Which banks still offering Visa debit cards to use online?

Postby redmanjp » December 7th, 2022, 12:34 pm

So my RBL vtm expired and RBL no longer has any visa debit cards i could use for online shopping on Amazon (i called and confirmed).

i considered getting a credit card but was handed a loan and other forms asking for all my assets , liabilities , etc. which i have to find out as i dont know my latest balances- i may eventually get a cr card but for now i will opt for a debit card if that can be obtained quickly.

Which banks have and which one could i get one the fastest? perhaps to do some last minute xmas shopping?

the new linx visa debit dont work for foreign online sites.
Last edited by redmanjp on December 7th, 2022, 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

killercow

Re: Which banks still offering Visa debit cards to use online?

Postby killercow » December 7th, 2022, 12:56 pm

RBC VISA debit cards offer a limit of $50US per month. Certain credit unions like Venture also offer a prepaid card with a $250US monthly limit.

Postby S_2NR » December 7th, 2022, 2:22 pm

50US a month!?

Postby redmanjp » December 7th, 2022, 3:07 pm

S_2NR wrote:50US a month!?

yeah boi. tings dat bad with forex? :roll:

Postby redmanjp » December 7th, 2022, 3:08 pm

killercow wrote:RBC VISA debit cards offer a limit of $50US per month. Certain credit unions like Venture also offer a prepaid card with a $250US monthly limit.

i assume u have to already be a customer?

Postby S_2NR » December 7th, 2022, 4:03 pm

redmanjp wrote:

With that amount, is best u jump thru the hoops and get a regular credit card. They should be ashamed to even offer that

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2022, 5:31 pm

JMMB Visa Debit cards work for online purchases
The fee is $4 for Intl Point of Sale and card limits are US$200 for Classic/US$250 Gold per month

killercow

Postby killercow » December 7th, 2022, 7:58 pm

redmanjp wrote:
killercow wrote:RBC VISA debit cards offer a limit of $50US per month. Certain credit unions like Venture also offer a prepaid card with a $250US monthly limit.

i assume u have to already be a customer?
Yes but becoming a customer and qualifying for one I'm guessing could happen in one or two business days. I can't remember for sure but you can always call and find out. IIRC, the card that Venture currently uses is a JMMB issued card.

killercow

Postby killercow » December 7th, 2022, 8:06 pm

S_2NR wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

With that amount, is best u jump thru the hoops and get a regular credit card. They should be ashamed to even offer that
All RBC regular bank cards were replaced with a VISA debit card. Unfortunately, that's the limit that they placed on it ($50US). I did test it once just to see if it worked and it did. RBL is also replacing all their regular debit cards with VISA debit cards but I don't think they've started to allow customers to make online US purchases yet.

Postby redmanjp » December 7th, 2022, 9:51 pm

^that's just the upgraded linx card but it only allows local online transactions not foreign. With the forex situation I can't see them automatically enabling them for US transactions.

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2022, 9:59 pm

50 US/month limit not so bad.. could still watch a lil disney plus or hbo or whatever streaming service with that. v good for people who don't want to pay cable tv rates

Postby redmanjp » December 7th, 2022, 11:11 pm

paid_influencer wrote:50 US/month limit not so bad.. could still watch a lil disney plus or hbo or whatever streaming service with that. v good for people who don't want to pay cable tv rates

well not for online shopping- at least not xmas shopping when u will spend more unless they give u a temporary increase in the limit

Postby S_2NR » December 8th, 2022, 6:40 am

paid_influencer wrote:50 US/month limit not so bad..

Notsureifsrs

Skanky

Postby Skanky » December 8th, 2022, 7:24 am

Forex shortage lol. The nonsense you people believe.

I was in the bank the other day when a guy at a teller was begging the teller for 100USD and being told there is none available and the person next to him was withdrawing thousands in cash.

Postby hover11 » December 8th, 2022, 7:44 am

Skanky wrote:Forex shortage lol. The nonsense you people believe.

I was in the bank the other day when a guy at a teller was begging the teller for 100USD and being told there is none available and the person next to him was withdrawing thousands in cash.
It's an artificial shortage the common man is being restricted from accessing forex however friends and affiliates/financiers have limitless supply at their fingertips

Postby maj. tom » December 8th, 2022, 7:57 am

everyone except PNM voters are completely aware of this forex "shortage."

Not sure what anyone here can do about it? Tell us Skanky.

killercow

Postby killercow » December 8th, 2022, 8:15 am

OP unless you apply for a credit card or you're in or around an environment which exposes and grants you access to US cash then you're stuck with purchasing overpriced local items.

Postby redmanjp » December 8th, 2022, 9:09 am

Scotia or FCB offering any visa debit cards with a higher limit than $50?

Postby Ben_spanna » December 8th, 2022, 9:36 am

redmanjp wrote:

So how come recently i think it was alleged that the COP was robbed of USD$4000 CASH in hand at piarco????

every in we population is f-cking dunce and degenerate and cant get USD but if you connected to this government yuh living it large?

Postby redmanjp » December 8th, 2022, 11:56 am

killercow wrote:OP unless you apply for a credit card or you're in or around an environment which exposes and grants you access to US cash then you're stuck with purchasing overpriced local items.

will have to do that eventually but for now i trying to get a prepaid visa card. that (the cr card application) requires me to get balances from UTC, Guardian life and and few other places to fill out my assets. then is a waiting period but i want to shop now.

how is it we dont have enough forex for debit card, but have for credit card? is d same forex leaving the country
Last edited by redmanjp on December 8th, 2022, 1:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » December 8th, 2022, 12:30 pm

i called FCB- they dont offer it.

called Scotia- got transferred to some person (with a Spanish accent name Carlos) who informed me they offer them but i will have to go into the branch for more info. or at least i hope so cuz at first he thought i was a current customer.

killercow

Postby killercow » December 8th, 2022, 12:34 pm

redmanjp wrote:i called FCB- they dont offer it.

called Scotia- got transferred to some person (with a Spanish accent name Carlos) who informed me they offer them but i will have to go into the branch for more info. or at least i hope so cuz at first he thought i was a current customer.
Usually once they have they'll have it listed as a product on their website. Peruse the website and see.

Postby redmanjp » December 14th, 2022, 1:27 pm

went JMMB- they have a visa debit but they blank me- to get 1 u have to open an account but apparently they have a quota for new accounts or something and they say they lock off for d day- tomorrow is only for business ppl so the next day is friday morning and i have to line up before the banks open- that tells me plenty ppl might have d same idea as me wrt getting visa debit cards.

at this rate is only new year gifts oui :roll:

Postby redmanjp » December 14th, 2022, 1:33 pm

killercow wrote:OP unless you apply for a credit card or you're in or around an environment which exposes and grants you access to US cash then you're stuck with purchasing overpriced local items.

RBL (of which i am a longtime customer) just blank meh when i ask if i could get US$150 to open a US$ UTC account (in order to utilize their visa debit card, UTC don't change TT to US, u have to walk with US). they say is only if i travelling i could get right now- shoulda say ah travelling but then they might ask for itinerary? :roll:

Postby paid_influencer » December 14th, 2022, 5:40 pm

bro the solution is to get a credit card no getting around it. even in venezuela the credit cards were the last thing they cut

in the mean time has u investigated the skybox purchasing facility? some of them will buy stuff for you, just send them the link, and they buy/ship/clear/deliver it for u.
ezones have this oen i think aeropost had it too idk if it still active
https://getezone.com/ezshopper/

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 14th, 2022, 6:43 pm

End of the year is a good time to get a c/card. Banks trying to meet the quota. Dunno if NOW is the best time, but as December start, check them

Postby redmanjp » December 14th, 2022, 7:56 pm

viedcht wrote:End of the year is a good time to get a c/card. Banks trying to meet the quota. Dunno if NOW is the best time, but as December start, check them

will do that soon but RBL said it takes at least 3-5 working days- so it wont help with xmas shopping 11 days b4 xmas- anyway not seeing much that i want online and my family hasn't shared their amazon wish list this year so i get away :lol:

but i will still check JMMB Friday if i get chance and willing to line up outside b4 they open

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 14th, 2022, 8:01 pm

After Republic VTM ended had no choice but to get a credit card. I made them put a low limit on the card though to prevent myself from overspending as well as security concerns too.

Postby redmanjp » December 14th, 2022, 8:05 pm

DMan7 wrote:After Republic VTM ended had no choice but to get a credit card. I made them put a low limit on the card though to prevent myself from overspending as well as security concerns too.

did u get it within the 3-5 working days from applying?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 14th, 2022, 8:06 pm

redmanjp wrote:
DMan7 wrote:After Republic VTM ended had no choice but to get a credit card. I made them put a low limit on the card though to prevent myself from overspending as well as security concerns too.

did u get it within the 3-5 working days from applying?

Can't remember but that seems about right!