When last yuh eat....

triniterribletim

Re: When last yuh eat....

Postby triniterribletim » February 6th, 2023, 10:26 pm

Speaking of pies, there is a pie man in Longdenville with all of these. Aloo, dhal, gizzard, liver, smoked herring, stewed chicken. Comes out on Saturday and Sunday on Pokhor Road. You will see the long line of vehicles just waiting for pies. Some of the best pies in all of Trinidad, I reckon.

Postby timelapse » February 7th, 2023, 7:00 am

Speaking of Longdenville side.
When last you eat a Cup a channa?

Rx

Postby Rx » February 7th, 2023, 11:48 am

Dhal Pie??

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 7th, 2023, 11:57 am

timelapse wrote:Speaking of Longdenville side.
When last you eat a Cup a channa?

made a pot last week thurs.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 7th, 2023, 1:25 pm

timelapse wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Dhal pie
Wtf is dhal pie?

the dryest thing you'll ever eat if u dont get anything with it

Take it with channa and it does LASH

Singh's doubles by Maritime roundabout in barataria have

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 7th, 2023, 5:13 pm

Fried Breast Bone and Fries? Only recently I found out about this. :shock:

Apparently the raw Breast Bone real cheap to buy and people does fry it with fries and sell it super cheap. It have plenty of them all over the place now.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2023, 7:30 pm

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 7th, 2023, 7:36 pm

DMan7 wrote:Fried Breast Bone and Fries? Only recently I found out about this. :shock:

Apparently the raw Breast Bone real cheap to buy and people does fry it with fries and sell it super cheap. It have plenty of them all over the place now.

That was a staple during school days. 5 dollars for two breast bone and fries. The cafeteria lady used to do them in a sweet and spicy sauce.

Postby SMc » February 8th, 2023, 1:04 pm

They have a lady In Maraval that sells all kinda pie including a smoked herring and aloo mix- eet good

Postby aaron17 » February 8th, 2023, 3:20 pm

..cheese paste sandwich (green)?

Postby timelapse » February 8th, 2023, 3:46 pm

aaron17 wrote:..cheese paste sandwich (green)?
cheese paste sandwich (multi-coloured)

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 8th, 2023, 5:46 pm

have a kid, so cheese paste and ribbon sandwiches are a norm when she place the order.

when last yuh get a good homemade pone? I eh talking about bakery fakery pone eh.

Postby pugboy » February 8th, 2023, 6:01 pm

and with out them mystery essence flavors

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 8th, 2023, 10:10 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

have a kid, so cheese paste and ribbon sandwiches are a norm when she place the order.

when last yuh get a good homemade pone? I eh talking about bakery fakery pone eh.
Honestly asking, how to spot the fakery pone? Taste? Texture?

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 9th, 2023, 9:23 am

I don't know if commercial pone uses a blender or food processor, and lots of cheap essence and sugar. And they pad the ratios with whatever cheapest at the time. It doesn't hit the same

Real homemade pone is grated cassava primarily and then grated fresh coconut. The good stuff uses more condensed milk than sugar, so it's textured with some sticky sweetness that's not too dry. You should taste more spice than essence - like nutmeg and cinnamon. And it's dense. You feel the weight on the plate when you get a piece.

The homemade stuff might have a lil bunbun sections at the bottom.

After all that I just type, you making me want some now.

Postby aaron17 » February 9th, 2023, 10:07 am

.. ah good green plum chow (made holes with a fork and slit with a knife on all sides for better soaking) , soaked for weeks in a glass bottle with a good lime pepper mixture with shadow benny etc.
Or any chow tbh

Postby Rovin » February 9th, 2023, 11:23 am

DMan7 wrote:Can't believe soo much people ain't know about Dhal Pie. DAMN!

Anyways when last allya ate condensed milk and roti?

never had either 1 though i supposed if u can make d flour part u can put anything u want inside it, like when i mentioned boiled egg or tuna in it here & in real life ppl does watch meh funny

why u putting condense milk on roti for, dat jes sounding psycho ... :o

Postby Rovin » February 9th, 2023, 11:34 am

DMan7 wrote:Fried Breast Bone and Fries? Only recently I found out about this. :shock:

yea some places have it a while now, if u like boney pieces of chicken well u go like urself - for d price u cant complain, its cheaper for a business to buy d whole chicken breast & remove d strips for boneless chicken pieces so they left with d bones, might as well sell it for d poor man who cant afford d regular meaty pieces

but everything keep going up so no more $20 for a box again

btw hilo does sell d raw chicken breast bones cheap too as they also remove d meat & left with d bones, they sell it cheap so u cud buy it & make ur own home ... good for soups too when u have plenty ppl to feed on a low budget

Postby maj. tom » February 9th, 2023, 11:35 am

Because it comes from the British putting condensed milk on toast as a breakfast alternative to the more complicated French toast.

It was a big thing for Caroni workers before they start the day's work. Plenty high carbs to give them energy. Long term side effects though.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 9th, 2023, 12:32 pm

maj. tom wrote:Because it comes from the British putting condensed milk on toast as a breakfast alternative to the more complicated French toast.

It was a big thing for Caroni workers before they start the day's work. Plenty high carbs to give them energy. Long term side effects though.

Yup, I grew up knowing about hops and condensed milk. Gramps and grandma were a caroni workers, so my father and his siblings passed it to us. Every last one of them had diabetes later in life though, so I stopped eating that since I was a teen

Postby Rovin » February 9th, 2023, 1:10 pm

if u google british ppl foods they have some strange recipes

maybe it was what grands cud afford & quickest thing to make so early morning ... not me i good

Postby aaron17 » February 9th, 2023, 1:35 pm

.......baigan ice cream cone..when ur mother make roast baigan from the stove? You cut the top and it look like a cone .

Postby timelapse » February 9th, 2023, 2:53 pm

aaron17 wrote:.. ah good green plum chow (made holes with a fork and slit with a knife on all sides for better soaking) , soaked for weeks in a glass bottle with a good lime pepper mixture with shadow benny etc.
Or any chow tbh
We could lime

Rx

Postby Rx » February 18th, 2023, 6:53 pm

aaron17 wrote:.. ah good green plum chow (made holes with a fork and slit with a knife on all sides for better soaking) , soaked for weeks in a glass bottle with a good lime pepper mixture with shadow benny etc.
Or any chow tbh

Snap!

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 19th, 2023, 9:31 am

Rovin wrote:if u google british ppl foods they have some strange recipes

maybe it was what grands cud afford & quickest thing to make so early morning ... not me i good

They lost me with beans and toast. As the old saying goes.

"The taste of their food and the face of their women made the British man the best sailor in the world"

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 19th, 2023, 9:56 am

timelapse wrote:
Or any chow tbh
We could lime

How alyuh getting that to stay soaking for weeks. For me it usually done by day 2 :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Rovin » February 19th, 2023, 7:29 pm

yea nobody eh waiting no weeks for it to soak nah, a few days for d most cause u tusty to eat it :P

aaron17 wrote:.......baigan ice cream cone..when ur mother make roast baigan from the stove? You cut the top and it look like a cone .

yes ! :)

dat 1 took me far back to primary school days, i actually use to be waiting for it & asking my mother to leave a lil extra baigan on d "cone" , lil bit of salt on it & u good to go ...

Postby maj. tom » February 19th, 2023, 7:42 pm

I trying to picture that.
So you cutting here and just eating it?

Postby bluefete » February 19th, 2023, 7:48 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Or any chow tbh
We could lime

How alyuh getting that to stay soaking for weeks. For me it usually done by day 2 :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

We used to bury the bottle in the ground.

Postby Rovin » February 19th, 2023, 8:20 pm

^^^ i know about putting it in d sun

maj. tom wrote:I trying to picture that.
So you cutting here and just eating it?

yes , not too long like 0.5-1" for d most ...