Presidential Inauguration of Christine Kangaloo

Postby redmanjp » March 19th, 2023, 9:07 pm

Traffic Restrictions for the Presidential Inauguration of Christine Kangaloo

If u doh have to be in POS tomorrow is best to avoid it cuz this would be traffic fuh so.

FB_IMG_1679274277827.jpg
Last edited by redmanjp on March 20th, 2023, 11:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Traffic Restrictions in POS for Presidential Inauguration

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2023, 10:28 am

surprisingly the traffic wasn't worse than usual- tho i am coming in to POS after 9am - cant speak to how it was earlier.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 20th, 2023, 10:57 am

I came in for 8.30 and there was nothing unusual about traffic.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2023, 11:00 am

i guess ppl heeded my advice to stay away :D

Re: Presidential Inauguration of Christine Kangaloo

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2023, 11:11 am

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2023, 11:55 am

Question - do former presidents still hold the title of His/Her Excellency/President? the new President referred to several of them as President instead of former President.

Postby hover11 » March 20th, 2023, 12:06 pm

redmanjp wrote:Question - do former presidents still hold the title of His/Her Excellency/President? the new President referred to several of them as President instead of former President.
No that title is only for the present incumbent. Who cares about title when you collect a pension for life after a short stint of doing absolutely nothing.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2023, 12:16 pm

hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Question - do former presidents still hold the title of His/Her Excellency/President? the new President referred to several of them as President instead of former President.
No that title is only for the present incumbent. Who cares about title when you collect a pension for life after a short stint of doing absolutely nothing.

hmm. i know in the US former Presidents remain with the title of President (unless perhaps they were removed from office for serious reasons).

Postby Dizzy28 » March 20th, 2023, 1:19 pm

Google Carmona, Post presidency all news articles refer to him as former President

Postby maj. tom » March 20th, 2023, 1:24 pm

In USA they refer as former President, but address as President.

eg. In a news article they would say "former President Obama," but if it was a live press meeting or a conference people would address him as "Mr. President."

oh great now I have semantic satiation on the word President.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2023, 1:28 pm

so did our new President already make her first faux pas by referring to former presidents as "His/Her Excellency President.." ?
Last edited by redmanjp on March 20th, 2023, 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » March 20th, 2023, 1:32 pm

... price of bodi remains unaffected

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2023, 1:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:so did our new President already make her first faux pas by referring to former presidents as "His/Her Excellency President.." ?

she did it several times, one for each former president so if it was a mistake it certainly would not have gone unnoticed.

Postby toyolink » March 20th, 2023, 2:17 pm

Hope our new president may be blessed with an uneventful term of office.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 20th, 2023, 3:18 pm

maj. tom wrote:In USA they refer as former President, but address as President.

eg. In a news article they would say "former President Obama," but if it was a live press meeting or a conference people would address him as "Mr. President."

oh great now I have semantic satiation on the word President.

Seems this is also wrong
Formally Addressing the Former President
When addressing a former President of the United States in a formal setting, the correct form is “Mr. LastName.” (“President LastName” or “Mr. President” are terms reserved for the current head of state.) This is true for other ex-officials, as well. When talking about the person to a third party, on the other hand, it’s appropriate to say, “former President LastName.” This holds for introductions, as well

Informally Addressing the Former President
Now, let’s look a little closer. In an informal setting (such as a private lunch), it’s acceptable to use the title the ex-official held. Here, you could refer to former President Jimmy Carter as either “President Carter” or “Mr. Carter.” In reality, many people ignore this convention and refer to former Presidents as "President Last Name" when they are in settings where nearly everyone would afford them the honor of the title. Technically, this is still incorrect but there are enough former Presidents allowing this that it has become a somewhat common mistake.

https://emilypost.com/advice/addressing ... ted-states

A WaPo article from 1992 also concurs.
https://www.washingtonpost.com/archive/ ... 51bb893a5/

Saltbae

Postby Saltbae » March 20th, 2023, 9:12 pm

I see president kangaroo made it.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 22nd, 2023, 1:01 am

wasnt there a Mr Kangaroo at the ceremony? or is aunty hazel calling the shot from sando? i still asking why rowlee put an indian woman as president? what does the garcia family have on him. is faris in d dog house? whay not a Young or Al Wari family member for president? how does camille robinson regis feel about having an indian woman as PM when she seems to spew venom when talking to of about any indian person/ too much unanswered question on that move as most unc supporters wont say they voting PNM because of that move as everyone shows she is aunty hazel neice in law and pnm in she blood.

Saltbae

Postby Saltbae » March 22nd, 2023, 1:16 am

If the president is supposed to be the best we have to offer, we are doomed

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 22nd, 2023, 2:47 am

Saltbae wrote:If the president is supposed to be the best we have to offer, we are doomed

we doomed since eric take over.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » March 22nd, 2023, 7:18 am

daring dragoon wrote:wasnt there a Mr Kangaroo at the ceremony? or is aunty hazel calling the shot from sando? i still asking why rowlee put an indian woman as president? what does the garcia family have on him. is faris in d dog house? whay not a Young or Al Wari family member for president? how does camille robinson regis feel about having an indian woman as PM when she seems to spew venom when talking to of about any indian person/ too much unanswered question on that move as most unc supporters wont say they voting PNM because of that move as everyone shows she is aunty hazel neice in law and pnm in she blood.

Once shes not hindu then PNM supporters not affected . KanKaroo as we know is not exactly Indian

Postby j.o.e » March 22nd, 2023, 12:27 pm

Saltbae wrote:I see president kangaroo made it.

How mature….. glad to see making fun of ethnic names is back on the menu.
Last edited by j.o.e on March 22nd, 2023, 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » March 22nd, 2023, 1:09 pm

Why wasn’t the UNC present?

IMG_1242.JPG

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » March 22nd, 2023, 2:12 pm

MaxPower wrote:Why wasn’t the UNC present?

IMG_1242.JPG
It was a PNM party

Postby Rovin » March 22nd, 2023, 2:28 pm

is I who started calling she kangaroo so dise d name we call she here on tuner

she does look like ah man though

ppl does forget how she is a die hard pee nm & used to hush down d unc in parliament jes like all d other pee nm speakers but she now wanting to play suddenly unbiased, unc openly said didnt like she to become president so why would they attend her inauguration

doesnt make any difference to me since all presidents are govt appointed & it doesnt affect d price of bodi ... :|

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » March 22nd, 2023, 4:12 pm

Rovin wrote:is I who started calling she kangaroo so dise d name we call she here on tuner

ppl does forget how she is a die hard pee nm & used to hush down d unc in parliament jes like all d other pee nm speakers but she now wanting to play suddenly unbiased, unc openly said didnt like she to become president so why would they attend her inauguration

doesnt make any difference to me since all presidents are govt appointed & it doesnt affect d price of bodi ... :|
Stooge fest

Saltbae

Postby Saltbae » March 22nd, 2023, 6:53 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Saltbae wrote:I see president kangaroo made it.

How mature….. glad to see making fun of ethnic names is back on the menu.

Not about ethnicity. It's about practice

Saltbae

Postby Saltbae » March 22nd, 2023, 6:54 pm

Rovin wrote:is I who started calling she kangaroo so dise d name we call she here on tuner

It was me, and I had given the reason why

Postby Rovin » March 22nd, 2023, 7:04 pm

well i started to make fun of her name typing kangaroo from since it was announced that she wud be d choice poo nm had put forward, if anybody else had also said it b4 me is no scene ... :|

Postby K74T » March 22nd, 2023, 10:22 pm

The kangaroo ram d ass.