The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - THEY'RE HERE!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
jessyjames

Re: The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!!

Postby jessyjames » October 6th, 2012, 10:20 pm

Serious......the ones that they had before were the 2.2 4x2 turbo diesel auto with the standard features one will find in the XLT.
The one that I saw had the back up cam on the rear view mirror (only comes on when the vehicle is in reverse). Voice control and with the cooled centre consol. These I know cause I've tired them on the display vehicle personally.

BTW mines will be here in Feb.

Postby Stephon. » October 8th, 2012, 9:50 am

Smh at people complaining about the price without even test driving the vehicle, and really? You're comparing a bt50 to a navara? The navara drives like an almera and it gets ready to flip over anytime you're taking a turn at more than 60. Also like I said in the new vehicles thread, all of the bt50s now are 4x4, dunno bout you guys but I don't think that auto windows aren't that valuable when compared to the capability of a 4x4

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » November 9th, 2012, 10:06 pm

what you guys think about the new bt-50?

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » November 10th, 2012, 2:19 pm

^^ looks really impressive with respect to safety features etc....price is a bit on the higher side which is 283k for a 4x4 auto with leather interior and a tonne of features Plus you need heavy t to drive it . The bt50's are really nice ....just not liking the rear end of it though.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » November 10th, 2012, 7:39 pm

anybody knows if it would be just like the predecessors, bt-50 and ranger sharing parts except for body?
personally, i dont really like the body style. looks like a stretched mazda6. looks like mazda copied toyota with the hilux and the nze.
i find the new pickups are coming out strong and beastly. would like to see what mitsu coming with next.

zaria

Postby zaria » November 13th, 2012, 9:55 pm

my brother inlaw has one,went tyrico this weekend and wife stuck it in some dead sand,but when
she revved,both rear wheels were turning!It crawled out when he put the 4 wheel on.So i guess it has some kinda lsd.
ANd it fast!fast,I mean i was just smiling knowing it's a diesel.ride was a bit stiff,but not bad,can't compare to other 4x4 cause i never rode in any.
I think this weekend we will try the las cuevas track,think we will stick cause the stock tyres don't look like they could handle mud.

Postby sliderz1 » November 22nd, 2012, 9:32 pm

saw a new black BT50 the other day.....
[opinion] i think it looks better in real tho..smiles and all :lol: [/opinion]

badart

Postby badart » November 22nd, 2012, 10:44 pm

^ yea looks a bit better in real but they over did it with all those lights at the back

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 26th, 2012, 10:27 am

[quote="zaria']I think this weekend we will try the las cuevas track,think we will stick cause the stock tyres don't look like they could handle mud.[/quote]

Careful in Cuevas eh.... there's a pathway you can take such that even a smooth highway tyre BT-50 can pass through (we rescued a guy who got badly stuck in cuevas recently, and he had on the original bridgestone duellers.. aka "the worse tyres in the world").

Tip - don't be afraid of the water in the track, and go between the trees.... go to the left of the second big tree.

Trust me.

zaria

Postby zaria » November 26th, 2012, 1:08 pm

thanks for info!
Usually i enter track and keep right,drive tru first pool with
the concrete slab on exit,from there keep straight and stick before the second pool.
fight up a bit and by the time i'm out and tyre lug fill wit mud i start to stick everywhere,
but i usually take the right lane,but that was with a 2008 GV.
Now we will put to test the ranger :lol:

we didn't make it this weekend but next weekend for sure,will go on sunday(more traffic in track
if we need a pull)
Last edited by zaria on November 26th, 2012, 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 26th, 2012, 6:19 pm

Good news ranger guys. Our sales rep called a while ago. Licensing has agreed to class the ranger as a light t.

I have to take ours back to licensing to have the mwg changed on it.

gundelero

Postby gundelero » November 27th, 2012, 8:39 am

Excellent news....thanks for the update.

zaria

Postby zaria » November 28th, 2012, 12:28 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Good news ranger guys. Our sales rep called a while ago. Licensing has agreed to class the ranger as a light t.

I have to take ours back to licensing to have the mwg changed on it.

I just spoke to ansa(sales/susan)It is under review by license office and has not been put into effect,

Did you take back yours and had the mgw changed????
maybe Susan doesn't know.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 28th, 2012, 1:39 pm

appointment is on Monday since I'm out of the country.
I have the email from the gm with regards to it.....

Part of the argument is mwg should not be used for its classification since less than 10% of owners load their vehicles. Most of the pick ups are used for personal use and not commercial.

Plus is someone going to weigh the vehicle to know the load's weight

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 28th, 2012, 4:58 pm

so that mean even the 3.2 L rangers can go for Light instead of Heavy T? or only for 2.2L

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 28th, 2012, 9:31 pm

What I was told is all are going to light t...when I get back I'd see what other info I can get

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » November 29th, 2012, 8:38 am

nice! keep us informed.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 29th, 2012, 10:06 am

I'm being told it is across the board.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 30th, 2012, 1:35 am

Called southern sales today ... said the fully loaded mazda bt-50 with the locking diff ect, 6-speed manual ... 260K ... This has to be the 3.2 because the 3.2 auto is 315K ...

*** edit visited today, it's 260K for the 2.2 manual ... No word on the 3.2 manual yet
and while I saw the hill descent and traction control buttons on the 2.2 auto I examined,
I did not see the diff lock button ... very frustrating ***

That's a bess price!
Last edited by Mr. Go Slow on November 30th, 2012, 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 30th, 2012, 2:11 am

Paullct

Postby Paullct » November 30th, 2012, 6:50 am

zaria wrote:thanks for info!
Usually i enter track and keep right,drive tru first pool with
the concrete slab on exit,from there keep straight and stick before the second pool.
fight up a bit and by the time i'm out and tyre lug fill wit mud i start to stick everywhere,
but i usually take the right lane,but that was with a 2008 GV.
Now we will put to test the ranger :lol:

we didn't make it this weekend but next weekend for sure,will go on sunday(more traffic in track
if we need a pull)

let me know if u going for sure. might be in cuevas as well

gundelero

Postby gundelero » November 30th, 2012, 9:29 am

I was never really interested in the former BT-50, but this new model has me taken. despite the tail lights or the front grill, i love the new design. and with those wheels, i'd sure consider buying a new bt-50 over the ranger. i noticed that the new bt-50 has more features than its brother, the new ranger.

zaria

Postby zaria » November 30th, 2012, 11:17 am

gundelero wrote:I was never really interested in the former BT-50, but this new model has me taken. despite the tail lights or the front grill, i love the new design. and with those wheels, i'd sure consider buying a new bt-50 over the ranger. i noticed that the new bt-50 has more features than its brother, the new ranger.

Which features you referring to?
I think the ranger has same features just the ones Ansa bringing watered down,they even take out standard stuff from the xlt.When i visited the showroom,highest model they have has no traction control/difflock/hill descent.Can't remember if they have the reverse cam and sensor
I visited the mazda showroom and the one i saw had traction control and hill descent,didn't see a knob for difflock so not sure if it has.no sales people was around to ask

If i had to choose i would go with the mazda for the features,i could learn to like it's fugly design

gundelero

Re: The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - THEY'RE HERE!!

Postby gundelero » November 30th, 2012, 11:28 am

Features I'm speaking about are in a post from Stephon, can't remember where to find it. If anyone finds it, please include.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 15th, 2013, 6:26 pm

Got some new shoes

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358288550.023680.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358288561.624014.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358288573.057105.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358288584.324030.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358288593.457009.jpg

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 15th, 2013, 7:08 pm

Nice :)
size?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 15th, 2013, 7:12 pm

18s....

jpec

Postby jpec » January 17th, 2013, 12:02 am

looks real good!

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 8:23 am

Funny that the Ranger don't need heavy T anymore as soon as the BT50 arrived. smh

Postby Greypatch » January 17th, 2013, 11:20 am

aaron u sell the lux ah wha ?

inspiration

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”