T&T Ranks #8 in World's Fattest Children Under 5 Years Old

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2023, 2:15 pm

I think this is absolute rubbish because it's the WHO after all. Remember them and Covid-19? But anyways ...

How did they measure this? Per capita per doubles eaten? Per capita per KFC eaten?

Countries with the fattest under-5s revealed: New WHO league table sees Britain ranked 22nd... and the US isn't even in the top 50!

By EMILY STEARN, HEALTH REPORTER FOR MAILONLINE
UPDATED: 17:40 BST, 22 May 2023

Countries with the world's fattest kids are today named and shamed in a startling analysis which comes amid spiralling obesity rates across the planet.

Neither Britain or the US feature in the top 20 of a new league table based on data published by the World Health Organization (WHO) — but Australia comes in at second.

Instead, Libya takes the top spot.

The 10 MOST overweight nations of under 5s in the world

1. Libya: 28.7%

2. Australia: 21.8%

3. Tunisia: 19%

4. Egypt: 18.8%

5. Papua New Guinea: 16%

6. Greece: 14.6%

7. Paraguay: 14.6%

8. Trinidad and Tobago: 13.9%

9. Ukraine: 13.6%

10. Albania: 13.4%

Childhood obesity has been a growing issue for years, with easy access to fast food, more screen time and sedentary lifestyles blamed for spiralling rates in the West.

Research blames high calorie and high fat diets and a lack of physical activity for Libya's obesity epidemic.

Weight is measured in percentile among children, with above the 91st centile classed as overweight and higher than the 98th classed as obese.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/arti ... e-you.html
Last edited by bluefete on May 22nd, 2023, 2:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: T&T Ranks #5 in World's Fattest Children Under 5 Years Old

Postby aaron17 » May 22nd, 2023, 2:27 pm

well yes

Postby Rovin » May 22nd, 2023, 2:27 pm

i wouldnt doubt this nuh

my store right next to d primary school here in chaguanas & if u see d size of some of dem kids, big fat some taller bigger than their mother, some of dem even bigger than some of d female teachers, i feel parents does love\spoil their kids with too much food, fast food & dem kids doh even go play lil sports or any activities to burn out some of d calories, behind a screen is their life

same with secondary kids ...

Postby aaron17 » May 22nd, 2023, 2:28 pm

Makes sense when it had news for pandemic lockdown ..ppl lining up for kfc

Postby redmanjp » May 22nd, 2023, 2:38 pm

OP ched title saying 5th instead of 8th

anyway we always in d top 10 in the worst things- top 10 in crime top 10 in obesity etc.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 22nd, 2023, 2:41 pm

bluefete wrote:I think this is absolute rubbish because it's the WHO after all. Remember them and Covid-19? But anyways ...

How did they measure this? Per capita per doubles eaten? Per capita per KFC eaten?

[b][size=200][u][color=#FF0000]Countries with the fattest under-5s revealed: New WHO league table sees

Maybe they sampled Pediatricians ??
All pediatricians take height, weight of kids as they age up, so its data that is hard to get once you can survey the doctors themselves. Also MoH must also be collecting public health data I assume.

T&T Ranks #5 in World's Fattest Children Under 5 Years Old

Postby j.o.e » May 22nd, 2023, 2:49 pm

Just the other day I in a store in C3 and a child walk in with one of those extra large sodas you get in the cinema. If you see her size. Probably around 12 but easily over 200lbs. She won’t make it to 30

Postby redmanjp » May 22nd, 2023, 2:57 pm

now we have 'body positivity' ads and attitudes, u cyah tell anyone anything about being overweight they will say u fat-shaming.

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2023, 2:57 pm

redmanjp wrote:OP ched title saying 5th instead of 8th
anyway we always in d top 10 in the worst things- top 10 in crime top 10 in obesity etc.

Thanks and fixed.

Re: T&T Ranks #8 in World's Fattest Children Under 5 Years Old

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2023, 3:00 pm

Long ago and that was a very long time ago, you scarcely used to see "fat" children. They were a few but not many.

We did not have the internet, KFC prolly had about 3 branches maximum and we used to be outside playing almost all the time.

Today, most children live a sedentary lifestyle and are kept inside by their doting parents.

Postby maj. tom » May 22nd, 2023, 3:35 pm

Fructose 2.0
https://robertlustig.com/fructose2/

Dr. Robert Lustig, UCSF Division of Pediatric Endocrinology, updates his popular video “Sugar: The Bitter Truth.”

He argues that sugar and processed foods are driving the obesity epidemic, which in turn affects our endocrine system.

Postby 16 cycles » May 22nd, 2023, 3:52 pm

Kids on formula longer?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 22nd, 2023, 4:39 pm

What Fuad have to say about this?

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2023, 5:42 pm

we should be proud of this just the way we are proud of our doubles and swee drinks

Postby MaxPower » May 22nd, 2023, 6:15 pm

You Trinis need to take better care of yourselves and the environment and stop always being a blasted embarrassment on the globe.

But reality is hard to accept so as usual, when told as is, allyuh get ignorant and vex.

Change the attitude, change the culture, be considerate, get responsible, get productive and stop the excuses.

Postby paid_influencer » May 22nd, 2023, 6:16 pm

is kids under 5 they say... so is literal babies/preschoolers/kindergarteners they talking about.. yea maybe is fast food but that is really only the 4-5 year olds, the infants/babies drinking breast milk or formula or klim or nestum or whatever else and gaining more weight that the rest of the world apparently.

now putting aside the cultural reasons, we hadda look at the biology. when people going through a period of sufferation, the body upregulates the production of a hormone called cortisol. now cortisol keeps your body in a state where it can deal with frequent fight-or-flight responses, like running from gunshot or hiding from bandit, by keeping your blood sugar at a higher average level. cortisol also makes your body store more fat so you can better deal with famine conditions or pnm economic sufferation. in our conditions we have sufferation and kfc, so plenty fat getting formed

now combine that with epigenetics. the sufferation of the parents imprints on the young births at a level that sits above the DNA, selectively activating certain genes in that new generation(s) to prepare them for the particular conditions they going to face. great is the pnm and it shall prevail vote keith

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2023, 6:21 pm

kids that age eating the fast food, doubles and oily crap will certainly pack on the pounds because they arent supposed to be eating that amount of calories as yet plus they arent moving around that much to burn it off.

folks eating too much doubles in the morning and carrying home the junk chinese food for dinner

Postby paid_influencer » May 22nd, 2023, 6:30 pm

pugboy wrote:kids that age eating the fast food, doubles and oily crap will certainly pack on the pounds because they arent supposed to be eating that amount of calories as yet plus they arent moving around that much to burn it off.

folks eating too much doubles in the morning and carrying home the junk chinese food for dinner

now this is a serious question. what healthy foods we have that are as cheap and convenient as the above?

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2023, 6:44 pm

lots - oats with a banana, peanut butter/jam sandwich, sada with nongreasy filling

paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:kids that age eating the fast food, doubles and oily crap will certainly pack on the pounds because they arent supposed to be eating that amount of calories as yet plus they arent moving around that much to burn it off.

now this is a serious question. what healthy foods we have that are as cheap and convenient as the above?

Postby paid_influencer » May 22nd, 2023, 6:49 pm

is a sada with fry aloo really healthier than a doubles

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 22nd, 2023, 6:50 pm

Ironically healthier foods are more expensive than unhealthy foods. Alot of these fat kids probably belong to the lower to middle financial class no doubt.

android79

Postby android79 » May 22nd, 2023, 6:51 pm

Why doubt this? This is something visible for all to see. They didnt say all, just under 5

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2023, 6:51 pm

depends how much oil they make the aloo with

paid_influencer wrote:is a sada with fry aloo really healthier than a doubles

Postby MaxPower » May 22nd, 2023, 6:52 pm

Let’s talk about the adults

Postby paid_influencer » May 22nd, 2023, 6:52 pm

i pay $35 for two pears

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 22nd, 2023, 6:53 pm

Allya think eating wind might be what these kids eat instead?

Postby st7 » May 22nd, 2023, 7:25 pm

1. why ppl still falling for dailymail articles?
2. i cant find those stats on WHO website (adnj, help)

Postby alfa » May 22nd, 2023, 9:09 pm

st7 wrote:1. why ppl still falling for dailymail articles?
2. i cant find those stats on WHO website (adnj, help)

Stats seem sketchy to me, like if any WHO researcher really going into politically unstable Libya to measure kids lol. But we do have a fat problem and I'm guessing genetics has a big role to play as well. I know of kids who eat everything under the sun and remain as skinny as a whip, even at my middle age I'm not too big on the healthy food thing and the closest thing I'm eating to a fruit is Libby's in the can and I'm not overweight. However many do try hard and still end up fat, moreso middle aged people and particularly women, some have normal eating habits and still blow up like a whale. So I'm guessing nutrition isn't the only factor here

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 22nd, 2023, 9:15 pm

Even if the stats are dubious, when out and about you all need to really take in how many toddlers being given large soft drinks from their parents.

Many people giving their children the same amount of food that they might eat, especially when it comes to fast food.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 22nd, 2023, 9:48 pm

Even if the stats are skewed look at the adults, majority of patients in clinics are due to some lifestyle disease which poor eating habits have contributed to