how to stop bouncing in frontier?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Postby ronsin1 » October 21st, 2008, 8:10 pm

the base model frontier comes with 205/75/15 and it bounced all over the place I replaced the tyres with 235/60/15 and since the bounce has reduced it sits more comfortable on the road and when taking corners

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 21st, 2008, 9:12 pm

Sell it. Frontiers suck. Buy a L200. It not, I heard you could change the torsion bar and it would help with the bouncing.

But seriously,get a better van,the bouncyness dz cause a lot of frontier to write off.

damieG82,does the frontier have springs up front,most van dont right?I might be wrong

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 22nd, 2008, 5:55 am

Greypatch wrote:pretty much...like it still have some issues..

how does it compare to the lux or ranger ?

well it dont ride like de Primera i had before :roll:

better ride than the Lux fo sho....ranger has a slightly better ride 8-)

jmayers

Postby jmayers » October 22nd, 2008, 6:31 am

Toyopet wrote:Sell it. Frontiers suck. Buy a L200. It not, I heard you could change the torsion bar and it would help with the bouncing.

But seriously,get a better van,the bouncyness dz cause a lot of frontier to write off.

damieG82,does the frontier have springs up front,most van dont right?I might be wrong
can't sell jus yet i jus bought it. Thought that fellow owners of frontiers that would me faced similar problems would be able to help. Got some good advice from most.

Postby Greypatch » October 22nd, 2008, 8:57 am

the D40 does rides better than tje lux :shock:

so the ranger has the best ride then

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 22nd, 2008, 9:09 am

its between the ranger and the BT-50 from what i hear :roll:

Postby Greypatch » October 22nd, 2008, 9:47 am

basically same van,...

so

Ranger/BT 50
D40
Lux
everybody else

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 22nd, 2008, 10:17 am

The Mazdas does still bounce much more than the Hilux when you coming up the highway particularly in Caroni...

Frontier -->> bounce --> rebound --> Woah! --> Rollercoaster? --> phew... settles

Mazda -->> bounce --> rebound --> boingoing... settles

Hilux --> bounce --> ouchie --> settles...

Postby wagon r » October 22nd, 2008, 10:22 am

i know my van bounces i tad bit more only because i added 150lbs to the front...

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » October 22nd, 2008, 10:37 am

bleedingfreak wrote:The Mazdas does still bounce much more than the Hilux when you coming up the highway particularly in Caroni...

Frontier -->> bounce --> rebound --> Woah! --> Rollercoaster? --> phew... settles

BTW, allyuh referring to the new hilux or models before?

cause by caroni its....
Hilux --> bounce --> weeeee I'm airborne --> settles...

and dont forget the ranger...

Ranger -->> bounce --> rebound --> boingoing--> Squeak squeak (like a old matress spring)... settles

:D

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 22nd, 2008, 10:39 am

323_wagon_dude wrote:
bleedingfreak wrote:The Mazdas does still bounce much more than the Hilux when you coming up the highway particularly in Caroni...

BTW, allyuh referring to the new hilux or models before?

cause by caroni its....
Hilux --> bounce --> weeeee I'm airborne --> settles...

and dont forget the ranger...

Ranger -->> bounce --> rebound --> boingoing--> Squeak squeak (like a old matress spring)... settles

:D

Nah nah... I am

Hilux --> bounce --> ouchie

Postby Team Loco » October 27th, 2008, 5:00 pm

tie the suspension with rope.....that should work

jackal

Postby jackal » October 29th, 2008, 5:49 am

The Frontier was design for off-road and carrying load. What I did to mine is place 5, five gallon containers and fill them up to about 2/3 fill and secure them to the back of the truck. You can tune the ride by adjusting the levels of the water depending on your driving/riding comfort. Off course you would lose some storage space in the tray, but that depends on what you want, load carrying capabilities or a smooth ride. The setting I have on mine gives me a ride that is smooth and rides like a big car. The corning ability is much improved and there is no revving of tires when pulling off from stop, the bounciness has stopped . When I have to carry load, just remove the containers and I have the full try to use.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 29th, 2008, 7:12 am

jackal wrote:The Frontier was design for off-road and carrying load. What I did to mine is place 5, five gallon containers and fill them up to about 2/3 fill and secure them to the back of the truck. You can tune the ride by adjusting the levels of the water depending on your driving/riding comfort. Off course you would lose some storage space in the tray, but that depends on what you want, load carrying capabilities or a smooth ride. The setting I have on mine gives me a ride that is smooth and rides like a big car. The corning ability is much improved and there is no revving of tires when pulling off from stop, the bounciness has stopped . When I have to carry load, just remove the containers and I have the full try to use.

All pickups work this way. The drive 100% better under moderate load. and 100% worse under severe / max load.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 30th, 2008, 12:41 pm

Sell it- Buy a FORD!!

Postby Greypatch » November 13th, 2008, 8:02 pm

never

Postby Team Loco » November 15th, 2008, 8:06 pm

buy plenty bungee cords

Postby Greypatch » November 17th, 2008, 9:36 am

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 18th, 2008, 7:16 am

bleedingfreak wrote:
jackal wrote:The Frontier was design for off-road and carrying load. What I did to mine is place 5, five gallon containers and fill them up to about 2/3 fill and secure them to the back of the truck. You can tune the ride by adjusting the levels of the water depending on your driving/riding comfort. Off course you would lose some storage space in the tray, but that depends on what you want, load carrying capabilities or a smooth ride. The setting I have on mine gives me a ride that is smooth and rides like a big car. The corning ability is much improved and there is no revving of tires when pulling off from stop, the bounciness has stopped . When I have to carry load, just remove the containers and I have the full try to use.

All pickups work this way. The drive 100% better under moderate load. and 100% worse under severe / max load.

agreed.....

Postby Team Loco » November 18th, 2008, 10:59 pm

what about adjusting the torsion bar?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » November 19th, 2008, 6:20 am

^^ The torsion bar would affect the height... I don't think it'll affect the bounce feeling.

I agree with Biggy statement above. These vehicles are designed to carry loads...

Postby Team Loco » November 19th, 2008, 7:56 am

Well this doesn't apply to the front, but when the frontier was released, I was approached by a wholesaler who was selling a mechanism to attach to the back springs to smoothen out the ride. Its basic principle was to allow greater weight on the van. It was a large spring attached to the front and back of the leaf spring.besides allowing greater towing power, it kinda smoothen out the ride.

Postby Greypatch » November 19th, 2008, 9:14 am

interesting

Postby equipped2ripp » November 19th, 2008, 2:57 pm

Team Loco wrote:Well this doesn't apply to the front, but when the frontier was released, I was approached by a wholesaler who was selling a mechanism to attach to the back springs to smoothen out the ride. Its basic principle was to allow greater weight on the van. It was a large spring attached to the front and back of the leaf spring.besides allowing greater towing power, it kinda smoothen out the ride.

Roadmaster Suspension kit?

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » November 19th, 2008, 6:36 pm

TL - you mean it was attached to between the shackles and the spring bundle?

that wouldnt stiffen the back more?

jmayers

Postby jmayers » November 20th, 2008, 5:51 am

very interesting!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 20th, 2008, 7:22 am

equipped2ripp, save another badge for yuh bro eh :mrgreen:

jjacelon1

Postby jjacelon1 » April 4th, 2009, 11:15 pm

Oy... if yuh buy a pogo-stick yuh really expect it to run like a Hilux ?!?!
bwahahahaha !

Boy sell the child's toy and buy a real truck (Hilux) b4 you bounce off the road like so many b4 U..

Postby Greypatch » April 5th, 2009, 7:20 pm

u mek ah 5 month bump to seh dat

Postby sliderz1 » April 3rd, 2010, 10:19 pm

d front suspension in the frontiers are double wishbone,,,,, NO SPRINGS just a torsion bar and shock absorber........you'll get accostomed to it.....I DID ....besides its durable as hell.........gr8 vehicles 0X

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”