L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Postby venum » April 21st, 2010, 6:55 pm

Got my underbody coated already

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 21st, 2010, 9:44 pm

the aerosol one sounds more convenient.... but dont u have to like get the underbody cleaned b4 u spray that on??

l200

Postby l200 » April 22nd, 2010, 8:15 am

Yup, the area must be cleaned B 4,,,, simply spray on some degreaser, let it soak, agitate a little, then rinse, allow to dry, then you good to go.

I would be doing this, but not till around June, when I'll have more time....

Have you guys ever heard abt greasing your trays, I was advised by a farmer friend of mine and he told me its the best way to protect the tray is to grease it before you put on a duraliner, he says it gives better protection especially when you are working in chemicals (fertilizers, insecticide etc).

What do you guys think.???

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 22nd, 2010, 9:43 am

did that to mine
it forms a layer to protect the tray from moisture ect

venum

Postby venum » April 22nd, 2010, 10:19 am

I don't like the greasing option

When water (such as rain) the water gets bettween the tray and the trayliner - this is normal

When the tray is greased the water runs out oily on the back of the truck

I used 2 coats of tar based underbody coating with 2 coats of industrial black paint

Pics up in here already somewhere

Will post again

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 22nd, 2010, 10:26 am

yea agreed, but i used a spray on grease which does not do that.

my tray was painted by with a spray on coating already form factory, i just anal like that lol

l200

Postby l200 » April 23rd, 2010, 9:19 am

I was jus looking at my options, after doing the mechanical repairs I'm going to paint over in a few months, (van sleeping in the dew)= is a paint killer.

ryanm

Postby ryanm » April 27th, 2010, 7:25 am

l 200- $90-$150 for th one you spray on wit a spray gun.

What volume is in the container ?
thanks

guys I also sold my L200 K34 but still have some parts that I bought new for it if anyone interested

Pitman Arm $ 300
Outer Ends $150 x2
Inner Ends $200 x2

These are the japanese 555. bought them and realised that the ones on the van still good. Sold the van (TBC) with the original ends.
I greased them every time i change oil.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 27th, 2010, 10:19 am

ryanm, will your outter and inner end work on the 4x2? i decided to keep my van..

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 27th, 2010, 3:35 pm

boy sell it and buy meh van
it on trini cars for sale

l200

Postby l200 » April 29th, 2010, 8:55 pm

[quote="ryanm"]l 200- $90-$150 for th one you spray on wit a spray gun.

What volume is in the container ?
thanks

Not too sure, will check tomorrow, it is from automotive arts.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 30th, 2010, 8:38 am

lol i cya afford your van!

ryanm

Postby ryanm » May 1st, 2010, 8:55 am

speedaholic

i not sure. you can drop in an we cud line them up

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 1st, 2010, 8:57 am

kool

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 4th, 2010, 6:40 am

k14 L200: Engine seals, timing belts, AC, PS, Alternator, Fan belts all changed on friday.

the van idles much smoother. starts easier, and some how i getting a different drive now. dont know if its mind over matter, but i find it pulls a little better on the highways. it feels like it accelerates a little better.

still tryin to figure out if its mind over matter from drivin a governed down DMAX 2.5 turbo for a few days. lol..

the gears started to give a little trouble going in for the last two weeks. i feared the worst. but it ended up being a leaking slave cylinder. have to fix that now, leaking axle seals to the back and change diff and gearbox oil. they a bit low and can do with a changing.

speedaholic, i remembered u asked for the shroud to make a template. but if was off on friday and on on sat. i didnt hav a number and didnt hav access to internet or neting boy. sorry bout that. but if u want u can come see how this is made. u just need some thin gauge sheet metal and a straight cut shears. u can use a sharp edge and a hammer to make bends. u dont need to go to a sheet metal bending place to make it.

any body with the k14 L200 (4x2) ever raised the front of the van?????

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 4th, 2010, 2:33 pm

yo cutthroatInt,.. yea i wud like to come see that shroud of yours.. pm me ur info... we go organise somthing.. and yea i wana raise the front of my van... i dunno if it can be done tho...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 4th, 2010, 3:04 pm

a mechanic told me bout welding a coil of spring unto the stock ones in front to give it a raise. it wont be raised by much.

but if that is what he is going to do, adjustable coil overs might be worth the trick..
i havent really given it much thought yet.

i just wish these vans has torsion bars like the mazdas.

the reason for me wanting to raise the front is to put bigger tires in front.
what is yours?

i hav 30x9.5 Allterrain Roadstones in the back. i offered up a similar sized tyre 205/70/15 in front (i cant rem if that was the correct size. but it was of the same overall dimensions as the 30x9.5)

however, with that size tyre in front, it touches the front bumper, and you dont get the full turning radius, without spacers ie.

inevitably, i may not get the same size rear tyres to work in front, but i CAN get bigger tyres that wot i have on rite now once the van is raised.. I might just get away with fixing the obzucky look of the van rite now... (the rear Rooster up nah and chinky tyres in front) looks like a rail car lol.... now as bad as i making it sound though.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 4th, 2010, 3:08 pm

well my reason is... i like to drive in places where other 4x2 owners dare not to.. Eg... ride up pavement an ting na.. so i wanna raise the front so i wud be sure not to touch anywhere.. and bigger tyres are also in the back of my head..

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 4th, 2010, 3:12 pm

^^word!

i does look for places to carry this van yes.... manageable places ie.

this weekend we sposed to be exploring gran couva/tortuga/preysal area.... it have real roads in the back there.

good ting for nokia google maps on meh fone, i find meh way back to civilization last sunday yes lol....

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 5th, 2010, 6:03 pm

changed the clutch slave cylinder kit today. but i find the clutch engages lower now than before. i mean when releasing the pedal, the vehicle will move when my foot is lower compared to where it was before.

its not leaking no more, and clutch is not slipping. clutch pedal was never adjusted AKAIK. any ideas as to what cud cause this?

venum

Postby venum » May 5th, 2010, 8:17 pm

I had the same experience when I changed clutch on teh K74T

pedal was much softer too

it hardens and levels out in time (at least in my case)

post that nokia Google earth thing in teh Doiesel Boyz thread nah

them fellas still doh have faith in Google maps ( although it worked on our Edwards trace run)

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 5th, 2010, 9:00 pm

venum,

i hope the clutch pedal goes back to normal also... even tho it feels kinda nice having a soft low clutch for once. lol makes the van feel like a new vehicle..

the application on my fone not very advanced and all roads are not actually on the map.

but from that freeport to preysal run in dem back roads i never pass on, it was able to give me the general direction i needed to go in.

at first i thought i was heading tabaquite... according to the maps.. but den i hit caparo road lol... we goin back sunday for a lil drive up on that side.

what direction you all were heading on the edwards trace run? galeota side?

im working rite on the corner before edward trace dese days on the land rig that was erected and want to make a drive tru there bad!.. been yrs i havent gone tru that road..
im guess you kno u can pass tru catshill road and come out rio claro too?

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 5th, 2010, 9:04 pm

ay, its not clutch nor pressure plate that was changed eh.. just the clutch slave cylinder kit. had a small leak.

we talkin bout the same experience here now?

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » May 5th, 2010, 10:28 pm

ok i learnt the clutch system on these vans to a 'tee'.
first of all is the clutch pedal and brake pedal the same height when your feet are not on then?
if not then check the pedal adjuster for the clutch pedal.
this what you might have to do would be a problem if your a big fella.
but look at the firewall where the clutch pedal comes into the cabin. you would see a dust cap and through that would be a rod turn the rod (use a plier) check to see if the pedal is going up or down Clockwise is how you need to turn it if the pedal is too low.

if the pedals are the same height then you Clutch Master Cylinder rubber need to change. the indicator for this is when you raise the dust cap and see brake fluid.
change it and then adjust the pedal to the same height with the brakes or where ever you feel most comfy.

hope that was helpful!!! :D

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 6th, 2010, 12:49 pm

rite now the clutch pedal lower than the brake pedal.. and ex pedal is the lowest...

the stiffness in the clutch returned after driving this morning so everything back to normal..

i kinda like the way the pedal positions are rite now... my left foot dont have to be too high up while driving.. so its kinda comfortable..

back to a previous questions, raising the front of a k14... any suggestions/comments?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 6th, 2010, 1:46 pm

larger springs...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 6th, 2010, 2:10 pm

what bout the shocks to be used when using larger (longer) springs?

i know TTORC guys use E24 Back shocks when they do spring over axel conversion on their Jimnys.

the mechanic who told me bout welding a coil of spring unto the stock ones said no need to change the shocks as it wont raise by much.

wot spring u suggest using then?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 6th, 2010, 2:17 pm

idk... prob a spring from the 4wd k34

cutthroatInt

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby cutthroatInt » May 12th, 2010, 12:11 pm

Tuner lookin nice now lol

I changed Gearbox oil today. Used Castrol EP90... it took 2 1/2 qrts including a little bit to flush out the box of the old oil.

what brand oil will you guys recommend for the diff? i'll be using 140 weight at the back but not sure wot brand to use rite now.

venum

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby venum » May 12th, 2010, 8:48 pm

what spring allyuh talking bout :?:

the front don"t have any spring

leaf spring :?:

not sure if K34 leaf springs will fit on a K14

K34 fits on K74

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”