Best Places to Live in T&T?

Gerard869

Best Places to Live in T&T?

Postby Gerard869 » August 13th, 2025, 10:36 pm

From south but just fed up of the highway. Questioned where are the best places to live and have family in this country up north or Central. People say Maraval and Petit Valley decent. Thoughts

Re: Best Places to Live in T&T?

Postby MaxPower » August 14th, 2025, 4:50 am

Gerard869 wrote:From south but just fed up of the highway. Questioned where are the best places to live and have family in this country up north or Central. People say Maraval and Petit Valley decent. Thoughts

Greetings king.

Anywhere that has strong and tight security in, out and around.

Those with the ability and power to fix crime but remain unaffected regardless, you can ask them their thoughts.

Safe 1

Postby j.o.e » August 14th, 2025, 7:02 am

Gerard869 wrote:From south but just fed up of the highway. Questioned where are the best places to live and have family in this country up north or Central. People say Maraval and Petit Valley decent. Thoughts

Lived San Fernando suburb all my life and currently live in a gated Community in central. Definitely an adjustment culture wise but less transit time to the capital and you can find some good deals. Access to most conveniences. Keep in mind generally T&T has a traffic issue so in and around chaguanas, Maraval, Diego Martin can have some serious bottlenecks.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 14th, 2025, 7:20 am

Even if you sell your property in south, you will still be short of atleast 1 mil if want want a "good" place in central or north. Unless you want to rent, the are plenty places, just take a drive around.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 14th, 2025, 7:47 am

I live in Tunapuna and my morning commute is shorter to POS from a time parameter than one of my managers who lives in Petit Valley. Granted I go for 9 and he comes for 8.

Closer to Port of Spain does not necessarily equate to faster commute times.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2025, 11:12 am

j.o.e wrote:

Lived San Fernando suburb all my life and currently live in a gated Community in central. Definitely an adjustment culture wise but less transit time to the capital and you can find some good deals. Access to most conveniences. Keep in mind generally T&T has a traffic issue so in and around chaguanas, Maraval, Diego Martin can have some serious bottlenecks.
Paid by PNM money

Postby j.o.e » August 14th, 2025, 11:52 am

j.o.e wrote:

Paid by PNM money

I wish, not a card holding member, don’t even have a govt work or any work associated with party.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » August 14th, 2025, 12:57 pm

Even though its close to POS, Deigo Martin and Petit Valley has a serious bottleneck at Peakes to go into town.

Postby bluefete » August 14th, 2025, 1:28 pm

In de bush - Ask Shakes.

Also, you must not be afraid of snakes.

Postby timelapse » August 14th, 2025, 2:58 pm

bluefete wrote:In de bush - Ask Shakes.

I second this. Lester in Petit Tacaribe has the best real estate in the country. No traffic, no idiot neighbours,no politics.Only issue is snakes

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 14th, 2025, 3:10 pm

timelapse wrote:

I second this. Lester in Petit Tacaribe has the best real estate in the country. No traffic, no idiot neighbours,no politics.Only issue is snakes
He got robbed recently

Postby mero » August 14th, 2025, 4:52 pm

Tobago, anywhere except Bethel.

Bago is love. Trinidad is fight down

Postby bluefete » August 14th, 2025, 5:49 pm

PariaMan wrote:
timelapse wrote:

He got robbed recently

Not surprised at this. PNM sent all their bandit friend countryside to terrorise country people - Matelot, Toco, Moruga, Gran Couva, Blanchisseuse, Brasso Seco all saw spikes in crime and murders.

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2025, 7:50 pm

once there is no enforcement and ppl like heinz feeling sorry for criminals openly then any and everybody will be looking to try a lil robbery and ting
it is only natural human behaviour
ppl always turn towards the easy way out

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 15th, 2025, 4:37 am

apart from ease of traffic going north or south to determine where you live you also need to look at where gets water everyday, how easy it is to get to supermarket, pharmacy, gas station etc. example in grande and freeport there is only 1 gas station in the area compared to curepe, aranguez, barataria where where is a gas station all over. 1 gas station serving grand couva to point lisas located on the couva flyover always have traffic ( i think the unipet on couva main road and gypsy gas station all closed down, even in carlifornia have none). On the EMR chinese grocery all over, pharmacy all over, food all over. these days
i notice traffic building at curepe from about 1:30pm going east and 3:30 going south lasting up to all 7pm if you working POS

Postby timelapse » August 15th, 2025, 6:17 am

PariaMan wrote:
timelapse wrote:

He got robbed recently
Robbed of what exactly?
The man literally has very minimal possessions there, unless he does the naive thing of keeping money there.That is very sad.Lester is a kind soul.
Do you live Paria? If so, that is epic.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 15th, 2025, 6:25 am

Grande is life tbh.... Quiet, laid back... Few pests here and there as with every other place in trinidad

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 15th, 2025, 10:14 am

timelapse wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
timelapse wrote:

He got robbed recently
Robbed of what exactly?
The man literally has very minimal possessions there, unless he does the naive thing of keeping money there.That is very sad.Lester is a kind soul.
Originally from there

Postby timelapse » August 15th, 2025, 1:14 pm

PariaMan wrote:
timelapse wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
timelapse wrote:

He got robbed recently
Robbed of what exactly?
Originally from there

When I die, I want my ashes scattered along that trail to tell you how much I like there

Postby bluefete » August 16th, 2025, 10:44 am

T&T has some really nice places to live - if you want to be by yourself or if you are fortunate to have good neighbours.

When I first moved into my area Mt. Lambert / Mt. Hope, I was fortunate to have a gem of a next door neighbour.

A five minute walk took me into the woods and nature - squirrels, birds of all kinds, fireflies by the hundreds, zandolees and so on. Over the years, the place has developed significantly with the 1% now moving their businesses into the community.

I do not see zandolees or fireflies in my yard anymore.

Water was never really a problem except since December last year when the Valsayn booster pumps started giving problems, except for April-July when the water was more or less regular. . Right now I do not have water and do not know when it will come back. It went yesterday morning > 24 hours ago. Since august started the supply has been very irregular.

Transportation is easy. If you have a car, you are in driving range (2-10 minutes) of several groceries and factories, schools etc.

Easy access to Chinese Food, Royal Castle, KFC, and so on.

If you like country life Gran Couva, Brasso Seco, Matelot, Sangre Grande are nice areas to live but watch out for the migratory human pests!

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 17th, 2025, 8:13 am

Longtime that bush isolation used to be good during the day and horrible at night.

I remember spending holidays by family in the 90s in the bush and the place was always nice but you had two big threats - praedial larceny (they lost half their goats in one night) and bandits.

Police post was about 30 mins away and sometimes i remember it took 6-8 hours before anyone ever showed up.

And if you cool with random big snakes and tarantulas ending up in yuh living room….

It might be different now, but just look at the terror of Carlson field which is barely rural but a close approximation.

Unless you have resources to deploy aggressive security measures, a pack of dogs, and a strap the bush ting is not really attractive nah.

Postby matr1x » August 17th, 2025, 9:32 am

The common denominator is the crime situation.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 17th, 2025, 11:01 pm

Anywhere that don't have illegal immigrants

Postby VexXx Dogg » Yesterday, 10:13 am

wtf wrote:Anywhere that don't have illegal immigrants

So nowhere?