Build Project: Suzie!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
droppa

Re: Bought a Pickup Finally

Postby droppa » September 22nd, 2012, 4:33 pm

build coming along nicely pal, the white does look good on the zuzu dem!!!!!!

neckto

Postby neckto » September 22nd, 2012, 7:11 pm

droppa wrote:build coming along nicely pal, the white does look good on the zuzu dem!!!!!!

thanks bro,

well white is the choise for under n the engine bay so its easier to see when working n to see where needs cleaning
havent decided on outer body color but most likely gonna be white or blue or combo of the two

neckto

Postby neckto » September 22nd, 2012, 7:19 pm

Update

and the work continues in the engine bay.

lightly rubbed the primer first coat before applying the 2nd coat

then dry wipe and blow out with compressor and apply the 2nd primer coat

while that drying etc i began to clean up, rust treat and paint some of the other parts that go into the engine bay

and giving the Frankenstein repairs a little face lift via fiberglass pasts, not much though just to fill in some of the pits

began throwing on the white

and walla rain must fall n blow in on the wet paint too smh

[img]http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/data/76/IMG01110-20120922-1139.jpg[/img

finally got both coats of the white on

we decided to try " ah thing" with some clear coat on the industrial enamel (risky) mainly using the clear to apply some ice pearl dust (blue) to engine bay to give it a nice finish. never triend anythign like this before, but now is the best time to learn i think. so we applied a very thin light coat od clear with the dust. we were a bit too conservative on the dust i think. i dont know if the following pics would let you see anythign at all. but in the mornign we will put on another light coat with the dust then a final coat of clear to seal the dust and smoothen the finish

Suzie white paints tight!! lol

and back to painting the misc parts
pressure wash and flush out radiator and prepp for paint

clean and straighten back condensor

also cleaned and primed parts of the rear bumper

should fin :evilbat: sh with the clear coating and painting of the misc parts and begin reassembly on Monday. yippee!!

of i forgot to mention, we also reconnected the drive shaft pieces to the gearbox and Diff

droppa

Postby droppa » September 24th, 2012, 10:02 am

one thing you should have done if u didnt, was to properly align the front fenders with the lights, grille and bumper, so you wont have that stress when u done paint it.........jus to avoid those annoying spaces between parts when re-assembled!!!

neckto

Postby neckto » September 24th, 2012, 6:55 pm

i hear u bro

but nothing was done to the outer body parts as yet. (exception of the panels) All that would be in the next phase, right not i trying ot get it working properly mechanically first. if i put bk up the fenders n bumpers it would be temporary till i ready to tackle outer body.

almost got the engine bay completed. more of that later with pics, i now done for the day so after dinner i'll upload those

out!!

neckto

Re: Bought a Pickup Finally - PICS

Postby neckto » September 24th, 2012, 8:38 pm

UPDATE TIME

here u might be able to see the DIY pearl a little better with the clear coat on it

blue specks

after painting i realized its the same pearl dust used on the bonnet by previous owner. bonnet will still be repainted tho

same day, (yesterday) in the evening: Reassembly begins

clear dry n blue ice showing up good now, as well as the dust that already settled lol

firewall mat, booster, clutch cylinder, alternator mounted, ready for electrical to go in. now everythign was disconnected when i got it so i have very few reference pics for this part. going ot attempt electrical work my self, to need to get some rest and begin that in the morning (republic day morning)

suzie resting for the night

well woke up this morning and pace pace pace, and plenty thinking to get the electrical right so sorry i don't have much stage by stage pics. i might take some tom in retrospect and upload then then to give u an idea. but for not it's pics of up to where i reach this evening

tried to put everything in neatly as possible

so most components up and connected

managed to paint the rest of aluminum components in silver of AND on the engine

suzie ready for the road............................................almost!!

need to get:

Air filter
Fuel Filter
Fuel filter component with primer pump
New water hoses for Radiator
New fuel hoses X 4
New Fan Belts X 2
Her own Battery and clamp
Oil - i'm thinking R3
Electrical harness flex hose
electrical clips and jacks

Also need to find the proper mounting point for the power steering pump fluid container which is not installed yet. finalize proper position of fuel filter. Radiator needs a little tweaking to fit properly with all mounting bolts fastened

AND

the power steering pump, like i said none of these components were attached when we got the van and now time for reassembly we found the mounting point but the three bolt holes in the engine have the wrung of ends of the blot studs in them so it will take some doing to get that sorted out. when completed that should be the end of the engine bay phase (minus the bonnet underside)

Still ave to finish up the electrical to the gear box - and lights but that's under another phase

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 25th, 2012, 9:12 am

Hehehe, u calling her suzie :mrgreen:

neckto

Postby neckto » September 25th, 2012, 4:14 pm

lighthammer wrote:Hehehe, u calling her suzie :mrgreen:

lol yea bro

i'll invite u for the christening since u have gave the name lol

i finished connecting the electrical on the gearbox and putting the harness in the correct place. Also put bk on the tray and bonnet temporarily since this project will be on halt or go slow for the next 3 weeks due to an upcoming thanksgiving so have to pack up and clean up and get stuff organized for the 6th. once i get some spare time i know i wouldn't be able to keep my hands of Suzie lol so look out for possible updates in between

Suzie tray back on and packed up with her parts

droppa

Postby droppa » September 25th, 2012, 5:43 pm

yuh looking real good pal.....

neckto

Postby neckto » September 25th, 2012, 6:07 pm

droppa wrote:yuh looking real good pal.....

Thanks.

i wished i didn't have this power steering pump issue though and wished i could've painted the manifold too lol

anyone knows if i drive it without the power steering pump installed if that would damage the steering box or anything?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 26th, 2012, 10:09 am

lol yea bro

i'll invite u for the christening since u have gave the name lol

Sweet!!

Could I invite some friends? Dem mad mechanics of Side B would love to pass in and see this work of beauty :) :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 26th, 2012, 10:13 am

Aye tell yuh yardman to use de wacker and cut through the path stones nah bai!

neckto

Postby neckto » September 26th, 2012, 4:28 pm

LOL @ yardman.............................ah wish.

Suzie was taking up my time, lawn getting neglected lol....all that to do while project on halt

invite all who yuh want nah bro all is welcome.......is still only one bottle of forres park puncheon and one pack of broadway i buying tho............lmao

neckto

Postby neckto » September 30th, 2012, 2:12 am

mini update

bought the Good replacement oil
also got he water hoses and fuel line hoses
the primer pump
and some cheap filters to use untill i get it running properly, the idea is the let this catch the thick sediment the engine may have being packed down and change these out in a month or so to better quality ones,

don't really like the quality of the water hoses either, i will run them tho, n see how they holding up n decide if to change them.

Monster 101

Re: Build Project: Suzie!!

Postby Monster 101 » October 5th, 2012, 4:37 pm

nice build ....keep it up!

Postby black start » October 6th, 2012, 1:38 am

this should be the definition of restoration

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 6th, 2012, 8:50 am

Hoss you doing reall bess, makes me wish i had kept my b1600 project....shudda never sold dat jed.....sighs...

but kudos on your engine bay neatness, jus straighten the battery for pics... :) wud look even better.

Postby sliderz1 » October 6th, 2012, 12:07 pm

real progress since my last post boi...

good going

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » October 6th, 2012, 2:26 pm

sweet!! suscribe to this build cudos so far man! excellent!!!!!!!

jpec

Postby jpec » October 6th, 2012, 4:18 pm

wow, just read this entire thread and i must say what a good read! kudos to you man! looks great now after all that work. idk if i would have done what you did but i bet it's worth it at the end!
can't wait to see the finished product!

Postby Morpheus » October 7th, 2012, 6:34 pm

I just spent over an hour going through this thread and doing something else in between.

You have real guts neckto. Wow.

All the best with the rest of the project.

neckto

Postby neckto » October 11th, 2012, 9:02 pm

Monster 101 wrote:nice build ....keep it up!

thanks bro

neckto

Postby neckto » October 11th, 2012, 9:04 pm

lost soul wrote:this should be the definition of restoration

hey thanks for the kind words, just hope what we doing could benefit others too

neckto

Postby neckto » October 11th, 2012, 9:06 pm

nos_specialist wrote:Hoss you doing reall bess, makes me wish i had kept my b1600 project....shudda never sold dat jed.....sighs...

but kudos on your engine bay neatness, jus straighten the battery for pics... :) wud look even better.

what was wrong with ur 1600?

battery was borrowed and just placed in there temp, to start engine, she dont even have no battery clamps at the moment

neckto

Postby neckto » October 11th, 2012, 9:13 pm

sliderz1 wrote:real progress since my last post boi...

good going

yea bro, was on a break tho. time to get bk at it, my hands looking clean for too long lol

neckto

Postby neckto » October 11th, 2012, 9:15 pm

speedaholic wrote:sweet!! suscribe to this build cudos so far man! excellent!!!!!!!

thanks bro, the mitsu looking nice too

neckto

Postby neckto » October 11th, 2012, 9:17 pm

jpec wrote:wow, just read this entire thread and i must say what a good read! kudos to you man! looks great now after all that work. idk if i would have done what you did but i bet it's worth it at the end!

hey thanks for taking the time to go through n not only browse photos,.............. what would you have done differently? look for replacement chassis?

neckto

Postby neckto » October 11th, 2012, 9:19 pm

Morpheus wrote:I just spent over an hour going through this thread and doing something else in between.

You have real guts neckto. Wow.

All the best with the rest of the project.

thanks morpheus

neckto

Postby neckto » October 11th, 2012, 9:26 pm

sorry for the late replies.......

well we're back from our mini vaca n brain cooler

time to get bk to work n working on suzie!!!!!!

so look out for progress updates and guys, again, feel free to pitch in your suggestions or advice

jpec

Postby jpec » October 11th, 2012, 10:16 pm

neckto wrote:
jpec wrote:wow, just read this entire thread and i must say what a good read! kudos to you man! looks great now after all that work. idk if i would have done what you did but i bet it's worth it at the end!

hey thanks for taking the time to go through n not only browse photos,.............. what would you have done differently? look for replacement chassis?

well the only thing i would have done differently is not even bother with a restoration lol...chassis alone was so much work to do to get right, i might have just sold it for scrap iron lol. but i have 100% respect for you tho, going through all that and making sure every thing was done as best as it can...mad respect! keep up the good work and i cant wait to see this build/restoration project finish! subscribed!!!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”