Re: ***2023 murder toll thread***

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2023, 7:45 am

Was on the avenue about 530 this morning. Saw police condoning off the area

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 18th, 2023, 8:26 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Was on the avenue about 530 this morning. Saw police condoning off the area

Confirmed double on the avenue, that's 89

Postby K74T » February 18th, 2023, 8:34 am

Phones like yuh was in de Machel

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2023, 8:40 am

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2023, 9:33 am

K74T wrote:Phones like yuh was in de Machel
Nah was on another scene. I eh hit any fetes at all this year. Having a bit zess home carnival monday so plenty cleaning up going on for the last 2 weeks

Postby K74T » February 18th, 2023, 9:37 am

Word word

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 18th, 2023, 1:14 pm

90: junior cox beaten to death in cumuto

Postby K74T » February 18th, 2023, 1:41 pm

Re: Double Murder on Avenue

February 18th, 2023

MEDIA RELEASE

CoP Christopher Responds to Overnight Murders
With respect to the murders which occurred overnight, information unearthed so far is that both deceased are from the Morvant district and the current motive has been identified as gang related.

Both deceased have been identified, one only as "Jessie or Javon" of Morvant and the other as Atiba Rodriguez 37 yrs of Romain Lands Morvant, a mason employed at the Ministry of Works.

We are pursuing several leads which have arisen through intelligence and technical support.

The female victim has been treated for an injury to one of her legs and she has since been discharged. Our Victim and Witness Support Unit has been made available to lend further support.

These incidents will obviously cause concern for me. However, I want to assure members of the public that these incidents are being vigorously pursued. Police Officers are out there in full strength doing everything possible to prevent further occurrences.

Unfortunately, there are those who remain intent on creating chaos and mayhem.

Over the past 24 hours, arising out of our many nationwide anti-crime exercises, 3 illegal firearms and over 3 kilos of marijuana were seized. Over 15 persons have been arrested for various offences.

The officers are working extremely hard to prevent such situations in every practical way.

The TTPS will continue to be out there using all our resources and intelligence and working tirelessly and relentlessly to prevent these situations.

Unfortunately, despite our best efforts, unless citizens and visitors comply with the law, exercise restraint, and cooperate with the police in treating with lawlessness, the possibility of these incidents occurring will continue to be our challenge.

We have a very effective operational plan in effect and we will persevere in our efforts and continue to be proactive and diligent in performing our duty during this carnival season.
We remain optimistic that our operations will be successful and we will get the desired results.

Corporate Communications Unit
February 18th, 2023
END

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2023, 1:51 pm

their addresses look lil pest nestish

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 18th, 2023, 9:08 pm

91: unidentified male found with gunshot wounds in wallerfield

May have to add 3 from the south land

Postby K74T » February 19th, 2023, 2:33 am

92&93

FB_IMG_1676788359050.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 19th, 2023, 6:22 am

94: unidentified male shot and killed in embacadere

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 19th, 2023, 9:05 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:94: unidentified male shot and killed in embacadere

Identified as sherlon cooper

Postby hover11 » February 19th, 2023, 10:18 am

K74T wrote:Re: Double Murder on Avenue

February 18th, 2023

MEDIA RELEASE

With respect to the murders which occurred overnight, information unearthed so far is that both deceased are from the Morvant district and the current motive has been identified as gang related.

Both deceased have been identified, one only as "Jessie or Javon" of Morvant and the other as Atiba Rodriguez 37 yrs of Romain Lands Morvant, a mason employed at the Ministry of Works.

We are pursuing several leads which have arisen through intelligence and technical support.

The female victim has been treated for an injury to one of her legs and she has since been discharged. Our Victim and Witness Support Unit has been made available to lend further support.

These incidents will obviously cause concern for me. However, I want to assure members of the public that these incidents are being vigorously pursued. Police Officers are out there in full strength doing everything possible to prevent further occurrences.

Over the past 24 hours, arising out of our many nationwide anti-crime exercises, 3 illegal firearms and over 3 kilos of marijuana were seized. Over 15 persons have been arrested for various offences.

The officers are working extremely hard to prevent such situations in every practical way.

The TTPS will continue to be out there using all our resources and intelligence and working tirelessly and relentlessly to prevent these situations.

Unfortunately, despite our best efforts, unless citizens and visitors comply with the law, exercise restraint, and cooperate with the police in treating with lawlessness, the possibility of these incidents occurring will continue to be our challenge.

We have a very effective operational plan in effect and we will persevere in our efforts and continue to be proactive and diligent in performing our duty during this carnival season.
We remain optimistic that our operations will be successful and we will get the desired results.

February 18th, 2023
END
Not sure if we are meant to be comforted within ourselves because it was 'gang related'. The point is, I think, that persons are able to continually commit such crimes, at will in Trinidad and Tobago, and be reasonably assured that they would not be apprehended far less convicted and imprisoned. As I asked before how many murderers were caught and convicted is another question, you have to able to bring someone before the court then we could speak on conviction rates . This speaks to the prevailing woeful inadequacies of the criminal justice architecture, the police, forensics, the DPP's office, the courts and above all the political directorate upon whom lies the responsibility to provision all of these agencies. Sad, but we jamming still.

VII

Postby VII » February 19th, 2023, 11:29 am

Can't deny that's the reason most Trinis go about their business as usual despite the carnage ,and so they should we know as long as we're not involved in certain activities we won't be targets, it's no secret .. In fact depite the rate ,I feel safer in a Trini mall or restaurant etc than a US mall or restaurant etc where I and any number of decent law abiding people could be ramdomely gunned down by some priveldged psycho ..now add schools from elementary to tertiary, the movies, on the job, church etc etc etc...

Now that's real terror, not some idiots targeting each other.

hover11 wrote:
K74T wrote:Re: Double Murder on Avenue

February 18th, 2023

MEDIA RELEASE

February 18th, 2023
END
Not sure if we are meant to be comforted within ourselves because it was 'gang related'. The point is, I think, that persons are able to continually commit such crimes, at will in Trinidad and Tobago, and be reasonably assured that they would not be apprehended far less convicted and imprisoned. As I asked before how many murderers were caught and convicted is another question, you have to able to bring someone before the court then we could speak on conviction rates . This speaks to the prevailing woeful inadequacies of the criminal justice architecture, the police, forensics, the DPP's office, the courts and above all the political directorate upon whom lies the responsibility to provision all of these agencies. Sad, but we jamming still.
Last edited by VII on February 19th, 2023, 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » February 19th, 2023, 11:33 am

No random mass shooting in Trinidad. So far....
It's only a matter of time. Lawlessness and decadence of society takes baby steps of progress. If everyone seeing the house with broken windows, eventually they will throw stones to break the rest.

VII

Postby VII » February 19th, 2023, 11:38 am

Nah you gotta have a different set of conditions and mental issues for that to happen..avg Trinis with illegal guns don't have that sorry..only Trini may do that is a foreign based priveldged one...like the foolish entitled boy who pulled the school shooting stunt at international school and my padna had to put him to rest some years ago..

Trinis not into the random pain sharing thing, but on the other hand if they want you for some reason they will get you though, and they will try for the least amount of collateral as possible...

As bad as it is here, you just gotta know what you're dealing with and you'll be fine mentally and physically..

Postby paid_influencer » February 19th, 2023, 12:38 pm

sounds like cope

Postby K74T » February 21st, 2023, 7:08 pm

95 and 96: 2 Killed in Second Caledonia, Morvant.

Was 5 people in total shot: 3 wounded and 2 dead.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 22nd, 2023, 6:22 am

K74T wrote:95 and 96: 2 Killed in Second Caledonia, Morvant.

Was 5 people in total shot: 3 wounded and 2 dead.

Deceased identified as
Keon Thomas
Anthony pearson

May have to add 2 more again

Postby Chimera » February 22nd, 2023, 8:04 am

VII wrote:Nah you gotta have a different set of conditions and mental issues for that to happen..avg Trinis with illegal guns don't have that sorry..only Trini may do that is a foreign based priveldged one...like the foolish entitled boy who pulled the school shooting stunt at international school and my padna had to put him to rest some years ago..

Trinis not into the random pain sharing thing, but on the other hand if they want you for some reason they will get you though, and they will try for the least amount of collateral as possible...

As bad as it is here, you just gotta know what you're dealing with and you'll be fine mentally and physically..
That's why it very important to keep your circle small and know who you liming with.

Alot of persons get killed because they liming with the person who hitters come for.

wing

Postby wing » February 22nd, 2023, 8:49 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
VII wrote:Nah you gotta have a different set of conditions and mental issues for that to happen..avg Trinis with illegal guns don't have that sorry..only Trini may do that is a foreign based priveldged one...like the foolish entitled boy who pulled the school shooting stunt at international school and my padna had to put him to rest some years ago..

That's why it very important to keep your circle small and know who you liming with.

Alot of persons get killed because they liming with the person who hitters come for.
X1000

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » February 22nd, 2023, 2:27 pm

wing wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

X1000

The reason there is such a high frequency of mass shootings in the US is their gun-saturation rate: 120.5 guns per 100 citizens, vs Trini's 3.2 per 100 citizens. We may very well have the same social issues, but gun availability exacerbates the situation exponentially. If we had their gun-saturation rate, we'd have mass shootings here too. Thankfully, we retained some of our British sensibilities.

Source:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Estimated ... by_country

Postby MaxPower » February 22nd, 2023, 2:35 pm

FrankChag wrote:The reason there is such a high frequency of mass shootings in the US is their gun-saturation rate: 120.5 guns per 100 citizens, vs Trini's 3.2 per 100 citizens. We may very well have the same social issues, but gun availability exacerbates the situation exponentially. If we had their gun-saturation rate, we'd have mass shootings here too. Thankfully, we retained some of our British sensibilities.

Well said Frank.

With our irresponsible population and our 8th spot in the highest crime rate, too many Trinis with firearms will become a problem.

We need to focus on the TTPS and their ability to control crime.

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2023, 3:38 pm

what is the gun saturation rate amongst those gangster areas?
does every house in those pest areas have a gun?

Postby redmanjp » February 22nd, 2023, 3:52 pm

FrankChag wrote:
wing wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

X1000

The reason there is such a high frequency of mass shootings in the US is their gun-saturation rate: 120.5 guns per 100 citizens, vs Trini's 3.2 per 100 citizens. We may very well have the same social issues, but gun availability exacerbates the situation exponentially. If we had their gun-saturation rate, we'd have mass shootings here too. Thankfully, we retained some of our British sensibilities.

Source:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Estimated ... by_country

yet still our murder rate per capita is higher than theirs

wing

Postby wing » February 22nd, 2023, 3:59 pm

FrankChag wrote:The reason there is such a high frequency of mass shootings in the US is their gun-saturation rate: 120.5 guns per 100 citizens, vs Trini's 3.2 per 100 citizens. We may very well have the same social issues, but gun availability exacerbates the situation exponentially. If we had their gun-saturation rate, we'd have mass shootings here too. Thankfully, we retained some of our British sensibilities.

Well said Frank.

With our irresponsible population and our 8th spot in the highest crime rate, too many Trinis with firearms will become a problem.

We need to focus on the TTPS and their ability to control crime.
The ttps cannot control crime without Draconian measures like SOE. Because we cannot put a police on every street, bar, house, football field etc. The enablers have to be destroyed too.. rogue politicians, custom officers, police, defense force, business people etc. Social measures need to be harshly implemented especially in the poor areas where absent parents cause the youth to look at the gangster for leadership. Capital punishment for gun violence, drug dealing and corruption should be considered.

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2023, 4:15 pm

what area heinz does get he votes from?