Chinese spy balloon

death365

Chinese spy balloon

Postby death365 » February 4th, 2023, 3:59 am

I was just wondering.... woukd make us feel really important if it did

(CNN)— The US is tracking a suspected Chinese high-altitude surveillance balloon over the continental United States, defense officials said on Thursday, a discovery that risks adding further strain to tense US-China relations.

Pentagon spokesman Brig. Gen. Patrick Ryder said the US government has been tracking the balloon for several days as it made its way over the northern United States, adding it was “traveling at an altitude well above commercial air traffic and does not present a military or physical threat to people on the ground.”

Speaking on background, a senior US defense official said senior military officials had advised President Joe Biden not to shoot it down due to fear the debris could pose a safety threat to people on the ground.

https://www.cnn.com/2023/02/02/politics ... index.html

Re: Did/will the Chinese spy balloon pass over T&T

Postby aaron17 » February 4th, 2023, 6:45 am

Lol...let dem buss files.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 4th, 2023, 6:50 am

Lol China done infiltrate Trinidad long time they ain't need no balloon

Postby Dizzy28 » February 4th, 2023, 8:45 am

20230203_182537.jpg

Postby maj. tom » February 4th, 2023, 9:03 am

It does seem to be an uncontrolled weather balloon drifting in the wind patterns. https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-64521570

If it was a spy device, USA would have shot it down already as they are completely within their rights to protect their airspace under 100 km altitude. Their excuse it that doing that will hurt people when it falls. In the middle of nowhere pathway along Montana, Wyoming, Kansas, Missouri to Carolina, it will fall and hurt somebody. An uncontrolled weather balloon as a spy device is pretty stupid when in 2023 superpowers have spy satellites that can resolve a dollar bill size on the ground.

USA is using this incident make a diplomatic row over something that they know is stupid and out of anyone's control, but it makes good news and perhaps think it gives them some more leverage on negotiating powers at the currently scheduled USA Secretary of State visit conference in China (it was canceled) regarding Taiwan and the recent chess games in the Pacific.

Postby Dave » February 4th, 2023, 9:11 am

Chinese mafia here long time. They know all they need to know and then some.
Dohplaydat wrote:Lol China done infiltrate Trinidad long time they ain't need no balloon

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » February 4th, 2023, 11:17 am

Dave wrote:Chinese mafia here long time. They know all they need to know and then some.
Dohplaydat wrote:Lol China done infiltrate Trinidad long time they ain't need no balloon
There are Chinese police stations in Trinidad

Postby toyolink » February 4th, 2023, 11:22 am

This has tremendous comical possibilities and I look forward to the many parodies it will provoke.

Postby Rovin » February 4th, 2023, 11:29 am

why wud d chinese need a spy balloon when so many of them living in T&T since colonial time ...

Postby Les Bain » February 4th, 2023, 12:46 pm

Ent Rowley does rel glow them up and praise we good relationship?
That's just a decorative balloon.

Postby hover11 » February 4th, 2023, 12:58 pm

Nothing wrong with that if they did, the rightful owners simply keeping an eye on their property...

Postby timelapse » February 4th, 2023, 12:59 pm

The Chinese balloon is significantly smaller than the African balloon

solarkh

Postby solarkh » February 4th, 2023, 1:06 pm

Where the Tic Tok uses at?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 4th, 2023, 3:23 pm

If you ever wondered what that song was about

You and I in a little toy shop
Buy a bag of balloons with the money we've got
Set them free at the break of dawn
'Til one by one, they were gone
Back at base, bugs in the software
Flash the message "Something's out there"
Floating in the summer sky
99 red balloons go by
99 red balloons
Floating in the summer sky
Panic bells, it's red alert
There's something here from somewhere else
The war machine springs to life
Opens up one eager eye
Focusing it on the sky
The 99 red balloons go by
99 Decision Street
99 ministers meet
To worry, worry, super scurry
Call the troops out in a hurry
This is what we've waited for
This is it boys, this is war
The President is on the line
As 99 red balloons go by
99 knights of the air
Ride super high-tech jet fighters
Everyone's a superhero
Everyone's a Captain Kirk
With orders to identify
To clarify and classify
Scrambling the summer sky
99 red balloons go by
As 99 red balloons go by
99 dreams I have had
In every one, a red balloon
It's all over, and I'm standing pretty
In this dust that was a city
If I could find a souvenir
Just to prove the world was here
And here is a red balloon
I think of you, and let it go

Postby paid_influencer » February 4th, 2023, 4:07 pm

so that song is about the coming nuclear war? fark, I knew it was a good song

Postby timelapse » February 4th, 2023, 4:31 pm

Nuclear war will forever be a threat.Legacy of Uncle Sam

Postby Dizzy28 » February 4th, 2023, 4:38 pm

Balloon shot down over Myrtle Beach

Postby Dizzy28 » February 4th, 2023, 4:38 pm

Yes America alone has nuclear weapons.
timelapse wrote:Nuclear war will forever be a threat.Legacy of Uncle Sam

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » February 4th, 2023, 6:21 pm

US shot it down

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 4th, 2023, 6:33 pm

video footage of balloon being shot down

Closer view

Postby timelapse » February 4th, 2023, 7:57 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Yes America alone has nuclear weapons.
America alone used them to mass murder people

Postby matr1x » February 4th, 2023, 9:09 pm

timelapse wrote:

It was Japanese. They bombed their testosterone out of them. They went from samurai to weebos

Postby Dizzy28 » February 4th, 2023, 11:36 pm

America and Japan were legally at war at the time of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

But edge lords need to edge lord I guess.
timelapse wrote:

Postby adnj » February 5th, 2023, 6:21 am

Dizzy28 wrote:America and Japan were legally at war at the time of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

timelapse wrote:
More than 200,000 people died from the blasts and long term radiation effects of the two nuclear blasts in Japan triggered by the US.

The US decided not to invade Japan and drop nuclear bombs instead because it was determined that invasion would result the deaths of up to 800,000 Americans and 5 to 10 million Japanese.

Estimates were partly based on the WWII Japanese invasion of China where 25 million Chinese were killed along with 5 million others in nearby countries.

Postby timelapse » February 5th, 2023, 6:26 am

Dizzy28 wrote:America and Japan were legally at war at the time of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

timelapse wrote:
You really want to justify dropping nukes?
Meanwhile also your beloved America: "How can we win the war if there isn't any?"

Postby adnj » February 5th, 2023, 6:41 am

timelapse wrote:

Meanwhile also your beloved America: "How can we win the war if there isn't any?"
I just did. Pay attention.

Postby timelapse » February 5th, 2023, 6:54 am

adnj wrote:
timelapse wrote:

There was no data actually supporting the estimated damage of a nuke because it was the first time it was done in modern times.

Postby adnj » February 5th, 2023, 6:57 am

timelapse wrote:
adnj wrote:
timelapse wrote:

There was no data actually supporting the estimated damage of a nuke because it was the first time it was done in modern times.

Yes, there was. I have seen the 1940s estimates based on blast radius and fallout half life compared to population density of targeted sites.

What I offered you included the people that died decades later from radiation poisoning.

I find it peculiar that you fail to recognize that Japan was responsible for 3× as many deaths from the invasion of China than can be attributed to all deaths caused by Nazi Germany throughout WWII.

Postby timelapse » February 5th, 2023, 7:18 am

adnj wrote:
timelapse wrote:
adnj wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Yes, there was. I have seen the 1940s estimates based on blast radius and fallout half life compared to population density of targeted sites.

What I offered you included the people that died decades later from radiation poisoning.

I find it peculiar that you fail to recognize that Japan was responsible for 3× as many deaths from the invasion of China than can be attributed to all deaths caused by Nazi Germany throughout WWII.
Tell me about the death toll caused by US ally the great Winston Churchill

Postby adnj » February 5th, 2023, 8:07 am

timelapse wrote:
adnj wrote:
timelapse wrote:
adnj wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Tell me about the death toll caused by US ally the great Winston Churchill

"no data actually supporting the estimated damage" is just BS.