Licensing stations stricter with inspection

Postby redmanjp » January 4th, 2023, 2:23 pm

I was refused inspection as i had a few spots where paint flaking off of my car. someone else i know said that the headlights needed cleaning as it had a slight discoloration (even before he was asked to turn it on) and was refused until they had it cleaned.

apparently inspection stations have to take pictures of the car and send it to Licensing- not sure if this was done before. so anything that looking slightly off will cause u to fail inspection. just a heads up for anyone going for inspection.

Re: Licensing stations stricter with inspection

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 4th, 2023, 4:19 pm

Heard ppl experience the same

dogg

Postby dogg » January 4th, 2023, 4:20 pm

flaking paint?
That's 3/4 of the cars on the road

Postby gastly369 » January 4th, 2023, 4:24 pm

De whole mc roads in TT "flaking"

But our cars have to be in pristine conditions

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 4:33 pm

so we need to do headlight restoration now ?

Postby Rovin » January 4th, 2023, 4:42 pm

mossy,dull,faded even cracked\broken headlights or d other lights i can understand but flaky paint i dont get , was ur car flaking or faded so badly that somebody cant see what color it is - or what reason they gave u ?

iirc they dont want to see an unsecured\not bolted down batt & dirty engine, also try to clean up ur car lil decent b4 u go too, have ur ride in decent condition & not give them a reason to blank u, make sure ur paperwork in order too

next wk i want to go get my ride inspected just to be on d side of caution ...

Postby sMASH » January 4th, 2023, 6:17 pm

This and the dress code.
They over doing it a lot.

Postby sMASH » January 4th, 2023, 6:18 pm

Who comes up with these rules and how do they get passes?

Postby wagonrunner » January 4th, 2023, 6:58 pm

sMASH wrote:Who comes up with these rules and how do they get passes?

the "garage" because they have someone who could repair for a fee.
the wagon and many other vehicles were licensed and sold with a black bumber on a different color paint.
a garage failed a vehicle for black bumper not matching body color.
they went to another garage where it passed, and the previous garage was shut down and money refunded after the report to fraud squad. (receipt and reason for failed inspection).

Postby redmanjp » January 4th, 2023, 7:20 pm

pugboy wrote:so we need to do headlight restoration now ?

Apparently yes if it is discolored.

Postby Ben_spanna » January 4th, 2023, 10:00 pm

Time to stand up against these corrupt *****, I went to clear an item at customs and because I was in. Pair of shorts they refused me entry, these idiots can’t be serious about life.

Postby maj. tom » January 4th, 2023, 10:18 pm

Spoiler: it will never change.

These busybody laws were created in colonial times and are meant to discriminate and exclude anyone the persons in authority want to at any time at their choice and whim. Constitutional review and reform? 2025 it coming. Just like the new number plates for the last 20 years. Stupid things in the 21st century from jaywalking, wearing slippers, or camouflage pattern short pants are there for purpose when it's ready to be used.

btw there is nothing written in the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act stating anything about "flaking" paint. It only states that you can't use regiment/police/fire colours, and that MGW weight has to be painted on the sides of vehicles over 3000 kg. Tell them to show you what is written so you can comply, or we going court.

Postby hover11 » January 5th, 2023, 12:16 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Time to stand up against these corrupt *****, I went to clear an item at customs and because I was in. Pair of shorts they refused me entry, these idiots can’t be serious about life.
It is common knowledge that u cant enter these places with 3/4's, ripped jeans etc
Not that its agreeable, but in 2023 u cant say that u didnt know and then be shocked if reminded.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » January 5th, 2023, 8:10 am

Yeah I noticed this when I got my ole $h!7 box inspected ... peeling paint my whole car is peeling paint not a word ... as for faded headlights I think I did have mine looking halfway decent at the time ... the picture thing I think has to do with the license plates for the traffic camera's.

All this is govt seeking to draw more money out of taxpayers and also divert attention away from totally inefficient, socialist, corrupt and elitist way this country is being run

If people want real change in this country they are going to have to let these politicians know they are serious by putting people in office who follow their agenda ... but that will never happen cause a large part of the population still studying on which part of their world their ancestors originated, wine/rum/beer, weed, woman, Venezuelan, whats new on social media, TV, movie, party, liming and or making ends meet.

A fool and a river are easily diverted stay focused my friends.

Postby aaron17 » January 5th, 2023, 11:44 am

redmanjp wrote:

What is the best restoration? I tried meguiars headlight restoration kit and it aint cutting it. Went to a mechanic to use a buffer and it still looking yellow. Last resort is to buy a new housing but is rel money.

Postby aaron17 » January 5th, 2023, 11:46 am

Well at least they starting to check something , last time I went they never really check the listing.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 5th, 2023, 1:01 pm

Waaay. If I still had de surf that wasn't getting pass with all this shtt rules now wee rell dotish kinda ting to fail inspection for

Postby timelapse » January 5th, 2023, 1:01 pm

I propose that citizens get to inspect the roads and charge the government accordingly

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 5th, 2023, 1:04 pm

aaron17 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

What is the best restoration? I tried meguiars headlight restoration kit and it aint cutting it. Went to a mechanic to use a buffer and it still looking yellow. Last resort is to buy a new housing but is rel money.
That could be on the inside eh. Had experience with a y10 that had dust etc on the inside because of damage on the rubber backing. The bulb like it bake on stuff to inside of lens.

Postby aaron17 » January 5th, 2023, 2:46 pm

oh.......

Postby Dave » January 5th, 2023, 4:03 pm

timelapse wrote:I propose that citizens get to inspect the roads and charge the government accordingly
Here here.

I can fully endorse the dull headlights as that is a safety issue for the driver at night.

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2023, 4:04 pm

not always, i have dull headlights but i still lighting up the street signs up the street with my regular bulbs

Postby aaron17 » January 5th, 2023, 4:07 pm

Dem leds in halogen with wrong position are a pain in the night. I does still flash them like the strobe light action sequence from kickass .

Postby redmanjp » January 5th, 2023, 6:49 pm

viedcht wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

That could be on the inside eh. Had experience with a y10 that had dust etc on the inside because of damage on the rubber backing. The bulb like it bake on stuff to inside of lens.

might have something similar except with the rear license plate bulb

Postby maj. tom » January 5th, 2023, 6:56 pm

viedcht wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 6th, 2023, 1:55 pm

Fellas big man ting, it would be wise if someone made a lil infographic of all the things we need to have in order before inspection. And blast it out on social media platforms

And also things they cannot refuse inspection for.

With references to the LEGAL document.

THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO FIGHT IT.

Postby wagonrunner » January 9th, 2023, 11:41 am

you mean like page 235 of the MVRTA at https://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/a ... /48.50.pdf
The problem is it has not been updated since 2016 (better download before they find it being refecend and removed)
Duane sticking bad, Tuner should have the most recent one available.

does having no amendments advertised to the public at https://www.mowt.gov.tt/Divisions/Admin ... ad-Traffic mean there are none?

And is it there is no Trinidad Transit Board as specified in same act?
https://www.mowt.gov.tt/Divisions/Trinidad-Transport-Board-(1)/Who-We-Are

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 9th, 2023, 1:11 pm

wagonrunner wrote:^^^
you mean like page 235 of the MVRTA at https://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/a ... /48.50.pdf
The problem is it has not been updated since 2016 (better download before they find it being refecend and removed)

does having no amendments advertised to the public at https://www.mowt.gov.tt/Divisions/Admin ... ad-Traffic mean there are none?

Yes, but like , a lil one page graphic that tanties can circulate on whatsapp na.

This can work for now, thanks for finding it <3

Postby bluefete » January 9th, 2023, 2:47 pm

wagonrunner wrote:^^^

There is a new form instead of the one on pgs.235-236.

Postby wagonrunner » January 9th, 2023, 4:36 pm

bluefete wrote:There is a new form instead of the one on pgs.235-236.

Forgot I had a vehicle inspected in September 2022. (cleaned it up)
Did the form change again since?
Inspection checklist_Page_3.jpg
Inspection checklist_Page_4.jpg