Gas Stations with WORKING Air Pumps

Postby st7 » March 19th, 2023, 7:39 pm

thought i'd start up this ched that would be helpful to anyone looking to pressure their tyres at gas stations, especially on the go. everyone can add their 2 cents as well.

Working:
Brentwood, Chaguanas
Duncan Village station by Achievors
NP El Socorro
NP Cyrus San Juan (off highway)

Working but malfunctioning:
1. the left air pump at Preysal gas station reading your pressure with a -18 difference. example instead of 36, it'll show 18. real men over-pressure their tyres, and i warned a guy who came after me but he eh business.

i know Charlieville gas station had an issue where the air pump would go hard and fast, and it never beeped when finished - hadda be careful there cause in 10 seconds you cross the PSI by a long shot. dunno if anyone can confirm if that fixed.
Last edited by st7 on March 19th, 2023, 11:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

DMan7

Re: Gas Stations with WORKING Air Pumps

Postby DMan7 » March 19th, 2023, 8:41 pm

TBH I've never used a gas station air pump for my tyres, since I bought my vehicle the previous owner left the portable one with the car and I ended up buying one online as well.

Postby paid_influencer » March 19th, 2023, 8:54 pm

yea i have my own pump why use a gas station one is the air better

Postby MaxPower » March 19th, 2023, 8:56 pm

Yeh toppys, allyuh hadda get with the times.

In this day and age, walk with your own tyre pressure equipment and always have a gauge in the car.

Postby gastly369 » March 19th, 2023, 9:44 pm

Have my own compressor home.... Gas station my side use to hide the hose or turn of and say "eh wokin"
I does give air to who around and want

Postby Dave » March 19th, 2023, 10:11 pm

Np Aranguez not.
Np El socorro yes!

Postby *KRONIK* » March 19th, 2023, 10:26 pm

gastly369 wrote:Have my own compressor home.... Gas station my side use to hide the hose or turn of and say "eh wokin"
I does give air to who around and want
One up by me
The owner say he need that spot for personal parking and goods vehicles
So the take off the hose

But right next to pump have a sign saying to call NP if the pump not working

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 19th, 2023, 11:08 pm

In keeping with the thread, Duncan Village station by Achievors have a working pump.

If you can, you really should buy a portable air compressor and keep it at home or in the car. Check the air pressures every other week when the tyres cold.

Postby st7 » March 19th, 2023, 11:11 pm

i have the one from pricesmart. it takes a while to pump so i only pull it out in emergency situations.

so i dont mind putting air when i at a gas station anyway

Postby st7 » March 19th, 2023, 11:13 pm

Dave wrote:Np Aranguez not.
Np El socorro yes!

cyrus station does be wokkin off and on. i see someone pumping air last weekend so it wokkin for now lol

Postby redmanjp » March 19th, 2023, 11:39 pm

Richmond St gas station (the 1 with the quik shop) working but sometimes yuh does hear plenty air escaping while pumping. You have to know the exact angle to put it at and how much force to use.

The last time a piper offer to do it for me because of that and it work. He get ah $5.

Postby aaron17 » March 20th, 2023, 4:03 am

I have a cigarette lighter one and i have a converter to use ait with the house outlet.

Postby nervewrecker » March 20th, 2023, 7:05 am

Most service station owners opt to leave the hose off so people cant use it as the compressor is an added electrical expense on them which does not gain revenue.

That and most attendants just too damn lazy to put out the hose, that's extra duties for them and as long as the owner does not know or check on them, nobody cares. Colonial mentality, have to be with the whip over their shoulder for them to do the right thing.

Postby gastly369 » March 20th, 2023, 7:11 am

nervewrecker wrote:Most service station owners opt to leave the hose off so people cant use it as the compressor is an added electrical expense on them which does not gain revenue.

That and most attendants just too damn lazy to put out the hose, that's extra duties for them and as long as the owner does not know or check on them, nobody cares. Colonial mentality, have to be with the whip over their shoulder for them to do the right thing.
Who de smallie cashier by u know where

Postby Chimera » March 20th, 2023, 7:16 am

nervewrecker wrote:Most service station owners opt to leave the hose off so people cant use it as the compressor is an added electrical expense on them which does not gain revenue.

People use to regularly damage the hose or outright steal it as well.

Postby nervewrecker » March 20th, 2023, 7:51 am

gastly369 wrote:

You really want me answer that?

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 20th, 2023, 8:07 am

Liking this thread, I too does ketch arse to find a working air pump. I know for sure Unipet St Augustine NEVER working to the point that tthere was a piper who figured out how to work it and would ask for something small. But other than that, it's a very awkward place to park so I don't recommend anyhow.

NP right down the road by St Augustine private works most times. The Hose broke and u have to hold it straight tho. Idk if they'll fix that

Unipet Tacarigua works most times

NP curepe (near kens doubles) stopped working

Unipet chagaunas by chuck e cheese works fine

st7 wrote:
Dave wrote:Np Aranguez not.
Np El socorro yes!

cyrus station does be wokkin off and on. i see someone pumping air last weekend so it wokkin for now lol

Just cuz u see somebody using it, doh mean it wukkin eh,... He cuda be ketching he tail to get it to full and you enno :lol:

Postby gastly369 » March 20th, 2023, 8:14 am

gastly369 wrote:

You really want me answer that?
She likes stutututussss

Postby j.o.e » March 20th, 2023, 8:22 am

Yuh know who pump always working ? a tyre shop ….and there are hundreds of those I give them a five dollars even if it’s free.
Still have an emergency pump for those times when something comes up

hindian

Postby hindian » March 20th, 2023, 8:38 am

Piarco gas station on the boulevard does work most times but you have to fiddle with it to get it to fill the tyre. I bought an 8gallon compressor a few years ago and my own equipment for tyre inflation. I would recommend getting your own compressor though. A pancake compressor does the job fine and small enough to store if space tight.

Postby Chimera » March 20th, 2023, 8:41 am

Yea a small compressor cheap and very useful.

Tools get so cheap nowadays.

A lil compressor and one of them small kit with 20 attachments and yuh gt.

Lil spray paint gun. Attachment to blow out dust does work real good when is time to clean fans and other electronics.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » March 20th, 2023, 9:31 am

I switched to Nitrogen because the gas station air pumps are too unpredictable and dirty.

The stations I used to use are
Unipet in Upper Santa Cruz close to the chocolate cafe
The big station in Maraval by Maraval police station
The small gas station opposite Ellerslie Plaza

Postby maj. tom » March 20th, 2023, 9:38 am

I give up on broken gas station air hose. I bought one of those mini little compressor that plugs into the 12V cigarette jack and keep it in the car. It makes good noise though.

Also the car tires pressure is something to check and maintain when they're cold, at least 3 hours at rest. Driving more than 1 km generates enough friction to start giving wrong readings and can be dangerous to fill a hot [defective] tire with the regular pressure.

Air is 78% nitrogen. Plenty myths have always been around the nitrogen filled tires which would only matter in the science of racing or some serious heavy duty use like airplanes, not regular passenger cars for everyday use.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 20th, 2023, 9:46 am

I had a good year inflator from price mart but the hose dry rot

Anyone knows where I can get a replacement hose/attachment for this purpose? Please and thanks :)

(I'd just buy another but I don't like the ones pricemart currently has. This good year has a sturdy all metal construction, meen trust plastic)

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2023, 10:00 am

MaxPower wrote:Yeh toppys, allyuh hadda get with the times.

In this day and age, walk with your own tyre pressure equipment and always have a gauge in the car.

it's really a pity that we accept this level of poor maintenance/don't care attitude by owners that personal pumps become the norm rather than the exception.

Postby wagonrunner » March 20th, 2023, 1:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:it's really a pity that we accept this level of poor maintenance/don't care attitude by owners that personal pumps become the norm rather than the exception.

paid US$0.25 / TT$1.50 per minute the compressor is running in miami.
which norm you prefer?

also, air pump at NP Maracas Beach was working sunday.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2023, 3:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:it's really a pity that we accept this level of poor maintenance/don't care attitude by owners that personal pumps become the norm rather than the exception.

paid US$0.25 / TT$1.50 per minute the compressor is running in miami.
which norm you prefer?

also, air pump at NP Maracas Beach was working sunday.

at that price i would still prefer that than malfunctioning pumps- i would either end up spending more than that in gas driving around to find a working pump or end up with a flat which would cost me a tyre.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 20th, 2023, 3:52 pm

Cyrus Road, Aranguez was working weekend gone, one pump only tho.

Shops at Trincity usually works.

Gas station at Tumpuna Road usually works also.

But I got my own little compressor as well.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 20th, 2023, 4:03 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I had a good year inflator from price mart but the hose dry rot

Anyone knows where I can get a replacement hose/attachment for this purpose? Please and thanks :)

(I'd just buy another but I don't like the ones pricemart currently has. This good year has a sturdy all metal construction, meen trust plastic)

Same with mine, but a quality one from amazon I have. I bought a compressor hose to try it but hose material was slightly bigger and using a hose clip wasn't enough for it to seal off properly. Since then I haven't looked for anything else to try to get it running

Postby Chimera » March 20th, 2023, 4:45 pm

U does get used Japanese Air pumps that hook up to the cigarette lighter for $100 in bamboo