Want to buy a vehicle which is best?

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » August 25th, 2024, 4:29 pm

Hey tuners, first of all thanks for always giving good advice. I’m looking at buying a vehicle my budget is up to TT$30,000. I would like a wagon but I’m open to other options. I’m thinking an older Corolla wagon e100 series might be a good choice for around 20k. I see some older y10 Wingroads that look nice but I’m not sure of their reliability. I have also seen some newer lancer wagons for sale that I think may be a better option as it’s a newer vehicle with probably a bigger engine. What’s your advice tuners? Something reliable in that budget that will also hold its value for some time.

Re: Want to buy a vehicle which is best?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 25th, 2024, 4:31 pm

Y11 wagon

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 25th, 2024, 4:54 pm

Wingroad for parts availability locally and cost of parts

Postby MaxPower » August 25th, 2024, 7:57 pm

I would have suggested Toyota Corolla NZE121/141 but might be out of your budget.

check out the Kia Rio around 2013 model.

Zee

Postby Zee » August 25th, 2024, 9:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Wingroad for parts availability locally and cost of parts
Agreed in full

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2024, 9:19 pm

except nissan cradle bushings don’t last compared to toyota
ask and machine shop which bushings they change most

Postby nervewrecker » August 25th, 2024, 9:27 pm

pugboy wrote:except nissan cradle bushings don’t last compared to toyota
Can't one make them out of polyurethane?

Postby Dave » August 26th, 2024, 6:49 am

B15 energy kit works on the Y11.
Downside on a rare occasion was the bushing wore the arm.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 26th, 2024, 6:58 am

Can't one make them out of polyurethane?
I see the red bushing man has nissan subframes already made and poly bushing pressed and available in the shop.
That subframe fits multiple nissans

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2024, 8:01 am

that is an aftermarket subframe he selling or foreign used which he retrofit his stuff?

all them nissan cars use that subframe nonsense
makes for noisy suspension

Postby X_Factor » August 26th, 2024, 9:38 am

^Foreign or locally used subframe with locally made poly bushings
For that budget

Y11
B15
Almera

Try to get one with the paint job in good condition.
If u getting one cheap even if u have to spend a 3-5000 to sort out mechanical/engine atleast u know what u have after its repaired

Postby *KRONIK* » August 26th, 2024, 9:47 am

pugboy wrote:that is an aftermarket subframe he selling or foreign used which he retrofit his stuff?

all them nissan cars use that subframe nonsense
makes for noisy suspension

Yes.

He has a trade system, you leave your old original one, and take a rebuilt one + cost of bushings

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2024, 9:47 am

how much harder those poly bushings ride?

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » August 26th, 2024, 10:04 am

Those subframe bushings on Nissans seems to be a common thing here in Trinidad. It’s definitely an added expense and one that should be promptly repaired. Do the Toyotas require the same amount or type of bushings or is their design different?

In my experience, Nissans usually take more parts but certain Toyota models can cost a lot to maintain properly and Mitsubishis like galant are built like a piece of heavy machinery lol so they’re tough.

Xfactor- I like your point, I will definitely be looking for something with good paint and interior and one that’s not rusty. Preferably something with low miles and original paint.

How does the ride quality compare between these wagons? Which rides best? I think an ad wagon rides the worst? but that isn’t an option to me.

What’s the verdict on the newer (2000s) Lancer wagon?

Postby MaxPower » August 26th, 2024, 10:05 am

Hear na, dem poly bushings and these roads we have here is the worse yes.

Spend allyuh money on original parts.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2024, 10:30 am

i have driven hundreds of thousands km on
y11 y12 nze121, 141 fielders and tiida
a 121 fielder is noticeably better than a y11
a 141 fielder is like a luxury vehicle compared to a y11 or y12
never had to change bushings on the toyotas

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 26th, 2024, 10:54 am

pugboy wrote:a 141 fielder is like a luxury vehicle compared to a y11 or y12

This. Even a rundown one...lol

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2024, 11:02 am

that particular era nissan platform subframe cradle design is obviously not suited to our bad roads
has to be something with the geometry of the of the cradles and struts for them to damage the bushings so easily

they are easy to fix though, just a nuisance

fokhan_96 wrote:
pugboy wrote:a 141 fielder is like a luxury vehicle compared to a y11 or y12

This. Even a rundown one...lol

Zee

Postby Zee » August 26th, 2024, 12:12 pm

My wife has a Note and these things go thru so fast, its not even funny

Postby sMASH » August 26th, 2024, 1:05 pm

Polyurethane subrame bushings on the y12 , with 65 profile tires, haven't had a suspension issue in 3 years. And is ole back road I drive

With the 55 profile tires is nearly twice a year had to do sumting suspension wise, and u feel every gravel.
Had 45 profile on stance rims .. That should not be allowed in trinidad .

Next tire change I wah see if the 70 profile will fit.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2024, 1:09 pm

is it a harsh ride?

sMASH wrote:Polyurethane subrame bushings on the y12 , with 65 profile tires, haven't had a suspension issue in 3 years. And is ole back road I drive

With the 55 profile tires is nearly twice a year had to do sumting suspension wise, and u feel every gravel.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2024, 1:10 pm

sMASH wrote:Polyurethane subrame bushings on the y12 , with 65 profile tires, haven't had a suspension issue in 3 years. And is ole back road I drive

Changing the rolling diameter of the wheel will throw off the speedometer - just saying, incase you think you're doing 100km/h and the officer checks you at 110km/h and gives you a ticket

david12

Postby david12 » August 26th, 2024, 1:49 pm

importzxtt wrote:Those subframe bushings on Nissans seems to be a common thing here in Trinidad. It’s definitely an added expense and one that should be promptly repaired. Do the Toyotas require the same amount or type of bushings or is their design different?

In my experience, Nissans usually take more parts but certain Toyota models can cost a lot to maintain properly and Mitsubishis like galant are built like a piece of heavy machinery lol so they’re tough.

Xfactor- I like your point, I will definitely be looking for something with good paint and interior and one that’s not rusty. Preferably something with low miles and original paint.

How does the ride quality compare between these wagons? Which rides best? I think an ad wagon rides the worst? but that isn’t an option to me.

What’s the verdict on the newer (2000s) Lancer wagon?
With respect to your last question,

If you're going with a CS Lancer wagon, I would recommend a non GDI engine. They're a bit problematic with carbon build up on the intake valves, fuel dilution and they have both high pressure and low pressure fuel pumps. All normal GDI issues that wouldn't exist in an engine with port injection. The CVTs last but definitely with good previous service history.

Engine parts are harder to come by and more expensive compared to a Y11, so I would recommend a Y11 over a Lancer, plus you just can't kill a QG Btw, get one with the cable throttle and not the e throttle.

Yes, suspension problems exist, the big cradle bushing etc. but it's a simple fix when changed to polyurethane and it shouldn't create too much NVH, it'll stiffen up the suspension which is probably a good thing on those cars anyways.
Last edited by david12 on August 26th, 2024, 1:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby alfa » August 26th, 2024, 2:33 pm

Zee wrote:

My wife has a Note and these things go thru so fast, its not even funny

Even on the navaras which are supposed to be tougher since they're trucks trucks, you still get suspension issues and a creeky ride. Must be Nissan parts on a whole

Postby nervewrecker » August 26th, 2024, 2:33 pm

pugboy wrote:how much harder those poly bushings ride?
Haven't noticed any difference from oem.. About 8 years now and no issue, did an inspection at mileage mack about a year or so ago and everything in good condition.

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » August 26th, 2024, 3:23 pm

So I’m beginning to understand that the Corolla 140 series has the best ride out of all the vehicles mentioned. This one is out of my budget and also is more complex with its cvt transmission, so I will stay away from this one. The 121 might be better in this regard.
Confirmed I staying away from Nissan!

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2024, 4:07 pm

there is nothing wrong with a nissan just that be aware of
more frequent suspension work depending on how you drive
a competent mechanic can have bushings done in a flash