Postby The_Honourable » May 14th, 2024, 12:13 am

I hope that bandit end up dead too... direct shot

R.I.P Dale

Re: T&T drag racer Dale Mayers aka Rug Rat shot in attempted robbery

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 14th, 2024, 12:23 am

POLICE OFFICER KILLED IN CHAGUANAS ROBBERY

A Police Officer is dead following an attempted robbery in Chaguanas on Monday night.

Shortly after 10pm Dale Mayers, a police constable was liming with his wife and a friend at Unique Bar, Montrose Main Road, when a lone gun man approached him and attempted rob him.

There was an exchange of gunfire, and Mayers was shot on the left side of his chest with the bullet exiting his left arm.

Mayers was subsequently taken to the Chaguanas District Hospital for medical treatment, where he succumbed to his injuries.

Police are presently on the scene.

Postby eliteauto » May 14th, 2024, 12:25 am

The_Honourable wrote:I hope that bandit end up dead too... direct shot

R.I.P Dale

Shooter at hospital under police guard. He dropped his gun at the scene

Postby MaxPower » May 14th, 2024, 1:32 am

It’s only after the situation can we review the footage and say coulda woulda.

Thoughts on his padna in blue shirt?

Postby mero » May 14th, 2024, 1:42 am

That don't look like a robbery to me.

Plenty ppl hated Dale though, with and without good reason.

Postby mero » May 14th, 2024, 1:50 am

MaxPower wrote:It’s only after the situation can we review the footage and say coulda woulda.

Which I why I does laugh at ppl who does hunt manicou or over confident, overzealous FUL holders liming in rum shops who praying for someone to "try and rob them".

Last thing any sensible trained person wants is to end up in a gunfight.

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2024, 2:40 am

waiting for erla to strongly condemn this senseless killing of a law officer

Postby alfa » May 14th, 2024, 4:23 am

mero wrote:
MaxPower wrote:It’s only after the situation can we review the footage and say coulda woulda.

Which I why I does laugh at ppl who does hunt manicou or over confident, overzealous FUL holders liming in rum shops who praying for someone to "try and rob them".

X100

T&T drag racer Dale Mayers aka Rug Rat shot in attempted robbery

Postby MaxPower » May 14th, 2024, 4:39 am

mero wrote:

Good point brother.

As u mentioned, it looking like he had at least 3 beers and he also froze a little and fumbled to draw.

Any idea what the Firearms act states about being in possession of a firearm and alcohol?

Responsible FUL holders should stay away from these types of establishments.
Last edited by MaxPower on May 14th, 2024, 4:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby alfa » May 14th, 2024, 5:16 am

I want to go out on a limb and say in these timings nobody supposed to be in any rum shop or public entertainment place after dark, ful holder or not. Place just to dangerous.
Stay home and listen a lil Hanuman chalisa instead

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2024, 5:44 am

correct, and usually in a robbery it’s 2-3 of them
one man engaging them openly is pointless

alfa wrote:I want to go out on a limb and say in these timings nobody supposed to be in any rum shop or public entertainment place after dark, ful holder or not. Place just to dangerous.

Postby MaxPower » May 14th, 2024, 5:50 am

alfa wrote:I want to go out on a limb and say in these timings nobody supposed to be in any rum shop or public entertainment place after dark, ful holder or not. Place just to dangerous.

X3000

Stay home and protect your family.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2024, 6:18 am

So we just going and mind this mc in jail now? Nice!

Postby Dave » May 14th, 2024, 6:20 am

Rip in Dale.

That's exactly what will happen with him. Tax payers problem.

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2024, 8:09 am

this is why heinz will say we need gun free zones

Postby Chimera » May 14th, 2024, 8:12 am

looking like a hit especially if they shooting behind the car that toting him away

Trinidad yes

nothing new

Postby Chimera » May 14th, 2024, 8:13 am

pugboy wrote:correct, and usually in a robbery it’s 2-3 of them
one man engaging them openly is pointless

yuh saying we need a curfew then?

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2024, 8:20 am

we need to lock down the areas where these pests living and head back to
make life hard for them to operate

snowman

Postby snowman » May 14th, 2024, 8:25 am

Chimera wrote:looking like a hit especially if they shooting behind the car that toting him away

Trinidad yes

nothing new
My personal opinion, it wasn't a hit. It was an attempted robbery. If you're going to attempt to kill an officer, you go at it fully not knowing if he's armed or not. Not with one person unmasked with a 9mm. You go with 2-3 men with assault rifles and you shoot on sight.

Postby 16 cycles » May 14th, 2024, 8:26 am

Active Self Protection YT channel will have a field day with blue jersey in that vid....

Props that Mayers didn't flag the lady and the bandit for not landing shots on lady - small mercies....

don't know enough on players to say RIP - but can offer condolences to the family.

Postby bluefete » May 14th, 2024, 8:42 am

So why Ian Alleyne had to put up the registration number and make of the vehicle that took him to hospital?

Did he now make that vehicle a target in the future?

david12

Postby david12 » May 14th, 2024, 8:52 am

Hope that youth suffers.

Rip Dale, fastest rotary in Trinidad and the Caribbean I think.

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2024, 8:56 am

yeah, you don’t go in waving a gun,
you go in shooting

snowman wrote:
Chimera wrote:looking like a hit especially if they shooting behind the car that toting him away

Trinidad yes

nothing new
My personal opinion, it wasn't a hit. It was an attempted robbery. If you're going to attempt to kill an officer, you go at it fully not knowing if he's armed or not. Not with one person unmasked with a 9mm. You go with 2-3 men with assault rifles and you shoot on sight.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 14th, 2024, 9:22 am

Tru looks like a robbery for real

Police drew quick

Looks like just a lucky shot from the bandit

Greenday

Postby Greenday » May 14th, 2024, 9:43 am

Damm this is hard.

I raced with Dale around 1998 to 2002 in 13sec to 10sec class. Always a kool guy and loved motorbikes .

RIP

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2024, 10:07 am

pugboy wrote:we need to lock down the areas where these pests living and head back to
make life hard for them to operate
Check my Mero , he protects these PNM pest

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 14th, 2024, 10:22 am

Trinidad yes

nothing new

From what I understand they didn't shoot at the car - the bullet hit the car while they were running out the bar

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 14th, 2024, 10:34 am

1040cce1-dee9-4da4-acba-19e33002f386.jpg

Police officer and drag racing enthusiast Dale ‘Rug Rat’ Mayers died after he was shot while at a bar in Longdenville, Chaguanas on Monday night.

Mayers, 52, of Arima was shot during what investigators believe was a botched robbery at Unique Bar located along the main road near Penco Lands. The incident occurred around 10 pm.

Mayers and two others were sitting at a table in the bar when a lone gunman walked in and announced a hold-up.

The gunman pointed the gun at Mayers and two others and then shot Mayers in the chest. Mayers, who was quick on the draw pulled out his licensed firearm and shot the suspect, who ran off just after he shot him.

Mayers was taken to the Chaguanas Health Facility where he died while undergoing medical treatment.

Police said Mayers was in the Central area for a meeting pertaining to racing and after he decided to go with two friends for a few drinks.

The suspect of George Street in Port-of-Spain was later held by police while seeking medical attention for a gunshot wound to the shoulder and back at the Port-of-Spain General Hospital.

Police said at about 12:30 am PC Taylor of the Besson Street CID, received a phone call from the hospital of a man seeking medical attention for gunshot wounds.

The officer went to the hospital where he met and interviewed the said man who gave his name and age as 23 years of George Street, Port of Spain.

The suspect told the officer that around 10:30 pm he was on George Street in a vehicle driven by his cousin when a black Tucson pulled alongside them and he heard several loud explosions and felt something burning on his shoulder and back.

However, Taylor said that the man fits the description of the man seen in video footage that was being circulated of the shooting in the Central Division involving Mayers.

Mayers, who was involved in the racing of cars and boats, had a passion and adrenaline rush for the sport. He began racing at the age of 15 years.

Mayers recently told a friend that he had plans to retire from the T&T Police Service this year.

The wounded suspect is currently under police guard at the POSGH.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/police-officer-k ... ville-bar/