Cyber Attack on Beacon Insurance

Postby bluefete » November 30th, 2022, 6:29 pm

Beacon Insurance reports IT ‘security incident'
KEN CHEE HING 6 HRS AGO

THE Beacon Insurance Company has reported that some of its IT systems were recently affected by a security incident.

As a precautionary measure, the company said in a news release, it has isolated certain systems to facilitate remediation and pre-emptive measures in accordance with internal protocols, and has managed to substantially contain the effect of the incident.

"Our teams are diligently working to protect and restore all systems as a matter of priority. At this stage, the focus is protecting the integrity of all IT infrastructure and data, including policyholder data, to minimise further disruptions and discomfort."

Beacon apologised for any inconvenience which may be caused by its ongoing rehabilitative and pre-emptive work.

It said, "We wish to assure our customers that these measures should not adversely affect our daily operational transactions."

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/11/30/beacon ... -incident/

Re: Cyber Attack on Beacon Insurance

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 30th, 2022, 9:58 pm

ransomware, maybe?
Language does not suggest data breach

Postby paid_influencer » November 30th, 2022, 10:22 pm

#1 rule for these kind for PR is these situations is to minimize initially. The could well know all the data get compromised and everything on a pirate server right now free and clear for any malicious entity to use, and they will say "we are investigating a possible blah blah everything normal move along"

i not saying tht happen, but these PR folks paid to do a work and all that is part of the work they are paid to do.

"As a precautionary measure, the company said in a news release, it has isolated certain systems to facilitate remediation and pre-emptive measures in accordance with internal protocols, and has managed to substantially contain the effect of the incident."
--^ all dat is a set of words to make you feel secure while actually telling you that they are legally obligated to disclose that something very bad happened.

Postby redmanjp » November 30th, 2022, 11:15 pm

is what they didnt say- 'no customer data is compromised' / that was not said. which means its a possibility - or even a probability - if they know no data was compromised they would have stated that - so either they dont know yet or they hiding that fact.

which is why we need Data Protection laws to force them to disclose any breaches specifically of customer data,

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 1st, 2022, 1:51 am

satish you doing sheit boy. if you cant handle the IT in beacon tell yuh mammy to find someone qualified to do the wuk.

Postby stev » December 1st, 2022, 1:56 am

lemme guess...Fortinet?

People need to understand the importance of a cyber security framework if u wanna run the cheap stuff.

Postby pugboy » December 1st, 2022, 5:46 am

fortinet flaw is only few days old

ransomware attacks normally surface a few weeks after they get in,
they try to compromise backups and old data first to make it hard to recover from recentish backups

Postby bluefete » December 1st, 2022, 6:10 am

"... and restore all systems ... " is what got my full attention.

This is a MAJOR attack on Beacon's IT infrastructure.

Postby 88sins » December 1st, 2022, 6:27 am

redmanjp wrote:is what they didnt say- 'no customer data is compromised' / that was not said. which means its a possibility - or even a probability - if they know no data was compromised they would have stated that - so either they dont know yet or they hiding that fact.

which is why we need Data Protection laws to force them to disclose any breaches specifically of customer data,

And that's just about all that will accomplish here.

I suspect people's data was collected and compromised, and all they saying now is with the objective of PR and damage control and recovery.

This kind of thing is what happens when you don't take IT and network security seriously, especially when every Tom Dick Harry and Harriet getting access to your network.
By me, people visiting the business always asking for network access to email documents, and ALWAYS getting blank. Some does come with their documents on a thumb drive, I eh taking that either. And the staff knows, no personal web browsing or downloading or personal email access or personal data storage devices are allowed on ANY company machines, EVER, and the penalty for breaching policy is rather stiff. Meaning, that for breaching policy that doesn't cause a security breach, penalty 2 weeks suspension sans pay, and for breaking policy that results in a breach, the guilty person will be made to foot the bill for the cost of recovery, even if they leave the job and I have to go through the court system to get it. Yes, it that dread, and as a result, we've never had an incident. And all that is even with a firewall, antivirus and antimalware and other security measures in place.

Can't be slacking out here

Postby redmanjp » December 1st, 2022, 9:43 pm

If guests want access u could provide it but behind a firewall. So even if u give them a wifi password it's a separate network from your internal network.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » December 1st, 2022, 10:27 pm

How ironic i recently saw them advertising for a security officer, d amount of sheit they wanted that person to do, no wonder the position was vacant

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 2nd, 2022, 3:21 am

wingnut wrote:How ironic i recently saw them advertising for a security officer, d amount of sheit they wanted that person to do, no wonder the position was vacant

most IT wuk in TT want you to do everything including changing the empty water bottle in the water cooler an they feel 15-17k a month is enough.

Postby 88sins » December 2nd, 2022, 5:27 am

redmanjp wrote:If guests want access u could provide it but behind a firewall. So even if u give them a wifi password it's a separate network from your internal network.

No thanks.
If you know that you need internet access everywhere you go, bmobile and digicel can supply you with with all the internet access you could possibly want on your device.

KFC also has wifi and a digital network, but people don't go asking the KFC cashier for internet access when they buying fried chicken do they? And I can tell you, even if you ask, you won't get it.

Postby 88sins » December 2nd, 2022, 5:35 am

daring dragoon wrote:
wingnut wrote:How ironic i recently saw them advertising for a security officer, d amount of sheit they wanted that person to do, no wonder the position was vacant

most IT wuk in TT want you to do everything including changing the empty water bottle in the water cooler an they feel 15-17k a month is enough.

It's because most places are following the American trend for hiring labor. Which is in a nutshell, hire the most qualified candidate that will do the most amount of work for the least amount of money and will comply with all instructions with minimal resistance.
And many companies here are trying hard to apply that trend to hiring professionals.

Postby hover11 » December 2nd, 2022, 6:30 am

daring dragoon wrote:

It's because most places are following the American trend for hiring labor. Which is in a nutshell, hire the most qualified candidate that will do the most amount of work for the least amount of money and will comply with all instructions with minimal resistance.
And many companies here are trying hard to apply that trend to hiring professionals.
Then workers giving employers bad habit at the same time. Why are you doing something that is not in your job description, when shite hit the fan such as you are injured in the process or make errors, the management can easily remove themselves from the equation and state that wasn't part of your portfolio.

Postby timelapse » December 2nd, 2022, 7:13 am

daring dragoon wrote:

Most IT workers in the world are pushover nerds that don't know how to stand up for themselves.After your probation over, everybody could htmc with petty tasks that not on your appraisal.If your office women can't change a water bottle, they need to reconsider their stance with their gender pay gap argument

Postby 88sins » December 2nd, 2022, 10:21 am

hover11 wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

It's because most places are following t.he American trend for hiring labor. Which is in a nutshell, hire the most qualified candidate that will do the most amount of work for the least amount of money and will comply with all instructions with minimal resistance.
Then workers giving employers bad habit at the same time. Why are you doing something that is not in your job description, when shite hit the fan such as you are injured in the process or make errors, the management can easily remove themselves from the equation and state that wasn't part of your portfolio.

Correct, this is what usually happens. I kno a case at a medical facility in POS some years ago, where a car park and building maintenance employee was saddled with the responsibility of swapping out O2 tanks. He had no idea how dangerous those tanks could be without taking proper precautions, but he found out real quick the hard way. Tank exploded and damaged his face and right eye. In that case, the medical company took care of his medical care expenses and paid him some chicken feed compensation. To date, he still working there, but he's partially blind in the right eye. Only positive thing to come out of it is that they no longer send untrained personnel to deal with those tanks.

Generally speaking, in the workplace people like to be helpful if it makes things run smoothly, and don't mind doing things that they weren't necessarily hired of paid to do. Problem starts when they start demanding you do things that you weren't hired to do and aren't being paid to do, and adding on tasks as they arise and saying that's your job without adding commensurate compensation.