Is your rubber any good..?? A tyre guide for your 4x4...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Dgsm2789

Re: Is your rubber any good..?? A tyre guide for your 4x4...

Postby Dgsm2789 » November 1st, 2017, 1:35 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:In relation to all highway tyres.....how is the noise level from the all terrain and the ride as well....More bumpy?

Personally...i would advise you to buy tyres according to where you do most of your driving.

H/T rides the best and the quietest on the road and in wet condition. But works like crap in any slight mud or even wet grass..

M/T i wont recommend for any daily driver. If is a weekend rig or project vehicle...then it ok. But they howl on the blacktop and the traction on the road is terrible.

A/T as far as i see is a marketing gimmik.
They are basically H/T with a some more agressive lugs.
The are supposed to provide a balance between H/T and M/T but they actually dont. They still make a lot of noise and still dont work well in muddy conditions. But for novice trails etc they work well.

As with all tyres...good brands tend to cost more for a reason.

My experiences are mostly with cheap tyres.
There are good A/T and even some less agressive M/T that perform really well offroad and on the highways.

This is great advice.

In adding to this, highway terrain tyres tend to have longer lasting threadwear. Most people use at and never go in mud, they just like how at threads look. Had some bridgestone at, lasted 40,000km. Switch to ht and doing 75,000 strong. Align every 10,000kms. Another thing to look at on tyres are the little markings that say threadwear, temperature and traction.
A long threadlife tyre will have the threadwear number closer to 500. This means the rubber composition is harder and will not grind away quickly, but, will offer less grip in certain conditions and poorer ride quality in certain conditions.
Tyres with threadwear values closer to 0 tend to be softer, a lot of grip and soft ride, but wear quicker, and make noise.
The temperature and traction values are either a b or c, self explanatory. So in choosing the tyre, take all these into consideration and balance the rating on the tyre to what you want. I choose highway terrain tyres, temp A or B, traction A, with threadwear between 400 and 500. Never had problems. Odd skid in second gear on wet roads when pressing but never hydroplanes, skate on wet road braking or understeer when cornering.

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » November 1st, 2017, 6:31 pm

Great info

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 3rd, 2017, 9:19 am

The above information isn't entirely accurate. Treadwear values are not comparable between different manufacturer's tyres. A 600 treadwear Michelin could be equivalent to 400 from bridgestone.

jackal

Postby jackal » November 6th, 2018, 11:09 am

Looking for a good set of mud tires. 33X15X12.5.

Not looking for the tractor grip ones.

What you guys recommend?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 6th, 2018, 11:33 am

jackal wrote:Looking for a good set of mud tires. 33X15X12.5.

What you guys recommend?
Boi, it have all kind yes
Is how much u wanna spend

jackal

Postby jackal » November 7th, 2018, 9:57 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
jackal wrote:Looking for a good set of mud tires. 33X15X12.5.

What you guys recommend?
Boi, it have all kind yes
Is how much u wanna spend

It not so much the spend but what will work, the tractor type work well, but it wears out quickly, the peg type, not so road worthy and there is a nice looking one, that works well on road and mud, but it is 15.5" in diameter.

So for me what is a good one?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 7th, 2018, 10:06 am

Try the kumho

jackal

Postby jackal » November 9th, 2018, 11:03 pm

Ended up buying 4 kumho today, should get them mounted tomorrow.

Vehicle in the shop currently getting the body lifted.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2018, 7:18 am

jackal wrote:Ended up buying 4 kumho today, should get them mounted tomorrow.

Vehicle in the shop currently getting the body lifted.
Picsssssssssssss

jackal

Postby jackal » November 10th, 2018, 8:15 pm

Tyres resized.png
Tyres

See pic of tires and rim.

In the back ground you can see the vehicle and the spacer blocks being used to lift it.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2018, 9:09 pm

Dannnnn

Yuh GT with that wheel/tyre combo

One day i go make it big like allyuh fellaz

jackal

Postby jackal » November 10th, 2018, 9:52 pm

That is for the garden boy!

When ah finish I will have to do a bumper for a winch, possible pipe bumper.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2018, 10:02 pm

jackal wrote:That is for the garden boy!

When ah finish I will have to do a bumper for a winch, possible pipe bumper.
You can do a custom winch plate behind the bumper to keep it neat

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2018, 10:04 pm

SmartSelect_20181110-220408_Google.jpeg

Something like this

jackal

Postby jackal » November 10th, 2018, 10:19 pm

That is the ideal thing, but i have to create something to part the bush when ah driving.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2018, 10:35 pm

Check out B A designs on facebook

https://www.facebook.com/BA.DesignsTT/

rayj

Postby rayj » December 9th, 2018, 6:56 pm

Nice tyres. Where were they bought? I'm finding out for pardner looking for replacements for a Hilux similar to the one in the other pic.

jackal wrote:Tyres resized.png

See pic of tires and rim.

In the back ground you can see the vehicle and the spacer blocks being used to lift it.

jackal

Postby jackal » December 13th, 2018, 9:19 am

Those are Kumho brand.

I ordered it from a shop in Rio Claro, San Pedro junction.

It is 33" X 12.5 X 15.

Price 6K for the set.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 13th, 2018, 9:22 am

jackal wrote:Those are Kumho brand.

I ordered it from a shop in Rio Claro, San Pedro junction.

It is 33" X 12.5 X 15.

Price 6K for the set.
Ramrattan?

Postby Ted_v2 » February 2nd, 2019, 8:21 pm

I have a set of 265 70r15 maxxis at on my van currently, the front pair is due for changing, i would like to replace with the same or similar, anyone has any experience with any of the comparable tires? EG Sailun
Terramax A/T ect

the dealer doesnt have in stock and its 725 per tire unmounted.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 3rd, 2019, 8:30 am

The sailun terramax a/t working good.

Plenty ppl runnin them and no complaints.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 19th, 2019, 9:48 pm

i getting some firestone destination A/T for around the same thing. Will do my buying in a month time.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » February 19th, 2019, 11:52 pm

Looking for a set of 265/65/17 BF or something good..any recommendations?

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » February 20th, 2019, 6:58 am

Anybody with a used set of 15 inch off road rims for sale? Thanks 753 4225

Postby *KRONIK* » February 20th, 2019, 7:40 am

Ramrattan tyre shop

+1 (868) 481-2548
Calor wrote:Looking for a set of 265/65/17 BF or something good..any recommendations?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 20th, 2019, 8:26 am

Massy ACL have "sale" on Goodyear Wrangler Armortrac 265/65/17 for $1,099....

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 20th, 2019, 8:30 am

Ted_v2 wrote:i getting some firestone destination A/T for around the same thing. Will do my buying in a month time.

how much you getting these for?

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » February 20th, 2019, 9:48 am

Ted_v2 wrote:i getting some firestone destination A/T for around the same thing. Will do my buying in a month time.

Hey what size are you getting these in ?

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » February 20th, 2019, 5:32 pm

thanks for the positive feedback!

Postby Ted_v2 » February 20th, 2019, 6:46 pm

225/70/r15
was around 800 per, by maraj tire shop near to palmise park

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”