Page 1 of 3
how to stop bouncing in frontier?
Posted: October 19th, 2008, 9:27 am
by jmayers
sup pplz recently bought a tbw frontier. One issue i've noticed is that it bounces alot. Any advice on stoppin or min this? Will put up pix soon.
Posted: October 19th, 2008, 10:45 am
by roadhog
are the tires worn?
did you check the pressure to see if it's ideal or too hard?
Posted: October 19th, 2008, 11:25 am
by jmayers
tires kind of worn. Good pressure but i've heard of these vans bouncin at high speeds. Anything can be done to rectify? Its the body bouncing up and down like i on the cyat going bago on rough seas
Posted: October 19th, 2008, 1:11 pm
by wagon r
..sell it. further more, you knew it bounced like a ball and bought it anyway.....

Posted: October 19th, 2008, 2:07 pm
by Style Motors
Dred all my friends who have/had frontiers they could tell you about that , you going down the highway smooth road ( well our version of smooth road) and the front just bouncing up and down .
I think that thats just how the front suspension is , the front of the van heavy and the shocks just not firm enough , that van need a complete suspension haulover in my opinion.
Posted: October 19th, 2008, 2:41 pm
by pothole
Posted: October 19th, 2008, 2:41 pm
by jmayers
word.
Posted: October 20th, 2008, 3:02 am
by biggy82
wagon r wrote:..sell it. further more, you knew it bounced like a ball and bought it anyway.....

do you need a hug meng?

Posted: October 20th, 2008, 7:00 am
by *Phoenix*
Sell it.
simply buy a Hilux!

Posted: October 20th, 2008, 7:19 am
by equipped2ripp
use 265 or 275 tires instead of the stock 255....
Posted: October 20th, 2008, 8:21 am
by damieG82
tyres have nothing to do with it. The suspension was set up for comfort off-road, so there's a lot of travel and it's very soft. If you do a lot of offroading I'd suggest leaving everything alone and just cool it with the speed on the highway. If you rarely go offroad, then you could switch out the springs for stiffer ones which would reduce or eliminate the bouncing.
Posted: October 20th, 2008, 8:27 am
by equipped2ripp
who says?
when i used 265 and 275, the front end felt much better as compared to when it had the 255...
nothing of a BIG change, but yes it reduced the bounce.
Posted: October 20th, 2008, 10:08 am
by damieG82
^^ how would using a wider tyre width (a horizontal differentiation, with nothing to do with suspension) reduce suspension bounce (a vertical action directly caused by suspension setup, and more specifically spring/damper rates)???
The only thing you would experience with wider tyres is more grip, less speed since there'll be more drag and rotational weight, plus added wear to the ball-joints and steering ends. It's not a solution to bouncy suspension
Posted: October 20th, 2008, 10:57 am
by bleedingfreak
The 3.0TD doesnt come with 275 tyres stock?
Posted: October 20th, 2008, 12:27 pm
by wagon r
s
e
l
l
i
t
!
Posted: October 20th, 2008, 12:35 pm
by Greypatch
lower it
2" drop and yuh orn
Posted: October 20th, 2008, 1:21 pm
by sMASH
g
i
v
e
m
e
i
t
!
!
Posted: October 20th, 2008, 1:31 pm
by biggy82
t
h
i
s
t
o
p
i
c
s
u
c
k
s
!

Posted: October 20th, 2008, 3:23 pm
by equipped2ripp
damieG82, well, it felt less bouncy to me and 1 or 2 other people i talked to who used bigger tires.
biggy82, yuh right yes, this topic sucks... beaten out more than a whore.
Posted: October 20th, 2008, 3:25 pm
by equipped2ripp
bleedingfreak, all the AX grades come wih 255/70/16 Bridgestone Dueler 840 from the firm.
Posted: October 20th, 2008, 6:32 pm
by Black Scorpion
rollin on 275-70-16 and i dont find the ride is bouncy... and yes the width of the tyre affects the height, ie a 275-70 is higher than a 265-70 (depends on brand too)
only part of the highway where the ride is bouncy is the new part after tech/costatt an u all kno that part of the highway worse than the rest
an ppl buy what they can afford so doh tell me sell it

Posted: October 20th, 2008, 7:48 pm
by Style Motors
Sell this thing and buy a ranger

Posted: October 20th, 2008, 10:31 pm
by wagon r
^ i couldn't have said it better....

Posted: October 20th, 2008, 11:49 pm
by biggy82
Svik are you
wagon r's alternate account?

Posted: October 21st, 2008, 12:07 am
by jmayers
thanks for the advice fellahs. Will try tires and the bar. Will see how that goes. Bigg how does the navara run?
Posted: October 21st, 2008, 2:35 am
by biggy82
very well thanks....come ah diesel run and you will see first hand

Posted: October 21st, 2008, 3:18 am
by jmayers
i will have to do that. I was watching the moruga run. Soundin like some good fun.
Posted: October 21st, 2008, 9:20 am
by Greypatch
did they sort out the bouncing with the D40 ?
Posted: October 21st, 2008, 2:11 pm
by biggy82
Greypatch, yeah pretty much. its alot more stable. very little alignment issues as well
Posted: October 21st, 2008, 2:41 pm
by Greypatch
pretty much...like it still have some issues..
how does it compare to the lux or ranger ?