good.

I started to feel better and after a while, I just switched to a basic all round routine everyday with weights.

Swimming was also a suggestion to me but I never learned.

This is just my own experience, please consult a professional for a solution that suits you.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2022, 7:59 pm

that’s a popular exercise for core strength
called a bridge

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 30th, 2022, 8:05 pm

nervewrecker wrote:This is far more prevalent than I knew.

Swimming is natural therapy for this in some instances. I'd get it checked out first and get an opinion from a professional.

Feels like a blunt stabbing pain inside your upper thigh btw?

Yea..like jolts from lower back to lower leg....
Very painful

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 30th, 2022, 8:07 pm

Cooper wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

A little bit of both. Wasn't taking very good care of myself. My job at the time required a lot of heavy lifting and in the space of 3 years my waist went from 32 to 40.

The exercises are a combination of crunches, stretches, planks, leg raises etc .

Basically the focus was to strengthen my core.

There was one in particular that worked well for me were I had to lie on my back on the floor, with my arms at my side and knees bent at 90 degrees and my feet flat on the floor.
I had to exhale and tension my abs as if to pull my navel in to make my back flat to the floor and hold for 10 to 20 seconds.
(Please forgive me, I can't remember the actual name of the exercise)
A few sets of this each day for a couple weeks and I was good.

I started to feel better and after a while, I just switched to a basic all round routine everyday with weights.

Swimming was also a suggestion to me but I never learned.

This is just my own experience, please consult a professional for a solution that suits you.

I hope I this doesnt require surgery

Postby The_Honourable » October 30th, 2022, 8:30 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Not giving medical advice here..but advice that helps me

I bought a tens unit on amazon. It helps alot for pain management. Read up on it

Screenshot_20221030-191924_Amazon%20Shopping.jpg

I can vouch for this. Used this when I had lower back pain last year and this year... it works. No need to take muscle relaxants like mydocalm.

You can try it OP to manage your pain. You still need to see a doctor as your situation sounds chronic.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2022, 9:58 pm

I have a padna who recently got this bad but it was an upper vertebrae affecting his arm and shoulder
he got it because he fell asleep watching tv in a chair and his body slouched over whilst asleep and tweaked his upper back badly

In his case the disc could be quite easily seen to be pushed out to the side
mahadeo recommended surgery as first option of course
he trying to avoid it by trying physio.

AlphaMan wrote:
Cooper wrote:I dealt with this problem for years in my last job to the point where I ended up in a wheelchair for a few days. It was diagnosed as a herniated disc, and along with the pain, it affected the nerve endings in my feet.

Inbox me some numbers of the persons who you went by..
This started off at my workplace in a chair...Your story sounds just like mine..

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2022, 10:02 pm

or them back crackers, mind you I like to get bones cracked and I see there is a place in woodbrook doing the fancy cracks you see on social media. Not the old school crap like boodoo and ammolsingh.

that tens unit look interesting and have lots of good reviews, I might buy one.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Whatever you do...don't go by the shock specialists

Postby Ben_spanna » October 30th, 2022, 10:50 pm

You need to go to a doctor First before you can get an MRI done,but that’s the best way to start to determine what your situation is exactly.
Depending on what your problem is it may be something that can be cured through physiotherapy and some medication .
Going to a surgeon should be your LAST resort, they don’t believe in physio or rehabilitation, and a majority of back issues can be solved with time and physio.
Instant relief is hard to come by, I used to go to A Chiropractor in Tacarariguia Anmolsingh and got some relief, there’s also The back Institute , eventually after years of physio and continuing to do the daily stretches and mobility exercises I’m at a much better place without any surgery,.
I’ve know many people who went and got surgery only to end up having to so the same daily physio exercises to keep their backs in good order and some have even ended up worst after doing a fuse of their vertebrate .
Don’t rush into the surgery, yes it’s not pleasant, but try to do what you can to relieve the pain when you get it.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 30th, 2022, 10:52 pm

pugboy wrote:or them back crackers, mind you I like to get bones cracked and I see there is a place in woodbrook doing the fancy cracks you see on social media. Not the old school crap like boodoo and ammolsingh.

that tens unit look interesting and have lots of good reviews, I might buy one.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Whatever you do...don't go by the shock specialists

Not sure if Anmolsingh AND his son still do it, but the father is old school chiropractor but his son used modern technology with some shock, muscle and nerve stimulations together with back adjustments that works milarlces for some and gives others a bit of relief.

Postby Chimera » October 31st, 2022, 1:15 am

Yea that surgery thing does look good but endless people complain about lifelong pain and side effects

Since 12 or 14 years I've been on meds like lyrica , tramadol, tramacet, cataflam , olfen, arcoxia etc.
This was before it was realized how dangerous tramadol/tramacet is ( its now used for cancer patients pain management)

When I hit 18 or 19 and my stomach basically get screwed from all the painkillers...I realize nun gonna help the pain and I hadda accept pain everyday is a part of life.

When it get real real bad I does dose up on cataflam or flamar at 2 or 3 times the recommended dosage (regular dosage doesn't help)

And the tens unit helps alot

But otherwise....pain is part of life u jus hadda learn to ignore it and accept it and be grateful for the few pain free days and tire out yourself enuff so as soon as you hit the bed you knock out

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 31st, 2022, 2:22 am

pugboy wrote:that’s a popular exercise for core strength
called a bridge
YES!
Thank You... memory slipping in my old age

My back problem presented itself in the 90's into the early 2000's. I actually did visit those "chiropractors" mentioned above and they cracked my back. They even used those electronic devices on me. But it only gave me short term pain relief.

Getting and staying in shape was the best solution.

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2022, 6:38 am

the key thing is to identify the issue, getting it diagnosed by a competent person

an impinged nerve causing numbness, pins and needles will not be helped by painkiller meds or anti inflammatories

for back muscle problems a heating pad helped me a lot, also an inversion table

a mattress can cause back problems, I got a new bed january 2021 and I gradually started getting stiff back pain progressively over the year, so much so I would wake up in the middle of the night and have to turn
the cause was my mattress was too soft. I switched it this year january to a stiff one and it immediately helped.
so much so I changed to another one which was just slightly softer as the stiff one was extreme, now I get a good painless night sleep with no lower back pain in the morning.
I still have a nagging issue but that is facet syndrome one.

btw I went by ammolsingh too, he gave me a little crack and put the electric buzzer thing on me, relief for half day, $400 for 15mins treatment

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 31st, 2022, 10:22 am

WOW I didnt know so many suffered from this illnes..
I will admit this started off as a lower back pain to avoiding bending to pick up any objects now its sharp pains like needles in my leg all day..
My plan of Attack:
-Get a referral letter from GP.
-Visit orthopedic specialist.
-Avoid Surgery at all costs!
Any more advice tuners?