wtk: sakura filters

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
kriticalkase

wtk: sakura filters

Postby kriticalkase » June 7th, 2009, 6:47 am

Guys, how good are sakura filters?
Is it recommended to use as a replacement filter (fuel) in a new pick up?

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 7th, 2009, 12:35 pm

no i find these are sheit this filter damaged my common rail system in a toyota vigor better u spend the money and buy the original

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » June 7th, 2009, 2:59 pm

thanks for that info ray.
Sorry to hear about that mishap. Will indeed take your advice. Actaully purchased a sakura fuel filter but my inner instinct said not to use it and I have not as yet.

Good thing not cheap.

Postby 3stagevtec » June 7th, 2009, 5:18 pm

Southern Sales sells them as OE replacement filters.. We use them on a B2500 without any problems..

venum

Postby venum » June 7th, 2009, 7:40 pm

kriticalkase, that is all I use in My L200 and 2 lancers

I use Sakura oil filter with Shell Rimula Super for 5,000km

Sakura diesel filter for 5,000km and I run my tank low

Sakura oil filter with mobil 1 for 10,000km in one of teh Lancers

NEVER had a problem

they are great filters

japanese stuff

u safe with these

OEM filters are best, but $$$

it is really up to you

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » June 7th, 2009, 8:48 pm

hmm, thanks alot of all the much appreciated info. seem like it works pretty ok thus far. Guys, would u all recommend changing the sakura fuel filter a bit before the recommended interval since it is not the original thing?

bt50

Postby bt50 » June 8th, 2009, 6:54 am

i use sakura fuel filter on bt50 and i change religiously at 5000km. no problems to date.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 8th, 2009, 7:43 am

i use sakura fuel filter on my bt50 and b2500 also i use sakura oil filters in our trucks no problems at all :!:

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » June 8th, 2009, 7:53 am

seems like mazda & sakura is a good combination. thanks for sharing all your experiences.

venum

Postby venum » June 8th, 2009, 9:38 am

MITSU and Sakura too

I see no reason to change before time,

If you got dirty diesel for most of the life of teh filter, u should change a bit early, regardless of teh filter

remember sakura is not a performance filter

so don't treat it like a K&N oil filter in an evo

it does teh work well

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 8th, 2009, 10:28 am

In my experience, I would NOT recommend the Sakura Fuel Filters for use in diesel vehicles. I have seen for myself how these Sakura filters disintegrate. I have seen paper element in the Mazda's fuel pump strainer.
If you choose, I think filter should be changed out every 6-8K km. I bought an OEM filter from Ford for the Mazda, and its been working flawlessly for about 7K km thus far... I would expect to get about 30K km from the OEM.

I have used the Sakura Oil Filter in both Mazda and Hilux, as both carry the same filter... and would use it again for shorter intervals, as I am using it now with the Semi Synthetic Oil. When I go back to Full Synthetic I will use am OEM filter in the Hilux.
I usually change oil at 7500km in the Mazda so it shouldnt pose too much of a problem.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 8th, 2009, 1:42 pm

OEM all the way ... a mechanic was telling me the filters used can be more important the the fluids used....

Sakura is cheap so if you use it be sure to change regularly .... Oil <7500km, Fuel <15 000km, Air <20 000km. Lots of people use it (including me in the past) without problems. Change regularly.

Common rails are most sensitive ... so thread carefully.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » June 8th, 2009, 1:48 pm

serious food for thought.

thanks guys. Will play if on the safe side.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 8th, 2009, 1:57 pm

sweeks wrote:OEM all the way ... a mechanic was telling me the filters used can be more important the the fluids used....

Sakura is cheap so if you use it be sure to change regularly .... Oil <7500km, Fuel <15 000km, Air <20 000km. Lots of people use it (including me in the past) without problems. Change regularly.

Common rails are most sensitive ... so thread carefully.

I wouldnt even cross 7500km with a Sakura Fuel Filter...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 8th, 2009, 2:00 pm

sweeks wrote:Common rails are most sensitive ... so thread carefully.

never a truer statement made :(

venum

Postby venum » June 8th, 2009, 6:32 pm

If u want a cheaper than OEM but better than Sakura filter, then u can investigate BOSCH filters

Sakuras are good filters for short intervals ~ 5000km and are affordable enough to change regularly oil and fuel

I don't like the Sakura air filters for the L200 as it has a white plastic part with some air fins that completely block out 1/2 the filter

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » June 8th, 2009, 8:29 pm

venum, after reading this i real glad i ask this question. Do hope people take note of all this info and protect their investment.

btw: anybody want a new sakura fuel filter for a sportero?

venum

Postby venum » June 9th, 2009, 8:44 am

what is the code on teh filter :?:

if yuh giving it away and is FC-1001 i would gladly take if off your hands

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » June 9th, 2009, 11:49 am

dont know the code right now but i was told that it is compatible with the hilux as well.

venum

Postby venum » June 10th, 2009, 5:21 pm

When u check the code lemme know

My L200 filter is the same as some Isuzu's

Postby brams112 » June 19th, 2009, 11:20 pm

ok been using this brand for awhile now works well on the isuzu 3 ton trucks,both fuel and oil,a filter only disintegrates when it is passed it's time plus bad fuel or water causes it to squeeze up in the process of passage of fuel,right now it is common because it is compatable to most vehicles,and most parts places ask for numbers and they normall don't know the replacement or dont have the correct filter to match the requested number,oh i have been using this brand for more than 5 years.

pjfred

Re: wtk: sakura filters

Postby pjfred » September 11th, 2024, 9:44 pm

Re: wtk: sakura filters

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 13th, 2024, 10:25 am

Damaged fuel pump, maybe.
Test the hypothesis with a new filter, different brand.
If you see filing in there, it can only come from one other place in the fuel delivery system. Very unlikely a sakura issue.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”