SEA 2023

SEA 2023

Postby bluefete » March 29th, 2023, 12:51 pm

So I hearing the 2023 SEA English Language paper was, ALLEGEDLY, leaked and on the interwebz BEFORE the children took the English Language paper this morning.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

Kickstart

Re: SEA 2023

Postby Kickstart » March 29th, 2023, 12:54 pm

Probably PNM supporters

Postby bluefete » March 29th, 2023, 12:56 pm

Kickstart wrote:Probably PNM supporters

Or UNC supporters!

Postby Chimera » March 29th, 2023, 1:06 pm

So nobody eh care about pdp supporters

Postby K74T » March 29th, 2023, 1:17 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:So nobody eh care about pdp supporters
Neither PEP supporters. Fack dem.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 29th, 2023, 1:28 pm

Postby hover11 » March 29th, 2023, 1:33 pm

This isn't the first nor will it be the last time for such occurrence, if ppl hadda cheat to get ahead in life says alot about the individuals

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » March 29th, 2023, 1:47 pm

hover11 wrote:This isn't the first nor will it be the last time for such occurrence, if ppl hadda cheat to get ahead in life says alot about the individuals

It says they are willing to do anything to accomplish their goals.
How many greatly successful people take take the straight and narrow path all the way?

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 29th, 2023, 4:02 pm

Source?

Are you just trying to get a child in ur circle to resit the exam because they felt they did badly ? Cuz I see u post this after the exam

ehehehehehe

Postby eliteauto » March 29th, 2023, 4:06 pm

AH HEAR!!!! lol ok

Postby K74T » March 29th, 2023, 4:36 pm

eliteauto wrote:AH HEAR!!!! lol ok
Typical thing with OP, always some hearsay and then hurry excitedly to run new topic like ah gossip gyal.

Postby pugboy » March 29th, 2023, 5:27 pm

so it had a leak or not?

Postby maj. tom » March 29th, 2023, 6:08 pm

Education ministry: No compromise to SEA exam 
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/education-ministry-no-compromise-to-sea-exam-6.2.1669274.3374b36d06

The Ministry of Education says the leak of the SEA exam papers would not have compromised the national test. The following is a statement to CNC3 News from Education Minister, Dr Nyan Gadsy Dolly: 

Social Media posts, which purport to have released the confidential SEA  2023 examination papers, would not have been accessible to students writing the SEA, as they were already engaged in the examination process, and based on the rules enforced by Assessment Supervisors and Centre Managers, would have had no access to their phones. Therefore, the integrity of the SEA 2023 has not been compromised. 

It is likely that this post emanated from the limited category of personnel exposed to examination papers on the opening of the secure packages, which could only have taken place upon their unsealing on the day of the examination. If this is indeed so, it is highly regrettable.

The Cybercrime Department of the TTPS has been engaged to assist in the determination of the source of the initial post. The MOE extends its thanks to the staff of the Ministry who participated at every level to ensure the examination was conducted without major incident. 

Postby pugboy » March 29th, 2023, 6:33 pm

so for sure there was no leak
this like when the army chief say all regiment ammo accounted for

Postby alfa » March 29th, 2023, 6:56 pm

pugboy wrote:so for sure there was no leak

Or Earla saying towfeek 500 rounds not lost :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby redmanjp » March 29th, 2023, 7:11 pm

pugboy wrote:so it had a leak or not?

the leak occurred when the exam done start so no chance of cheating- students not allowed to use phones/devices during the exam.

Postby pugboy » March 29th, 2023, 7:13 pm

counting error they say

alfa wrote:
pugboy wrote:so for sure there was no leak

Or Earla saying towfeek 500 rounds not lost :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby bluefete » March 29th, 2023, 9:01 pm

Thanks maj.tom.

What the Minister did NOT say was that a memo was sent out to principals telling them not to let the children have access to their cell phones because of the leak.

I re-iterate that the leak happened BEFORE the English Language exam started! Essay and Math come first and second then a break then English Language.

Ent children "not supposed to have cell phones" during the exam?

Let people figure it out.

But sheep will be sheep.

maj. tom wrote:
Education ministry: No compromise to SEA exam 
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/education-ministry-no-compromise-to-sea-exam-6.2.1669274.3374b36d06

The Ministry of Education says the leak of the SEA exam papers would not have compromised the national test. The following is a statement to CNC3 News from Education Minister, Dr Nyan Gadsy Dolly: 

Social Media posts, which purport to have released the confidential SEA  2023 examination papers, would not have been accessible to students writing the SEA, as they were already engaged in the examination process, and based on the rules enforced by Assessment Supervisors and Centre Managers, would have had no access to their phones. Therefore, the integrity of the SEA 2023 has not been compromised. 

It is likely that this post emanated from the limited category of personnel exposed to examination papers on the opening of the secure packages, which could only have taken place upon their unsealing on the day of the examination. If this is indeed so, it is highly regrettable.

The Cybercrime Department of the TTPS has been engaged to assist in the determination of the source of the initial post. The MOE extends its thanks to the staff of the Ministry who participated at every level to ensure the examination was conducted without major incident. 

ruffneck_12 wrote:Source? Are you just trying to get a child in ur circle to resit the exam because they felt they did badly ? Cuz I see u post this after the exam. ehehehehehe
LOL. Days for that long done.

Well, I did wax my ears this morning inno.

K74T wrote:
Typical thing with OP, always some hearsay and then hurry excitedly to run new topic like ah gossip gyal.
Well, it seems that I "heard" right.

pugboy wrote:so it had a leak or not?
YES!

Postby pugboy » March 29th, 2023, 9:28 pm

it’s not really a leak since according to her she is cocksure that only after pkgs opened for the exam there could be a leak

absolutely no way they could have been tampered with beforehand, she putting her head on a block for that

Postby paid_influencer » March 30th, 2023, 12:21 am

If the leak was from this morning, nothing really could be gained from it. There would not have been enough time for students to go through, solve and then further memorize all the answers. Indeed attempting such memorization in the short term may well displace the more relevant long term memory faculties.

Here's the best S.E.A. prep:
Learn the material while in Standard 1 through 4.
Learn test-taking strategies in Standard 5.
In the week before the exam, do not study anything. Concentrate on sleeping as much as possible. You want your mind to be as open and as empty as possible. Being in such state allows you pull from long term memory very easily, hold more of that information in short term memory, and manipulate that information with greater ease.

Unless you got that language arts paper a week out (which I am sure some people did), it would have done more harm than good to look at it.

The best 'cheat' strategy is to be the child of a local celebrity or from a very rich, renowned family. You can slip in to the 20% denominational board selection and all the above work become relevant only to the children of commoners.

Postby Chimera » March 30th, 2023, 6:39 am

I remember in my days that PCC was charging 15k a student to get in on the 20% list

Postby nervewrecker » March 30th, 2023, 7:08 am

paid_influencer wrote:If the leak was from this morning, nothing really could be gained from it. There would not have been enough time for students to go through, solve and then further memorize all the answers. Indeed attempting such memorization in the short term may well displace the more relevant long term memory faculties.

Here's the best S.E.A. prep:
Learn the material while in Standard 1 through 4.
Learn test-taking strategies in Standard 5.
In the week before the exam, do not study anything. Concentrate on sleeping as much as possible. You want your mind to be as open and as empty as possible. Being in such state allows you pull from long term memory very easily, hold more of that information in short term memory, and manipulate that information with greater ease.

Unless you got that language arts paper a week out (which I am sure some people did), it would have done more harm than good to look at it.

The best 'cheat' strategy is to be the child of a local celebrity or from a very rich, renowned family. You can slip in to the 20% denominational board selection and all the above work become relevant only to the children of commoners.
Clearly you have not met some of these students. They will memorize anything in minutes, process and react within seconds.

Kids now aren't kids then, some born with a mental framework they build on and advance fast.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 30th, 2023, 9:41 am

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2023, 10:00 am

yep, when it started appearing on social media was during exam
so it could not have been in the hands of students before….

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » March 30th, 2023, 11:04 am

SEA means nothing

Masters does

Postby paid_influencer » March 30th, 2023, 11:09 am

there's basically three levels of memory:

long term memory
short term memory
working memory

supposedly you never forget anything you learnt (stored in long term memory). you just have difficulties in recall (bringing it into working memory and short term memory). long term memory is basically infinite, but you need to actively refresh those connections (occasionally bring them into working memory and short term memory) for the recall to be strong.

working memory is what you can store in your head at any given time. I think the limit is like 7 things can be stored and processed at a time.

short term memory is like the buffer for working memory. it is what you did over the last couple hours or days. it is what is 'fresh' in your mind.

for a computer analogy, working memory is like the CPU cache, short term memory is RAM and long term memory is like the hard drive.

for small tests, like end of term tests that cover a single subject and a single term, you can store all that crap in short term memory by "cramming." actually it can be very effective.

but for bigger tests, cramming is counter productive. there is too much stuff. it drains your neural energy. you process whatever you managed to cram in short term memory, rather than something in long term memory that might be more context relevant. it is especially bad for multidisciplinary exams where you have to synthesize novel solutions

Postby paid_influencer » March 30th, 2023, 11:17 am

Kickstart wrote:SEA means nothing

Masters does

it have men who aced SEA and become pipers

dogg

Postby dogg » March 30th, 2023, 11:20 am

Kickstart wrote:SEA means nothing

Masters does

Masters means nothing

Doctorates do

Postby adnj » March 30th, 2023, 4:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:there's basically three levels of memory:

long term memory
short term memory
working memory

supposedly you never forget anything you learnt (stored in long term memory). you just have difficulties in recall (bringing it into working memory and short term memory). long term memory is basically infinite, but you need to actively refresh those connections (occasionally bring them into working memory and short term memory) for the recall to be strong.

working memory is what you can store in your head at any given time. I think the limit is like 7 things can be stored and processed at a time.

short term memory is like the buffer for working memory. it is what you did over the last couple hours or days. it is what is 'fresh' in your mind.

for a computer analogy, working memory is like the CPU cache, short term memory is RAM and long term memory is like the hard drive.

for small tests, like end of term tests that cover a single subject and a single term, you can store all that crap in short term memory by "cramming." actually it can be very effective.

but for bigger tests, cramming is counter productive. there is too much stuff. it drains your neural energy. you process whatever you managed to cram in short term memory, rather than something in long term memory that might be more context relevant. it is especially bad for multidisciplinary exams where you have to synthesize novel solutions

Go back and reread where you got this. My long-term memory says that other than the terminology, just about everything that you wrote is wrong.

Postby bluefete » April 1st, 2023, 8:07 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/english-paper-leaks-online/article_7830df7e-ce9a-11ed-ab43-d38113676691.html

Look it dey blue fete.

Thanks eh, VexXx Dogg but she is a damn LIAR!

Allyuh siddong and take chain up from gubment ministers trying to cover their backsides because they know the ramifications.

People feel I did not know what I was writing about. I waiting like a mapepire for the PNM Balisier Brigade to come forth again.

Check it out in today's Guardian: I said what I said before.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/fraud-s ... 6e8314e64f

"However, pictures of the Language Arts component began to circulate online during the snack break for pupils, before it was supposed to be administered in the final phase of the exam. The Mathematics and Creative Writing phase of the exam had already been completed by then."