Getting paid rent in $US

nightcrawler

Getting paid rent in $US

Postby nightcrawler » May 12th, 2023, 3:20 pm

Need some info. I recently purchased an apartment in Orlando and would like to rent it out. Can renters pay with their credit card and pay me with $US to my local republic bank US account?

viedcht

Re: Getting paid rent in $US

Postby viedcht » May 12th, 2023, 3:54 pm

There are property management companies that some small scale landlords can employ to cover everything from rent collection to maintenance. maybe thru them it's possible

xtech

Postby xtech » May 12th, 2023, 4:19 pm

He has to go that route and loose some money to a management company because if the tenant knows he is paying an absent landlord…… lol

Postby paid_influencer » May 12th, 2023, 5:11 pm

easiest and also the most robust option is to open a bank account in a US bank. Tons of services are available to accept credit card payments. You can then withdraw to your local island bank at your discretion.

this article may or may not be helpful to you. it shows what local companies have to go through to get US$ credit card payments into local US$ accounts. Multiple third parties involved and no guarantee this method will work in a few years. Island banks always a few steps away from derisking.
https://newsday.co.tt/2023/04/13/how-to ... caribbean/

Postby paid_influencer » May 12th, 2023, 5:15 pm

xtech wrote:He has to go that route and lose some money to a management company because if the tenant knows he is paying an absent landlord…… lol

^

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2023, 6:02 pm

how do you get paid from someone’s credit card if you are not a merchant and have some way of making the “sale” to them
ie onlibe credit card link, card machine ?

Postby paid_influencer » May 12th, 2023, 6:07 pm

paypal lets you send funds to individuals

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2023, 6:20 pm

it shows up as a credit in their cc?

i know republic doesn’t allow you to pay in credits on your card
i once tried to just pay a rounded up figure on somebody who was abroad and they said i could only pay the exact balance, no more

paid_influencer wrote:paypal lets you send funds to individuals

Postby redmanjp » May 12th, 2023, 6:21 pm

paid_influencer wrote:easiest and also the most robust option is to open a bank account in a US bank. Tons of services are available to accept credit card payments. You can then withdraw to your local island bank at your discretion.

this article may or may not be helpful to you. it shows what local companies have to go through to get US$ credit card payments into local US$ accounts. Multiple third parties involved and no guarantee this method will work in a few years. Island banks always a few steps away from derisking.

was wondering- can non US citizens do that?

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2023, 6:33 pm

it used to be very easy like in 90s, not sure about now but quite likely lot harder with the global anti money laundering efforts

Postby adnj » May 12th, 2023, 6:40 pm

redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:easiest and also the most robust option is to open a bank account in a US bank. Tons of services are available to accept credit card payments. You can then withdraw to your local island bank at your discretion.

Yes.

Postby Chimera » May 12th, 2023, 6:46 pm

redmanjp wrote:

You can walk into any bank in the usa and use your visa to open a bank account. Takes 15 minutes.

Postby adnj » May 12th, 2023, 6:59 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

You can walk into any bank in the usa and use your visa to open a bank account. Takes 15 minutes.
There are many US banks that do require an SSN and proof of residence to open an account.

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » May 12th, 2023, 8:25 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

I'd avoid South Florida for this. There are very, very few banks there that don't ask you for proof of residence now. The rest of the east coast states would be easier, especially NY

Postby paid_influencer » May 12th, 2023, 9:02 pm

OP own an apartment so proof of address ent a problem. If you renting/leasing (or have some family renting/leasing and willing to write a letter saying you can use their address as proof of address) I guess that could work too. Worse case maybe get some document with your name and a skybox address on it and hope they ent too dligent with you?

Postby adnj » May 12th, 2023, 9:25 pm

paid_influencer wrote:OP own an apartment so proof of address ent a problem. If you renting/leasing (or have some family renting/leasing and willing to write a letter saying you can use their address as proof of address) I guess that could work too. Worse case maybe get some document with your name and a skybox address on it and hope they ent too dligent with you?

That's a Trinidad thing. That doesn't work in the US. Skybox doesn't work either. The addresses are vetted.

Postby paid_influencer » May 12th, 2023, 10:23 pm

adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:OP own an apartment so proof of address ent a problem. If you renting/leasing (or have some family renting/leasing and willing to write a letter saying you can use their address as proof of address) I guess that could work too. Worse case maybe get some document with your name and a skybox address on it and hope they ent too dligent with you?

That's a Trinidad thing. That doesn't work in the US. Skybox doesn't work either. The addresses are vetted.

you know how i know you don't have much life experience

Postby Chimera » May 13th, 2023, 5:17 am

adnj wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

There are many US banks that do require an SSN and proof of residence to open an account.
Things mus be change since I opened mine.

I used my visa and a relatives mail as proof of address.

With Wells fargo

Postby adnj » May 13th, 2023, 7:00 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
adnj wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

With Wells fargo
The laws passed soon after the US 9/11 attacks tightened a lot of banking requirements and Florida also has it's own rules. But there are still banks that will open an account the way that you described.

In a couple of years, everyone, even US citizens, will be required to prove legal status to enter a federal courthouse or board an airplane because of the same package of legislation.

Postby Country_Bookie » May 13th, 2023, 8:52 am

TD bank allows non residents with visas to open accounts.

Postby 16 cycles » May 13th, 2023, 11:45 am

What is the return on investment?

FL requires mandatory flood insurance iirc which adds to overheads....

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2023, 11:46 am

no tuners ask how much he selling the usd for?

Postby adnj » May 13th, 2023, 12:51 pm

16 cycles wrote:What is the return on investment?

Rental income for foreign nationals also requires a federal tax ID application and annual filings of federal income tax returns.

IIRC, if you don't file the tax forms, the 30% flat rate kicks in. The owner, the renter and the property manager can all be held liable.

A federal tax lien is also placed on the property when estimated taxes go unpaid.

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2023, 1:15 pm

^yup
uncle sam don’t play

Postby MaxPower » May 13th, 2023, 1:20 pm

pugboy wrote:^yup
uncle sam don’t play

Exactly.

Cant just rent out a property jus so without sam eating a food.

Postby Dave » May 13th, 2023, 1:21 pm

Very similar to Trinidad as well. Just the Bir doesn't follow up on those who actually declare their rental expense and income.
adnj wrote:
16 cycles wrote:What is the return on investment?

Rental income for foreign nationals also requires a federal tax ID application and annual filings of federal income tax returns.

IIRC, if you don't file the tax forms, the 30% flat rate kicks in. The owner, the renter and the property manager can all be held liable.

A federal tax lien is also placed on the property when estimated taxes go unpaid.

Postby 88sins » May 13th, 2023, 5:54 pm

op, short answer to your question, yes. They can pay in US to your local bank account. The real question that you didn't think to ask, is will you be able to access the USD paid into your account in these local banks. And the answer to that, is no. If you in trinidad, they will buy your usd from you at 6.10, and pay you in ttd, and if you insist that you want actual usd sell it back to you at 6.79. So you gonna get robbed, then screwed, and they just might try to charge you a fee for one or the other or both.

As mentioned earlier, better you open an account at a US based financial institution, unless you like the problems i mentioned, and the headache of waiting for months to get your own money in the currency it supposed to be in.

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » May 13th, 2023, 8:14 pm

pugboy wrote:^yup
uncle sam don’t play

Exactly.

Cant just rent out a property jus so without sam eating a food.

Thinking about renting as an AirBNb

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » May 13th, 2023, 8:16 pm

adnj wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
adnj wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

With Wells fargo
The laws passed soon after the US 9/11 attacks tightened a lot of banking requirements and Florida also has it's own rules. But there are still banks that will open an account the way that you described.

In a couple of years, everyone, even US citizens, will be required to prove legal status to enter a federal courthouse or board an airplane because of the same package of legislation.

Chase bank Orlando just needs passport with visa and local drivers license