Sciatica Pain *Dont post if you dont know*

Re: Sciatica Pain *Dont post if you dont know*

Postby timelapse » November 3rd, 2022, 6:32 pm

Given adequate time, my scoliosis to the sciatica pains are almost non existent,but I have to keep proper posture and keep exercising and swimming regularly.
There is hope, just get it treated in time.
Painkillers only kill pain temporarily.That isn't a long term fix.The issue will still be there.

Postby alfa » November 3rd, 2022, 6:47 pm

Mine goes and comes. Worse I've ever had it was in 2013, coming out the mosque around lunch time I suddenly felt a sharp pain in the lower back, barely made it to the car and home. By which time I couldn't even raise my leg and had to go into the doctors office with a waking stick. He gave me some injection and by night I was better and was normal next day. B it comes and goes since then but never that bad. Right now I get it on morning but feel normal a couple hours after. When it's severe the Dolo neurobino helps a lot. I can do everything as normal including running but try to take it easy when it's acting up

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 3rd, 2022, 7:00 pm

alfa wrote:Mine goes and comes. Worse I've ever had it was in 2013, coming out the mosque around lunch time I suddenly felt a sharp pain in the lower back, barely made it to the car and home. By which time I couldn't even raise my leg and had to go into the doctors office with a waking stick. He gave me some injection and by night I was better and was normal next day. B it comes and goes since then but never that bad. Right now I get it on morning but feel normal a couple hours after. When it's severe the Dolo neurobino helps a lot. I can do everything as normal including running but try to take it easy when it's acting up

Do you need a prescription for this Dolo neurobino?

Postby alfa » November 3rd, 2022, 7:22 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
alfa wrote:Mine goes and comes. Worse I've ever had it was in 2013, coming out the mosque around lunch time I suddenly felt a sharp pain in the lower back, barely made it to the car and home. By which time I couldn't even raise my leg and had to go into the doctors office with a waking stick. He gave me some injection and by night I was better and was normal next day. B it comes and goes since then but never that bad. Right now I get it on morning but feel normal a couple hours after. When it's severe the Dolo neurobino helps a lot. I can do everything as normal including running but try to take it easy when it's acting up

Do you need a prescription for this Dolo neurobino?

Nah it's basically paracetamol with a bunch of B vitamins which helps with nerve pain, least that's what's the pharmacist told me. It's OTC

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2022, 7:50 pm

sound like a back spasm

off and on I get similar sciatica nerve numbing pain for the first hour after waking up but goes away.

Postby bluefete » November 3rd, 2022, 8:22 pm

Wow. I just read through this entire thread and I cannot complain about anything in life. NOTHING!

I truly wish all of you who are suffering that one day you will find permanent relief from your pain.

I cannot imagine what it is like to live with that type of constant pain.

Thanks for sharing because you never know, down the road, how many people you will have helped.

Postby nervewrecker » November 3rd, 2022, 10:28 pm

timelapse wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:You bring back memories of things I try to forget.

Had to learn to use my left hand by force. Till this day I use both hands at once.

The food could reach as far as right outside your mouth, you can't bring your arm to your mouth. You can't bathe properly or clean up yourself after you go to the toilet. Can't drive manual cuz you can't turn the steering with your right hand or turn your head. Can't shave or get your hair cut. There were times I'd put the food on the table edge and eat off the edge of the table when nobody home.

Had to sleep on the couch with my right hand over my head to lift the extra bones off my nerves. Weeks passed till I was well enough to see outside again or sleep in my bed. Never enjoyed a traffic jam so much or direct sunlight when I got out again. You don't know what privileges you have as a healthy person till you have your freedom taken away.

If anyone thinks hell is in the Afterlife, hell is here. Ask people with this what hell is and they will tell you. When you recover from something like that you will do what it takes to never go back. Till this day I put my cellphone in my front pocket so if I bend down to pick up anything the phone will break. Bend with your knees, pick up with your legs.

You damn right with that comment,"You don't know what privileges you have as a healthy person till you have your freedom taken away. "
Havent seen outside my gates for about 4 months...
All jokes aside this is the realest type of pain Ive ever felt....
BTW is your tuner name because of your previous condition with nerves?
You know they say your body talks, it's best to listen to it. If you lack something in your diet your body craves certain foods with it to maintain itself.

I changed my name about a year before I had it diagnosed. Always suspected something was wrong neurologically. Had it out with a girl in the office a day over pain and who know more pain. Was younger and a bit immature, we both do well till this day. Offered to wreck nerves to show what pain is. Either put ones hand in a bench vice and tighten it or get stabbed in the back, shoulder or leg with a half inch chisel.

Kept the name ever since to remind me how oblivious some people can be towards what going on and how serious thing can be misdiagnosed as trivial matters like you sleep bad last night and is muscle pain. Take some Panadol and call it a day.
Did you film the nerve-wreckingbwith vices and chisels? Asking for my friend Snuff-y
Like I said when I edited. We good and I was a bit immature then. Maybe the manner in which it came accross undiagnosed back then was led to misunderstandings. It didnt help where I was comparing my gf then to them. No two girls are the same and they should be compared.

Can't compare pain for pain because it's a lot more than pain girls face. Now that I'm older I'm a bit more understanding and we don't actually compare but understand each other. She is one of two girls that make it thier business every year for my birthday to call and give me the warmest birthday greetings even if I forget my birthday.

Look on the bright side guys, you have to wear a neck brace, parking easy..... handicap park all day, every day, every where. Or maybe if you have a walking stick. Heck, it have people will check yuh this rounds just to go for a drive cuz they know parking easy. :D

Postby Chimera » November 4th, 2022, 8:43 am

las nite i drink some johnnie with a padna who come to check me

i completely forget i on tramadol and cataflam....

right now i feeling to dead

living with pain is a strange thing

in my case i only try to take meds when the pain REAL bad because the meds does firetruck up your stomach

so right now i taking the tramadol and cataflam for the shoulder pain

and i feeling so weird because i dont have any leg pain that i accustom to living with everyday

its like i know i should be in pain, and i accustom to the pain
it weird not to have it

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 4th, 2022, 10:12 am

AlphaMan wrote:Apart from Sciatica pain I now have cramps on my leg in places i never thought you could get cramp..
Jesus Christ what madness is this...
Is cataflam the strongest painkiller for this?
You sure the pain is in your leg? I spent years of prescribed rest and painkillers for shoulder and right arm pain. The pain was not there. I used to let my younger cousins walk on me or jump on me to cause more pain in attempts to take my mind off the pain.

Lower spine (I think lumbar) problems show up in the upper leg. Feels like a cramp, being stabbed or a really really bad electric shock. You can barely stand with it and it's not a nice experience if you driving.

If you have good mobility, rigorous physical activity cause a natural high that alleviate pain. Can't remember if it's dopamine or endorphins or both. Try it, will keep you fit and looking good. If you have a nice wife I suggest you consult first because she may not like the idea of you being in shape cuz you might attract other woman and that's real pressure.

Another friend getting blood plasma injected into a joint. Not sure of this is a remedy for what being discussed here but it's disturbing how prevalent this kind of problem is and has me curious as to all who were also misdiagnosed.

Wanted to share some input. Not an expert by any stretch, but sharing what I learnt over my own journey and that of a loved one, with lumbar distress.

Yes, sciatic and femoral nerve pain can and will show up in the leg (upper AND lower), depending on the level of nerve irritation, inflammation/edema etc. In severe cases (large bulges, herniations, sequestrations), folks can have shooting pains all the way down the leg to their toes/under the foot.

Also IIRC (again, not an expert on this, specialists in the field can verify):
1) Femoral nerve runs down the thigh - linked to your L1-L3 intervetebral discs (L2-L3, L3-L4 etc). Nerve pain should manifest toward the front of the thigh, knee etc.
2) Sciatic nerve runs down the leg as well - target areas would be your L4-L5 and L5-S1 intervetebral discs. Pain should generally manifest down the back of the thigh, back of knee, calf etc. Worst case, under the foot could get all tingly too.
N.B. Pain manifesting on one side/one leg is usually an indicator that a specific nerve root is under duress. However, general back pain with no leg pain is a different story.

The thing is would be to identify the mechanism of the pain - something a doctor specialising in orthopedic or lumbar surgery could assist with. It may involve:
- MRI imaging (potentially with contrast).
- Provocation tests (e.g. Lasegue's test/straight leg raise) to stretch the sciatic nerve and see how pain manifests, if at all.
- Examination for spinal/pelvic instability, muscular inhibition etc.

OP - best wishes on your recovery. Aim for the least invasive method, then work your way forward.

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2022, 10:33 am

a common cause is also weak or misaligned hip flexor muscles which can pull the hip bones out of proper alignment and affect the nerves which pass thru on the way down to leg

hip flexors notorious as they are difficult to massage and manipulate
lot of ppl swear by a device called pso-rite
Last edited by pugboy on November 4th, 2022, 10:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » November 4th, 2022, 10:33 am

https://youtu.be/tP2GfIrl-5M
These work.Just don't do it under extreme pain

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 4th, 2022, 8:30 pm

Hope everyone has a painless Friday nights sleep...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 4th, 2022, 8:32 pm

I think you might need bush bath.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 4th, 2022, 8:39 pm

DMan7 wrote:I think you might need bush bath.

Where I getting one of that... :bday:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 4th, 2022, 8:51 pm

AlphaMan wrote:

Check Trevor Sayers.

Postby timelapse » November 4th, 2022, 8:58 pm

AlphaMan wrote:

On that note,there are aqua aerobic sessions in La Joya

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » December 23rd, 2022, 4:17 pm

I did an X Ray at the Public Hospital and Nothing came up.
I got some painkillers and vitamins from the Hospital and Im carded for PT next year...
Im seriously contemplating surgery..
Thoughts?

Postby Chimera » December 23rd, 2022, 4:33 pm

Got this earlier this week. Working good for pain relief.
Screenshot_20221223-155816_Amazon%20Shopping.jpg

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2022, 6:15 pm

you need to identify the issue before deciding surgery is an option
ie do an mri to see if vertebrae pressing on something or degenerated and if it can be repaired with physical surgery

AlphaMan wrote:I did an X Ray at the Public Hospital and Nothing came up.
I got some painkillers and vitamins from the Hospital and Im carded for PT next year...
Thoughts?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » December 23rd, 2022, 8:20 pm

pugboy wrote:you need to identify the issue before deciding surgery is an option
ie do an mri to see if vertebrae pressing on something or degenerated and if it can be repaired with physical surgery

AlphaMan wrote:I did an X Ray at the Public Hospital and Nothing came up.
Thoughts?

Ok..
It looks like 2023 is gonna start bad for me..
All those who can walk on there feet without pain say your prayers..
You dont know what you have until its gone..

Postby maj. tom » December 23rd, 2022, 8:43 pm

When the physiotherapy starting? You ever got around to seeing the specialist doctor as mentioned earlier in the thread? They Rx any pain meds in the meantime? Aleve is OTC that works for deep tissue pain if you really don't want to go on the addiction risk of opioids. TBH you're not going to directly get proper help at a public hospital without going through a lot of BS and roundabout.

You really have to consult a specialist doctor for this who will refer you for the suitable tests and radiography imaging and help you decide on the best course of medication and treatment. When you say you're contemplating surgery.... a doctor told you this? Or you decide on your own that you want surgery, for what exactly?

What do you think is causing this chronic pain? Your ergonomic position at work? The bed? You have any underlying systemic problems that could be causing nerve problems in that area? Could it be a referred pain? You see how you really need to see a specialist doctor to will investigate and examine all this? If you see a specialist privately you can tell them you further want to be referred to the public hospital because of costs and hopefully they will attempt to direct you to a specific doctor and department to help you, with an idea of where to go from that 1st visit.

Sorry you're having to go through this pain right now. Check out the Aleve for short term OTC relief, don't walk barefoot anywhere even inside the house, try stretching exercise every morning like watch a bit of YouTube Yoga stretching and try easy exercises at first for a few weeks. Try out one of those massage ointment like posted above and buy a deep tissue massager at Pennywise and apply it every night for about 10 minutes. You can soak your feet in warm water (42°C) with Epsom salts for about 10 or 15 minutes to help increase the blood flow in that area.

Best real thing I can tell you between all that is to consult an orthopedic specialist and do the scheduled physiotherapy.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » December 23rd, 2022, 9:06 pm

maj. tom wrote:When the physiotherapy starting? You ever got around to seeing the specialist doctor as mentioned earlier in the thread? They Rx any pain meds in the meantime? Aleve is OTC that works for deep tissue pain if you really don't want to go on the addiction risk of opioids. TBH you're not going to directly get proper help at a public hospital without going through a lot of BS and roundabout.

You really have to consult a specialist doctor for this who will refer you for the suitable tests and radiography imaging and help you decide on the best course of medication and treatment. When you say you're contemplating surgery.... a doctor told you this? Or you decide on your own that you want surgery, for what exactly?

What do you think is causing this chronic pain? Your ergonomic position at work? The bed? You have any underlying systemic problems that could be causing nerve problems in that area? Could it be a referred pain? You see how you really need to see a specialist doctor to will investigate and examine all this? If you see a specialist privately you can tell them you further want to be referred to the public hospital because of costs and hopefully they will attempt to direct you to a specific doctor and department to help you, with an idea of where to go from that 1st visit.

Sorry you're having to go through this pain right now. Check out the Aleve for short term OTC relief, don't walk barefoot anywhere even inside the house, try stretching exercise every morning like watch a bit of YouTube Yoga stretching and try easy exercises at first for a few weeks. Try out one of those massage ointment like posted above and buy a deep tissue massager at Pennywise and apply it every night for about 10 minutes. You can soak your feet in warm water (42°C) with Epsom salts for about 10 or 15 minutes to help increase the blood flow in that area.

Best real thing I can tell you between all that is to consult an orthopedic specialist and do the scheduled physiotherapy.

Physio starting next year January and I have a date to see the Orthopedic specialist at the Teaching Hospital next year also.
Couldnt go private because funds tight.. Cant work because of this pain...its Unbelievable.
Also Ive done tons of research and I know the pain is occuring due to nerve compression somewhere.
Whatever the cause is Ill have to wait till next year..
Im on cataphlam and a vitamin at the moment...
Getting off the bed is the hardest...

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2022, 9:16 pm

so does cataflam provide instant relief ?
just make sure and eat properly when you take those meds, they mess with your stomach if empty
and take in moderation as they can damage your kidneys
one of radio 102 annoucers (CG) died from kidney issues which started because he used to pop cataflam like dinner mints

Postby Chimera » December 23rd, 2022, 9:32 pm

yarrrr......when the pain get real bad...real real bad..sometimes is 8 cataflam i taking a day

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » December 23rd, 2022, 9:48 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:yarrrr......when the pain get real bad...real real bad..sometimes is 8 cataflam i taking a day

8 a day? Thats too much...
I down to 1 a day..not moving much though...

Postby 88sins » December 24th, 2022, 2:12 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:yarrrr......when the pain get real bad...real real bad..sometimes is 8 cataflam i taking a day

You trying to poison yuhself or something? You and your kidneys fighting? Bro, that's WAY too much. Try aurocet, just make sure you eat when you take it.

If you have to resort to taking that many nsaids in a day for pain management, something is very wrong and you need to address it asap.

Best of luck to you guys, hope you all get at least a little relief over the holidays.

Postby Chimera » December 24th, 2022, 6:26 am

You trying to poison yuhself or something? You and your kidneys fighting? Bro, that's WAY too much. Try aurocet, just make sure you eat when you take it.

If you have to resort to taking that many nsaids in a day for pain management, something is very wrong and you need to address it asap.

Best of luck to you guys, hope you all get at least a little relief over the holidays.
I have aurocet and tramacet and tramadol....them thing does make me feel nauseous and groggy

Postby timelapse » December 24th, 2022, 6:40 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:

I have aurocet and tramacet and tramadol....them thing does make me feel nauseous and groggy
Herb is the healing.Both for pain killing properties and nerve repair.
Alphaman ,sort that sheit out sooner rather than later.The physio will help,but I advise checking out a chiropractor abroad before letting a surgeon cut you open for spare parts.

Postby pugboy » December 24th, 2022, 9:40 am

i dont take the herb but many persons who have run out of luck with pharmameds swear by the herb for pain

rspann brother supposed to be a good doc and of the lesser dollar kind, believe he works out of 7days cocorite

Postby 88sins » December 24th, 2022, 2:52 pm

pugboy wrote:i dont take the herb but many persons who have run out of luck with pharmameds swear by the herb for pain

rspann brother supposed to be a good doc and of the lesser dollar kind, believe he works out of 7days cocorite

Is Robert you talking about?
Until that case he dealing with is entirely sorted out and i see he start back giving a damn about his patients, I eh too hurry to recommend him as as option to anyone
Last edited by 88sins on December 24th, 2022, 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.