Oil Catch Can

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Rx

Oil Catch Can

Postby Rx » February 7th, 2023, 11:54 am

Reviews after installation of an oil catch can on a diesel vehicle.
Thanks much.

Re: Oil Catch Can

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 7th, 2023, 3:35 pm

Wondering the same, but more along the lines of an AOS rather than a cheap catch can.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 7th, 2023, 3:59 pm

So i have a provent200 installed for the last 2 years which is essential an air/oil separator (AOS)

It collects about 300ml every 5000kms

Not sure if thats good or bad as i dont have anybody to compare with (my mechanic says its a waste of time/money for my application)
But since i installed it, i have noticed my throttle, intercooler & turbo intlet are less oily
In fact, my turbo no longer gets oil on the compressor wheel.

But bear in mind; my van doesnt have a EGR system, so its just straight blowby it collecting.

If your van does carry an EGR system then a catch can would be more effective along with a EGR blank plate.

Like i said: i dont have anyone to compare volumes with, so i really dont know if my 5000km OCI collection is good/bad.

Also, an oil catch can and AOS is 2 different things the way i see it.
A catch can will "filter" amd store the oil
An AOS will just seperate and will need to store or recirculate the condensed oil.

Postby Dave » February 7th, 2023, 4:04 pm

With modern gasoline and diesel engines that requires thin oil, an oil catch can or air oil separator will always be beneficial.

I have installed in both forced induction and NA engines and have seen the benefit as it has oil in it.

The key part to a can is it having a baffle in it. Without that baffle it's just a can and the return line would be carrying oil back to the intake.

The pcv system and its maintenance is even more important and the can keeps the system in check.

Always mount the can so gravity can work in your favour and in that same breath mounting the can in a modern engine bay can also be challenging.

Keeping that intake system clean is only full of benefits for both gasoline and diesel engines.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 7th, 2023, 4:33 pm

As regards mounting:

I was able to get a vehicle specific kit that came with bracket and pre-bent hoses

What i'm struggling with at present is to relocate the oil drain tap.

The AOS drains into a about 5ft of hose (about 60ml) per fill @1200-1500kms

I have the hose under my fender which has a ¼turn valve to drain it.
I want more volume and a better location
Need to work on that soon yes

bird want a ride

Postby bird want a ride » February 7th, 2023, 8:41 pm

I installed this on my crdi 2016 tucson

EVIL ENERGY Baffled Oil Catch... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081N3BNXR?re ... b_ap_share

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 8th, 2023, 9:28 am

Ooh that prevent looking like EXACTLY what I want.

https://oem.mann-hummel.com/en/oem-prod ... 0-300.html

The 300 series a little bigger so I assume I can get more use out of it. Is the filter changeable/serviceable? Who selling it locally?

nick639v2

Oil Catch Can

Postby nick639v2 » February 8th, 2023, 10:16 am

^^^X2 I want one of those as well for the np and fortuner… its a 1kd hilux you have ent Kron?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 8th, 2023, 10:50 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Ooh that prevent looking like EXACTLY what I want.

https://oem.mann-hummel.com/en/oem-prod ... 0-300.html

The 300 series a little bigger so I assume I can get more use out of it. Is the filter changeable/serviceable? Who selling it locally?

No
A provent 150 is good for our sized diesel engines
The 200 is for commercial
Same with the 300
Bigger is not necessarily better in this case

Filter is not servicable, they are good for around 40,000kms

New filters are around 70usd for the 200

Nobody sells them locally afaik.
Some ppl have retailing

But there are a lot of replicas on the market with stainless steel "filters"
So be wary
Last edited by *KRONIK* on February 8th, 2023, 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 8th, 2023, 10:51 am

nick639v2 wrote:^^^X2 I want one of those as well for the np and fortuner… its a 1kd hilux you have ent Kron?
Yea
1KD hilux
So same kit will work for the fortuner

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 8th, 2023, 12:45 pm

Link me for the kit na. Tuna now reaching up on 100k

Postby *KRONIK* » February 8th, 2023, 1:35 pm