Page 1 of 2
who does good spray-on-linings on van trays.
Posted: October 29th, 2008, 9:37 pm
by HondaB20B
other than hydrocarb (rhino), looking for a good one preferably in south. anybody know about the one auto-guru sells........... cant remember the name though.
Posted: October 30th, 2008, 7:43 am
by 323_wagon_dude
I dont know about south... but it have a guy in las lomas named Shaws. He has the Durabak liner. Its great!! If you look a the pickup on the road you're bound to see a shaw's sign on the back glass.
His numbers are: 669-1118 & 777-3993
Posted: October 30th, 2008, 8:21 am
by bleedingfreak
Shaw...
Posted: October 30th, 2008, 3:12 pm
by *Phoenix*
hydrocarb (rhino), Shaws, Ziebart etc
Whats the cost and difference in quality?
Posted: October 30th, 2008, 10:18 pm
by HondaB20B
ok cool. thanks
Posted: October 31st, 2008, 7:18 am
by 323_wagon_dude
Ziebart does the rhino liner while Shaws does the durabak.
The rhino is a smoother finish but looks like tar. Its also a bit thick.. I think from 1/8" up.
The durabak is a rougher finsh.. (which i find good cause stuff hardly slides around in the tray) Its thinner than the rhino but durable as well.
When I was pricing the durabak was $3800 and the rhino was $4000+vat. Prices may have changed since then. Both places do quality work.
FF786, you can see the durabak on my truck on sunday...
Posted: October 31st, 2008, 8:28 pm
by HondaB20B
when i had the L200, i had hydrocarb re-do the rhino and it was ok. i find though that it wasnt applied uniform and had a few areas which was smooth. hope they do a better job if i decide to go by them
Posted: October 31st, 2008, 8:49 pm
by equipped2ripp
Complete Coatings 683-1101
they do the Roll N Lock as well...
HondaB20B, ah see a TBZ Frontier with a Complete Coatings Liner and ting looking in real good condition yes...
Posted: October 31st, 2008, 9:37 pm
by HondaB20B
thanks, was going to call and ask you for d # again. going an check them tomorow. now to just find a good hard cover for d tray
Posted: November 4th, 2008, 9:07 am
by Mr. Cheese
HondaB20B,
Sometime later this week i am supposed to get one of those gallons of the Durabak liner coatings.
A coworker brought down one and did it himself and was a little cheaper than what was quoted above. The hardest thing is to remove the paint from the tray so that it the compound would bond properly (took him about 3 hours)
When i get it and apply it...i would post some pics.
Posted: November 4th, 2008, 10:10 pm
by HondaB20B
^^^^ ok, cool.......... even though ahh done make up meh mind with de
Complete Coatings.
Posted: November 5th, 2008, 8:42 am
by equipped2ripp
HondaB20B, saw the Complete Coatings liner?
Posted: November 5th, 2008, 1:07 pm
by offroader
Posted: November 5th, 2008, 2:00 pm
by HondaB20B
equipped2ripp wrote:HondaB20B, saw the Complete Coatings liner?
yeah saw a sample, saw a bright yellow one.................... damn it look good
and unlike the other coatings, this coating is heated up and applied. its actually HOT.
Posted: November 30th, 2008, 1:21 pm
by HondaB20B
Posted: December 1st, 2008, 6:01 am
by Mr. Cheese
Did mine myself last two weeks...
Took 2 days - one to prepare (removing paint, down to metal) and the next day to aply the coating (took like 2 hrs)
I would post some pics of the final product.
The product landed cost me less than $1k and i saved a couple thousand.
Posted: December 1st, 2008, 7:27 am
by *Phoenix*
Look out for the pics.

Posted: December 1st, 2008, 8:51 am
by Mr. Cheese
Posted: December 1st, 2008, 9:26 am
by Greypatch
well done cheese...looking good..ah guess u eh putting no cover on the van...
so wham to bed liners fellas ?
Posted: December 1st, 2008, 9:39 am
by Mr. Cheese
Greypatch wrote:well done cheese...looking good..ah guess u eh putting no cover on the van...
Nah Patch, I eh putting no cover.....
Wah thinking about putting in one ah dem "snap on type" leather covers but i feel if i do that someone my like it more than me....
Posted: December 1st, 2008, 10:55 am
by Greypatch
like what i have ...nah dem would not theif it...
Posted: December 1st, 2008, 11:49 pm
by 4X4 Trinidad
good work . what solution did you use for this application ?
Posted: December 2nd, 2008, 5:59 am
by Mr. Cheese
4X4 Trinidad wrote:good work . what solution did you use for this application ?
No solution used...
Just a roller brush. The roller brush has pores that "pick up" the suspended rubber particles and spreads them evenly.
For fastness sake, i tried a paint brush and it did not work...
Posted: December 2nd, 2008, 7:52 am
by Greypatch
you can take some pj pallie
Liner Solution
Posted: December 2nd, 2008, 9:51 am
by 4X4 Trinidad
understood, what we meant is what chemical did you use for the liner ?
Posted: December 2nd, 2008, 1:02 pm
by Stuckindmud
Boss job there Cheese,
btw - where you get those rear light chrome pieces?
Posted: December 3rd, 2008, 3:31 pm
by fafrumlosin
just found out ft farfan has a kit simmilar to what he used comes with everything including the roller/aplicator for 1000$ plan to check it as soon as i get time...
Posted: December 3rd, 2008, 7:45 pm
by Greypatch
seems N&M is using a Viper product ave 3k
Posted: December 4th, 2008, 10:15 am
by HondaHo de 1st
breds hole up ah sec deh, honestly Glen Pontiflex (rally's black box lancer) Scorpion linings, $2800 and honestly I find that is the cheapest I've seen and it wukking
774-7425/342-2675
tell him wesly recommended you.
Posted: December 4th, 2008, 12:06 pm
by Mr. Cheese
Stuckindmud wrote:Boss job there Cheese,
btw - where you get those rear light chrome pieces?
Bought it about 3 yrs ago and had it on my other hilux...
Took it out and put it on this one...
Got it from the guy Jason who sells accessories and does the spray linings. contact # 683-1101
When i bought mine, he had 2 in stock for the hilux.
Only other vehicle i saw with the same rear light grill is a Fraud Ranger in south.
Paid $600 for the pair