Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby venum » February 20th, 2008, 7:43 pm

Original thread

Venum wrote:Gentlemen,

I will need to outfit my L200 with some new rubber, not too long after I get her.

current tyres are the original showroom Bridgestone Duelers on the original rims

what economy class tyres would you guys recommend :?:

usage as follows:

mainly street
off road occasionally
need to maintain traction in the wet

I want something that will not cause me to be stranded in the occasional bit of mud or sand

Not talking bout serious off-road rubber - the kinda thing TTORC men does use to cross river and thing

don't have too much of an idea of the $ so guide me here

avg around $700 - $800 or less :?:

Posted it here to avoid it getting lost in the Diesel Maintenance thread and be easily found by others needing the same info

Lemme hear you guys

Over time many contributions have been made to this thread and I an consolidating all pictures here on the first page:

*Phoenix* wrote:I gotta say I am really pleased with the Quality and Price..
Firestone Destination A/T - $850.00

There you go... :twisted:

Kumho's Road Venture MT KL71

biggy82 wrote:Image

venum wrote:some tyres that I found this Saturday in my travels:

Hercules Terra Trac A/T

kinda looks like my Toyo Open Country

Hero DynaStorm A/T and Sumitomo\Ironman Electra

Firestone Firehawk ATX

The Firehawk A/T sold out

Firestone Destination A/T

another Firestone:

Bolex:

BF Goodrich:

venum wrote:
at QuickService

Michelin

Linglong

venum wrote:saw these last week

Maxxis Mudder Buckshot 31 x 10.5 x 15

$1175 each - Mag Rim Center

venum wrote:
I saw these today

Maxxis Mudzilla

35 x 13.5 x15 on the left and 33 x 13.5 x 16 on the right

not too badly priced I'd say

and very scarce to get M/T in 16"

badart wrote:^ those looking good

anways the closet looking tire to an all terrain tire i can get for my 17's is Roadstone Rodian :roll:
It's an SUV tire getting it $1000 for one

what u guys think? any1 had any experiences with this tire?

i doubt i cud do any serious off roading with this tire, its more suited for highway driving..still looking most likely i would have to buy A/T tires online

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Im running the Toyo Open country - R16/265/70

venum wrote:notice teh lack of sipes on teh GT Racing A/T

I will opt for the Kunho or Toyo over them

saw these today

also available in 31x10.5

and some

rare to find mudds in 16"

lighthammer wrote:After much deliberation and reading reviews online, asking around... I ended up getting these for the Navara:

Pirelli Scorpion ATR's - 265/70R16

Got it from Automotive Components, who are the authorized dealers for Pirelli in Trinidad.

3stagevtec wrote:You're not the only one with new shoes..

I chose this tyre for several reasons. The main reason was that it's overall diameter (235/60R16) closer matched the factory tyres that came with my Grand Vitara. The benefits of this are better acceleration and fuel economy. Also, it had excellent reviews no matter where you looked..

The main downside is that it is very short! Especially when compared to what you guys typically use.. So ground clearance for me is compromised..

quote="lighthammer"]Here's why I like Pirelli so much...

A side-by-side comparison between my brand-new Pirelli Scorpion ATR and my dad's 4-year old Pirelli Scorpion STR:

ImageImage

He's got about 45,000 - 55,000km's on those Pirelli Scorpion STR's (which he bought in Pricesmart back in 2007) and he does 99% highway driving. He doesn't drive the L200 hard, and he does the alignment/rotating regularly, roughly every 7,000 - 10,000km.

Every review I've read has praised the Pirelli's for their outstanding tread-life, plus that lifetime manufacturer's warranty.

The Scorpion ATR's have a treadwear rating of 520. I didn't have a ruler or caliper on me at the time but I used a $0.25c piece to show you how deep the treads are:

The outside treads

The center treads

And for comparison, the tread-depth on the Dunlop Grantrek AT20's (highway tyres).

http://www.fourwheeler.com/techarticles/wheels/129_0610_pirelli_scorpion_atr_truck_tires/index.html

http://www.4wheeloffroad.com/techarticles/wheels/131_0706_pirelli_scorpion_atr_tire/index.html

http://www.1010tires.com/tires/reviews/Pirelli/Scorpion+ATR[/quote]

badart wrote:New model hilux owners and those who running 17's and looking for tyres, Laughlin & de Gannes has the Kumho Road Venture SAT (SAT for Stylish All-Terrain) in 265/65/R17, $1400 per tyre.

4wd wrote:To my fellow Navara Owners here is a 275/75/16 Kumho Venture MT on a stock Navara Rim and it clears without any lift kit.

I found them yesterday at MM in St.James.

venum wrote:Sumitomo Serengeti Radial AT

TT$1070.00 VAT Incl @ Tyre Clinic

Dunlop Grandtrek AT3

TT$1070.00 VAT Incl @ Tyre Clinic

cvt-7_RR wrote:Image
Next up are the 15" tires.

A better image of the Terra Track.

Last edited by venum on May 3rd, 2011, 8:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » February 20th, 2008, 8:16 pm

A good bit of the new pickups come with the Duelers. It came stock on my hilux and so far I've been able to not get stuck in de mud :D These are rated M&S (Mud & Snow).

The serious rubber you referred to is rated M/T (Mud traction) and is ideal for deep mud. I wouldnt recommend these for everyday use as they have poor paved road traction and even worse on wet roads.

A good tire rating to also consider is the A/T (All terrain). They are designed for on and off road use. The bead is supposed to be a little more agressive than the M&S but nowhere close to the M/T

Postby equipped2ripp » February 20th, 2008, 9:41 pm

You would get Nexen and Liberator for like $700.
General should be around $750-800.
Bridgestone and Dunlop for around $850.
Kumho goes for around $950, Goodyear and Toyo around $1000.
Cooper should go for around $1000.
Michelin is the most expensive I've seen, around $1400.

If I could remember correctly, those were the prices for tires when I was checking around about a year ago.

In South:
Nexen Roadian - Ramrattan
Liberator - Ramrattan and Federal
General Grabber - Federal
Bridgestone Dueler- Ramrattan, Federal
Kumho Ecsta - L&DG and Mileage Mack
Toyo Open Country- Mileage Mack
Goodyear Fortera - MasterServ
Cooper Discoverer - Mileage Mack
Michelin - Ramrattan, Federal, Ron's, Burmac

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » February 20th, 2008, 10:20 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:You would get Nexen and Liberator for like $700.
General should be around $750-800.
Bridgestone and Dunlop for around $850.
Kumho goes for around $950, Goodyear and Toyo around $1000.
Cooper should go for around $1000.
Michelin is the most expensive I've seen, around $1400.

If I could remember correctly, those were the prices for tires when I was checking around about a year ago.

In South:
Nexen Roadian - Ramrattan
Liberator - Ramrattan and Federal
General Grabber - Federal
Bridgestone Dueler- Ramrattan, Federal
Kumho Ecsta - L&DG and Mileage Mack
Toyo Open Country- Mileage Mack
Goodyear Fortera - MasterServ
Cooper Discoverer - Mileage Mack
Michelin - Ramrattan, Federal, Ron's, Burmac

^^^venum I hope that answers your question :D Nice info there equipped2ripp. I'm taking notes for when I'm changing the Duelers on the SGV. :D

My pick: The Goodyear Fortera TripleTred. W/T: 9.1, H/R: 9.0, D/T: 9.3.

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... TripleTred

Ranked #1: Highway All-Season (Tirerack).

Postby equipped2ripp » February 20th, 2008, 11:43 pm

You won't get the TripleTred here...

What MasterServ has is different. They have the Wrangler as well, which was a little cheaper than the Fortera.

venum

Postby venum » February 20th, 2008, 11:50 pm

thanx there E2R

prob teh reason that we won't get the tripple tread here is becaus eit is a dry\rain\snow tyre

will have to check out these

Explanation needed: W/T: 9.1, H/R: 9.0, D/T: 9.3.

what are the recommendations based on E2R's list :?:

Postby equipped2ripp » February 21st, 2008, 1:16 am

I've used the Bridgestone Dueler 689 and 840, Dunlop Grandtrek, Goodyear Fortera, Toyo Open Country, Kumho Ecsta and Nexen Roadian... I've found the Kumho, Toyo and Goodyear to be the best set out of the list... The Kumho is directional and it takes the water the best out of the 3. The Toyo holds the road pretty well and the Goodyear was pretty quiet... but then again is how much $ you want to spend.

I'm using the Nexens because I do alot of highway driving and I drive hard, they're stand up pretty well for 34000kms old.

The best thing to do is call around and ask for prices, I don't know if tire prices have increased over the past couple months.

For the L200, you should use 265/70/16. Don't use 275 because the van would be slower in terms of acceleration and top end. I used 275 on the Frontier and I didn't like it at all, even though they rode nice.

Postby wagon r » February 21st, 2008, 6:27 am

...don't forget, buy too wide a tyre and you could suffer fender rub...

...which eats away mud guards and could damage front drive system if you are off road and suspension compress squeezes your tyre against the fender while turning..

...not many of us go off road but it's something to consider.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » February 21st, 2008, 6:30 am

Venum, do you know what size tyres are on the L2 now? What about the thread wear, does the tire still have life or do you have to change them as you get the L2?

Postby wagon r » February 21st, 2008, 7:19 am

check this out fellas.....

http://www.4wdaction.com.au/reviews/tips/tyres.php

...an aussie website i frequent and came across this. it's a bit of a read though, but worth the time.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » February 21st, 2008, 9:30 am

^^ Thats was a good looooooooooooooooooooooooong read. Very informative. I didnt expect the pirellis to be rated that high.

Postby wagon r » February 21st, 2008, 9:43 am

funny thing, there's a chinese replica to that tyre, sold by dean's called Bolex. i had a set on the L2....bought them new from him....was a great tyre i must say.

they never let me down off road....and yuh know the L2 was always off road... :mrgreen:

in that test was also the standard tyre that came with the prev. model ranger and b2500...the mich. LTX A/T.....were also rated very highly.

purchase of a full set really comes down to bugdet....cause tyres eh cheap... :|

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 21st, 2008, 7:00 pm

Company I work for gets good performance out of Terra Trac tyres (we get them at Action Tyre in Chaguanas). Our vans go mainly off-road, so functionality is the priority.

I never heard the technicians complain about this brand and they usually drive like idiots.

venum

Postby venum » February 21st, 2008, 10:02 pm

323_wagon_dude wrote:Venum, do you know what size tyres are on the L2 now? What about the thread wear, does the tire still have life or do you have to change them as you get the L2?

she sitting on the stock 16" rims

tyres are 265\70\16 Bridgestone Duelers

saw some Ironman tyres today had some massive threads - looked like mud and street

245's though

I will maintain the stock width - 265 as advised

tyres not cheap :!:

i want to spend like $800.00 each

willing to go to $900.00

I will be doing mostly street driving, but I want something that will not embaras me on the occasional beach and bush lime, or if i park on some wet muddy surface

Postby 3stagevtec » February 22nd, 2008, 5:33 am

wagon r wrote:check this out fellas.....

http://www.4wdaction.com.au/reviews/tips/tyres.php

...an aussie website i frequent and came across this. it's a bit of a read though, but worth the time.

nice site!

i using BFGoodridge Touring T/A tyres on the Grand Vitara. M+S rated. (the 225/60R16 sells for $650 i think..) their threadwear rating is 500, so they last but the on road performance is amazingly high.. steering response and cornering traction is excellent imo..

never had any problems playing in mud / climbing hills with them.. but that could be down to the vehicle's 4x4 layout..

Postby equipped2ripp » February 22nd, 2008, 10:51 am

^ those are passenger vehicle tires.

venum

Postby venum » February 24th, 2008, 11:24 pm

getting Nexxen Rodian and Roadstone Rodian for $750.00

Postby equipped2ripp » February 25th, 2008, 12:05 am

venum, which part?

venum

Postby venum » February 25th, 2008, 12:39 am

Cheap Jack's on Cipero Street - nexen and Roadstone

the rims and tyre shop next to canaan pres school duncan village has teh roadstone as well as terra trac for $750.00 as well

they not trading used tyres either

Postby equipped2ripp » February 25th, 2008, 1:07 am

venum, Ramrattan in Marabella had those for $700.00 when I bought mine a year ago. I remember that tyre shop in Duncan Village next to the school had it for $750.00 when I was checking around.

venum

Postby venum » February 25th, 2008, 8:47 pm

will check him

have a pardna who may be able to link me at wholesale price

Postby 3stagevtec » February 26th, 2008, 5:17 pm

venum wrote:Cheap Jack's on Cipero Street - nexen and Roadstone

the rims and tyre shop next to canaan pres school duncan village has teh roadstone as well as terra trac for $750.00 as well

they not trading used tyres either

cheap jack's not so cheap nah.. i think they charging $20 - $25 to top up your tyres with air!! :shock:

bladett

Postby bladett » February 26th, 2008, 5:25 pm

Good info people, I'm now looking around for some new tyres. The Michelin LTX are expensive but they can take pressure, mine last me 66,000km.

venum

Postby venum » February 27th, 2008, 12:24 pm

I pay tyre price only by cheap jack

them fellas does link me up nice

but I find lately that their balance machine need calibrating

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » February 27th, 2008, 1:30 pm

Dean's in aranguez balancing machine working rel good. I balanced and rotated the tires yesterday.

venum

Postby venum » March 1st, 2008, 9:41 pm

did some more hunting today

getting Kumho Roadventure at Mileage Mack in south - $977.00 VAT incl

All Country at Ramrattan's in Marabella - $800.00 VAT incl

form what I observed, these and teh Terra Trac are teh same tyre and rated M+S

getting Terra Trac for $750.00 from Vishnu on the Wharf in San Fdo

inclined to the Terra Trac

how do M+S tyres hold out for wet and dry street use :?:

traction and braking :?:

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 2nd, 2008, 6:29 am

Like I said previously, where I work the pickups are equipped with Terra Tracs. The technicians drive those vans like real idiots, but they have never complained about the tyres.

I can say this because one time we couldn't source the Terra Tracs and put on some other brand and they made it known that they didn't like the tyres.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 2nd, 2008, 11:59 am

venum, All Country is what brand?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 3rd, 2008, 1:33 pm

venum wrote:did some more hunting today

how do M+S tyres hold out for wet and dry street use :?:

traction and braking :?:

This is my experience - Dont buy M+S tyres. If you can, avoid them. They wear out way too fast.

Seek A/T - All Terrain tyres.

And finally, you get what you pay for. So if you getting a $750.00 tyre for a 4 x 4, dont expect much from them. They might last you about 8 months.

Last price I paid close to $1000 for the Kumho Ecstas at Mileage Mack - these are 255/70R15s and are on the Mazda.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 3rd, 2008, 2:12 pm

Dont buy M+S tyres. If you can, avoid them. They wear out way too fast.

Actually, sweeks and I were discussing this. When we went to Salybia, we were comparing the tyre tracks in the sand. My duellers are a year old w/ 23000 KM and didnt leave clearly define tracks in the sand compared to some of the A/T tyres.

I also read a review online that the Duellers do wear pretty fast.

When i have to replace the tires, I'm going with the Michelins LTX2 A/T. That fella with the blue ranger say they are nice and quiet.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”