Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
jhonnieblue

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby jhonnieblue » November 16th, 2010, 1:02 pm

well my windscreen just got cracked by a stone :(
where to replace, at the firm or outside?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 17th, 2010, 6:23 am

outside would be cheaper.
Double Zee or Bobby's.

Would your insurance cover it?

And stop driving behind big trucks or guys with 24" crims and 285-wide tyres. 8)

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 17th, 2010, 8:05 am

wow interesting developments,
my insurance would cover it right but Massey is saying if i dont change it by them i lose my warranty
wth

going to call the service manger today to confirm if this is really so
btw windshield and installation from Massey is12k, as quoted from them yesterday
sad thin is they dont even have the molding in stock and wont have it till the end of December!!!
insurance only cover to 7k btw
my van was a red light by mount hope when this happened, i hav no idea how that stone could have hit me

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 17th, 2010, 9:09 am

i changed mine and never heard that...warranty on what exactly???

changed by @ SRF.....installation was like $1200 or sum so.....

DOUBLE ZEE doesn't have OEM glass btw

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 17th, 2010, 9:18 am

u have a contact number for SRF? where is that btw

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 28th, 2010, 12:10 pm

Aaron 2nr - ARF has oem nissan glass?

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 28th, 2010, 6:15 pm

they would purchase it from N&M

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 29th, 2010, 8:36 am

really, N&M north does buy their windshields from double zee

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 29th, 2010, 8:43 am

dont anything about that.....when i was going to change mine, double z has an alternative glass and not oem and that was for the navara as well as the 2010 civic

chris007

Postby chris007 » December 3rd, 2010, 12:13 am

After running navara hard down the highway I realised a diesel leak developed from the 2nd and 3rd injectors, i would like to purchase a set of diesel fuel injectors for the yd25 engine or a injector seal kit, i believe the O ring may have damaged . Any supporting assistance would be greatly appreciated as well

chris007

Postby chris007 » December 4th, 2010, 2:52 am

got them from the motorist auto shop

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » December 10th, 2010, 2:42 pm

doing a service soon...ne recommendations on oil, oil filter, air box filter, etc?...also got a k&n air filter from that place in valpark...ah know k&n ehh making ne for we navara's but this one fitted perfect...haven't installed it yet though!...was waiting until i serviced the vehicle before ah added it in!...also where do u guys go to speed balance, align and camber?...got 22" rims by the way!

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » December 10th, 2010, 4:08 pm

shagadelic99tt wrote:doing a service soon...ne recommendations on oil, oil filter, air box filter, etc?...also got a k&n air filter from that place in valpark...ah know k&n ehh making ne for we navara's but this one fitted perfect...haven't installed it yet though!...was waiting until i serviced the vehicle before ah added it in!...also where do u guys go to speed balance, align and camber?...got 22" rims by the way!

i need to get me a k&N also the rep actually told me to get one lol , as for oil use AMSOIL they will let u go 10000km before an oil change , i normally buy all my stuff outside of massy and its usually a few hundred bucks cheaper in total , the air filter being the most expensive of the lot, i am looking for a nice set of 22" status knight 6 (black dish ) have not seen them any where guess i have to order them , have u seen any major changes in ride quality ??? ,
My advice to you is, when u going for service put back on the original wheels ( rep told me to do so ) so if u have suspension problems occurs massy would fix it and not make excuses of you voiding your suspension warranty because of 22" as for speed balance have not really done that yet ,

I recently did service and started hearing a noise ( pulsing noise )i thought it was a belt of something , on further investigating i realized it was coming form around the turbo area , so i took the van to massy the next day , i was told that some thing was wrong with the boost solenoid and that i would have to come back on the 20th of this month to have it fixed but i can drive it as normal , hummm ,i will let u all know how that goes

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » December 10th, 2010, 8:24 pm

well actually doing my service by a private mech...last oil change i used mobile1 delvac...but as u say d amsoil will give me more mileage right?...getting a ziggly ride...last time that occured i did an align and camber and the prob stopped by not for long...prob cause of the everday highway runs at 120 and over...lol...that highway does pelt off alignment like nunnin....well will let u know how the k&n i have works when i install it early next week...as for oil filter what would u guys recommend?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 10th, 2010, 9:40 pm

^^ Shagadelic99tt,

once your rim size goes 1-2 inches over stock (i.e. in the range of 20's and above) the alignment starts to go quite easily. This is due to the lower sidewall of the tyre, plus the stiffer material used to make the sidewalls. Couple that with the fact that most of your wheel diameter is now metal (22-inch) - means that there's very little flex and give whenever you hit a road-bump.

Translation = more metal plus stiffer sidewalls = easily thrown off Alignment..

As for the oils - once it's a synthetic oil (Mobil 1 and Amsoil are both synthetics) your change interval would be 10,000km. Oil filter - you can use OEM nissan, check The Motorist for the filters. But make sure to change the filters regularly though.

Where did you get the K&N, how much did it cost and how's the performance so far?
I had installed a K&N in my frontier and it increased the response significantly. Didn't really affect the top-speed, but the acceleration was improved quite a bit.

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » December 11th, 2010, 7:48 am

ok kool...well since i've been using the mobile1, i stick to that then...well crossed 5000km and ehh do a service yet...kinda sticking....also how often should oil filters be changed?...the k&n was bought from a place in Valpark forgot d name, but once yuh in Valpark yuh cyah miss d place cause they have alot of car accessories...ne ways paid $700...haven't installed it yet though...but will let u know how it works when i do next week...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 11th, 2010, 8:09 am

You bought it from Auto Image then.
They kinda expensive, but they're the only place that has the K&N for the Navara.

Teknet on French Street, POS has all the other K&N filters for slightly cheaper, so does Carboutique in St James.

You should change the filter as regular as you change the oil. Most oils can go up to 7500km, but beyond 5000-6000km the performance and lubricating qualities of the oil will start to break down.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 11th, 2010, 7:00 pm

Bought the K&N Filter for my Navara 2.5 LE today.
Got it at a car-parts store in Valpark.

Cost - $695.
fekking expensive.
Part No - 332198

It's the same filter used in the Hyundai Santa Fe.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 11th, 2010, 10:00 pm

greedy u got the same prob as me with the turbo solenoid, strange 2 new navs now with that
wonder if its a defect
i should be doing my 20k next week, what should i be looking to change and where could i get the oem parts outside to take to massey to change for me?

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » December 12th, 2010, 9:08 am

yea "lighthammer" that's the same filter that i've got...if yuh install it before me let us know how it works...get in a lil fender bender with a wall so the van going in by the straightner, so might end up doing the service a little later than anticipated!

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » December 12th, 2010, 3:41 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:greedy u got the same prob as me with the turbo solenoid, strange 2 new navs now with that
wonder if its a defect
i should be doing my 20k next week, what should i be looking to change and where could i get the oem parts outside to take to massey to change for me?

man i get all filters and small items outside ROC in the bamboo and there are a few small places in princes town that has original filters at good prices the rep and the service center told me to get an k&N as the price is similar to that of a new nissan air filter .

Thanks to this post i will be ordering a filter soon
THANKS TO lighthammer
K&N Filter for Navara 2.5 LE
Part No - 332198
It's the same filter used in the Hyundai Santa Fe.

i am staying away from massy and motorists , to expensive , as for the solenoid its vibrating and the sound is transfered to the body of the vehicle i hear it only when i am idling and the van is parked or stopped hopefully its a easy fix and they sort it out fast

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 13th, 2010, 9:42 am

guys anyone know the number for ROC
looking for the air filter and diseil filter outside
have a service appointment wed 20k
they say the estimated cost is 3100

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » December 13th, 2010, 9:21 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:guys anyone know the number for ROC
looking for the air filter and diseil filter outside
have a service appointment wed 20k
they say the estimated cost is 3100

CRAP i looking for the call card and i cant find it , but i am sure i gave u this number a while ago sorry man , but if u find the card i will pm your , they bring in all original parts for all types of vans and prices are good but u could try some any parts place u see u will be surprised what u can get , thats how i found some of my stuff , u could try parts solution in P town and get your self a K&N and as soon as massy replace the old filter with a new one , pull it out and place the kn in then just use the new filter in the van when u taking it to service u will figure it how it works all in all u will end up with two original filters one dirty and one clean and a k&N use the kn , place the old one back in when u going for service give them the clean and tell them in new just put it back in the box lol , then swap it out for the k&N again and repeat the process easy ent , the k&N works well from what i am told so its a good investment

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 15th, 2010, 1:04 pm

well i got the parts came up top 460, not bad at all :)
however the horror story begins at the stealership :evil:
imagine for a diesel filter,air filter and coolant change the charge me 1600!!!!!!!
WTH
i could do that myself dread, i watch them do it and they dint do a singel thing else, not even inspect the suspension, nothing
this service is not worth it one bit!!!!!!!!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 15th, 2010, 7:13 pm

^^ jhonnie - that's the same thing my salesrep had warned me about. The first service will be free, and then the 5000km service will be $1500 approx and each service after that will be $1600-$1800 average.

That new "quikservice" bay that they built down the hill from the morvant showroom looks really nice, but you can see everything the mech's doing.

First of all, they looking real scruffy-scruffy, esp that skinny rasta dude (well, being that they located in morvant, is no surprise). Then they driving your vehicle real rough into the service bay, skidding tyres and pulling off hard.
On top of that, when I went for the first 1000km service, I see the tech walk to the storage area with two seemingly empty bottles of castrol hypuron (they look empty cuz he swinging his hands holding the bottles) and then walk back out with two full bottles, yet I saw the caps seals broken. When I asked later, he said they use their own storage tanks with Castrol Hypuron oil, which measures out the exact amount of oil needed. Getting the oil from a bond means the oil has time to settle and gather debris, fungus, moss, etc. I'd prefer to bring my own oil and ensure it's fresh.

$1600 seems like a lot just for an oil/oil filter/coolant change alone. Even when I service the ol' frontier at Laughlin and Degannes (who themselves are expensive), a service never crosses $600 for me (including buying the shell rimula R4 from them).

Warranty my @ss.... Might as well just change the stuff ourselves and have a few garage limes too, ent?

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » December 15th, 2010, 7:30 pm

light hammer that sounds good but i giving them about two more services then i might drop them your are definitely not getting what u pay for , just caryy all your stuff and they just charge around 600 for the service ,

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 15th, 2010, 7:43 pm

^^ yeah I think i'll do that too - wait until after the 10,000 or 15,000km service, just to make sure all the kinks are ironed out before going solo...

Having said so, I think I gonna try to get Amsoil by the case along with the cetane boost. Called tony from Prolube and he can provide them by the case, and it's working out much cheaper. I worked out the cetane boost application intervals, a case of 16oz bottles x12 per case will give you approx 24 months worth of cetane boost treatments!!!

And if I split a case with one of u guys, half a case of 6 bottles will give you about one year's worth of cetane boost applications!!! (using only 2 ounces of cetane boost per tankful, since it's a concentrate).

then it'll be time for the 3-inch lift and mudd tyres... and maybe a snorkel?? :D :D

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 15th, 2010, 9:22 pm

um that 1600 wasnt for oil chnage u know
my oil is every 10k so its due the next one not this tune up
all they did was change the diesel flter, air filter and flush the radiator!!!
so no oil was touched
and i supplied all the parts!!
thats crap in my book
i could do all that and more by myself
and they realll dirty up my nav!!!
i just finish clean the inside propely
N&M is a big waste
my first 5k service was 600 casue i took the oil
10k 700,15k free, they were suspose to change tranny oil at 20k, nothing done
no suspension checks cause the van did not even get hoisted up
BIG RIP OFF, but the only reason im keeping the warranty for now is cause i know bout the lil troule navs give so i want everything ironed out so 1 more year of this crap then im out!!!
the turbo soleniod seems to be giving trouble on new navs, heard them havin to change 2 while i was there
and im gettin some noise fro the tray too!!

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » December 15th, 2010, 9:35 pm

interesting my last service was 1300 they change oil and air filter so thats about approx. 160 oil +450 air +600 for service they did check suspension and stuff i always tell them i hearing noise ( which some times i do when i am leveling potholes ) and to my surprise no noise again, o well monday for the solenoid change

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 16th, 2010, 8:38 am

450 for air filter??
i brought it by ROC for 195

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”