Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Keegz2130

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby Keegz2130 » November 10th, 2012, 10:26 am

Hey i back again , i want to know which one to put on my van , is either d plastic tray liner or the spray on ? Keep in mind i wont or dont do much transporting , all i need it for is which one more durable n longer lasting !

Thanks in advance !

biggy82

Re: Question-new navara owner

Postby biggy82 » November 10th, 2012, 12:22 pm

lighthammer wrote: One time I was offroading and playing in Las cuevas, and forgot to take the navara from 4H to 2h when driving back to maracas, so I drove 7km on hard pavement in 4H. By time I realized I had already reached maracas. Took me 6 tries of reversing hard to get the center diff to unlock back into 2wd. Good thing the nav has open diffs, otherwise there may have been damage.

you are not suppossed to reverse hard to get the diff to unlock. you simply have to reverse for a long distance, drive forward a bit, then reverse until the front tyres on the HUD stop flashing

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » November 11th, 2012, 1:23 am

tires strange wear on them on the opposite side there is no ware seems there is some hopping
uploadfromtaptalk1352611289839.jpg

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 11th, 2012, 5:17 am

"hopping" wear is caused by suspension problems. those tyres look like they have been run with too low a pressure for some time as well

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » November 11th, 2012, 9:20 am

biggy82 wrote:"hopping" wear is caused by suspension problems. those tyres look like they have been run with too low a pressure for some time as well

the strange thing is that only this side of the tire is has the ware the opposite side has no ware what so ever
this is the 3 tire i have rotated after this NM needs to do something or letters will be sent i need this fixed so i can drop them lol

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 11th, 2012, 10:18 am

so why dont you go to someone on the outside, let them check it as well and then hae nm check it out as well...

when i had issues with mine, i took it to tone in marabella, he did a full check for me and then i carried it to nm and had them sort it out...

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 11th, 2012, 1:10 pm

i have the exact same wear on the front left tire

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » November 11th, 2012, 4:39 pm

had same problem with mine ..did a rotation and speed balance on all tires plus an alignment ..quick service in marabella did a great job on my 22's

Keegz2130

Postby Keegz2130 » November 12th, 2012, 3:28 pm

so today i went and made my downpayment for my nav ! realli excited about it , salesperson told me within or by 10 working days i shud have it :D

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 13th, 2012, 8:14 am

congratulations

Keegz2130

Postby Keegz2130 » November 13th, 2012, 12:22 pm

thank you , Fuh sum reason i always perfer nissan stylin of pickup trucks ! D only dwnside on d nav for me is its turnin radius ! bt i can live wit dat , jus hadda get accustom , seeing that i come from drivin a mazda b2500 !

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 13th, 2012, 10:47 pm

Congrats man and welcome to the nissan family!
When u put ur foot down and feel that powaarrrrrr... That addictive donkey-punch of pure nissan power in your chest, you'll never go back.

Doh worry about the turning radius man, I does be on narrow trails offroad and doing 6 point turns, lol. Just think of it this way, it gives ppl on the sidewalk more time to oggle ur van!

... And just for reference, the other Fay I test drove mih pardna 3.0d4d hilux, manual 4x4. The hilux has a nice smooth ride and smooth,neven delivery of power, but it just doesn't feel as powerful as the navara. The navara feels like it wants you to rough it up with that torquey turbo and it will show u a good time (once you leanr to handle that high clutch on th manual nav). Hilux seemed it was built more for wives and old ppl, not really for manly, hairy chested men. Also the hilux is noticeably smaller in the front cabin than the navara, the hilux feels like a compact van while the navara feels like a big cavern.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » November 13th, 2012, 11:06 pm

I still trying to figure out what power allyuh talkin bout :?

trvs

Postby trvs » November 13th, 2012, 11:26 pm

lol something wrong with your "donkey-punch of pure nissan power" TriniVdub? :lol:

Time for some mods christmas round de corner :drinking: ... any suggestions? :lol:

Keegz2130

Postby Keegz2130 » November 16th, 2012, 6:56 am

Lolz I hada feel dat donkey punch , wen i get mines doh !!

ravist

Postby ravist » November 16th, 2012, 2:17 pm

we have an automatic 3.0 TCH hilux and the ride is smoother but stiffer..... the navara's ride is more docile which i prefer..... what i can also tell you is that the automatic navs is ah monster and does real wok especially when i had stock tires.... i have changed tires now so i have more grip but mind you, still extremely powerful even after 71k on the odo.....gready123456, check to see if your shock is leaking, i had the same issue....

TG7788

Postby TG7788 » November 16th, 2012, 3:04 pm

biggy82 (or anyone else that can answer), with regards to that shifter cable causing the rear to lock up. What will result if this happens while driving? Will it also cause the rear to lock? My concern being, in case it happens on the highway where my driving speed will obviously be higher than you backing out your driveway...I assume lol.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » November 16th, 2012, 9:16 pm

trvs wrote:lol something wrong with your "donkey-punch of pure nissan power" TriniVdub? :lol:

Time for some mods christmas round de corner :drinking: ... any suggestions? :lol:

Yea I have a feeling I got the Limited Edition 174 donkeypower version for real :lol:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 17th, 2012, 1:24 am

TG7788 wrote:biggy82 (or anyone else that can answer), with regards to that shifter cable causing the rear to lock up. What will result if this happens while driving? Will it also cause the rear to lock? My concern being, in case it happens on the highway where my driving speed will obviously be higher than you backing out your driveway...I assume lol.

highly unlikely that it would snap when already in gear. the shifter cable isnt under strain unless you are moving from gear to gear. when it happened to me, i was shifting from R to D.

unless you like to power shift from 2 to 3 to D then i would not worry about it

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » November 17th, 2012, 9:53 am

so I got my Nav rear ended by M/towne POS traffic lights by a guy in a B13,
made the police report and proceed to get a quote from NM repair dept. before
proceeding to my insurance co. My entire rear bumper was damaged and the
end of the bumper did deflect and touch the body on the side, howeve the dent
was only about 3/4" size. The quote from NM was TT$9834.50 for bumper, dent repair
and labour. I'll see how the insurance responds to this.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 17th, 2012, 11:39 am

vickyexp wrote:so I got my Nav rear ended by M/towne POS traffic lights by a guy in a B13,
was only about 3/4" size. The quote from NM was TT$9834.50 for bumper, dent repair

sounds about right. when a guy swiped the right rear corner of the van (a B-13 coincidentally :roll: ) the bumper was bent. price for the bumper alone was $4500 + VAT. with labor to fix a small dent, total cost was $6000. and that repair was done privately.

trvs

Postby trvs » November 17th, 2012, 4:32 pm

vickyexp wrote:so I got my Nav rear ended by M/towne POS traffic lights by a guy in a B13,

Don't make the claim through your company, get a letter from them and go claim directly to the b13 ppl insurance company. Hopefully he not with one of those companies that takes forever to pay.

Option 2 arb or ironman bumper :drinking:

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » November 18th, 2012, 10:08 am

spoke to my insurance, the cost of repairs in lower than my excess (excess = 5% of vehicle insured value), so I need to fill out the claim form and they will give me a letter to claim from the other guy's insurance (Motor1). I know I won't be getting paid anytime soon, I checked M&N and they've got the original bumper for $3700 & chinese $2000. I plan replace with an original as soon as the other insurance looks at my vehicle, don't mind getting a bumper made with a tow bar included but I'm not too sure who can do the work and have it look good at the same time.

Postby sliderz1 » November 18th, 2012, 11:45 am

Keegz2130 wrote:Hey i back again , i want to know which one to put on my van , is either d plastic tray liner or the spray on ? Keep in mind i wont or dont do much transporting , all i need it for is which one more durable n longer lasting !

Thanks in advance !

for that use then i'd recommend spray on
viewtopic.php?f=41&t=359861&hilit=spray+on+plastic

Postby sliderz1 » November 18th, 2012, 12:01 pm

biggy82 wrote:
TG7788 wrote:biggy82 (or anyone else that can answer), with regards to that shifter cable causing the rear to lock up. What will result if this happens while driving? Will it also cause the rear to lock? My concern being, in case it happens on the highway where my driving speed will obviously be higher than you backing out your driveway...I assume lol.

highly unlikely that it would snap when already in gear. the shifter cable isnt under strain unless you are moving from gear to gear. when it happened to me, i was shifting from R to D.

unless you like to power shift from 2 to 3 to D then i would not worry about it

hey, any particular spot along the length did the cable snap? a point of contact maybe, or was it just the tension?
old girl recently hit 4 yrs and i'd rather prevent if i could.

trvs

Postby trvs » November 18th, 2012, 12:56 pm

vickyexp wrote:spoke to my insurance, the cost of repairs in lower than my excess (excess = 5% of vehicle insured value), so I need to fill out the claim form and they will give me a letter to claim from the other guy's insurance (Motor1). I know I won't be getting paid anytime soon, I checked M&N and they've got the original bumper for $3700 & chinese $2000. I plan replace with an original as soon as the other insurance looks at my vehicle, don't mind getting a bumper made with a tow bar included but I'm not too sure who can do the work and have it look good at the same time.

Oh snap. I was hopting it wasnt M1. A guy had hit my car last year December (similar accident to yours) he was insured with them, claim got settled around May this year after nagging them every week. I end up fixing it on my own while I waited for the settlement check.

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » November 18th, 2012, 1:08 pm

trvs wrote:
vickyexp wrote:spoke to my insurance, the cost of repairs in lower than my excess (excess = 5% of vehicle insured value), so I need to fill out the claim form and they will give me a letter to claim from the other guy's insurance (Motor1). I know I won't be getting paid anytime soon, I checked M&N and they've got the original bumper for $3700 & chinese $2000. I plan replace with an original as soon as the other insurance looks at my vehicle, don't mind getting a bumper made with a tow bar included but I'm not too sure who can do the work and have it look good at the same time.

Oh snap. I was hopting it wasnt M1. A guy had hit my car last year December (similar accident to yours) he was insured with them, claim got settled around May this year after nagging them every week. I end up fixing it on my own while I waited for the settlement check.

I plan to fix soon after the insurance looks at the damage but to wait 5-6 months for compensation is jusy crazy, I guess I'll be visiting M1 weekly :x :x :x

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » November 19th, 2012, 12:53 am

biggy82 wrote:

sounds about right. when a guy swiped the right rear corner of the van (a B-13 coincidentally :roll: ) the bumper was bent. price for the bumper alone was $4500 + VAT. with labor to fix a small dent, total cost was $6000. and that repair was done privately.

check boddies in the bamboo ask to see the showroom, they have original bumpers and after market ones for cheaper ,the only difference i can see is the that black plastic on the top of the bumper seems a bit darker than on the original , but prices are good

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » November 20th, 2012, 8:21 am

hey fellas
you may want to try this oil

http://www.liqui-moly.de/liquimoly/medi ... -40_EN.pdf

contact 622-8415 for more info

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 22nd, 2012, 9:55 am

gready123456 wrote:
biggy82 wrote:

check boddies in the bamboo ask to see the showroom, they have original bumpers and after market ones for cheaper ,the only difference i can see is the that black plastic on the top of the bumper seems a bit darker than on the original , but prices are good

Check ROC in bamboo too, they have very good prices compared to n&m, they even supply them sometimes.
Or hit filterproz a pm and see if he can organize u with a bumper at bess price :-)

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”