QD32 diesel engine... What do you know?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
The Bamboo Online

Re: QD32 diesel engine... What do you know?

Postby The Bamboo Online » May 20th, 2013, 1:19 pm

Then it took you 2 years to join tuner

Postby sliderz1 » May 20th, 2013, 1:23 pm

correct

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 21st, 2013, 3:33 pm

hey i know a guy thats looking for qd32 TURBO must be turbo diesel pump!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! need this asap pm me please

unilever2012

Postby unilever2012 » May 28th, 2013, 8:12 am

WTB A TRANNY FOR MY QD32 URGENTLY

Postby sliderz1 » May 28th, 2013, 10:44 pm

i'd like to know the price of that. are those 4speed with O/D?

droppa

Postby droppa » May 29th, 2013, 10:55 am

qd tranny is about 9K, by bamboo marketing, 18K eng and trans complete, cable pump

TTBrain

Postby TTBrain » July 23rd, 2013, 2:43 am

Alright fellaz i have a interest in the QD32 engine, and out of curiosity i wondering something, is it even remotely possible to marry the QD engine to a completely different transmission like a SR or the RB trany??, or anything els for that matter?........now before you ask why yuh wanna do dat!! it has always been my experience "while in maxi" and not saying that everyone maxi is d same but it always seem to me like the gear-range is rly short, now i askin with interest on if its possible to drop that engine in a car and with that in mind was wondering if it had anyway to get a more immediate power response all out of curiosity again XD. And i new so doh eat meh up if what i saying doh make any sense.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 23rd, 2013, 11:37 am

Yeah. Most td27 and qd32 makes its power at a low rpm and needs shifting very fast. I understand what you mean

bad bird

Postby bad bird » September 27th, 2013, 9:00 pm

how about the turbos on the qd32, how well do they hold up?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 27th, 2013, 9:18 pm

better than the Non turbo models.

gundelero

Postby gundelero » October 1st, 2013, 3:28 pm

can the qd32 engine be mated to an auto transmission?
also, can this arrangement be installed in a 4wd diesel suv?
what would i have to look out for when doing an install like this, such as engine mounts, transmission mounts, wheel differential, etc.?
please advise.
i know someone who is interested in installing it in a 2005 kia sorento.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 1st, 2013, 4:39 pm

Nope. Just rwd using a caravan transmission.

Postby sliderz1 » October 1st, 2013, 9:20 pm

you need to find that from a Pathfinder or Terrano that may be laying around

jattsrobby

Postby jattsrobby » October 1st, 2013, 10:38 pm

need a hook up on a qd32 eng and tranny, anyone with info? much appreciated.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » October 2nd, 2013, 7:46 am

gundelero wrote:can the qd32 engine be mated to an auto transmission?
also, can this arrangement be installed in a 4wd diesel suv?
what would i have to look out for when doing an install like this, such as engine mounts, transmission mounts, wheel differential, etc.?
please advise.
i know someone who is interested in installing it in a 2005 kia sorento.

Firstly, most QD32s come with Auto transmission in the bamboo these days, and there are at least two versions that are 4WD [floorshift and E24].

The most important thing to check if you need the 4wd to work is which side the front drive shaft runs down [left or right], sitting in the vehicle QD/TD runs down the left.
Isuzu 4j/c223, Mitsubishi 4d56/4m40, Toyota 2L/3L down the right side.

Hopefully the front and rear axles have the same or close ratios as the vehicle the engine came out of too. :idea:

Honestly in addition to the huge price of the engine, tranny, mounts, shafts and ECU there is alot of physical work to be done.

Both the front and rear crossmember may need work, be sure to use the Pathfinder or Frontier QD32
with the narrow and deep rear sump to clear the front diff. I'm sure I missed some things........

gundelero

Postby gundelero » October 2nd, 2013, 8:06 am

thanks for the info.

batsona

Postby batsona » August 17th, 2014, 11:39 am

someone said we can use the sr 20 box on the qd32

Esharcangel

Postby Esharcangel » August 19th, 2014, 2:46 pm

What's the best body of oil to use forthe QD32. Currently using Castrol 15 40w.
Wondering if to use a straight body now?
Any suggestions?
Van's doing 120000km

gonzo6285

Postby gonzo6285 » March 31st, 2015, 11:45 am

Good day,

Having issues with my ZD30 in a Frontier, considering a QD32 turbo conversion but I have a couple questions.

1. What is the going price of the QD32 turbo and N/A engine and automatic 4x4 transmission, brain, harness etc now in 2015
2. If i go with the engine only, would it work with my current 5fwd gearbox?
3. :cry: neatness is a concern, where can i get the automatic console?

Recommendations on a good mechanic?

Andre

Postby Ted_v2 » March 31st, 2015, 5:25 pm

its pretty simple.

from what i gather the bellhousing can be swapped over and use the same gearbox.

a automatic swap is simple RWD however the 4wd can be pretty hard in terms of the transfer box ect i really cant answer it.

a qd32 NA goes for 9kish, prices kinda sketchy around the bamboo.

wasbinator

Postby wasbinator » April 7th, 2015, 12:15 pm

TTBrain wrote:Alright fellaz i have a interest in the QD32 engine, and out of curiosity i wondering something, is it even remotely possible to marry the QD engine to a completely different transmission like a SR or the RB trany??, or anything els for that matter?........now before you ask why yuh wanna do dat!! it has always been my experience "while in maxi" and not saying that everyone maxi is d same but it always seem to me like the gear-range is rly short, now i askin with interest on if its possible to drop that engine in a car and with that in mind was wondering if it had anyway to get a more immediate power response all out of curiosity again XD. And i new so doh eat meh up if what i saying doh make any sense.

I had a TD27-Turbo mated to a RB20 gearbox & it totally killed the engine... lost ALL of my off-the-line "oomph" & took forever to build up speed...

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 20th, 2015, 10:58 pm

Anyone has a link to the QD32 Service manual?, i am looking for Cylinder head torque specs.

a damn $5.00 hose clip broke, water leaked out, engine....Not starting..

sigh...

Postby sliderz1 » April 21st, 2015, 9:42 am

i posted in the service manual thread in stickies

FARMBOY

Postby FARMBOY » July 14th, 2015, 6:45 pm

Guys,
Has any one ever changed out the qd transmission to a zd30 transmission???

Electroman

Postby Electroman » September 2nd, 2016, 7:53 pm

Help plzzz i have a QD32 and on mornings it starts with the first tumble but after 30sec it cuts-off then i have to use the primer pump to get it started again i go through this routine about four times before it finally ideal without cutting-off, then when i go from point "A" to "B" and leave it switched off for 2hrs and come back it does the same thing all over again, i've changed both filters, primer pump and glow plugs i even changed the hose clamps, i blow out the lines thinking there was a blockage and I'm still getting the same problem please help I'm open to any suggestions i've been to 3 mechanics and they are all puzzled this is going on three months now. Everywhere i go i smell like diesel cause i'm always priming :cry:

Postby Ted_v2 » September 13th, 2016, 9:51 pm

Had a similar problem with a wl, turns out it was partial problem with the primer pump and injector pump.

I installed a electrical pump, a low pressure pump. Tapped off glow plugs.
So whenever I heat, the pump primes, this makes changing fuel filters a breeze too.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 20th, 2016, 3:33 pm

Electroman wrote:Help plzzz i have a QD32 and on mornings it starts with the first tumble but after 30sec it cuts-off then i have to use the primer pump to get it started again i go through this routine about four times before it finally ideal without cutting-off, then when i go from point "A" to "B" and leave it switched off for 2hrs and come back it does the same thing all over again, i've changed both filters, primer pump and glow plugs i even changed the hose clamps, i blow out the lines thinking there was a blockage and I'm still getting the same problem please help I'm open to any suggestions i've been to 3 mechanics and they are all puzzled this is going on three months now. Everywhere i go i smell like diesel cause i'm always priming :cry:

there may be a breakage in the line somewhere and it's slowly leaking/sucking in air. Had this same problem with a TD27 just the other day.

Also check all copper washers to make sure they sealing properly.

qd32tuner

Postby qd32tuner » October 8th, 2019, 3:59 pm

Can anyone say if a QD32 turbo engine replace an qd32 non-turbo engine?

thanks in advance

jaithon

Postby jaithon » October 8th, 2019, 7:05 pm

Yes it could.

K_Ali

Postby K_Ali » October 17th, 2019, 3:31 pm

Hello All,

I did a conversion recently from YD25 to QD32, I have some minor things to finish.

One of which is the AC System, I got the lines made and connect to the QD32 Compressor.

The issue is that the Switch in the Van does not send power to the Compressor, No voltage is sent to the Relay.

If you connect power directly to the Compressor it works. I had no issues with it before I did the Conversion.

I am thinking that the ECU is not seeing any RPM and therefore is not sending any signal to the Relays.
I am also looking at the Pressure switch for the AC.

Anyone got the D22 to read RPM Signal from the QD32 engine?

Thanks for any assistance.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”