Build Project: Suzie!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
neckto

Re: Bought a Pickup Finally

Postby neckto » August 10th, 2012, 7:45 pm

ok daily update

finally got the cab off after alot heehawing, what a morning

Cab on the way up

img]http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/data/89/IMG00596-20120810-0929.jpg[/img]

Sheet Metal for Chassis work is here finally, cant believe this sheit so expensive now. Remember paying 400 for this
Full 1/8” thickness

Home made dumbjacks FTW

Rims actuqlyy have potential to look good
Time for Lift Kit??? Lol

Chassis finally out and ready for clean n pre welding prep

That cab / chassis lift out and separation is NOT a two man job – yes two people did it but I wouldn’t advise it, I also wouldn’t advise some of the supporting contraptions we used here, if u have the resources better to fabricate some metal rigs etc

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 10th, 2012, 11:35 pm

wow

just wow ... amazed at the effort going into this

Postby sliderz1 » August 11th, 2012, 11:06 am

what protective agent/coating you plan use on the chassis?

neckto

Postby neckto » August 11th, 2012, 2:42 pm

Hey Slow, thanks

hoping this project if it is successful, would be a kinda of guide via pics to anyone who wants to do DIY body/ partial mechanical repairs but was too scared of the unknowns to make any attempts, now I just wish it was a 4X4 project tho

Sliderz - Going to Prime chassis chassis with Gery Oxide primer (Zinc chromate) then look for a durable chassis paint, if you have any recommendation for chassis paint or on any other area feel free to shoot your suggestions we can all benefit from the experience of each other

neckto

Postby neckto » August 11th, 2012, 2:46 pm

oh yea any suggestions on how to get paint inside the chassis itself?

is there any special apparatus like a extendible flexible paint spray device, i would love to be able to coat the inside if not i would just have to rig up something

neckto

Postby neckto » August 11th, 2012, 7:18 pm

finally found my data cable lol

SATURDAY
Well not much today, weather was not too good, just some cleaning. Its amazing what a gallon of Purple blaster and a pressure washer would do. Wouldve preffered to wash down when the place was sunny so everything would dry out quicker/better but it couldn’t be put off cause welder supposed to come in the morning.

Cleanup inside gearbox too

Seems gas tank was repaired previously. Hope the gauge etc working properly. Still have to empty and clean out the inside somehow
Even the rims starting to look decent, I wonder where I can find centre caps for these.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » August 11th, 2012, 8:12 pm

I admire effort going into this. Good luck man. As for the rims, those look like L200 rims, maybe Chinee's Wrecking in Friendship or any other places like that for the caps.

neckto

Postby neckto » August 11th, 2012, 8:28 pm

hey thanks Toyopet, will check check them

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 11th, 2012, 8:37 pm

its pajero rims to be exact ,most missing the center cover

droppa

Postby droppa » August 12th, 2012, 12:23 am

looking good so far man...

as for paints, FT Farfan has some rustoleum paints, have some aluminum and black from them, 70sumting a quart, but it works good on the chassis and rims of the truck...

neckto

Postby neckto » August 13th, 2012, 12:21 am

Thanks, will check it out if I get up on that side, hoping the paint shop would have a quality solution as well though

Well the wonderful weather kept the welder in his bed........sigh........hopefully he would come out tom
So did some more scrapping n cleaning,
Removed all fuel & brake lines from chassis and electrical harness, all clips and mounts, removed exhaust piping
Took off the rear wheels to see what the hub and brake setup looks like and more great news
Brake shoes Worn to the bone, caused damage to the piston housing, may have to be replaced

Decided to check out the fuel tank closer, first lets see what the fuel looks like

Not too bad right?
Still not too bad
Not much sediment
BOOM!!!
Look how everyone going to run buy fuel conditioner now lol
For those who don’t know what the fuel gauge (in the tank) looks like

A peek into the fuel tank

Might as well clean the inside one time, no I don’t know what I am doing
Full some water and a mild liquid detergent and shake shake, shake, then empty, and spray the insides to get out the scum n suds
Using an old nozzle without the adjuster I placed this in the tank and moved it around to let the sprayer wash the insides
Rinse a couple times till water comes out with no suds or sediment, turn over and shake and twist and every angle to get the most water out as possible
Set tanks down, use blow dryer to warm up the insides and dry the walls, I then took a torch light and looked in to se if it was clean and if there was water, there was two little pool of water which settled on the bottom, I took a broomstick with cotton tied to the end and placed it on the water to let it be absorbed by the cotton and then used the blow dryer again to heat up insides and complete drying.

This was my method; I found that it worked ok. Maybe others have better methods they would like to share

Val

Postby Val » August 13th, 2012, 11:16 am

I admire your commitment, I would have given up long time.
On the bright side, you will learn a lot from the rebuild.

I would've stuck a wet vacuum nozzle in there to pull out the remaining water.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 13th, 2012, 1:19 pm

oster.. daiz good brand hyardryar dere boi pardna!

neckto

Postby neckto » August 13th, 2012, 6:15 pm

thanks for the support val........my thinking if it need that amount of work, might as well do it as best i can one time, a lil more time/work/money but will definitely be worth it in the long run. whoever get this van after will like themselves

Didn't have a wet vac....... would've definitely been handy

lol yea that hair dryer have some real age and still working good

neckto

Postby neckto » August 13th, 2012, 6:17 pm

now where the firetruck is the welder

droppa

Postby droppa » August 14th, 2012, 12:21 am

yuh going real good pal, when you finished, you will real like this van, the feeling of rebuilding something from ground up is great....

i would advise that you tag and bag as you scrap, and try to clean and paint as you clean and repair.......

neckto

Postby neckto » August 14th, 2012, 7:32 pm

yea Bro..........good advice

and i seen ur projects so i know is experience talking

right now im just frustrated, still waiting on the welder, everyday he calling n saying tomorrow...sigh

droppa

Postby droppa » August 15th, 2012, 12:37 am

trini tradesman again for yuh hoss..........real therapy and run around....yuh have to hold strain and bite the grind, mih boi holdin strain rel long with his surflux, but there is hope!!!!!!

neckto

Postby neckto » August 15th, 2012, 9:22 am

lol ent!!

well he came last night n drop off his tools, said he got kept back from finishing his last job cause of the rains and didn't want to jump from job to job and lave the other guy hanging, i can respect that, he sup to start this morning, unfortunately i working morning shift so i don't know what going on till I get home this afternoon :-(

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » August 15th, 2012, 2:03 pm

hey Just an update Isuzu uses aftermarket shocks on this van according to the software part no 94459918 for tokico and 94446374 for kayaba... does not make sense to bring these in as you can get them here locally at an affordable price...let me know if you choose kayaba I know the distributor and i can get you a better price.

neckto

Postby neckto » August 15th, 2012, 6:38 pm

ok ryan, email me when u have the updated PDFs and the other prices, have more to add tothe list like brake shoes, disc pads, caliper piston housing

neckto

Postby neckto » August 16th, 2012, 12:22 pm

anyone have a peice of 1-1/2 schedule 40 pipe i can buy or get? approx 4-5 ft long?

So the welder came yesterday, so the repair work has begun, I wasn’t around for most of it cause of work so pics don’t really do the job justice, I hope to be around later on in the week so I can take pics of him doing a repair in steps

All the old sheit that was cut out, seems the bastards used the spring leafs and sut those up to do the repair onsite wherever the van was

New section with extra plating for reinforcement in inner side

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 16th, 2012, 12:52 pm

looks clean

neckto

Postby neckto » August 16th, 2012, 12:59 pm

yea this guy is a good welder/ fabricator, i saw some of his previous work building truck trays etc so that's why i decided to pay the extra for him to do the work. he takes his time and does a good job

Postby sliderz1 » August 16th, 2012, 1:08 pm

neckto wrote: seems the bastards used the spring leafs and cut those up to do the repair onsite wherever the van was

:shock: :|

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 16th, 2012, 3:06 pm

dem coconut looking real dry!

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » August 16th, 2012, 3:29 pm

:oops: :lol: lol....I thought was me alone see the coconut ...

neckto

Postby neckto » August 17th, 2012, 8:14 am

Aye Aye, dem coconut only looking so, i will cut one n show u all lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 18th, 2012, 9:13 am

^^ good for a lil break and refreshing ice cold drink??

Weld work looking good, need that to be strong and solid to keep the truck together.
Sheet metal really expensive now, i bought a 4x8 3/16'ths at BWS recently, friggin $995 for a sheet!

neckto

Postby neckto » August 19th, 2012, 2:42 pm

Well the welding works continues, pace is slow but has to be slow, for this level of surgery to be strong structurally and correct in term of line ups and other measurements

Oh yea I did forget you guys bashing my coconut lol

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”